Customer reviews for Microplane Professional Grater

Microplane Professional Grater

Microplane Professional Grater : This 5-Piece Set Includes: extra coarse, large shaver, fine/spice, medium ribbon, and coarse. Microplane's precise razor-like edges are formed with a revolutionary process called photo-etching, creating edges that grate finely on contact, without the uneven tugging and shredding of inferior graters. These Microplane Professional Graters with wide paddle and razor-sharp teeth let you quickly grate in both directions and save preparation time. Ergonomic, curved stainless-steel handle, nonslip rubber feet and protective cover. End hanging loop. Dishwasher-safe. 18/8 surgical stainless-steel blade is made in the USA. Microplane Professional extra-coarse grater for grating cabbage, onions or soft cheeses. Creates wider, flat strips for quick preparation of slaws, salads or as toppings. Microplane Professional large-shaver for grating carrots, hard cheeses or chocolate. The ideal grater to create decorative toppings. Microplane Professional fine for zesting citrus or spice grating in larger quantities. Create a fast melting powder for Italian dishes. Pair it with hand guard to grate several nutmeg or other pebble-sized spices at once. Microplane Professional medium-ribbon for grating hard cheese, apples, onions or nuts. Named for the shape of the dual-edge teeth, this grater creates thin strips grating in two directions. Microplane Professional coarse grater to produce ginger, hard cheeses, coconut or nutmeg in small flecks. Ideal for recipes requiring precise measure or to add a touch of flavoring. Microplane hand guard to turn a Microplane Professional paddle grater into a quick-grinding machine. Protects fingers and allows easy grating of small foods such as small vegetables, nuts, spices or chocolate chips. Product Features Razor-sharp stainless-steel blades grate hard cheese, vegetables or spices Blades are made of 440A Rockwell hardness stainless-steel for long-lasting sharpness and durability Nonclogging etched teeth to grate in both directions Ergonomic curved handle Nonslip rubber bumper End hanging loop Microplane's precise razor-like edges are formed with a revolutionary process called photo-etching, creating edges that grate finely on contact, without the uneven tugging and shredding of inferior graters.
Overall rating:
4.889 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
26 out of 27(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Microplane Professional Grater
Review 1 for Microplane Professional Grater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great tool

PostedApril 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Em605
fromAnnapolis, MD, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
the microplane is very sharp. It is sturdy and it is now my go to for all the grating that I do in the kitchen. I got the extra coarse and it is the right size for all the normal grating normally done like veggies, cheese, etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Microplane Professional Grater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Ltmagenta4
fromEnfield, CT, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I keep purchasing microplanes/zesters but have been disappointed & frustrated until now: this one works great! Nice & sharp & easy to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Microplane Professional Grater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must-have for kitchen

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Customer avatar
IronChef47
fromUrbana, IL, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
This grater is a must-have for kitchens. It shreds potatoes, carrots, and other turnips into the right size. The blades are sharp, the construction is solid, and it comes with a cover. If you want to make potato latkes, carrot salad, and similar dishes, you should have this item. It will last for years, and you'll find new dishes that require this grater.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Microplane Professional Grater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These are awesome time savers!

PostedFebruary 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Isis
fromPalos Hills,IL
I bought all five Microplanes and am very glad I did. In the few days since they arrived I have used them for ginger, garlic, Parmesan, fontina, and lemon zest. The handles are comfortable and the rubber gripper keeps the microplane stable during use. They clean very easily, and take up very little space. I will probably hang them beneath my cabinets. I would definitely recommend them with only one tiny reservation. They are very sharp! Save the plastic covers for storage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Microplane Professional Grater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedFebruary 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Lovetocook123
fromNewark, IL
I love this grater! It works awesome. It is made very well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Microplane Professional Grater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

How did we live with out it

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Monkey53
fromEast Hampton, CT, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
The Course Microplane Professional Grater is a must in our kitchen. We love using ginger as an engredient in salads and marinades. This grater is perfect-cuts like a charm.
My Favorite BrandToo many to list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Microplane Professional Grater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Microplane Extra Coarse Grater

PostedApril 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Jeaniez1028
fromCerritos, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Have owned several microplane graters and while the grater was terrific the plastic frames did not hold up-cracked from daily use. The Professional series of Microplane graters sport a metal frame and definitely stand up to frequent use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Microplane Professional Grater
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointing size

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Peter67
fromBergen County, NJ
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I bought this to use with the set of Microplane professional I purchased and which I love. However, this device is far too narrow and the hopper is too small. I might recommend it for use with the original carpenters style microplane graters, but not for the professional size.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Microplane Professional Grater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome graters

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Doug51
fromSouthwest Michingan
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I've had this set for 3 months and grate everything with them. They are sturdy, sharp and do a great job. With some of the graters you can do some fancy grating of cheeses. Nice covers so you don't damage them in the drawer and they clean up well in the dishwasher. I'm really glad I purchased them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Microplane Professional Grater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a great helperin my kitchen

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Gram75
fromClovis, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I make a chocolate pie that I have to chop the hard chocolate before adding it to hot mixture and I found this shaver/grater perfect for preparing the chocolate. Makes the pie baking much easier. I will find other uses for it in the future.
My Favorite BrandScanpans
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Microplane Professional Grater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelent set

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Darkshin
fromSiloam Springs, AR
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
I had a previous version with plastic sides, over time it cracked and eventually broke. I saw these and decided to replace my old ones with these. I use the course, fine, and extra coarse on a regular basis. The other ones, not so much. I was concerned about them being all metal and whether they would be as comfortable as their other products, this turned out to be no problem at all. These feel fine in the hand, and the little rubber stop at the bottom helps to keep it stable while grating hard objects like Parmesan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Microplane Professional Grater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best!

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Screem
fromMequon, Wi
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I purchased this microplane grater after cracking through the plastic on my previous coarse microplane grater while grating parmesan cheese. I wanted a totally metal grater, not susceptible to breaking. Have only used it once so far, but performs very well. Quite sharp, making grating of at least parmesan a breeze. Doubt any future "malfunctions." It also has a wider surface than my narrower, completely metal, fine microplane zester, making the grating a quicker and less taxing process. Comes with a protective plastic sleeve. Wonderful product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Microplane Professional Grater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
typobrit
fromChicago, IL, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
A superb tool for grating hard cheeses and vegetables.
Excellent quality and easy to use, clean and store.
My Favorite BrandPaderno
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Microplane Professional Grater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super product.

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Supercooker
fromLitchfield, MN 55355, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I love the was my new grater grates cheese. I have several of these and they all work extremely well. Would not want to be without this kitchen gadget.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Microplane Professional Grater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

highly performing

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
tina1
fromCupertino, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I've been using Microplane grater for 10 years and always been satisfied. Now I replaced it with this new one. The new one is especially useful because it has a good handle. Again, it's well performing. Nutmeg grating was so easy and quick.
My Favorite Brandkitchenaid, cuisinart
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Microplane Professional Grater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kitchen Musts!

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
TeeJay59
fromLong Beach, CA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I purchased the whole group, and have used them several times since receiving. They are strong, sharp and make all grating jobs so much easier!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Microplane Professional Grater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

They are way better than a box grater!

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Customer avatar
angrychef
fromHastings,NE
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
Can't under stand why i didn't buy them sooner. They store in a drawer ,so handy to get , and are very sharp.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Microplane Professional Grater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly reccommend this product

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Boop70
fromMon City, Pa.
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Loved the product. was really surprised how easy it was to use.
My Favorite Brandswansons
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Microplane Professional Grater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb Quality

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Customer avatar
glojean
fromNebraska
Graters are extremely sharp and made for heavy use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Microplane Professional Grater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love Extra Coarse!

PostedJune 27, 2011
Customer avatar
delara
fromCA
The Pro line is so much better than the one I had before (Microplane surrounded by a clear plastic frame--which cracks and breaks). The all metal frame feels much stronger in my hand, and the coarse grater is exactly what I need.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>