Customer reviews for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CHEFS Catalog.

Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker

Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker : This Technivorm Moccamaster coffee maker is certified by the Specialty Coffee Association of Europe and America (SCAE and SCAA) for brewing coffee's full-potential aroma and flavor. With the independent energy-efficient heat exchanger, coffee brews quietly in 5-6 minutes at the optimal 200 degrees F temperature. Utilizing the superior heat conductivity of copper as the boiling element, this automatic drip coffee maker maintains the perfect temperature throughout the entire brewing cycle, ensuring consistent exceptional flavor. Crafted and assembled by hand, the brewplate and hotplate elements function separately, creating a premier design that distinguishes the advanced brew system of Technivorm Moccamaster from other professional coffee makers. The cone-shaped brew basket offers a channeled interior to allow the ideal coffee-to-water ratio contact, ensuring best extraction from coffee grounds. Three settings: Open to brew a full pot (6-10 cups); Half-Open for 2-5 cups or tea, or Closed to stop the flow of coffee and pour a cup before the end of the cycle. The 9-hole spray-arm on this coffee brewer allows increased water dispersion to thoroughly saturate of grounds. With the stainless-steel vacuum carafe, the ideal temperature retention of 176-185 degrees F preserves the rich coffee flavor and aroma. Clear easy-fill cool water reservoir. On/off switch and illuminated on indicator light. 1,400 watts. 10-cup (40-oz.) capacity. Hand wash carafe. Made in the Netherlands. Product Features Hand-built, assembled and individually tested according to critical performance standards Tested and approved by the European Coffee Brewing Centre (ECBC) Oslo, Norway Independent heat exchanger/copper boiling element for superior conductivity and efficient operation Begins the brew cycle in 30 seconds Brews quietly in 5-6 minutes, ensuring optimal ground saturation Maintains the ideal 195-205 degrees F temperature while brewing to ensure best flavor from grounds Brewing element and hotplate elements function separately for advanced, exact-temperature performance Cone-shaped basket with inner channels to provide the ideal water-to-grounds contact Precise basket settings: Full pot, Half-Pot and Brew-Stop to pour a cup before the brewing cycle ends Stainless-steel vacuum carafe maintains ideal serving temperature Clear, easy-fill reservoir On/off switch and illuminated on indicator light Certified by the Specialty Coffee Associations of Europe and America (SCAE and SCAA)
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
19 out of 22(86%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker
Review 1 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker

PostedJanuary 5, 2011
Customer avatar
Miniziggy
fromEast Coast, NC
First impressions are very positive. Coffee brews quickly and has great aroma and flavor. Carafe keeps coffee hot and the entire unit is user friendly. Very impressed with operation and quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you love great coffee - this is it

PostedDecember 15, 2010
Customer avatar
janine
fromlos angeles
This is the most amazing at home coffe pot - getting the water to the right temp and spraying the grounds brings out the best - especially if you are using really good beans!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good coffee maker but worth the price?

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Customer avatar
DrBob
fromHouston, TX, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
I am overall happy with this coffee maker but I can't say that I find it I a lot better than my previous automatic drip coffee maker that had a timer. I wish I could do a head to head taste test but my previous one died.
1) Make sure you follow the manufacturer instructions and brew several rounds with plain water before making coffee. I didn't think it hit its mark temperature wise until the second or third cycle.
2) The manufacturer says it doesn't have a timer because they believe that water left in the tank overnight will lose oxygen and affect the taste. From a scientific point I don't think this holds water (pun intended). I purchased a separate digital programmable timer (Utilitech) to use with it and it works fine with it. Even though it only takes 5-6 minutes to brew, I want it ready first thing in the morning.
3) The footplate that one reviewer called cheap looking is optional and easily detached. I think its fine and it doesn't show with the carafe in place.
4) One reviewer complained about the two lids for the carafe. The second lid is designed for "travel." Unless you intend to take the carafe in the car, you will not need it. You can brew and pour from just one lid.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good coffee but won't stay hot.

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
SeptTrish
fromChicago
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
We loved the taste of this coffee when it was freshly made but found that without a heat coil the carafe by itself just does not keep the coffee hot enough after the first cup. Sorry. Am always looking for HOT COFFEE.
Also, having an extra piece of equipment (the after brew top) is somewhat clumsy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best coffee maker ever

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Jake53
fromMaine, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
This coffee maker exceeds expectations. Our research led us to choose the Moccamaster, and our choice was proved correct from the first sip. Important features not found in other coffee makers include delivering the water at the right temperature and dispersing the water nicely over the grounds. The look is neat and clean with a compact footprint. All parts touched by coffee are easily removed for cleaning. The thermal carafe keeps the next cup fresh and ready while drinking the first.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do Not Buy!

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer avatar
JMP878
fromCleveland, OH
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
The Pros: Makes great coffee; Can actually see how much cold water you are pouring in; Thermo carafe -- why are coffee makers made without them?
The Cons (and, at the price, I will be nitpicky! The design, overall works, but it looks cheap and feels cheap; Having two carafe lids is ridiculous -- one for brewing, one for keeping the heat in the carafe - NO - make one that works and be done with it! The footplate, which is so flimsy, does not attach permanently; Emailed the company about registering my purchase, in case of recalls, they do not have that in place; Also asked about throwing the parts in the dishwasher, which they do not address in their brochure -- that's a no no.
If I had to do it over again, I would not buy this coffee maker.
My Favorite BrandHave not found one!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best tasting coffee -- simple to use

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
scottiemi06
fromMichigan
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
The Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker produces excellent full bodied coffee. The machine is simple to use and looks great on my counter. I was able to go from box to counter to a full pot of coffee in 15 minutes ... amazing!! This miracle of God produces a full pot of coffee in 4.5 minutes -- a full pot!! The tempeture is excellent and the stainless steel pot maintains the tempeture for hours. An impressive coffee machine to be sure. If you are on the fence take the plunge ... you will find your efforts well rewarded!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Expensive, but makes great coffee!

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
SydneyB
fromVirginia
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
Yes, expensive, but DOES make great coffee. Our other coffeemaker was starting to make our coffee taste bitter and since we mostly make coffee at home, we thought it was worth the investment. The whole set up is a bit cobbled together and a bit of work, but if it continues to make good coffee for many years, then I would say it's worth it. It does NOT have a timer, but I've never used a timer, since I believe in fresh water and freshly ground beans!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is a quality machine.

PostedJune 8, 2012
Customer avatar
cport
fromAustin, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
This coffee maker is easy to use, easy to clean, and make a great cup of coffee. Whether I make a small amount or a 10 cup pot of coffee, I am amazed at the consistency in quality. Stainless steel pot keeps my coffee hot for later cup.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good stuff

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Customer avatar
drac123
fromolive, new york
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
The coffee is perfect. The styling is so elegant as to make it _appear_ to be slightly built - but it is sturdy.
No burner under the 'pot' (thermos) reduces urgency to pour.
It's expensive - you could do very well for $100 less, but if you can, this is the way to go.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Coffee Ever

PostedDecember 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Divacook
fromFramingham, MA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Calamity
The Moccamaster makes the best cup of coffee I have ever had. My friend purchased this item and I decided I needed one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best-tasting coffee brewed at home.

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
MacIan99
fromKennewick, WA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
This coffeemaker lives up to its favorable reviews by others, including Cooks' magazine. This is a lot to pay for a coffeemaker, but true coffee lovers will realize, sooner or later, that it's time to pay the price. A very high-quality item; features are well thought-out; and the construction is durable, even rugged. I agree with another reviewer that it looks much nicer on the counter than it does in the photos.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to use - makes delicious coffee quickly

PostedSeptember 16, 2011
Customer avatar
BigCoffeeDrinker
fromVirginia
Have been using this coffee maker for one week now and am very pleased. Simple instructions. Easy to use. Quick and quiet. Makes delicious very hot coffee. Worth the price? Not sure but I'm hoping it'll last for longer than my previous (cheaper) coffee makers. We'll see.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

some design suggestions, but BEST coffee, ever

PostedMay 16, 2011
Customer avatar
caffeind
fromWashington, DC
You've read the info, so you know: this thing makes the best coffee, ever. In large part this is due to being one of the few auto-drip machines that properly heats the water. In addition, it's gorgeous...may be hard to appreciate in the photos, but just so much sleeker than the big plastic blob that so many machines are.
Having said that, there are a few things I wish were different:
--I wish the water reservoir was glass instead of plastic
--I wish the filter holder was ceramic instead of plastic (then this would REALLY rival hand-made coffee)
-- the pot needs a little crimp to pour...the manufacturers deny the need for this in their FAQ page with the machine, but they are wrong, they need a pour spout
--Finally, although I admire the integrity of not offering a pre-program option, (Stale water = stale coffee), I live in the real world, where a few mornings a month I have to get up super early, and could live with not having to make the coffee in the am.
All that said, this is a fantastic, wonderful machine,worth every penny
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Technivorm Moccamaster a winner

PostedMay 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Pegg
fromArizona
The Technivorm Moccamaster coffee maker is essential for brewed coffee lovers. The machine makes a barista quality pot of coffee that is perfectly brewed and balanced and remains piping hot. I seem to replace cheap coffee makers annually. This machine looks built to last. Not having an automatic turn off is the only down side. There is no warming plate, so coffee will never burn. I am more than happy with this purchase. I highly recommend this coffee maker.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not Worth the Price

PostedApril 27, 2011
Customer avatar
BusyMom2
fromRedondo Beach
This coffee maker does in fact make great coffee. It is relatively easy to use and clean, all nice features. However, I cannot taste the difference between this very expensive coffee maker and my $100 maker. I was ready to be thrilled and that did not happen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase

PostedMarch 21, 2011
Customer avatar
TPowers
fromBoston, MA
The Moccamaster is everything expected from reviews
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Quality product

PostedFebruary 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Nancylca
fromBakersfield, CA
Found it was smaller then what the picture looked like. It fit perfect on my counter but too high for under the cabinets. It is easy to use and makes the best tasting coffee. Make sure you preheat the carafe so the coffee stays hot longer. Very quiet operation and fast. Well worth the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does what Cook's Illustrated says

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Customer avatar
bjinsa
fromSan Antonio, TX
Bought this coffee maker based on a review in Cook's Illustrated.
Sure enough it brews a great cup of coffee.
Expensive, but like Cook's says, most of us brew coffee every day. If you enjoy coffee, you may want to try one of these.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great coffee pot

PostedDecember 15, 2010
Customer avatar
marykaysogge
fromvacaville california
I love it because it is easy to use and makes great coffee. No muss or fuss with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>