Customer reviews for Calphalon Forged Santoku Knife

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CHEFS Catalog.

Calphalon Forged Santoku Knife

Calphalon Forged Santoku Knife : The workhorse of a chef's knife with the quick release of a hollow-edge, this Calphalon forged hollow-edge santoku knife brings smooth accurate performance to the kitchen. One-piece forging of the blade, bolster and tang, ground by hand from German high-carbon steel, creates a perfect edge that stays sharp longer. Fully tapered from the cutting edge to the spine and from the tip to the heel for additional strength and cutting versatility, each knife is individually balanced for maximum handling efficiency. With a fine-satin finish that is resistant to stains, rust and discoloration, these lifetime tools quickly dice and chop vegetables, mince garlic and herbs and slice meats deli-thin or for stir fry. The Asian-style wide blade serves as a spatula to transfer food from the cutting board to the skillet or stockpot immediately. The ergonomically-contoured handle on Calphalon's santoku knives feels custom-made for precise management and control. Distinctive to the Calphalon series of knives is the etching of the name, at the end of the handle, for instant identification in a wood block or in-drawer tray. Hand wash. Lifetime manufacturer warranty. Product Features Expertly-forged from a single piece of German high-carbon steel with a hollow-edge blade and full tang This workhorse of a chef's knife has the quick-release blade indentations for smooth-accurate performance The blade is ground by hand to a refined finish, creating a superior edge that retains sharpness longer Fully tapered from the cutting edge to the spine and from the tip to the heel for additional strength and cutting versatility Calphalon's santoku features a fine-satin finish that is resistant to stains, rust and discoloration These lifetime-guaranteed tools dice and chop vegetables, mince garlic and herbs and slice meats deli-thin or for stir fry In the traditional style of an Asian knife, the wide blade serves as a spatula for the transfer of food The ergonomic contoured handle feels custom-made for superior handling control With the name of the knife etched into the handle, identification is easy from a knife block or in-drawer storage tray Established in 1963, Calphalon is the culinary authority in kitchenwares, dedicated to enhancing the home chef's experience during planning, prep work, cooking, baking and serving.
Overall rating:
4.828 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 58 reviews
5 Stars
51
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
53 out of 54(98%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Calphalon Forged Santoku Knife
Review 1 for Calphalon Forged Santoku Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well balance sharp knife!

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer avatar
nebraskacooking
fromLincoln, NE, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
I bought this for my wife so she'd have something better than the cheap grocery store bought knives used in meal prep at home - especially vegetables. She loves it! Well balance in the hand, very sharp and cuts everything easily. It's her favorite cut anything knife. All around great blade for prep work in the kitchen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Calphalon Forged Santoku Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great inexpensive knife

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer avatar
JohnD
fromSeattle,WA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I bought a Calphalon Santoku knife a year or two ago. It quickly became my "standard" knife. I used to use my 2 10" Henckels chef's knives for practically all slicing and dicing but this "little" knife has taken over most of my knife work with the 10" knives reserved for larger jobs.
I was so pleased with this knife that I recently bought 2 more as gifts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Calphalon Forged Santoku Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great value

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Customer avatar
capttony
fromBaja California Sur, Mexico
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
best in it's class, weighted handle for excellent control and ease of slicing or chopping. Good quality steel, sharpens well, will last a lifetime. Excellent addition to any cooks quiver of knives.
My Favorite Brandwusthof
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Calphalon Forged Santoku Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What value for the price!

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Customer avatar
MARIE61
fromFLORIDA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
To purchase a forged knife at this price from such a well-established firm seemed unusual. This knife has such good grip and balance it feels like an extension of my hand. I am going to purchase 2 more to give as Christmas presents; one will go to my son-in-law, a chef.
My Favorite BrandCalphalon, Cuisinart, Chicago Cutlery
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Calphalon Forged Santoku Knife
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good knife!

PostedFebruary 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Salital
fromCentral Coast, CA
This is a very good knife for utility work in the kitchen. I use it for a lot of vegetable prep and it does the job.... very sharp and the weight balance is good. Also, if your hands are a little on the small side, this knife is for you! Good price too!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Calphalon Forged Santoku Knife
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very well made

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Customer avatar
6DogMom
fromNo. Nevada
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Knife is balanced, of good weight and requires minimum effort in chopping. I may even put my old 7" stand-by to the back of the block considering how well this knife feels. It will not, however, replace all the knives in your arsenal but is a very very good addition, especially at the sale price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Calphalon Forged Santoku Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent knife

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromAlmond, NC
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
The Santoku came extra sharp and ready to use. It is nicely balanced. I just hand wash and take a steel to it before evey time I use it. This is my go to knife.
My Favorite BrandSeveral
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Calphalon Forged Santoku Knife
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worth the price

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Lowbeat
fromMilwaukee, WI, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
The best part of this knife is that it is one I can let other people use in my kitchen, having my sons do some prep work, etc. It is smaller than I like, but has good balance and feel. I may end up using this one primarily for camping trips, picnics, etc..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Calphalon Forged Santoku Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great balance!

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Debaroo
fromLouisiana
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
This knife feels great in my hand. It is super sharp and a joy to use. I love it.
My Favorite BrandCalphalon
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Calphalon Forged Santoku Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent knife in the lower price range!

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Customer avatar
TropicalT72
fromMontana
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
This is the third set (including the 7") of the Calaphalon Santoku Knives I have bought. One for myself and two gifts. This size fits small hands perfectly, balance seems good, holds the edge for an amazing length of time. Shapens well with the Santoku style sharpener. More friends may be on the list to receive this, it's such a good product, and the price is right, too.
My Favorite BrandCalaphalon
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Calphalon Forged Santoku Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromShow Low, AZ
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I love the heft of this knife. It's perfect for slicing large cuts of meats. The blade is high quality. Overall, a very nice knife for a value price.
My Favorite BrandCuisinart
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Calphalon Forged Santoku Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!!!

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Vinegar
fromCovington, TN
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I absolutely love this knife. It's the one I reach for all the time. Chopping and dicing are fun to do and quick as well. It fits my hand well and the balance is great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Calphalon Forged Santoku Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Size Knife

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Customer avatar
NancyLB
fromLong Beach, California
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I have small hands and this knife is the perfect size.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Calphalon Forged Santoku Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedJuly 19, 2011
Customer avatar
rcfcook12
fromDenver
I've been wanting a "go-to" knife approx. 5 inches. (This one is 5.25 in.) My son gave me a Chef's gift certificate for Fathers' Day, so I went for this. No complaints. My wife and I both go for it constantly. We may need a second - and we love to cook. Perfect weight and dimensions - perfect balance - excellent "feel" - very sharp. Simply a pleasure to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Calphalon Forged Santoku Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally, a knife that fits my hand!

PostedMarch 16, 2011
Customer avatar
Ditzy
fromBall Ground, Ga.
I have beautiful knives that are very expensive but none fit
my hand until I found this one! It fits my hand just right and the weight is perfect! It feels secure but moves fluidly when
prepping. As a bonus, it was inexpensive but quality made. I would definitely recommend this knife.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Calphalon Forged Santoku Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great value knife

PostedMarch 1, 2011
Customer avatar
gsbianchi
fromToms River,NJ
For those of you who desire an all around utility knife, this is the one for you. Although the metal in this blade is heavier than others, that is a plus for many kitchen afficianados who require a heavier weighted blade. An occasional sharpening is all that is required to maintain the surgical precision of this utility knife as it can replace many others in your knife block when one gains the confidence of handling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Calphalon Forged Santoku Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Why pay more?

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Customer avatar
MikeP
fromCanton, MI
My wife is an exceptional cook and I wanted to surprise her with a good quality forged 7-inch Santoku knife. After looking at all of the forged knife reviews I decided to take a chance on the Calphalon. I'm glad I did; she really likes it and says it's very well balanced and has just enough heft to make cutting and chopping easy. I know she's not just saying that because it's the first knife she reaches for. It's a very well made knife and is an exceptional value!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Calphalon Forged Santoku Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

super sharp

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
Customer avatar
TheBigM
fromWest Linn, Oregon
Best knives we have. Super sharp. Be careful but know that they will work on anything.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Calphalon Forged Santoku Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Knife!

PostedDecember 31, 2010
Customer avatar
MEubank
fromFort Worth, TX
This is a perfect sized knife and the balance is excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Calphalon Forged Santoku Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5" Santoku knife

PostedDecember 16, 2010
Customer avatar
Yamboy
fromLos Angeles
Darn fine, this knife. It's a nice size to have in your arsenal....not just the longer version. Keen edge....very well balanced. Yup. A good buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>