Customer reviews for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster

Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster

Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster : Prized in kitchens since the turn of the century, this Granite Ware covered rectangular roaster captures the full flavor of oven roasting. Durable, dark porcelain-enamel on steel construction absorbs the oven's energy to distribute heat evenly and cook food at a consistent temperature. The domed lid allows air and moisture to circulate, ensuring juicy, poultry, beef or pork that naturally bastes in its own flavoring. With a high-rise lid that is almost as deep as the pan, this roaster accommodates up to a 25-lb. turkey or 25-lb. roast, allowing the clearance to prevent meat from sticking or tearing. The lid can be inverted to use as a second single roasting pan. Remove the lid and this roaster provides the excellent crisp-browning that only a dark steel roaster can achieve. The ample rectangular size lets you cook vegetables alongside for convenient all-in-one meals. Looped, easy-grasp handles for safe transport. PFOA-free and chemical-free. Dishwasher-safe. Rated the best overall roaster by the Los Angeles Times newspaper. Granite Ware cookware is designed by the American company that has supplied commercial and home kitchens for more than 125 years. Product Features Durable porcelain-enamel on steel construction heats evenly and retains heat for superior, moist and flavorful poultry or roasts Domed lid retains heat, circulates air and moisture to ensure juicy poultry, meat, ham or pork High-rise lid and deep pan well provide the clearance to prevent meat from sticking Lid can also be used as a second single roasting pan Accommodates up to a 25-lb. turkey or 25-lb. roast Ample rectangular size to cook vegetables alongside roasts Dark porcelain-enamel on steel allows excellent browning Looped, easy-grasp handles for safe transport PFOA-free and chemical-free Not recommended for use on glass stove tops Dishwasher-safe The American designer of porcelain-enamel on steel cookware for six generations, Granite Ware continues to be a preferred choice of professional chefs and home gourmets
Overall rating:
4.741 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 58 reviews
5 Stars
49
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
56 out of 58(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Review 1 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice roaster

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Customer avatar
BGC0357
fromNew Cordell, OK 73632, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
Very nice economical roaster. I used it to roast a 20 lb. turkey and had plenty of room. It does not come with a rack but I had one that would fit. Lid seemed to fit as designed and I have not had any problems with it.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new turkey roaster!!!

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Jo87
fromBethlehem, PA, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
This roaster was perfect for our 35 lb turkey. Everything I saw for over a 30 lb bird was very pricey and this was reasonably priced, durable and cleaned up easily..and the turkey fit beautifully!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my new roaster

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Letty53
fromCorpus Christi, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
This roaster is excellent, I only have to calculate the cooking time. I cooked a 21 lb turkey and used the alloted time of 4 1/2 hours but in reality it would have ready in 3.75 hours, I overcooked it. but it still was good and juicy but some of it dry. Since it was new I was not used to it yet. But the review I had read said it takes less time to cook in it and that was true, excellent, sturdy, no mess cooking with it, I truly recommend this for many uses in baking.
My Favorite BrandCuisinart
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice, thick vessel; roomy - large

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromJasper, TX
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I purchased the rectangle to replace a very old oval one I have used for many years. It will be used when my daughter and husband and grandchildren visit. I like to back large amounts on holidays. It should serve many purposes - the entree' plus vegetables if desired.
My Favorite BrandCHEFS CHOICE INTERNATIONAL
 
Products related to my review
 
Le Creuset 9-Piece Cookware Set
4.8 out of 5(91)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Was nicer than I expected and arrived in a timely

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Customer avatar
dinkymink
fromIL.
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
The turkey roaster was a good heavy duty roaster. My son wanted one like his grandmother had, and I believe this one was nicer than her old one.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best pan for a great tasting bird.

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Customer avatar
Joee64
fromOzark, Arkansas
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
This is the greatest pan that I have ever used in my 50+ years of cooking. Love its weight and it cleans up beautifully.
My Favorite BrandKitchenAid
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMay 3, 2011
Customer avatar
xstitcher
fromNewark, DE
The roaster is great. I bought this for a Christmas Gift because I have one and love it.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

granite ware Rectangular Roaster

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Lin11
fromHallstead, PA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
Couldn't find a roaster of this value any where checked out Chefs and found what I wanted. Was very happy when I opened the box, right size, great finish and was very pleased. So glad I found Chefs products.
My Favorite Brandcusniart
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My first roaster

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
mppmcoop
fromNorton, OH, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I finally bought one and it reminds me of years ago when my grandma or mom used one! Great item and good memories! I havent used it yet but can't wait!
My Favorite BrandALL CLAD
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

returned

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
lampy
fromClifton, NJ, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
the handle solder exposed not professionally done not up to standard
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

old way is best

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
dukemack
frombeautiful new jersey
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
its not fancy but it works and is simple to clean. I have one of those 180$ roast pans - takes forever to clean and weighs 4 tons. This is the same kind your mom used and maybe there is a reason for that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Longtme Favorte Roaster

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Gail43
fromEvansville, IN, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I am still using the same granite ware roaster I bought 50 years ago. I bought this one for my daughter. This roaster is perfect for large turkeys or when cooking for a crowd. The turkeys always come out juicy and tender. I do recommend using a flat rack on the bottom
My Favorite BrandAny brand with quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Kitchenette
fromMichigan, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Nice size for large turkey. However, pan arrived warped and so, lid did not set evenly on pan. Item returned.
My Favorite BrandSitram
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible Pan!

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Carleen47
fromOceanside, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
Wow, what a great surprise this was! This is a really large covered roasting pan. Exactly what we were looking for. We cooked turkey in it on Thanksgiving & it came out perfect. Clean-up, a breeze. We then used it to make a really deep dish lasagna. I had actually been looking for a large pan for that specifically. We were having a large dinner party & the normal lasagna pans are way too small & not nearly tall enough. This pan is 5" deep & made a spectacular lasagna. Again , after all the baking with gooey cheese, etc., pure soap & water on clean-up. Best of all is the price! I would recommend this to anyone. It performed on a par to my All Clad and Le Crueset pans. It will be my new go to pan!
My Favorite BrandLe Crueset
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

roaster

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
momg
fromcalifornia
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
wonderfull!! it's just like the one i used to use when i had my resaurant! if you burn anything all you have to do is soak it and it comes clean..a lot heavier than the cheap ones. just be carefull not to scratch or chip it and it will last a lifetime
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Roaster- Perfect Size

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Daisee05
fromDavidsonville
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I am very pleased with this roaster. Great quality and the price was good-got it on sale!! Chef's has excellent quality products and a great selection.
My Favorite BrandFood Network, Sur La Table, Chef's
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Graniteware

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
crodon
fromOakdale, Montville, CT 06370, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
A great gift for our oldest son and his wife. They'll be carrying on a tradition of cooking great roasts in this wonderful, versatile roaster!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Granite Ware Roaster

PostedMay 4, 2013
Customer avatar
TerriM
fromIndianapolis, IN, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Friend
I make carmel corn and this will help with that. I will be able to make 2 batches at a time because I will be able to use the lid as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Ribs, too!

PostedApril 12, 2013
Customer avatar
BCooking
fromSaratoga Springs, NY
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I have always used my oval roaster for turkey and other large roasts, and I have a crock pot type counter top rib cooker. But I decided to have baby-back ribs for Easter this year, and for 10 people, I needed more room than my crock pot could hold. My husband (of all people!) came up with this rectangular roaster. I added a rib stand for a BBQ grill to the roaster, set up the riibs, added some water and BBQ sauce, covered and slow cooked in the oven for the best ribs I ever made! So roasters aren't just for tukey any more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Granite Ware Covered Rectangular Roaster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dream Roaster

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
SalsaBird
fromEssex Junction, VT 05452, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
A 14lb. fresh Turkey cooked in record setting time in this roaster. The meat was fall off the bone tender and juicy. A 25lb. Turkey will easily fit in this light weight easy to clean pan and cover.
It does take up space on the storage rack when not in use (the cover nests upside down in the bottom which helps).
It will be my "go-to" pan to cook a turkey. It looks like a good pan for making very very deep dish lasagna. Overall, for the price, this is a great pan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>