Customer reviews for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter

Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter

Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter : The durable stainless-steel construction on this deluxe potato cutter ensures uniform slices with simple lever-action movement. This hardworking tool includes two removable stainless-steel grid inserts to produce thick fries or shoestring-style fries. The large 25-blade hole produces 3/8" fries, and the small 49-hole makes 1/4" French fries. Comfort-grip handle. Dishwasher-safe.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(79 reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 79 reviews
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
0
1 Star
11
66 out of 79(84%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Review 1 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for the home cook.

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Bev62
fromKearney, NE, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I won't use this often but it's wonderful for making carrot sticks and potatoes for french fries. I have arthritis in my fingers so this is the perfect solution!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purchase

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Customer avatar
ljatwood
fromTX
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I am very happy with the Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter. It was very quick and easy to use. I have only used it once so far. I used it to cut french fries that I then easily diced to make fried potatoes for breakfast.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A family tradition

PostedJune 17, 2011
Customer avatar
fiery
fromMilton,PA
I've had this cutter for a number of years and it works great. Recently, my eldest son asked to borrow it for an upcoming party at his house. Of course, I took it over and demonstrated how slick the mechanism is and how quickly you can get a pile of potatoes to fry. A big hit..So, for his birthday(FlagDay)I ordered one for him. Another big hit! Thanks for a great product and a great gift.
Sincerely.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Fry Cutter

PostedMarch 4, 2011
Customer avatar
fantastic49
fromJefferson, SC
My husband has been looking for a french fry cutter for quite a while. When we saw this one, it was too good to pass up. It cuts potatoes easily, like a knife through butter. It is easy to clean and stores easily. This was an excellent purchase!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happy

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Kell
fromBoise, ID
This purchase was a gift for my Dad who loves making homemade french fries and finger steaks (so yummy). We thought this would really help cut down on the prep time. He has only used it once so far and was completely happy with it. He liked how quick and easy it was and liked that it gripped well to the counter top and didn't slide around. So far so good.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful kitchen tool

PostedJanuary 1, 2011
Customer avatar
new1cook
fromtexas
The french fry cutter is wonderful. It is easy to use and clean. It made all my fries and yam fries the same size. Well worth the money!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

you can't fry 'em right,if you don't cut 'em right

PostedNovember 23, 2010
Customer avatar
chubblette
fromdecatur,ga.
i am the cook in our family and i grew up loving french fries.i used to hand cut the potatoes and then i discovered french fry cutters.the first one was plastic that i bought at a yard sale for a dollar.i used it for a few years but clearly it was not ideal.i even thought about making my own out of steel,but that was impractical. then i discovered chef''s catalog and saw the progressive deluxe french fry cutter.to say the least it was love at first fry.i am now the unchallenged general of the 'french fryin' legion'......thanks for providing such a quality and enjoyable utensil.jr//
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

French Fry Cutter

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer avatar
RKT1440
fromAlameda, CA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I wa very happy to use this product. I had been looking for a quick french fry cutter and am happy to say this one works very good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent sharpness and suction

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Sundance57
fromMelbourne Beach, FL, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I love natural cut potatoes and am glad they are making a comeback in the restaurant business. The blades are top quality and their is no hint of corrosion. Simply rinse off after use and secure the plastic pieces to the blades by rubber band to store. The suction will not come lose in normal use; however, for restaurant use move up to the more expensive mode. This one is just fine for one large family.
My Favorite BrandPorsche
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

French Fry Cutter

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Debra59
fromPhiladelphia, PA USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
I decided to purchase the lower priced French fry cutter and am quite pleased with how it works. It takes a large potato with ease which was one of my concerns. It takes some "pushing power" to get the potato through the cutter but overall I am very happy with the product.
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Microwave first

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
DrJohnA
fromNorthport, NY
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Potatoes must be baked in the microwave for 1-2 minutes otherwise they won't go through the cutter without excessive force. The unit doesn't come with instructions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Deluxe French fry cutter

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Golflady
fromFenton, MO, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
You won't like this review that was the worst thing I have ever gotten from you,it could have been a defected one,but it would not cut but only half way . I did return it. That will not stop me from future orders.
My Favorite BrandKitchenAid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

For Small Potatoes Only

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Fountain
fromChantilly, VA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
The french fry cutter works well on small potatoes but it absolutely cannot handle large ones. The handle is not heavy enough and mine bent badly under the strain. I had only used it 3 times. Bottom line I would not recommend this product.
My Favorite BrandCuisimart
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
UT1957
fromCentral, IL, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Dad
I love this cutter. It has great little conveniences at every turn, and two blade inserts for two different sizes of cuts. Easy to clean also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works but string fry template is far too large

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Epiphany
fromChantilly, VA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
The machine is well made and easy to use and clean up. However, the cutting template for string fries is way to large...more like regular fries.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best,what i was looking for

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer avatar
barnett
fromDobson, NC 27017, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
dont have to buy french fries again .use my own taters
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not so deluxe french fry cutter

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Ken54
fromSoap Lake, WA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I was very disappointed with the sturdiness of this French fry cutter. We were barely able to use it on one potato before it popped out of alignment and I had to bend it back into shape before using it on a second potato. I don't need a restaurant grade French fry cutter; they cost more than I want to spend and I'm not going to use it enough to justify the higher cost. I wanted a reasonably priced French fry cutter for occasional use--this product wasn't it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great tool

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Abbeylynn
fromNC
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
A wonderful addition to any kitchen. I use it to make carrot sticks as well as fries. My favorite innovation over an older fry cutter I have is its ability to be locked down on the counter. This makes it very easy to use.
My Favorite BrandKing Arthur Flour
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

French Fry Cutter

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromAustin, Tx
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
Works well if you make sure the potatoes are small enough to fit through the cutter area. I made the mistake with the first machine of putting to large of potato into the cutter then trying to "strong arm" it through then bent the actuator arm. Much better to cut Idaho Russet's at least in half (use knife cut end against plastic pusher for more surface area to push against). If in doubt halve the halves length wise to make sure the the potato will fit through the cutting area. Easy to push down the actuator this way. Also quick tip use a colander to catch the french fries because they shot right through the cutter and onto the floor the first time I used this cutter.
My Favorite BrandKitchenAid
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Progressive Deluxe French Fry Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

How did I do with out it.

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Ziggypiggy
fromNorth Carolina, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Sticks to glass great but does not hold to well on cabinet top or cutting board. love the way it works.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>