Customer reviews for All Purpose 5-Cup Sifter

All Purpose 5-Cup Sifter

All Purpose 5-Cup Sifter : This large capacity 5-cup all-purpose flour sifter operates with one hand using the spring-action handle to sift flour all at once for holiday baking. Stainless-steel screen removes clumps from flour or sugar for exact measure, ensuring even distribution throughout the batter. Every professional baker sifts flour to add the volume and aeration necessary for light and airy cakes, tea cakes, muffins, pie crusts and confections. Also ideal to pre-sift cocoa, baking soda or baking powder before adding to batters. Perfect to add a light dusting of confectioner's sugar onto cakes, doughnuts or rosettes. Product Features Ultra-smooth mechanism lets you sift and pour up to 5 cups of flour Spring-action handle operates with one hand Stainless-steel screen removes clumps for exact measure and even distribution in batters Sifted flour produces a lighter texture in desserts Also ideal to sift sugar, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder or confectioner's sugar
Overall rating:
4.118 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
5
29 out of 34(85%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for All Purpose 5-Cup Sifter
Review 1 for All Purpose 5-Cup Sifter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sifter

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Exgeodesist
fromBeverly Hills, Florida
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Gordon Ramsay
This is much easier to use AND sifts better than my old fashioned one. For someone with arthritis, this makes a big difference!
My Favorite BrandCuisianart
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for All Purpose 5-Cup Sifter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flour Sifter A-OK

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Customer avatar
GrannyCooks
fromYork, PA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Martyr
This flour sifter is made of very quality material. I have a vintage sifter that I have used for years and I think this one will last long enough to also become a vintage item. The triple sifter should really work much better then the single one I have used previously. Very fast and secure shipping.
I will be ordering from you again!
My Favorite BrandChicago Metal
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for All Purpose 5-Cup Sifter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

what a find

PostedMarch 9, 2011
Customer avatar
judila
fromBellmore, NY
I am thrilled to have finally, successfully replaced my 40 year old sifter, that was suffering with rust. Relplacement sifters that I'd purchased were quickly thrown into the garbage because the mechanism was too hard to press.
this 5 cup sifter actually OUTDOES my old faithful and I am SO happy to have found it. Kudos to Chefs!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for All Purpose 5-Cup Sifter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase

PostedJanuary 11, 2011
Customer avatar
senseicheryl
fromOcean View, NJ
I bought one of these 5-cup sifters a few years ago for myself and liked it so much, I just recently bought another one for my daughter. It works well and I find that it holds just the right amount. The only drawback is when you get down to the bottom of the contents, you sort of have to "shake" the whole item to get all of it out. Just pulling the handle doesn't get everything out. Other than that, I love it and it's worth the money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for All Purpose 5-Cup Sifter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5 cup sifter

PostedDecember 20, 2010
Customer avatar
Iriswinetime
fromPetaluma, CA
This sifter was purchased as a gift, and as a quality item it will, no doubt, last a life time. Quality tools help make better results.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for All Purpose 5-Cup Sifter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

flour sifter

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Customer avatar
chip66
fromDayton, TN 37321, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I had been looking for one of these for some time. My Mom always used one when I was small. I wanted one just like hers. Now I have it. Works great, good quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for All Purpose 5-Cup Sifter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Chikku

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Chikku
fromOcala, FL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
Was bent all to pieces when I got the package... I had to really rework it in order for it to be functionable.. I have been in the hospital and did not feel like repackaging the broken and bent items..... Just to sick..
My Favorite BrandCusenart
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for All Purpose 5-Cup Sifter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Sifter

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Danielle91
fromNew Windsor, NY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
Love using this sifter. Great for topping desserts with powdered sugar.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for All Purpose 5-Cup Sifter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5 cup sifter

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromWashington, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
Had been using a 1 cup sifter - what a pain. This one does a much faster job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for All Purpose 5-Cup Sifter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works good but....

PostedMay 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Laughingsprite
fromIndiana
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
I used this for the first time and almost immediately the handle started sticking. It wasn't so bad I couldn't use the sifter, but it definitely would get annoying if it continued. Otherwise it did a good job of sifting flour and cocoa for brownies.
My Favorite BrandCalphalon
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for All Purpose 5-Cup Sifter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not sift

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Customer avatar
giggles100788
fromWhite Plains, St. Charles, MD 20695, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I don't know what is wrong with this sifter, but it will sift for the first few cranks very slowly. Then, everything gets stuck under the part that rotates and it doesn't sift after that. I will be sending it back
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for All Purpose 5-Cup Sifter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice sifter

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Ginskers
fromOmaha, NE, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Easy to hold. Would like to see same sifter in a smaller size, 1-2 cups.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for All Purpose 5-Cup Sifter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Kind of Sifter

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Bobbiejo816
fromBeachwood, OH, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I have been looking for a quality sifter for the past few months. Ordered one from a different catalog and it was so cheaply made - the metal was thin and the construction was poor. I think I used it once with terrible results. My daughter went to the Chef's website cause we didn't see one in the recently received catalog and three options came up. We went with the 5-Cup Sifter. When it arrived, we inspected it, tested it and found it both sturdy and well made. Thanks Chef. We have loved every product we have purchased from either your catalog or website.
My Favorite BrandCuisnart
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for All Purpose 5-Cup Sifter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Sifter

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Cook60
fromNY
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I Like this sifter, not too small and not too large.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for All Purpose 5-Cup Sifter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I was looking for

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Merry1
fromPhiladelphia, PA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
Just like one that was in my Grandmother's kitchen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for All Purpose 5-Cup Sifter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A Dissapointment

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
DougS
fromWestminster, MA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
We would have preferred a crank-type flour sifter, but the 8 cup Norpro was loo large for our storage area, and we decided on this 5 cup model. It has proven a disappointment. The first time we used it for fine, whole wheat flour, the flour became stuck between the two levels of screen. There wasn't a second time.
My Favorite BrandOxo, All-Clad, Cuisinart
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for All Purpose 5-Cup Sifter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

all purpose 5 cup sifter

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Customer avatar
fenway0
fromStockholm, Hardyston Township, NJ 07460, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Martyr
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Friend
Poor design, I put it aside to return and used wire strainer for my baking. Very disappointed. Will return ASAP.
My Favorite Brandkitchenaid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for All Purpose 5-Cup Sifter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Sifter Coments

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromReno, NV, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
Although functional, it arrived with two small dents on opposite sides of the base. It appears as some sort of manufacturing jig was adjusted too tight. This should have been caught in the final inspection.
My Favorite BrandNone
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for All Purpose 5-Cup Sifter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMay 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Cookon
fromHigh Point, NC, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
Easy action sifter - works well. Weight is good - not flimsey but not so heavy it would take two hands to lift it. No problems - I am looking forward to having it for many years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for All Purpose 5-Cup Sifter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sleek and Practical

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Customer avatar
MooKR
fromNY, NY
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I'm an avid baker and have always wanted a sifter but they were all too large and difficult to store. This one fits perfectly in my small kitchen and gets the job done. Bravo!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>