Customer reviews for Progressive Nut Chopper

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CHEFS Catalog.

Progressive Nut Chopper

Progressive Nut Chopper : Grind soft peanuts to hard walnuts with this Progressive rotary nut chopper. Extra-sharp stainless-steel blades adjust to control the level of grind. Turn clockwise to chop nuts and create a coarse grind for quick breads, cookies and pastries. Counterclockwise for a fine texture to sprinkle on bars and confections. Base chamber measures up to 11/3-cups and provides an airtight seal to store chopped nuts. Nonskid base for stability and soft-grip Santoprene handle. Dishwasher-safe. Product Features Chop and measure soft peanuts to hard walnuts Extra-sharp stainless-steel blades adjust for coarse or fine grind Measurements in 1/4 and 1/3 increments up to 1 1/4/11/3-cup Nonskid base and soft-grip Santoprene handle Airtight base chamber stores chopped nuts
Overall rating:
4.348 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 46 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
43 out of 46(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Progressive Nut Chopper
Review 1 for Progressive Nut Chopper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the best nut chopper ever !

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Cooking247
fromFalls Church, VA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I have tried many nut choppers over the years and was not very satisfied with any of them because of the inconsistancy of the fine/course chop and the ease of cleaning. I reverted to hand chopping.
The Progressive Nut Chopper(which I saw demonstrated on Cook's Country) has perfected all of those inconsistancies. Fine is fine and course is course. I like the size and quantity it holds as I usually only need a cup to half cup of nuts for any recipe.
The price is also affordable and consistant with the quality of the chopper.
My Favorite BrandOxo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Progressive Nut Chopper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great!

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Customer avatar
bargainhunter
fromQuincy, MA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
What a great invention! Definitely an improvement on the old-fashioned chopping jar my Mom had! I like the non-skid bottom and the way you can chop from fine to coarse. And the best thing is the price!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Progressive Nut Chopper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Gift for Bakers

PostedJanuary 5, 2011
Customer avatar
hostalady
fromLivonia, MI
I loved this product so much I recently purchased five to give as gifts to my daughters and sisters. Easy to use and clean. The nuts are chopped uniformly---coarse and fine. Chopping and measuring all in one tool!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Progressive Nut Chopper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very handy item

PostedDecember 15, 2010
Customer avatar
teddysmom
fromPhx AZ
Works well. Had one that left large peices of nuts, but this one grinds them up nicely. Easy to clean and store
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Progressive Nut Chopper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A wonderful gift to send with my Christmas Cookies

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer avatar
D4u2
fromGrass Valley, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
My mother-in-law introduced me to a nut chopper in the 50's. I borrowed it alot and then it was passed on to me. After years of use, it finally needed to be replaced. I am so impressed with Chef's Progressive Nut Chopper, that I purchased 8 to send with my family christmas cookie packages. The new nut chopper has a larger capacity with measurements 1/4 cup up to 1 1/3 cups. It has course to fine grinds and even extra fine. It is quick, simple to operate & very easy to clean. Not only do I use it for nuts in cookie recipes, but for nuts in candy, cakes, muffins, to sprinkle nuts on salads, frostings, stir fry dishes and to use finely chopped nuts in coatings for chicken, fish and other fried foods. The Progressive Nut Chopper gets the job done and keeps the nuts confined without a mess on the counter. Thank you for carrying this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Progressive Nut Chopper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A worthwhile gadget

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Barb47
fromNew York metropolitan area, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
Does the job of chopping nuts without scattering them all over as with a knife.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Progressive Nut Chopper
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Does the job but.....

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
PBlover
fromSalt Lake City, UT, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I got this because my mom had one that I loved to use when I was growing up and helping in the kitchen. It definitely chops nuts in both coarse and fine selection. It works better with nuts at room temperature. It is a bit awkward to hold the container and turn the crank at the same time even with the "slip free" base. I found that putting pressure directly on the top helped to keep the base from "walking" on the counter.
My biggest complaint is that the top separates from the bottom unexpectedly when turning the crank forcefully. I think this is a design flaw as there is only a single turn to connect the two parts. I don't recall this happening on the one my mother had.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Progressive Nut Chopper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

handy gadget

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Corny
fromConnecticut
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
I like this chopper, and it will save me a lot of time. However, on the coarse setting a lot of the nuts still get very finely chopped. though overall the mix of coarse and fine is useful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Progressive Nut Chopper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Review of Nut Chopper

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Galray
fromHouston, TX
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Rachel Ray
This nut chopper is great. It's quick, chops the nuts either coarse or fine and is easy to wash and clean.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Progressive Nut Chopper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Replacement for old chopper

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
carter51
fromRenton, WA, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I have been looking for this nut chopper for years, to replace the one I bought 30 years ago. This was the only place I could find it. I'm sure this one will also last for another 30 years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Progressive Nut Chopper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
martham846
fromEdgemoor, SC 29712, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
I looked everywhere locally and couldn't find this product. I especially like the slip resitant base and the ability to vary the "chop".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Progressive Nut Chopper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Rhodm
fromUpstate, SC
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
I bought this as a gift to my sister who was looking for one. She was thrilled. Said it works graet and she loves the fact it has a measuring cup built in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Progressive Nut Chopper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromSt. Cloud, MN
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Liked it alot. Was stable on the counter and chopped really well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Progressive Nut Chopper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just what we wanted; durability not yet known

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Burp
fromAsheville, NC, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
The chopper is what we wanted: simple, two sizes of chopped nuts, OK in dishwasher.
We have owned it only a short time. We hope it will last a long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Progressive Nut Chopper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple way to chop nuts...

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Handle
fromRichmond, VA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Genius design. Simple operation. easy to measure and no mess like chopping on a board. Coarse or fine it is near perfect for the task
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Progressive Nut Chopper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Welcome back

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer avatar
pescj
fromCape Coral Florida
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
This type of chopper is like the one my mother had 50 years ago. And this particular product meets a desperate need to be able to chop nuts efficiently in both coarse and fine modes
My Favorite BrandAll high-quality name brands
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Progressive Nut Chopper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Smooth Operator

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Customer avatar
IceCreamScientist
fromSeattle, WA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
This chopper does a great job chopping nuts of all varieties. Almonds can be a bit tricky though. Comes apart easily for convenient cleaning and has graduated measurements printed on the side.
My Favorite BrandZwilling - J.A. Henckels, Cusinart, Vitamix
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Progressive Nut Chopper
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good product, but wish it were better

PostedJune 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Icook4wife
fromColumbus, OH, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
We have had three of these in our various residences for some years. All of them have developed problems in use, with blades getting bent and broken, apparently as the "axle" of the grinding shaft becomes looser with use. We replaced all three units with new ones, which look to have some design improvement in hub where the axle rotates, I hope this will prevent the chopping blades from hitting the stationary blades they move through to chop the nuts.
Far from being "extra-sharp," as described, the blades are not sharp at all; they break the nuts rather than cutting them. Still, this seems to be the only product on the market that does the job when you don't want to fire up a food processor just to chop a few nuts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Progressive Nut Chopper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked great!

PostedJune 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Chrissy44
fromRaleigh, NC
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
The nut chopper worked like a dream. It was so easy and fast. I had to chop two types of nuts and two sizes and it worked wonders.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Progressive Nut Chopper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Product!!

PostedMay 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Lynda17
fromFlorida
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I've used one of these for a few years, and would not be without it. I use nuts quite a bit in baking and feel chopping nuts is a chore. You can chop a cup full of nuts in less than a minute with this chopper, and unlike other choppers, this one chops them uniformly (not big pieces tapering down to powder). It also has a measuring cup to catch the nuts, so you can immediately see the amount you're chopping. I purchased 6 of these to give as Mother's Day presents!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>