Customer reviews for Breville Hot Wok, BEW600XL

Breville Hot Wok, BEW600XL

Breville Hot Wok, BEW600XL : Includes: Instruction booklet with 34 recipes for soups, entrees, stir-fries, curries and rice dishes. Founded in Australia in 1932, Breville is a worldwide leader in home appliances. This stylish and easy-to-use Breville electric wok is designed for quickly cooking large dishes from stir fries and soups to meat entrees and rice dishes. The generous-sized, 6-quart wok is ideal for deep-frying foods too. The 425 F high-searing temperature makes this the only nonstick electric wok that truly models authentic Asian-style gas cooking. The ultra-durable QuanTanium cooking surface is designed of Titanium-infused layers coated with four layers of exclusive scratch-resistant materials. The easy-clean nonstick surface requires no added cooking oil so you can prepare healthier foods. A special steam vent in the domed tempered glass lid adjusts for preferred moisture in each dish. All cooking parts are dishwasher-safe. Instruction booklet includes 34 recipes. Product Features QuanTanium cooking surface is quadruple-coated with exclusive scratch-resistant materials on top of Titanium-infused layers Die cast wok exterior is a painted stainless steel color. The base is stainless steel and the knob on the glass lid is stainless steel. Ultra-durable nonstick finish allows the use of metal utensils without damage to the coating 6-quart capacity is ideal for cooking large quantities 15 precision-controlled temperature settings ensure accurate cooking of any dish 1,500 watts of heating power provide for quick and thorough cooking Exclusive high wall "butterfly" heating element offers a high-sear temperature of 425 F Detachable base is fully submersible in the sink and is dishwasher-safe Cook N' Look tempered glass lid lets you monitor foods cooking progress without lifting the lid Domed-shape lid allows for the cooking of a large meal Lid's steam vent adjusts for the ideal amount of trapped moisture for any dish Easy-to-grip side handles are designed for ergonomic comfort and safe lifting Exclusive Assist Plug features a built-in finger hole for safe and effortless removal from the outlet All cooking parts are dishwasher-safe
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
19 out of 19(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Breville Hot Wok, BEW600XL
Review 1 for Breville Hot Wok, BEW600XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This wok is top of the line

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Mickey12
fromFlorence, AZ, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Calamity
The Breville Hot Wok is amazing. It cooks the food evenly and is so easy to clean.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Breville Hot Wok, BEW600XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Customer avatar
MistysMom1657
fromHonolulu, HI, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
One of the best purchases I've made. Cooking is great because the heat is easily regulated. Cleaning is fantastic! I just wipe the pan clean with paper towels, then sanitize with wipe ups, then rinse with wet paper towels and wipe dry with a dry towel.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Breville Hot Wok, BEW600XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Product

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Customer avatar
CarolynPB
fromCumberland, RI, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I am as satisified as one can be! This wok is just amazing and I have been using it everyday for different preparations. I really love it!
My Favorite BrandBreville
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Breville Hot Wok, BEW600XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great addition to my kitchen

PostedApril 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Rizzmom
fromLong Island, New York
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
This electric wok is large enough to cook for a family. Cleans up easily and is easy to take apart and store. Its a nice way to saute fresh and healthy vegetables, using very little oil, in a snap.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Breville Hot Wok, BEW600XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous wok

PostedJanuary 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Samantha3
fromwisconsin
This wok is fabulous. Great space inside the wok for larger proportions. The dial is easy to use and gets the temperature just perfect. Cleans easily. We love it and have been using an electric wok for many years but this is by far the best ever.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Breville Hot Wok, BEW600XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best all around appliance

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Cookiegirl16
fromMichigan
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Budget
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Giada De Laurentis
If a deserted island would have electricity this is the appliance I would take with me. You can cook stir-fry, deep fry fish, donuts, French fries, boil or steam veggies. I even make scrambled eggs in it at church functions. Best electric wok around, heats fast and is hot enough for stir fry. 2 thumbs up.
My Favorite BrandKitchen Side
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Breville Hot Wok, BEW600XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top Kitchen Product

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer avatar
BLUESKYLAD
fromChapel Hill, NC, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
If it's Breville it's got to be fantastic! I own the Breville Juicer, and was so impressed by the quality and workmanship that when I needed a new electric wok, then Breville was the one to get. Easy to use and even easier to clean up!
My Favorite BrandKING ARTHUR FLOUR
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Breville Hot Wok, BEW600XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Ddtgwt
fromGilroy, CA 95020, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Have used this twice and absolutely love, love, love it! Great heat, even temp throughout the bowl and easy to clean.
My Favorite BrandBreville and All Clad
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Breville Hot Wok, BEW600XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Wok!

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromBoone, IA 50036, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I have a flat top electric stove, so finding a wok to work properly on the stove top wasn't proving to be too successful for me. I decided to go with the Breville electric wok and I'm glad I did! Plenty of cooking space, easy control temperature and cleans easily.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Breville Hot Wok, BEW600XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beef & Pea Pods made perfect

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
wokalot
fromFlorida, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
Just tested the wok on one of my favorite dishes beef with snow pea pods. The steak for once could be cooked medium rare with perfect searing and the wonderful color is achieved with that sear. I will really enjoy this addition to my kitchen.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Breville Hot Wok, BEW600XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Breville Hot Wok

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Customer avatar
woodchips
fromWashington, CT USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mario Batali
Great piece of kitchen equipment. Heavy weight, stable, easy to clean, great controls and best of all is the glass top that allows one to see what's going on without lifting the cover. Cover has an adjustable steam vent, open or closed. Heats quickly and evenly. Great non-stick surface. Priced reasonably for the quality.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Breville Hot Wok, BEW600XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow!!! This electric wok is fantastic!

PostedFebruary 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Chefsfan12
fromNewport, PA 17074, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Works better than ANY other wok I've ever used. Heats up very fast & evenly and is great for stir frying or probably other cuisines too. Performs very well and definitely substantiates all the rave reviews I've read about it before I decided to buy it...., absolutely love, love, love this super product! Have NO complaints with this product so far - use it every day for stir frying. So pleased with this product - will recommend it to all my family & friends.
My Favorite Brandany well made useful product
 
Products related to my review
Zwilling JA Henckels Spirit Thermolon Fry Pan
4.8 out of 5(500)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Breville Hot Wok, BEW600XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Breville Electric Non-Stick Wok

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Mixalis
fromOrlando, FL, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I'm not one to take the time and leave comments about appliances I own, but, I am SO pleased with the way this wok works that I use it nearly every day. I use it mostly for stir fry, but, it makes the very best Chinese Hot and Sour Soup !! The wok heats up quickly and is extremely reliable with the temperature settings. The non stick surface makes it an easy clean up. Buy with confidence for this item. I, also, own a Breville cordless immersion blender and it has the same quality in it as the wok. Just good to know that there are still quality products out there.
My Favorite BrandBreville by far the best quality for kitchen items.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Breville Hot Wok, BEW600XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeded expectations !

PostedOctober 21, 2011
Customer avatar
tkjtkj
fromnorthampton, ma., usa
As it might be relevant to my contribution here I want to state that I am a Mechanical Engineer and a retired Physician ..
I purchased the *600* wok for two reasons: I cook often in the 'Asian' styles and have several woks of various types. I also wanted a unit that was more maintenance-free. Also, I am familiar with the Breville company, having owned their espresso machine which has pleased me for several years: i know good engineering when i see it!
Now: This wok is one of the best designed and constructed units ever made! It is solid, well-machined, flawless, quick to heat to high temperatures, and has a fully-round bottom (a feature Nowhere mentioned in its literature!). Its bowl is a very-rugged 8mm thick! .. and the internal coating performs excellently. The bowl seems to be made of aluminum, which is good, as that metal is an excellent heat conductor and the bowl's massiveness means good heat retention, too. Round-bottomed woks require various means to be stable on flat surfaces. This unit's detachable base does that job perfectly! I also found that one need not 'lock' the wok to its base (if you're the careful type!) so that during cooking one might lift it free of the base for other 'culinary outmaneuvers not involving any utensils ;).
Being the 'hacker' that i am, i wondered how i might improve this device .. and frankly I'm hard-pressed to think of anything!
One possibility might be to add an external extension to the 'locking lever' so that its accessible without having to tip the base over .. a minor thing, really! Another *might* be to make the wok less deep, so that the slope of the outer region is less, allowing one to more easily 'rest' food items away from the hot bottom: this is commonly done in the 'usual' thin-walled steel woks whose outer areas never achieve the intense heat of the bottom area. I.e. , it can be convenient to let food rest in the wok away from the maximum heat .. Eg, when making a thick sauce in the very bottom. This unit's excellent non-stick surface (assisted by the steepness of the sloping sides) makes this a bit harder to manage ... less-sloping sides might solve that very minor problem.
I do wish the cord length were another 2 ft. longer... the heavy duty cord's additional length would not significantly affect its current-carrying capacity.
Summation: an truly excellent unit!
My 'contributions' to its design here are in NO way meant to give pause to its purchase! ... its advantages and reasonable price vastly outweigh any thing I've contributed here!!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Breville Hot Wok, BEW600XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This one is a winner!

PostedSeptember 12, 2011
Customer avatar
CarolinaBella
fromMyrtle Beach, SC
I have used woks for many years and really enjoy cooking with them. However, I now have an electric (smooth top) stove and it is not at all acceptable for heating a wok, so I decided to try an electric model. Wow, what a pleasant surprise! This wok gets super (measurably) hot quickly, is easy to manage, requires no "curing" and takes minimal time/effort to clean. I am absolutely thrilled with the product, its performance and highly recommend it!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Breville Hot Wok, BEW600XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Totally Satisfied

PostedApril 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Zooba
fromSalisbury MD
I am oerwhelmed with my new Hot Wok. I t cooks perfectly and the look and characteristics of this product goes above and beyoud of my expectations. I am truly satisfied with it and reccomend this product to all households members.
Thanks for carrying this product in your collection.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Breville Hot Wok, BEW600XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm telling everyone

PostedMarch 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Lama
fromLos Angeles
I have a Breville Smart oven so I didn't hesitate to purchase the hot wok when I saw it online. I'm thrilled with this wok. It's fast cooking, fast cleanup, great quality. Even the lid has substantial weight to it. The capacity is large enough to make my favorite Porcinni Mushroom Raguout in proportions large enough to have extra for freezing. I'm telling everyone I know to get one.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Breville Hot Wok, BEW600XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

outstanding wok

PostedMarch 11, 2011
Customer avatar
nukeypoo
fromsulphur, la
Never used a wok before. granddaughter kept saying how good they were. I decided to make some breakfast wraps. This wok heats uniformly across all surfaces. reached heat settings quickly and was a dream to clean. lloyd
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Breville Hot Wok, BEW600XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Wok Plus!

PostedJanuary 21, 2011
Customer avatar
MaryAnn1942
fromDunwoody, GA
Well constructed heavy weight wok that isn't limited to "wokking". Multiple uses. Easy to use and clean. Durable. Well worth the price.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.