Customer reviews for Berard Olive Wood Salt Keeper

Berard Olive Wood Salt Keeper

Berard Olive Wood Salt Keeper : The unique, magnetic-latch swivel lid provides easy access and closure with one hand to maintain the purity of gourmet salt. The Berard olive wood salt keeper keeps the salt moisture-free to preserve freshness and prevent clumping. This elegant, one-of-a-kind keeper has a rich wood grain pattern that is striking in appearance, design and longevity. No two are exactly alike. Elegant on a table or counter to keep salt within easy access for flavoring food. Wide-mouth opening for easy access. Corrosion-resistant stainless-steel hinge for long-life durability. Wipe clean. The designers of distinctive wood products for the kitchen and entertaining since 1892, Berard is located in the Royan mountains, bordering the northern edge of Provence, France. Product Features Beautiful, hand-carved olive wood with a magnetic swivel lid allows salt to "breathe" to maintain the purity of fresh salt The lid provides single-handed access and closure to keep salt moisture-free and prevent clumping Richly-grained olive wood design is striking in appearance and functionality on a table or countertop Wide-mouth opening for easy access Stainless-steel hinge resists corrosion Berard is the maker of fine wood products since 1892
Overall rating:
4.739 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(65 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 65 reviews
5 Stars
55
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
63 out of 65(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Berard Olive Wood Salt Keeper
Review 1 for Berard Olive Wood Salt Keeper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Salt Box

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Hal53
fromMilwaukee, WI, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
Perfect. I'm going to buy a couple more for different salts, which I know sounds obsessive. Only problem - the kids won't quit playing with the lid. It's too cool.
My Favorite BrandBreville
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Berard Olive Wood Salt Keeper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than I thought!

PostedMarch 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Marilyn67
fromMinneapolis
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
This little salt keeper is beautiful and a conversation piece. It also does a great job keeping salt dry - I use it for my sea salt and kosher salt. Even my husband likes it and he is picky -picky about workmanship and value for the money.
My Favorite BrandMauviel
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Berard Olive Wood Salt Keeper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Bowl

PostedSeptember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
dogbone
fromKansas City
I am very pleased with this item. Looks like a piece of art and I like the way the lid slides open and closed without detaching from the box.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Berard Olive Wood Salt Keeper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beauty & Function; a wonderful marriage

PostedFebruary 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Palko7
fromAlbany, NY
This salt keeper is as beautiful as it is functional. The lid swings open wide, so you can pinch up the salt and add to your food as needed. Swing it shut, and it keeps the salt from caking. Beauty!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Berard Olive Wood Salt Keeper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful!

PostedJanuary 25, 2011
Customer avatar
grammiesandy
fromLostine Oregon
We're building a new house and this salt cellar will add a natural touch to my stove top area. One is for salt, the other is for pepper.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Berard Olive Wood Salt Keeper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this item

PostedOctober 21, 2010
Customer avatar
SusanInSFL
fromSouth Florida
I am keeping the Himalayan salt in it and just love it. Looks great, serviceable...can't ask fo rmore
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Berard Olive Wood Salt Keeper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Salt Keeper

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Sandi70
fromFlorida, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
This olive wood is beautifully turned and has a hidden magnet for closing.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Berard Olive Wood Salt Keeper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Salt Keeper

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
dianeph
fromSouth Jersey
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Rachel Ray
My salt keeper looks very much like the one pictured...beautiful graining to the wood. It is small but nice for next to the stove for cooking. I used Boos Block Cream on the outside of it to keep it from drying out. I'm not sure about using it on the inside even though it's food safe. Might change the taste of the salt.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Berard Olive Wood Salt Keeper
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not good enough for gift giving

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Customer avatar
sven1075
fromSeattle, WA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
I bought, and have returned, this Salt Keeper. While the wood itself is very pretty, the fit of the lid to the bottom is poor, with gaps between and also the round lid not fitting the round top. Obviously the two not cut from the same block. I bought it for an upcoming gift for a family member but upon receiving it I decided the quality was insufficient for a gift or for keeping it for myself.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Berard Olive Wood Salt Keeper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Berard Olive Wood Salt Keeper

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Customer avatar
snowflake61
fromeast berlin, PA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
This salt keeper is such a beautiful addition to my dining table. I love good salts and I buy the best for my family and I needed a special container to put our salt in to serve and this already has gotten great reviews from family and friends. Guests pick it up just to look at and enjoy the beautiful wood and workmanship
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Berard Olive Wood Salt Keeper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful and functional

PostedApril 25, 2013
Customer avatar
cleannyc
fromNew York
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
I had admired this salt box for a while and finally decided to order it. I love it. It holds plenty and looks so warm and attractive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Berard Olive Wood Salt Keeper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this gadget.

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Katmando
fromParis, KY
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
We are big fans of kosher salt, but never could find a container that is easily accessible and air tight. This is it! It couldn't be easier to have my kosher salt right on the counter, on hand, ready to use. It is easy to open and close and keeps the salt dry, clean and fresh. Awesome! I feel just like those chefs on Food Network. lol
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Berard Olive Wood Salt Keeper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love new toys!

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromRingwood, NJ, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
This is perfect for my kitchen. It holds a nice amount of salt and keeps it within reach when I need it. It looks great on my counter, stays nicely sealed when not in use and smoothly opens up a large enough opening to easily grab what you need. It's funny, but now that I've been using this I tend to end up with food that is nicely salted when it hits the table with no need to add table salt to our plates.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Berard Olive Wood Salt Keeper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful!

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Schultz
fromColchester, CT
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Friend
This olive wood salt box is just gorgeous and was the perfect suprise for my husband on Christmas. He loves interesting salts, and now we have a way to display them beautifully on our counter. The magnetic swivel lid is a nice touch. Great choice and great service from Chef's!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Berard Olive Wood Salt Keeper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great PIG

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
skyhawk1
fromAthens, TN, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
Very useful, functional and had great eye appeal.
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Berard Olive Wood Salt Keeper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great addition

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Acal
fromCT
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
beautiful, perfect to keep on counter. I've had my eye on this for quite a while, finally decided to purchase. So glad I did. love it!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Berard Olive Wood Salt Keeper
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Salt Keeper

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Customer avatar
JJ47
fromOcala, FL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
Not as happy as my previous salt keeper. The magnet was not secure in the the hole for the magnet. It came out and I had difficulty putting it back in the hole.
My Favorite BrandPillsbury
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Berard Olive Wood Salt Keeper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Debbie39470
fromPoplarville, MS
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
Been looking for a salt keeper and this one is perfect. Like the texture and how it slides open
My Favorite Brandall-clad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Berard Olive Wood Salt Keeper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

no more over salting or waisting salt

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Bonita
fromAlb NM
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
I have always had trouble with over salting when i cook. now when i need a pinch of salt i dont have to pour salt in my hand and then throw the rest away. or pour from the salt container while trying to guess how much salt i've poured
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Berard Olive Wood Salt Keeper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Practical and a joy to view daily

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer avatar
kiteking
fromSan Antonio, TX, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
This is not my first salt cellar, but it looks beautiful sitting out for display. It is practical, yet not utilitarian looking (unlike my other cellars) and fits any natural themed workspace. Although its method of opening is not obvious, once you spot the wood grain variations, it is easy to know where the magnet is and how to open it up. Highly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>