Customer reviews for Cole & Mason Nutmeg Grinder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CHEFS Catalog.

Cole & Mason Nutmeg Grinder

Cole & Mason Nutmeg Grinder : Cole & Mason Nutmeg Grinder extracts the distinctive nutmeg flavor that can only be obtained from grinding the seed of this exotic tropical fruit. The combination mill and storage unit features a cylindrical chamber to prevent bruising of the outer shell and preserve the precious seeds in entirety. The specially-shaped grinding chamber fits whole seeds, utilizing a powerful spring-action claw to hold the seed, and razor-sharp stainless-steel blades to grate the nutmeg into a fine texture. Turning the top handle activates the inner blades, keeping fingers safely away from the grinding mechanism. Clear acrylic lets you monitor on-hand supply. Wipe clean. The delicately-mild flavor of nutmeg enhances beverages, desserts, cheese sauces, pasta dishes, even meats and vegetables. Product Features This specialty grinder extracts the sweet, delicately-mild flavor of nurtmeg and stores the seeds in the attached chamber The cylindrical storage prevents bruising, preserving the essence of the seed Powerful, spring-action claw grasps the seed, while the sharp stainless-steel blade grates nutmeg into a fine texture The top handle turns easily to activate the inner blades, keeping hands away from the grinding mechanism Nutmeg enhances beverages, desserts, cheese sauces, pasta dishes, even meats and vegetables Acrylic construction lets you see the remaining spice to grind and monitor the on-hand seed supply
Overall rating:
3.909 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(66 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 66 reviews
5 Stars
41
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
14
49 out of 66(74%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Cole & Mason Nutmeg Grinder
Review 1 for Cole & Mason Nutmeg Grinder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer avatar
chefpatti
fromOregon, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Professional Chef
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
This is so awesome...no more skinned knuckles...a great product. Sturdy construction ..comfortable to use ..I am a chef and grate nutmeg daily... this is a life saver.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cole & Mason Nutmeg Grinder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is great!

PostedApril 7, 2012
Customer avatar
AuntJan
fromNorth Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
Best for the job! I can't hold and grate nutmegs any more with my arthriris fingers. This keeps the nutmegs freash as well as easy to grind. I am giving 2 for Mother's Day gifts.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cole & Mason Nutmeg Grinder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product, Quality Constructed

PostedSeptember 21, 2011
Customer avatar
Spiceitup
fromDracut, MA
What a great product and the quality is excellent. With old age creeping up on this baker, holding a Nutmeg seed ( yes they are actually seeds not nuts ) against a grading device is difficult, at times. This product not only saves my finger tips but makes using fresh Nutmeg easy. Thank you “Chefs” for your excellent choices of quality products at reasonable prices.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cole & Mason Nutmeg Grinder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy kitchen tool

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Customer avatar
MoInnkeeper
fromColumbia, MO
This items saves me so much time...no need to get out the grater and find the nutmeg. It is so handy and it works!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cole & Mason Nutmeg Grinder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nutmeg Grinder

PostedSeptember 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Wiechy
fromQuincy MA
This is great. Keeps the nutmeg fresh, you can see how much is left, and it is so easy to grind.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cole & Mason Nutmeg Grinder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a new item to make life easier

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromst clairsville ohio
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
very nice have to get myself some fresh nutmeg nuts looks very simple to use and a nice weight it will be a lot better on my fingers than a regular hand held grater
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cole & Mason Nutmeg Grinder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
betty67
fromOklahoma, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
I felt like it is too much trouble! I thought it would be easier to use but it is faster and much simpler just to use the micro plane. this is the first time I was disappointed totally in something that I order.
My Favorite BrandI like a lot of brands for different reasons.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cole & Mason Nutmeg Grinder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A great disappointment

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Customer avatar
ambidxtrous1
fromTexas, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
I really wanted this grinder to work, to savor the flavor of fresh-ground nutmeg; but alas, that is not to be, I loaded the gadget up with nutmeg "seeds", but couldn't get it to work. The nutmeg seed rotates when the handle is rotated, but nothing comes out of the bottom of the grinder. Buying this was an expensive mistake!
I'm required to give this item a rating, and one star is the lowest rating I can select; that's more than this gadget deserves.
My Favorite BrandCuisinart
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cole & Mason Nutmeg Grinder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NUTMEG GRINDER

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Customer avatar
UNUSABLE
fromBIRMINGHAM
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
THIS CONTRAPTION DOES NOT WORK. I WAS EXCITED AND BOUGHT NUTMEG, AND LOADED THE GRINDER ONLY TO FIND OUT IT DOES NOT WORK.
My Favorite Brandkitchen aid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Cole & Mason Nutmeg Grinder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nutmeg grinder

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Customer avatar
mariew
fromArizona
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
Good looking Lucite, but not a good grinder for whole nutmeg. What I didn't like was the irregular flakey grind, and the delivery. I like the idea of storing the nutmeg in the chamber.
You had to shake and hit to get the product to come out after grinding. Very disappointed.
My Favorite BrandKing Arthur Flour
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Cole & Mason Nutmeg Grinder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great addation

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Bob96
fromMassillon, OH, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
A very good looking and functional addition to a kitchen spice supplies. You have a easy to use and controllable / measurable why of adding fresh nutmeg to any recipe. It just a neat why of adding nutmeg to your recipes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Cole & Mason Nutmeg Grinder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

For the kitchen that has all the other gadgets

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Geezer
fromEl Paso, TX
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
I usually add nutmeg to the smoothies I drink about 5 times a week, and couldn't resist the opportunity to easily experience fresh-ground nutmeg.
This little gadget is quite well made, and should last indefinitely. Yes, you can get along without it, but the outcome won't be as good.
My Favorite BrandCuisinart
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Cole & Mason Nutmeg Grinder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

No more scrapes on the fingers.

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Customer avatar
flrgrl10
fromFlorida, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
The Cole & Mason Nutmeg Grinder works great and stores as well.The price is right. Easy to use. Turn the crank and out it comes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Cole & Mason Nutmeg Grinder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Grinder

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Customer avatar
OldSoldier
fromMichigan, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
Fast, effective grinding, good quality, attractive deign, and storage for additional nutmegs - what more could you want?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Cole & Mason Nutmeg Grinder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

unique gift, useful and lovely to display

PostedMay 11, 2013
Customer avatar
rene07
fromCuster, WA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I just love this nutmeg grinder. Lovely, strong and great storage for additional nutmegs.
My Favorite Brandall brands at Chef's
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Cole & Mason Nutmeg Grinder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Making life a little easier

PostedMay 9, 2013
Customer avatar
gardeninggirl
frombowling green, oh
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
The nutmeg grinder works great. I put nutmeg and cinnamon in my coffee every morning. I was hand grating it before. This little gadget is so much easier. Grinds easily and smoothly, pretty much effortless, and that is nice before my first cup of Jo.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Cole & Mason Nutmeg Grinder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best

PostedApril 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromCalifornia
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
I love nutmeg, especially fresh-grated and have used many devices to grate it and this, by far, is the best. It is so easy to use, grates smoothly and finely and is pretty to look at. I'll never go back to the pre-grated nutmeg again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Cole & Mason Nutmeg Grinder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nutmeg grinder

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Joni2
fromNewbury Park, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
No more grinding my nuckles when I want some freshly grated nutmeg. The grinder works great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Cole & Mason Nutmeg Grinder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more scraped knuckles

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Swans11
fromBlauvelt, NY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Wolfgang Puck
I only use whole nutmegs that I have to grate on a ceramic mini grater. As I get older, this gets harder to do and I scrape my knuckles often. The nutmeg grinder grates the nutmeg efficiently and quickly while storing additional nutmeg.This has to be the very BEST grinder I have found.
My Favorite Brandwolfgang puck
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Cole & Mason Nutmeg Grinder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Attractive AND it works!!

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Customer avatar
LindaCA
fromBay Area
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
This is the third nutmeg grinder I've purchased --- and I'm already sure it will be the last --it works beautifully, and is very well made, I'm sure it will last a lifetime. I love it!
My Favorite BrandKitchenaid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>