Customer reviews for KitchenAid 2-Slice Toaster, KMT222OB

KitchenAid 2-Slice Toaster, KMT222OB

KitchenAid 2-Slice Toaster, KMT222OB : Your toast is made to order every time! The exceptional performance KitchenAid 2-Slice Toaster features a LCD display that sets the last shading and function settings in its memory. A digital progress bar shows when the toast will be ready. Extra wide 1 1/2" slots perfectly brown the thickest of bagels, breads and pastries. An ultra-deep steel toasting cavity ensures even toasting and five adjustable shade settings regulate browning. The KitchenAid toaster includes bagel, defrost, reheat and toast/cancel buttons. The bagel toasting function gently browns the bagel bottom while toasting the sliced side. The defrost button quickly and thoroughly toasts frozen pastries to golden perfection. The reheat button quickly reheats toasted food in less than a minute. Racks automatically adjust slot width for thick or thin slices, keeping breads upright. The manual high-lift lever raises even tiny slices for easy access. The rugged stainless-steel design includes durable temperature knobs with light/dark indicator. Cool Reach steel side panels keep exterior cooler to touch. Dishwasher-safe steel crumb tray slides out easily for simple cleaning. Product Features LCD display sets the last shading and function settings in its memory A digital progress bar shows when the toast will be ready. Two 1 1/2" toast slots let you toast everything from regular bread to Texas toast to frozen waffles Extra-deep steel toasting cavity ensures even browning Bagel toasting function reduces power by 50% on one heating element to brown one side and toast other Five adjustable browning settings and carriage lift levers provide ultimate control Offers bagel, defrost, reheat and toast/cancel buttons Handsome, rugged brushed stainless-steel and stamped metal housing Dishwasher-safe crumb tray is easy to remove and clean Cool Reach steel side panels help keep toaster exterior safe to touch 3 1/2-foot power cord lets you place your toaster virtually anywhere in your kitchen 1-year replacement warranty
Overall rating:
4.294 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
15 out of 17(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for KitchenAid 2-Slice Toaster, KMT222OB
Review 1 for KitchenAid 2-Slice Toaster, KMT222OB
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent toaster!

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Zimm10
fromJackson NJ
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Works well for bagels, bread, English muffins etc.
Perfect toast every time!
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KitchenAid 2-Slice Toaster, KMT222OB
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very happy so far

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
toastandcoffee
fromWilliamsburg VA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
This is a nicely designed, compact toaster. The slots are wide, and can take bagels, or adapt to narrower bread slices. Browning is even, and the range of browning is large, from warmed-up-a-bit to almost-burnt. There is a digital display countdown, which is nice, but the piercing beep when the toast is done is superfluous and annoying - you hear when the toast pops up anyway. I must see if there's a way to turn that off. It seems somewhat slow, compared with previous toasters, but I can live with that as results are good.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KitchenAid 2-Slice Toaster, KMT222OB
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes excellent toast.

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Dunny
fromShow Me State, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
A very nice compact toaster that makes toast the exact way you want it. Very easy to make the exact setting you want for toast/bagles/english muffins.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KitchenAid 2-Slice Toaster, KMT222OB
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

digital countdown to toast

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromOhio
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Not only does this toaster toast perfectly, but it lets you know how long until it is done by the illuminated digital countdown bars. When toasting is complete the toaster also beeps. Love the settings options for toast, frozen pastries and bagels.
My Favorite Brandwustof
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KitchenAid 2-Slice Toaster, KMT222OB
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this toater is the best

PostedApril 21, 2012
Customer avatar
gentleben42
fromCascade Mo
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Does bagels great. the toast comes out perfect it is easy to cleah and the extra lift on the high lift lever keeps you from burning your fingers on smaller pieces of bread and bagels the cord wind on the bottom keeps the cord from getting in the way. and it looks as good as it works and you don,t burn yourself if you bump against it while in use the timer bar is also great
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KitchenAid 2-Slice Toaster, KMT222OB
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kitchen Aid Toaster

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Dariah
fromRossford, Ohio
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
First Kitchen Aid product that I have purchased. I love it. Works great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KitchenAid 2-Slice Toaster, KMT222OB
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best in catagory

PostedApril 30, 2014
Customer avatar
rhlgood1
fromDenver, CO, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
I did a lot of research before buying, and the KMT222 lives up to my expectations. The body is attractive, sturdy, and most important it stays cool during operation. Features also include settings for bagels and warming; both very nice to have.
Although both sides of the slices do not brown identically, it does a fair job and all reviews warn that there isn't a toaster below $300 that will come through with perfect browning.
Kitchen Aid has a great reputation and I look forward to having it around for many years. Pleased with my purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KitchenAid 2-Slice Toaster, KMT222OB
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Toaster

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Kimmie88
fromTallahassee,FL
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I love this toaster. I like the fact that I can set the settings on how light or dark I want bread toasted. Good investment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KitchenAid 2-Slice Toaster, KMT222OB
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not up to my expectations

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Pat61
fromOhio
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I really expected more from this toaster. The appearance was great. I love KitchenAid products, but this one must have been defective. I hated to send it back, but there were problems. One side of the bread would almost burn, the other side did not toast at all. The beep it made when the toast was done is not needed. I am very happy with all of my purchases from Chef`s , but this was an exception.
My Favorite BrandNordic Ware
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KitchenAid 2-Slice Toaster, KMT222OB
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good toaster

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer avatar
healthy3
fromCT
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Vegetarian
the toaster works well, it isnt good with frozen toast as the bottom of the bread stays soft and wet. The plunger doesnt stay down, it must be tried a few times and sometimes held down for quite a few seconds before remaining down.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KitchenAid 2-Slice Toaster, KMT222OB
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Solid but slow

PostedApril 13, 2012
Customer avatar
SouthernMaster
fromChattanooga, TN, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
This is a well built toaster; it's solid, heavy & has a relatively long cord. I like the electronic countdown timer which displays the remaining time in vertical bars. When the cycle is complete, it beeps 3 times, which some complain about but it doesn't bother me. I find it unnecessary as I'm never too far away from the taster anyway.
The big problem I have with this toaster is that it takes for too long & toasts unevenly. I use mine for English muffins & like mine toasted medium. With this toaster one cycle on 7 (the highest setting) is not long enough. I have to do it again for another minute or two. Around FIVE minutes total, which is way too long. Oh yes, I also have to "flip" the muffin because it toasts unevenly. These are the very reasons why I purchased a (relatively) expensive toaster. But it doesn't perform any better than my 10 year old cheapo toaster. Maybe this toaster shines doing plain old bread, I don't know. But that's not why I bought it, so essentially, I'm right back where I started.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KitchenAid 2-Slice Toaster, KMT222OB
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my new toaster

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Sunpuppy
fromPalm Coast, FL
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I've been reading reviews and looking for a new toaster for a few months. A toaster seems like such a simple appliance, but it's difficult to find one that does just what you want it to. I think I've found what I ened in the KitchenAid. I love the look and the features. I like watching the little lines disappear so I know about how much time is left until my toast is done. The signal that it's done is not as annoying as some have said. Loud enough if you're in the other room, but it only beeps three times, so it's not a big deal. It toasts perfectly, I love the cancel and defrost features, too. I think this one is a winner!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KitchenAid 2-Slice Toaster, KMT222OB
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

KitchenAid 2-Slice Toaster

PostedMay 24, 2011
Customer avatar
chefshopper
fromColorado
Love this toaster! It does a great job on everything from frozen pastries to the thickest bagels! Love the way it toasts only the cut side of the bagel and just warms the other side. Several options for toast darkness. Easy to read LED display lets you know how long it will be to completion! Love it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KitchenAid 2-Slice Toaster, KMT222OB
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well made but...

PostedMay 9, 2011
Customer avatar
MikeyVA
fromOakton, VA
As one would expect from KitchenAid, the toaster is well constructed and performs well. I only have two minor complaints: first, the display doesn't come on until you push down the bread. It's only after the toasting cycle has started that you can adjust the browning level, set the cycle to bagel/defrost, etc. That's just counterintuitive. Second, the spring mechanism is very sensitive. I often have to try two or three times to get the bread to stay down and start the toasting cycle. It does make great toast :).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KitchenAid 2-Slice Toaster, KMT222OB
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love my toaster!!

PostedFebruary 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Anonymous
I am a KitchenAid lover because of the quality of their products, sleek designs, and customer service...this toaster is great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KitchenAid 2-Slice Toaster, KMT222OB
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great toaster

PostedJanuary 12, 2011
Customer avatar
GrandmaJenny
fromLexington, VA
This KitchenAid toaster is the best toaster I have ever bought. Perfect toast every time! Wonderful bagels! Sturdy and simple, simply terrific!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for KitchenAid 2-Slice Toaster, KMT222OB
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 of 1 recommend this product