Customer reviews for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter

Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter

Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter : The durable stainless-steel construction on this deluxe potato cutter ensures uniform slices with simple lever-action movement. This hardworking tool includes two removable stainless-steel grid inserts to produce thick fries or shoestring-style fries. The large 36-blade hole produces 3/8" fries, and the small 64-hole makes 1/4" French fries. Comfort-grip handle. Dishwasher-safe.
Overall rating:
3.946 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(93 reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 93 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
1
1 Star
14
75 out of 93(81%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Review 1 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for the home cook.

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Bev62
fromKearney, NE, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I won't use this often but it's wonderful for making carrot sticks and potatoes for french fries. I have arthritis in my fingers so this is the perfect solution!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purchase

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Customer avatar
ljatwood
fromTX
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I am very happy with the Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter. It was very quick and easy to use. I have only used it once so far. I used it to cut french fries that I then easily diced to make fried potatoes for breakfast.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A family tradition

PostedJune 17, 2011
Customer avatar
fiery
fromMilton,PA
I've had this cutter for a number of years and it works great. Recently, my eldest son asked to borrow it for an upcoming party at his house. Of course, I took it over and demonstrated how slick the mechanism is and how quickly you can get a pile of potatoes to fry. A big hit..So, for his birthday(FlagDay)I ordered one for him. Another big hit! Thanks for a great product and a great gift.
Sincerely.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Fry Cutter

PostedMarch 4, 2011
Customer avatar
fantastic49
fromJefferson, SC
My husband has been looking for a french fry cutter for quite a while. When we saw this one, it was too good to pass up. It cuts potatoes easily, like a knife through butter. It is easy to clean and stores easily. This was an excellent purchase!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happy

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Kell
fromBoise, ID
This purchase was a gift for my Dad who loves making homemade french fries and finger steaks (so yummy). We thought this would really help cut down on the prep time. He has only used it once so far and was completely happy with it. He liked how quick and easy it was and liked that it gripped well to the counter top and didn't slide around. So far so good.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful kitchen tool

PostedJanuary 1, 2011
Customer avatar
new1cook
fromtexas
The french fry cutter is wonderful. It is easy to use and clean. It made all my fries and yam fries the same size. Well worth the money!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

you can't fry 'em right,if you don't cut 'em right

PostedNovember 23, 2010
Customer avatar
chubblette
fromdecatur,ga.
i am the cook in our family and i grew up loving french fries.i used to hand cut the potatoes and then i discovered french fry cutters.the first one was plastic that i bought at a yard sale for a dollar.i used it for a few years but clearly it was not ideal.i even thought about making my own out of steel,but that was impractical. then i discovered chef''s catalog and saw the progressive deluxe french fry cutter.to say the least it was love at first fry.i am now the unchallenged general of the 'french fryin' legion'......thanks for providing such a quality and enjoyable utensil.jr//
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

No Big Boy

PostedMay 26, 2015
Customer avatar
Sluggerdog9
fromWoodville ms
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
Not good with large potatoes, tended to bend. Works good with small to medium potatoes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

air fryer

PostedMay 25, 2015
Customer avatar
giget
fromDanville Ohio
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
A good and healthy way of eating. And it cooks it fast.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

French Fry Cutter

PostedMay 18, 2015
Customer avatar
Consti
fromAtlanta, GA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
I have been collecting what I call kitchen gadgets for many years now, and have just added this french fry cutter to my collection. In my opinion, taking out any tedious and repetitive actions in preparing food is the key to keeping the cook in the kitchen busy and most of all HAPPY!
My Favorite BrandKitchenAid, Dacor, Williams-Sonoma
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Returned for better quality one

PostedApril 30, 2015
Customer avatar
animale66
fromMoore, OK, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
Frame was flimsey and easily bent on the first use. I don't recommend this one, and instead would recommend the 'Restaurant Quality' cutter instead.
Just one of those cases where you get what you pay for.
My Favorite BrandWustof
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

French Fry Cutter

PostedApril 7, 2015
Customer avatar
cyclebman
fromMontana, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Works well. Wish it would take a larger potato. If I was to do it again, I'd probably get the "Pro Model" they sell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works nicely.

PostedApril 6, 2015
Customer avatar
Lanny
fromKansas City, MO, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mario Batali
We tried the cutter out last night and it worked very well. It will cut smaller potatoes better than the very large ones. It is very easy to clean up as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cut them easily

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromFort Worth, TX, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
Had one made of plastic but as plastic ages a bit it deteriorates. This one is easier to operate and metal does not fatigue quickly as does plastic. If you need to cut fries, get this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

delux French fry cutter

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Cathy1940
fromAllentown, PA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
just wonderful. So easy to use and clean! Had my grandmothers, made in England and so hard to use.
Ordered this and I am thrilled with the easy use (since I have bad arthritis) I just love this and urge others with pain like I have to use this.
This is a blessing. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy french fries!!!!!

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Customer avatar
basketlady
fromStoutland, MO, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
I ordered this product and am thoroughly pleased with it. My family loves french fries and this product has made my preparation much faster and easier. I have arthritis in my hands so the comfortable handle is an added benefit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WHAT TOOK ME SO LONG TO ORDER THIS??!!

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
KimS
fromAmarillo, TX
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I LOVE the french fry cutter! Cuts through Idahos, reds, with ease. I also used to cut up a sweet potatoe. Would not recommend doing this. Sweet potatoe is too hard. Product is pretty durable, but I was afraid with much more pressure on the handle when I was trying to cut the sweet potatoe that the handle might bend.
Cleanup is easy. Plates slide in and out with ease. Washed the plates by hand and just used a sponge to wipe down the cutter. I'm also going to use to cut up zuchinni for baked zuchinni fries.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect fry cutter

PostedMay 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Randy69
fromSpringfield, MO, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Microwave Magician
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
Excellent and quick way to cut your fries.
My Favorite BrandVarious
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointing

PostedMay 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Laurtje
fromLos Angeles
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I have used fry cutters before. Not sure why, but this one seems too light weight and too inefficient. Even cuting up the potatoes into quarters, making fries requires too much strenghth and fries go flying across the room once the cutter finally cuts through the potato.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Gadget that doesn't work

PostedMay 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Divit
fromMemphis, TN, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Out of box tried to cut medium sweet potatoe into fries. The handle wasn't strong enough to push ram through potatoe. Potato only went 1/2 way through before handle started to bend. I am returning item . This idea may work but the gauge of material needs to be strengthened but that would drive up price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>