Customer reviews for Wusthof Gourmet 12-Piece Block Set

Wusthof Gourmet 12-Piece Block Set

Wusthof Gourmet 12-Piece Block Set : The Wusthof Gourmet line features a precision-stamped blade of high-carbon stainless-steel that sharpens easily and holds its edge. The compression rivets securely attach the high-impact handles to the full tang for superior balance and maneuverability. The come-apart kitchen shears feature bevel- and serrated-edge blades of high-carbon stainless-steel to cut apart chicken, snip herbs and cut parchment paper. Using the adjustable gripper teeth below the handles, this tool also opens jar lids and bottle caps. The handles on these shears pull apart to clean and sharpen blades. 13-slot hardwood block. Lifetime manufacturer warranty on cutlery. Since 1814, knives bearing the Wusthof name and the Trident logo have been crafted in the world's "Cutlery Capital" of Solingen, Germany. Today, in a state-of-the-art facility, that tradition of quality is ensured as old-world craftsmanship meets 21st century production methods. Product Features Precision-stamped blades of high-carbon stainless-steel ensures long-lasting sharpness Stainless-steel blades resist rust and stains Ergonomically designed knife handles offer a smooth, comfortable grip ABS polymer handles are resistant to high heat and high impact Handles are triple-riveted to a stainless-steel full tang for better balance and maneuverability 12-Piece Set Includes: 2 1/2" flat parer 3" parer 4 1/2" utility knife 8" chef's knife 8" bread knife 4, 4 1/2" steak knives 9" sharpening steel come-apart kitchen shears 13-slot hardwood block
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
22 out of 25(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Wusthof Gourmet 12-Piece Block Set
Review 1 for Wusthof Gourmet 12-Piece Block Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wusthof Gourmet 12-Piece Block Set

PostedJune 20, 2011
Customer avatar
pinchpenny
fromSweet Valley, PA
I had purchased a 10 inch Wusthof chefs knife about 7 years ago from Chefs Catalog and love it. Have been wanting a new block set and saw this special in the catalog. Very happy with my purchase and would definitely recommend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wusthof Gourmet 12-Piece Block Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice knives

PostedJune 15, 2014
Customer avatar
comander
fromn.h.
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
i am happy with these knives, the quality is very good. They are exspensive but worth it in the long run.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wusthof Gourmet 12-Piece Block Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedMay 20, 2014
Customer avatar
2sustain
fromIndiana, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
I knew by the name these were good knives. I was surprised that they were lighter weight then I expected. Good feel though. I am happy with them so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wusthof Gourmet 12-Piece Block Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great knives...but expensive!

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
TeacherGuy
fromColumbia, MO
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
These are great knives to use in the kitchen...malleable, durable and all that. They are just very expensive!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wusthof Gourmet 12-Piece Block Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheap-looking

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Aprill
fromNY
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I expected a more professional appearance, instead it looked dull and had flimsy thin blades. Not a value for the money. It looks cheap sitting on my counter and lightweight when handling it. I bought it for the name, expecting a high quality item, but it is definitely not all it's cut out to be.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wusthof Gourmet 12-Piece Block Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wusthof Knives

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
KTIrish8
fromWheaton, IL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
Awesome. The best knives ever. Anything to make life easier,and it does.-------KT
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wusthof Gourmet 12-Piece Block Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Butchbutcher
fromDenham Springs, LA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I have always wanted a great set of knives. We made the mistake of buying the forever sharp knives, and they did not live up to as advertised. This set of knives were just exactly what I was looking for, and priced just right. I will definitely purchase more Wusthoff cutlery.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wusthof Gourmet 12-Piece Block Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Customer avatar
NorCalGal
fromLivermore, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
I had no idea that knives like these existed. It cut through raw meat like room-temp butter. I have a disability with my dominant hand and cutting anything has been a struggle - more often than not needing help. I haven't had to ask for help once since we got these knives. They are sharp, a managable weight, fits the hand in a natural curve and is perfectly balanced.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wusthof Gourmet 12-Piece Block Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not as good as expected

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Catmanwagner
fromSaint Petersburg, FL
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
The knives are obviously extremely sharp, but the handles seem to be a little light, I wish the blades were ever so slightly thicker. Interestingly enough there are two extra slots in the wood block, I thought that I was missing two knives. I called the company, they said I was not, the slots are for "convenience" items. Odd.. So you really get 10 knives and an unexpected wooden cutting block and an unexpected - and how often will you ever use it - sharpening tool. That makes "12". No, not recommended. I'll probably just "eat it" and buy a nicer set next year.
My Favorite BrandDeLongi
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wusthof Gourmet 12-Piece Block Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gourmet 12-Piece Block Set

PostedMay 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Darcyyc
fromTomball, TX
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I am pleased with this set but expected the knives to be a little sharper.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wusthof Gourmet 12-Piece Block Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price and excellent quality.

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromPort Angeles, WA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
This is the first set of good knives that I have ever purchased and I am glad that I waited until I could afford a nice set. They are extremely sharp and completely different from the cheap set I had before. You really do get what you pay for.
My Favorite BrandWusthof
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wusthof Gourmet 12-Piece Block Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Fishie
fromOjai, CA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Excellent quality for the price. This is a great starter piece for the serious cook.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wusthof Gourmet 12-Piece Block Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Second set.

PostedDecember 19, 2011
Customer avatar
mzrider
fromLas Vegas, NV, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Got a set for myself a few years ago. Liked it soooo much that this set is a gift for my daughter's kitchen. Great products and a very reasonable price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wusthof Gourmet 12-Piece Block Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value and high quality.

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Customer avatar
ruthieh
fromMadrid, NY
I hate dull knives and hate even more having to sharpen them all the time. With this set, I don't have to. This is an excellent set of knives. Better than the Chicago Cutlery I have had in the past. Scissors are great, easy to clean, and love that they come apart. Knives all cut great. All the sizes I use most often. The only drawback is that they are not quite as good as my Wusthof Ikon knives, but then they aren't supposed to be. But this is a much better deal and well worth the money spent. Would recommend them to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wusthof Gourmet 12-Piece Block Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tools

PostedDecember 15, 2010
Customer avatar
PapaB
fromFlorida
I recently purchased a 12 piece set of Wusthof Gourmet knives. They are a superior product and perform beyond expectations. I thought I would have to step up to the Classic or Classic Icon Wusthof knives but the Gourmet brand are all anyone needs in a very well made and exceptionally well balanced set of knives. I hope to enjoy them for many years to come.
Cooking Expertise: Advanced
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wusthof Gourmet 12-Piece Block Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

12 piece block set Wusthof

PostedNovember 30, 2010
Customer avatar
FBiz
fromOcala, FL
Needing to relace an aging knife set, I looked @ this set earlier but the $400 was too much. When the special price was announced, I could not resist. Saved the set to use for Thanksgiving and my bird sliced like never beforel My guests were impressed with their knives and the beauty of the block set itself!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wusthof Gourmet 12-Piece Block Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good Knives

PostedNovember 17, 2010
Customer avatar
RCOLA50
fromNJ
I am very satisfied with my Wusthoff 12 piece set,a great value for the price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wusthof Gourmet 12-Piece Block Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Knives

PostedOctober 31, 2010
Customer avatar
Dihoeft
fromHeppner, Oregon
Love the knives, already told friends about them. Would love to get more of the collection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wusthof Gourmet 12-Piece Block Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedOctober 20, 2010
Customer avatar
Gingie
fromNew Haven
Great knives & scissor. Fast shipping. Great quality!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Wusthof Gourmet 12-Piece Block Set
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
6 of 6 recommend this product