Customer reviews for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster

Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster

Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster : Prized in kitchens since the turn of the century, this Granite Ware covered rectangular roaster captures the full flavor of oven roasting. Durable, dark porcelain-enamel on steel construction absorbs the oven's energy to distribute heat evenly and cook food at a consistent temperature. The domed lid allows air and moisture to circulate, ensuring juicy, poultry, beef or pork that naturally bastes in its own flavoring. With a high-rise lid that is almost as deep as the pan, this roaster accommodates up to a 25-lb. turkey or 25-lb. roast, allowing the clearance to prevent meat from sticking or tearing. The lid can be inverted to use as a second single roasting pan. Remove the lid and this roaster provides the excellent crisp-browning that only a dark steel roaster can achieve. The ample rectangular size lets you cook vegetables alongside for convenient all-in-one meals. Looped, easy-grasp handles for safe transport. PFOA-free and chemical-free. Dishwasher-safe. Rated the best overall roaster by the Los Angeles Times newspaper. Granite Ware cookware is designed by the American company that has supplied commercial and home kitchens for more than 125 years. Product Features Durable porcelain-enamel on steel construction heats evenly and retains heat for superior, moist and flavorful poultry or roasts Domed lid retains heat, circulates air and moisture to ensure juicy poultry, meat, ham or pork High-rise lid and deep pan well provide the clearance to prevent meat from sticking Lid can also be used as a second single roasting pan Accommodates up to a 25-lb. turkey or 25-lb. roast Ample rectangular size to cook vegetables alongside roasts Dark porcelain-enamel on steel allows excellent browning Looped, easy-grasp handles for safe transport PFOA-free and chemical-free Not recommended for use on glass stove tops Dishwasher-safe The American designer of porcelain-enamel on steel cookware for six generations, Granite Ware continues to be a preferred choice of professional chefs and home gourmets
Overall rating:
4.754 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(65 reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 65 reviews
5 Stars
55
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
63 out of 65(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Review 1 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Graniteware

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
crodon
fromOakdale, Montville, CT 06370, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
A great gift for our oldest son and his wife. They'll be carrying on a tradition of cooking great roasts in this wonderful, versatile roaster!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice roaster

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Customer avatar
BGC0357
fromNew Cordell, OK 73632, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
Very nice economical roaster. I used it to roast a 20 lb. turkey and had plenty of room. It does not come with a rack but I had one that would fit. Lid seemed to fit as designed and I have not had any problems with it.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new turkey roaster!!!

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Jo87
fromBethlehem, PA, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
This roaster was perfect for our 35 lb turkey. Everything I saw for over a 30 lb bird was very pricey and this was reasonably priced, durable and cleaned up easily..and the turkey fit beautifully!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my new roaster

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Letty53
fromCorpus Christi, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
This roaster is excellent, I only have to calculate the cooking time. I cooked a 21 lb turkey and used the alloted time of 4 1/2 hours but in reality it would have ready in 3.75 hours, I overcooked it. but it still was good and juicy but some of it dry. Since it was new I was not used to it yet. But the review I had read said it takes less time to cook in it and that was true, excellent, sturdy, no mess cooking with it, I truly recommend this for many uses in baking.
My Favorite BrandCuisinart
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice, thick vessel; roomy - large

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromJasper, TX
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I purchased the rectangle to replace a very old oval one I have used for many years. It will be used when my daughter and husband and grandchildren visit. I like to back large amounts on holidays. It should serve many purposes - the entree' plus vegetables if desired.
My Favorite BrandCHEFS CHOICE INTERNATIONAL
 
Products related to my review
 
Le Creuset 9-Piece Cookware Set
4.8 out of 5(91)
 
 
 
 
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Was nicer than I expected and arrived in a timely

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Customer avatar
dinkymink
fromIL.
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
The turkey roaster was a good heavy duty roaster. My son wanted one like his grandmother had, and I believe this one was nicer than her old one.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best pan for a great tasting bird.

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Customer avatar
Joee64
fromOzark, Arkansas
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
This is the greatest pan that I have ever used in my 50+ years of cooking. Love its weight and it cleans up beautifully.
My Favorite BrandKitchenAid
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMay 3, 2011
Customer avatar
xstitcher
fromNewark, DE
The roaster is great. I bought this for a Christmas Gift because I have one and love it.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster

PostedJune 19, 2015
Customer avatar
read75
fromShelby, NC, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
This is perfect for making TWO batches of lasagna if I want to, and also for a large turkey. I gave away two large oval roasters and bought this one. It's a great gift for one of my children - eventually!
My Favorite BrandDON'T HAVE ONE.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great roaster

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Customer avatar
dink11
fromIndiana, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
used this for Christmas and it was great. Large size made it awesome to hold large turkey. The turkey was
moist and very juicy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Customer avatar
olympic
fromMuir, MI, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Calamity
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I purchased the roaster for my wife and she is very happy with it. She says she could easily fit a 35 pound turkey into it. The ability to use the cover as a second pan is a huge pluss
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Lois79
fromChicago, Il
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
This is a gift, and it certainly looks like what I was expecting. My grandson wants to roast "lots" of chicken
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
mike124
fromOdessa, TX, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Microwave Magician
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
You should give exterior measurements as well as interior measurements. The handles on large objects should be squared off instead of rounded to save space.
The bottom of my roaster will not fit in the oven, but the top will serve the purpose I purchased this to do.
I think that it is my job to get measurements right.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sturdy and made well

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Cookie41
fromBruceton Mills, WV 26525, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
Although I have not used the roaster (Thanksgiving will be the first use), the quality is great.
My Favorite BrandCuisinart
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

granite ware Rectangular Roaster

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Lin11
fromHallstead, PA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
Couldn't find a roaster of this value any where checked out Chefs and found what I wanted. Was very happy when I opened the box, right size, great finish and was very pleased. So glad I found Chefs products.
My Favorite Brandcusniart
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My first roaster

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
mppmcoop
fromNorton, OH, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I finally bought one and it reminds me of years ago when my grandma or mom used one! Great item and good memories! I havent used it yet but can't wait!
My Favorite BrandALL CLAD
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

returned

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
lampy
fromClifton, NJ, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
the handle solder exposed not professionally done not up to standard
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

old way is best

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
dukemack
frombeautiful new jersey
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
its not fancy but it works and is simple to clean. I have one of those 180$ roast pans - takes forever to clean and weighs 4 tons. This is the same kind your mom used and maybe there is a reason for that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Longtme Favorte Roaster

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Gail43
fromEvansville, IN, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I am still using the same granite ware roaster I bought 50 years ago. I bought this one for my daughter. This roaster is perfect for large turkeys or when cooking for a crowd. The turkeys always come out juicy and tender. I do recommend using a flat rack on the bottom
My Favorite BrandAny brand with quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Kitchenette
fromMichigan, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Nice size for large turkey. However, pan arrived warped and so, lid did not set evenly on pan. Item returned.
My Favorite BrandSitram
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>