Customer reviews for CucinaPro Tortilla and Flatbread Maker

CucinaPro Tortilla and Flatbread Maker

CucinaPro Tortilla and Flatbread Maker : This CucinaPro tortilla and flatbread maker features automatic temperature control and 1,000 watts of power to bake authentic homemade tortillas, pita or flatbread. Create restaurant-style tacos, burritos, tostadas or quesadillas. Traditional gyros, falafel or salad greens and vegetables are the perfect accompaniment to homemade pita bread for low-carbohydrate sandwiches or entrees. The heavyweight die-cast aluminum plates on this tortilla maker distribute heat evenly for uniform baking. Smooth nonstick finish releases 10" dia. low-fat tortilla, pita, chapati or flatbread, with all the healthy nutrients. Effortless cleanup. Ready light and convenient cord wrap. Stores upright. Stainless-steel. Wipe clean. Product Features Flattens and bakes 10" dia. tortillas, pita or flatbread Automatic temperature control for precise cooking Heavyweight die-cast aluminum plates distribute heat evenly Nonstick finish ensures easy release and cleanup Ready light eliminates guesswork Convenient cord wrap Stores upright
Overall rating:
3.969 / 5
4
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
5
1 Star
3
23 out of 32(72%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for CucinaPro Tortilla and Flatbread Maker
Review 1 for CucinaPro Tortilla and Flatbread Maker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect, Amazing, My favorite kitchen tool

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Mari4111
fromFlorida
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I looked for two years for just the right Tortilla/Flatbread maker. This is the one for me. It was worth the wait.I use it everyday.
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for CucinaPro Tortilla and Flatbread Maker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Customer avatar
PauLV
fromOwensboro, KY, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Makes flatbread quickly and easily -- it takes two or three trials -- one really does need to press and release the handle quickly, and perfect flatbread is made. I love it! From turning it on to eating the bread is about five minutes, then 90 seconds at a pop thereafter. I use multigrain chapati flour for flatbread.
My Favorite BrandZoJirushi
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for CucinaPro Tortilla and Flatbread Maker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Machine!!!

PostedJune 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Mikeinthekitchen
fromAnaconda, Mt, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
This product is wonderful!!! My wife fell in love with it from the day we received it. She has me using it daily. So easy to use. It is great to have fresh tortillas. Thank you for this fantastic product.
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for CucinaPro Tortilla and Flatbread Maker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A very good product.

PostedNovember 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Shanjul
fromWindom, KS 67491, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
LOVE IT and to think I almost did not buy it. I had read reviews and was worried about getting it but decided to give it a try - I could alway return it. In the reviews there were several complaints about the tortillas exploding but I had no problems with them exploding if you follow the directions it works great. I am so glad I decided to give it a try.
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for CucinaPro Tortilla and Flatbread Maker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice product

PostedAugust 19, 2011
Customer avatar
beanpot
fromSalem, OR
This is my third purchase from the Chefs catalog and I
have always been happy with the quality products I have
received.
The CucinaPro Tortillia and Flatbread Maker is high quality
and heavy duty which is very inportant for pressing the dough.
I used to roll out my tortillias by hand and once I purchased one of these presses I will never do the hand roll again.
This takes the work out of Tortillia making and I can make several dozen in a very short time.
+12points
19of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for CucinaPro Tortilla and Flatbread Maker
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

To complicated

PostedMay 26, 2015
Customer avatar
Swedee
fromBillings, MT, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mario Batali
We found that there are two many steps that are all "guessing" at the results. Too time consuming and not a desirable tortilla was made in 10 tries. Sorry, but it was a return.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for CucinaPro Tortilla and Flatbread Maker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

CucinaPro Tortilla and Flatbread Maker gets an A+

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Customer avatar
sorbetforme
fromLudington, MI, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
As I have written before, I did go ahead on and purchase a second unit, as I like this device so well.
After your small learning curve is over (this includes not only learning to vent steam properly, but also recognizing when your batter needs to be thinned or thickened, depending on your desired outcome), you will be using the CucinaPro nearly every day as I am.
Tortillas, flat-bread...no problem. I now also turn out fluffy pancakes nearly as fast as they can be eaten (because they are being cooked on both sides simultaneously). You should flip once for 30 seconds or so, as the lower plate is the hotter of the two.
Light, delicate crepes...piece of cake. Great for blueberry blintzes.
I have also used the CucinaPro, with its large 10 inch cook surface, as just a griddle several times. The unit preheats so quickly (remember, never preheat without opening up the press) that it's ready to go sometimes even before I've finished with the immersion blender. I have had NOTHING,ZERO, NADA stick to the cooking plates yet, so there really is virtually no cleanup, unless you consider a quick wipe with a dampened paper towel a chore. This includes my 'learning curve' messes as well. I only use a large Chef's silicone spatula for flipping.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for CucinaPro Tortilla and Flatbread Maker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

CucinaPro Tortilla and Flatbread Maker

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Customer avatar
sorbetforme
fromLudington, MI, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
I love experimenting around with this tortilla/flat-bread maker. I am Paleo +dairy, so my favorite tacos, burritos, enchiladas and quesadillas have been off limits for nearly a year
So now I can make my own fresh Paleo tortillas, whenever I want. Just the other day I ran across a Paleo recipe for Paleo crepes. I thought. "why not"?, and threw the batter on the CucinaPro...PERFECT, moist, golden, silky crepes. FANTASTIC. JUST REMEMBER...follow the manufacturer's instructions to a 'T'. Gently, gently.. always allowing the steam to vent from your press frequently and you WILL NOT have the 'blow out" situations others have claimed. Yes, there's a small learning curve, but for me to be able to make and eat a fresh burrito again after the second attempt, well, that's awesome.
In fact, I like this device so much I think I'll purchase another, just to make sure I'm never without!
.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for CucinaPro Tortilla and Flatbread Maker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my flat bread maker

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Customer avatar
patrick69
fromWashington wa
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Gordon Ramsay
this is only the second tortilla press I've ever bought but I love this one it's by far the best one I've had yet
My Favorite BrandCuisinart
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for CucinaPro Tortilla and Flatbread Maker
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Non-stick surfaces do not work well

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Customer avatar
Aabu
fromGreenbelt, MD, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I have tried it to make Chinese pancake for a week each day. The product looks nice and easy to store. The main problem is the "non-stick" surface is actually stick to my
paste every time i tried, even though I put some oil on both bottom and top pan. The top pan could not hold oil but ran down because it is in a vertical position. I have searched on line, trying to find some solution how to prevent the top pan from sticking to my paste, but failed. I feel frustrated about this "non-stick" feature that actually stick. Could anybody give me some advice? Since there is no temperature control, when I had to deal with the paste sticked to the top, the bottom paste is burned.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for CucinaPro Tortilla and Flatbread Maker
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This 10 inch maker was too big & heavy for me

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer avatar
sobeit
fromOakland, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
I gave it away and ordered an 8 inch model that I discovered at a different web site. I don't need big tortillas.
My Favorite Brandno favorite
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for CucinaPro Tortilla and Flatbread Maker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wheat belly savior

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
dee49
fromWentworth, NH, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
We are on the wheat belly diet "No wheat flower"
This unit makes excellant flat bread so we can enjoy wraps again.
My Favorite BrandHoneyville
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for CucinaPro Tortilla and Flatbread Maker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A FANTASTIC ADDITION TO MY KITCHEN!

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromIdaho, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I ONLY WISH I HAD THIS WHEN MY CHILDREN WERE YOUNG AND LIVING AT HOME.MY NEIGHBOR IN JAPAN FROM TEXAS TAUGHT ME TO ME MAKE THEM BY HAND. SHE HAD 4 LITTLE GIRLS AND WE HAD 3 BOYS AND A GIRL WE COULD HAVE HAD MUCH MORE TIME FOR YOUNG MOMS IN A FOREIGN LAND. THANKS FOR THIS WONDERFUL ADDITION TO MY KITCHEN I WOULD GIVE IT TEN STARS IF I COULD.
My Favorite BrandOF WHAT?
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for CucinaPro Tortilla and Flatbread Maker
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not what I thought

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Customer avatar
shearead
fromPrescott, Arizona
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I was looking for more of a roller not a machine that you have to smash and lift turn smash lift turn ....... I did not find this helpful
-15points
4of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for CucinaPro Tortilla and Flatbread Maker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Crawdad
fromOzark, MO, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
We really like this tortilla maker. I learned for tortillas; you need to make the dough on the moist side, when you put the slightly flattened ball into the press give it one quick and hard press using the handle, and let it cook with the lid open for about one minute per side. They will actually puff up in spots.
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for CucinaPro Tortilla and Flatbread Maker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Takes only a small amount of shortage space.

PostedMay 29, 2012
Customer avatar
horse123
fromDelaware, OH 43015, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I've only used this product twice, but overall have been satisfied with my results. I do feel it will take some time to learn to master this product. The opening and closing of the product got very boring and I found myself trying to hasten the process. But haste makes waste - as I had to learn to be patient. I do wish that it had come with more recipes, as I'm having to research my recipe books to find more dishes. Trying to make two inch size balls was a challenge at first. I will have to find an ice cream scoop that will make the correct size.
My Favorite Brandcalphalon
0points
8of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for CucinaPro Tortilla and Flatbread Maker
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I could NOT recommend this product!

PostedMay 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Hyzenthlay
fromForest Grove, OR
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I'm a good cook. So I assumed the few negative reviews this product had were flukes. Oh, no. Maybe it performs better with flour, but if you're making corn tortillas, it is dreadful! I pressed gingerly and turned the dough as the instructions said, but I could not get it to work for me with masa flour tortillas. I thought I'd get a tortilla press, press them thin enough, then simply use this appliance to cook them on. The press I found worked on the same principle, and the Hispanic clerk who was showing it to me told me that style just doesn't work well. So I guess it wasn't just me.
0points
9of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for CucinaPro Tortilla and Flatbread Maker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works very well

PostedMay 7, 2012
Customer avatar
banteen
fromgtfalls mt 59404
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
i like this cooker very much. I wish it had temperature control knob
My Favorite Brandhome grown from my garden
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for CucinaPro Tortilla and Flatbread Maker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as advertised.

PostedMay 7, 2012
Customer avatar
CountryCooket
fromOhio
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Instructions are easy to understand. Easy to use
Excellent results on corn tortillas. Attractive mirror
surface. Stands sturdily for easy compact storage.
Will use often as I must avoid oils.
My Favorite BrandCuisinart
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for CucinaPro Tortilla and Flatbread Maker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Customer avatar
firebird7
fromSpringfield, MO, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I love my tortilla press , had to practice a lot! I use it as a press for making crackers too.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>