Customer reviews for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder, BCG800XL

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CHEFS Catalog.

Breville Smart Coffee Grinder, BCG800XL

Breville Smart Coffee Grinder, BCG800XL : The most flavorful fresh-ground coffee starts with the just right amount of ground beans. You choose the grind and the Breville Smart Grinder chooses the precise dose for you. Breville's Dosing IQ technology selects the perfect grind time to achieve a consistent dose for your preferred taste. Hardened stainless-steel conical burrs reduce grinding heat to protect the essential oils in the coffee beans. Backlit LCD screen displays 25 grind settings from finest espresso to coarsest French press, plus the number of cups/shots and customized grind amount. A manual adjust dial regulates for less or more grinds and coffee strength. You select between cups for Fresh press or filter and shots for espresso. The 1-lb. bean hopper with its air tight lid and locking system easily removes for storage and transfer of coffee beans. Hands-free operation directly grinds into the included grinds container or 2 portafilter cradles or your drip coffee filter basket. Comes with an easy-use guide and conical burr cleaning brush. Australian-based Breville products set the standard in no-compromise performance and durability. Breville's new generation of heavy-duty, professional-grade countertop appliances for the home chef offer forward-thinking innovation, remarkable design and smooth-operating features. Product Features Breville's unique Dosing IQ technology precisely calibrates each dose Backlit LCD screen displays 25 grind settings, number of cups/shots and customized grind amount Hardened stainless-steel conical burrs reduce grinding heat to protect the essential oils in the coffee beans 25 grind settings dial adjusts from French press coarse to espresso extra fine Amount dial adjusts for less or more grinds and coffee strength 1-lb. hopper with airtight lid and locking system easily removes for storage and transfer of beans Includes 2 portafilter grinding cradles (50-54mm and 58mm) for dosing directly into espresso filters Removable grinds container comes with lid and sealing cap Stainless-steel housing with outstanding durability and style to fit any kitchen Breville Assist power plug with finger hole design for easy and safe insertion and removal from the outlet Wrap-around cord storage lets you adjust cord length Wipe clean 1-year limited warranty Includes 2 portafilter grinding cradles (50-54mm and 58mm) Grinds container with lid and sealing cap Conical burr cleaning brush Easy-use guide and English/French instruction booklet
Overall rating:
4.867 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 15(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder, BCG800XL
Review 1 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder, BCG800XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

COFFEE CENTER

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Customer avatar
DALLAS3100
fromDALLAS,TEXAS
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Calamity
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Friend
This grinder was an excellent choice to improve my coffee preparation for our different coffe makers. The grind selection and control is really great.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder, BCG800XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BREVILLE SMART COFFEE GRINDER

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
jazzymamma98
fromNew Orleans, LA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
For anyone that loves coffee this is a must since you can grind your own beans but it also gives you the correct amount to grind according to the number of cups you would like to brew. It is also fast and efficient. i would by it again.
My Favorite Brandbreville,kitchen aid,
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder, BCG800XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Perfect

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
MHS416
fromCentral NJ
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Everything about this grinder is perfect: well made, cleverly designed, sturdy, easy to figure out, etc.
Ok, a little pricier than other grinders for home use, but if you can splurge on this one, do so!
My Favorite BrandLe Creuset, Dualit, Breville
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder, BCG800XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My espresso tastes fresh every day.

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Crafty1
fromWisconsin, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I roast my own coffee so freshness is key to me. Grinding every morning without waking everyone up is great. Being able to grind right into my filter is also a huge plus. It grinds very consistent also.
My Favorite BrandBreville so far.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder, BCG800XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's features are not great: they are Outstanding!

PostedJune 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Parm
fromNorthbrook, IL, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
This is the most Outstanding coffee grinder we have ever owned, and the quietest. Best of all there is no mess on the counter around the unit after the grinding process is finished!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder, BCG800XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent grinder

PostedJune 4, 2014
Customer avatar
catden4477
fromOakland, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
This grinder has changed the way we brew our coffee - it's easy to use and looks very nice.
My Favorite BrandALL CLAD
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder, BCG800XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A wonderful product

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Sunrisewalker
fromRochester, NY
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
I couldn't believe the taste improvement in coffee ground with this grinder! I have always used a cheap, rotary grinder until I started hearing "real" coffee drinkers talk about the advantage of a high quality birr grinder. I did have to experiment, though, to get the right amount of ground beans for my personal tastes. I did a lot of research before buying this particular model. I have other Breville products in my klitchen, so I knew it is a quality brand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder, BCG800XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just the Best!

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromPrescott Valley, AZ, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
This coffee grinder is the best one that I have ever
owned. Somewhat expensive, and worth every penny. Since I only grind my own coffee beans for
every pot as needed, this product works the best
for true coffee lovers. It is more quiet than I have had in the past. It is truly adjustable for the number of
cups that you want to grind, the fineness or coarseness of grind with a plus or minus factor that
you can control to increase or lessen the amount of
grinds. No mess on the counter from grinding beans.The top hopper holds 1 lb. of beans and you
transfer the ground coffee directly to your coffee makers basket or filter paper. No fuss, no mess.
I collect antique grinders and I hope to have this one a long, long time. A great, great product!
My Favorite BrandBreville, and KitchenAid
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder, BCG800XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mans kitchen tool

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Rich810
fromWenatchee, WA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Beginner
This grinder works great, provides consistant qty. of coffee grounds and easy to use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder, BCG800XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Perfect Grinder

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Customer avatar
NicksReviews
fromRaleigh, NC
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
This grinder is excellent. The quality of the parts, the various settings available, the precision and quality of the grind, even how it looks on my countertop. Everything about this grinder is top notch and, though a little pricey for some, it is a smart investment if you are serious about your coffee and drink it regularly.
I can't think of one thing I would like to change about the Breville Smart Coffee Grinder. It's that good.
My Favorite BrandEarth's
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder, BCG800XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good stuff.

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Genki282
fromKalamazoo, MI, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I am very pleased with this product. I use the grinder for my Melita, and it grinds coffee beans to perfect fineness. There is not much static, so kitchen counter doesn't get messy. It's a nice investment.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder, BCG800XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PERFECT MATCH

PostedMay 9, 2011
Customer avatar
COFFEETHINKER
fromCHICAGO
This, is a one stop, perfect cup of coffee grinder. I gave the Breville Conical Burr Smart Coffee Grinder to my brother, as a gift. It has 25 different grinds and a digital lighted screen to show how many cups you wish to brew at what strength and grind and holds onto that information, if you wish to brew the exact same tasting coffee again. It's sooo easy and time saving. My brother loves, loves, loves it!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder, BCG800XL
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

PostedApril 12, 2011
Customer avatar
LJ65
fromFort Worth, TX
110 percent improvement over the spice grinder style of grinder.
One negative is the discharge area is narrow and does not allow the plastic basket containing the filter to fit under the discharge. We must put the filter under discharge and sometime the sides of the filter collapses allowing grinds to spill over. One positive our coffee taste a lot better wish we had went to this machine several years ago.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder, BCG800XL
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

You get what you pay for . . .

PostedApril 11, 2011
Customer avatar
rkokish
fromCarbondale, CO
and in this instance you pay quite a bit, at least for a home user. Is a coffee grinder that get used once/day worth two hundred bucks? I think yes, but that's obviously a matter of how much money one has and one's personal values.
This machine looks durable, looks attractive, is easy to use, relatively quiet and grinds coffee any way you can think of. The hopper holds a full pound of beans - twice as much as any grinder I've ever owned. It's also easier to get at the burs for cleaning and the way it's designed, I expect it simply will not clog up, ever. It''s big for a coffee grinder, so only get it if you want to give up a little more counter space.
I am tired of inexpensive grinders that break in a year or two, so I spend the $ on this one. It came in good condition and ahead of schedule. I've had it a for few weeks and so far I'm pleased. It cost at least 4 times what big box stores sell their better grinders for, so I expect it to last at least 10 years. Ask me in 2121 whether my expectation was met.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Breville Smart Coffee Grinder, BCG800XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Grinder

PostedMarch 11, 2011
Customer avatar
SumatraDecaf
fromBloomington, IN
I am quite pleased with this grinder. I tend to grind very oily beans which have caused issues with more than one grinder. This grinder seems to handle the beans without clogging just fine. It is light weight and somewhat more compact than my previousy grinder. Most important it does not take a screw driver in order to access the blades for cleaning..a great plus when you are a fan of oily beans. I have had to experiment with the grind quantities to meet my taste but would have expected that...the good thing here is you have plenty of options.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.