Customer reviews for Polder Speed Read Instant Read Thermometer

Polder Speed Read Instant Read Thermometer

Polder Speed Read Instant Read Thermometer : Quick, efficient transfer of heat to the sensing probe for accurate results. This Polder Speed-Read thermometer is easy to read with large digits on an easy-view angled LCD showing the internal meat temperature in 6-8 seconds. Long 4" probe to reach the interior of meat for temperature accuracy. Preset temperature settings for beef, lamb, pork, chicken and fish according to USDA recommended safety temperatures. Presettable temperatures also provided to cook beef, veal or lamb to the desired taste and level of doneness: rare, medium rare, medium or well done. The 30-second alarm alerts when the pre-set temperature has been reached. Sheath also includes a USDA recommended food-specific temperature chart in Fahrenheit and Celsius for ground meat, pork or poultry; beef, including veal and lamb; poultry: whole, breasts, thighs, wings and legs, duck/goose cooking temperature; ham, and egg dishes. On/off button to extend battery life. Stainless-steel probe. Battery included. Water-resistant rubber seal for safe cleaning. Wipe clean. Product Features Temperature in 6-8 seconds with the quick, efficient transfer of heat to the sensing probe Large-digit easy-read angled LCD Long stainless-steel probe to reach interior of meat Preset temperature settings for beef, lamb, pork, chicken and fish Presettable temperature chart provided on the packaging and on the probe sheath (including Celsius) Water-resistant rubber seal for easy cleaning 30-second alarm On/off button
Overall rating:
4.316 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
16 out of 19(84%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Polder Speed Read Instant Read Thermometer
Review 1 for Polder Speed Read Instant Read Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very useful product!

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Customer avatar
BethelGrandma
fromBethel, ME, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
Great for food safety!! This thermometer gives the temperature very quickly and is easy to read. Even has a little sound to indicate when correct temp is reached if you indicate ahead of time what meat you are testing. I also use it to test that my bread is completely baked inside. No more soggy loaves. No instructions, though.
My Favorite BrandKitchenaid
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Polder Speed Read Instant Read Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Customer avatar
vipper
fromCharlotte,NC
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
Used to test temp of pork tenderloin on a spit. Quick reading allowed minimum time not spinning over coals. Found Temp to be accurately gauged. Roast came out perfect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Polder Speed Read Instant Read Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Item

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
MaryW
fromIowa
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
Love the ease of using this thermometer, on the probe cover is all the temps you need to know for food safety and your preference.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Polder Speed Read Instant Read Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy tool

PostedDecember 16, 2011
Customer avatar
Bubba43
fromGarner, NC
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
This is the first meat thermometer I have ever used and it is very easy. I love the programmable features. I have always used the 'SWAG' method for timing meats before and would have to cut into the meat to actually see how done it is. Now, no more guessing!
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid
 
Products related to my review
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Polder Speed Read Instant Read Thermometer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good buy

PostedAugust 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Bijou22
fromBuffalo, NY
Easy to use and easier to read. A good purchase for the price.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Polder Speed Read Instant Read Thermometer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

CHECKING THE TEMP

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Russ55
fromSalem, MA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Decent product for the money, good customer service and delivery turnaround...
My Favorite BrandALL-CLAD, KITCHEN-AID
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Polder Speed Read Instant Read Thermometer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Did not read temperature in 8 seconds

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromWebster, NY 14580, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
It works well but just as well as the one we wanted to replace. The description on line said it read the temperature in 8 seconds. It was fast but not quite that fast. We are returning it since we already have one that works just as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Polder Speed Read Instant Read Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick read thermometer

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
lilbloomer
fromHouston, TX
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Martyr
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
I was looking for a quick reading thermometer that would also be easier to see the readout than any of the thermometers that I currently have. The body of this one is angled so that you can rotate it until you can read it at almost any angle. I also appreciate that it let's you select the type of meat you are cooking and it alerts you when the correct temperature is reached with a low level beep.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Polder Speed Read Instant Read Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Roasting just got better

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromCutchogue, NY, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Dad
We used the Polder Speed Read Thermometer within 24 hours of receiving it and, without question, it turned out to be the best oven thermometer my wife and I have ever used. It is very accurate, helpful and easy to use.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Polder Speed Read Instant Read Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great !!

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Sundeesman
fromJamestown, Pa.
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
It instantly reads the temp. which is important in many cooking situations. Exactly what I was looking for. The only caveat is that the battery cover is not that easy to put back on.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Polder Speed Read Instant Read Thermometer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not Satisfied

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Larry55
fromBrighton, MI, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
The probe is way too short and it is very difficult to see the writing on the display.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Polder Speed Read Instant Read Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value!

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Elise19
fromHilton Head Island, SC, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I'd been looking for a new digital thermometer for a while. I read reviews of this product and others and decided to purchase the Polder. I got it just in time for Thanksgiving and was very pleased. The options are great, i.e. select temp by meat type or doneness, and the readout is nice and large.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Polder Speed Read Instant Read Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great thermometer!

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Customer avatar
WylieDomesticDiva
fromWylie TX
After having had several other digital thermometers which I wasn't happy with I'm so glad I purchased this Polder Speed Read Instant Thermometer. The design is sleek and easy to use with the digital readout easy to see from any position. It really is an instant read, too! I inserted it, turned my head away for a second (literally) and when I looked back the temperature had already registered! I even tested its accuracy by using another thermometer at the same time. As I stood waiting for the the other thermometer to give me a reading the Polder had already registered the temperature. And, it's accurate on every test. I also appreciate the temperature listing on the probe cover. No need to search for the proper temperature for type of meat--it's right there on the probe cover. Very handy! My son has even used it and it fit his big hands as well as my very small ones. Overall a very good product with a sleek design and an instant temperature read. Very good value for the money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Polder Speed Read Instant Read Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to use

PostedMay 18, 2011
Customer avatar
texasbaker44
fromamarillo TX
Love this!! so easy to put in the meat, easy to read, Never liked the thermeter my mom had This one is GREAT!!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Polder Speed Read Instant Read Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Polder Speed Read Instant Read Thermometer

PostedFebruary 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromSaint Louis Missouri
It's quick and fast. I was using a regular meat thermometer that took forever to read the temperature, extremely happy with the product and would highly recommend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Polder Speed Read Instant Read Thermometer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedNovember 30, 2010
Customer avatar
porky
fromreno,nv
This product looks like the picture but arrived not working - maybe the battery but who knows? Not going to return it until I purchase a new battery then give it another try.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Polder Speed Read Instant Read Thermometer
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.3 / 5
4.3 / 5
3 of 3 recommend this product