Customer reviews for Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Stir Fry Pan, 12 inch

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CHEFS Catalog.

Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Stir Fry Pan, 12 inch

Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Stir Fry Pan, 12 inch : Revolutionary technology with the durability and heat retention of cast-iron to add flavorful crisp texture and durable ceramic-coated interior for nonstick performance. This Starfrit stir fry pan ensures easy release, without the maintenance of cast-iron. Lightweight, easy to lift and transport, with half the weight of traditional cast-iron pans. Heats quickly and cleans easily. Preferred by food connoisseurs for healthy cooking using a very small amount of oil, the chemical-free, reinforced ceramic-coated surface is PFOA- and PTFE-free. This cast-iron fry pan is heat-responsive to stir fry vegetables, brown meat or saute, and has high sides to deep fry potatoes, chicken or seafood. Riveted stainless-steel handle and helper handle stay cool to the touch. Oven-safe to 450 F to cook or keep food warm. Suitable for all cooktops, including electric, ceramic, glass top and induction. Hand wash. 5-year manufacturer warranty. Product Features Cast-iron that is 50% lighter than traditional cast-iron, with ceramic-coated nonstick interior to provide a healthy, lightweight alternative to cooking The durability and superior heat conductivity of cast-iron adds flavorful crisping to foods Heat responsive to quickly stir fry, brown meat, saute or deep fry Easy-release nonstick interior lets you cook using a very small amount of oil Durable reinforced ceramic-coated surface is PFOA- and PTFE-free Riveted stainless-steel handle and helper handle stay cool to the touch Oven-safe to cook or keep food warm
Overall rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Stir Fry Pan, 12 inch
Review 1 for Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Stir Fry Pan, 12 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this pan!

PostedMay 3, 2013
Customer avatar
clh53
fromColorado
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
It's such a great size for stir fry; it worked great in the oven for a German pancake; and it cleans up effortlessly. The lighter weight cast iron is awesome! I have an induction cooktop, and pans aren't as easy to find. This one is perfect.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Stir Fry Pan, 12 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Supreme Skillet

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Kjun
fromOhio
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
This is a thinner but not fragile cast iron fry/saute pan. I cookup eggs, breakfast meats, hamburgers & whip up sauces in it. It almost lives on the stovetop as it's used so often. Easy clean and lightweight as claimed to be. Wish I would have purchased one a long time ago. Grab handle distributes and balances weight well.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Stir Fry Pan, 12 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Customer avatar
renzo
fromAlbuquerque, NM, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
I bought this for stir fry and it has turned into my go to pan for just about everything. It heats evenly and is very light weight. I cannot say enough good things about this pan.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Stir Fry Pan, 12 inch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good product

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
carose2
fromMill Valley CA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I appreciate the light weight of the pan but it has a more wok like shape in the slant of the sides which I didn't expect. This means you have less bottom and more sides and that reduces the stated dimensions of usable cooking space at the bottom. Also, because the surface must be preserved (the directions are like that for an old Teflon coated pan) I feel that I can't stack two of them; they really should be hung on a rack separately and I only have shelf/drawers for my pots and pans. An old-fashioned HEAVY iron pan could handle knife cutting in the pan, metal utensils, and stacking just fine. I like that I can use a lower heat to cook and it cooks evenly.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Stir Fry Pan, 12 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As good as asvertised.

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromLong Island, NY
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
Non stick with even heat distribution. Plenty of room to put foods on the side while while cooking sonething else on the bottom.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Stir Fry Pan, 12 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT NEW PAN!

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Anna26
fromWEST VIRGINIA USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I AM VERY HAPPY WITH THIS CAST IRON PAN. I HAVE BEEN WANTING A CAST IRON PAN FOR A LONG TIME, BUT EVERY OTHER ONE I FOUND COULD NOT BE USED ON A CERAMIC COOK TOP, AND I WAS THRILLED WHEN I READ THAT THIS ONE CAN!
I HAVE USED IT TO FRY AND SAUTE WITH GOOD RESULTS, AND RIGHT NOW A BATCH OF CHILI IS SIMMERING AWAY IN IT. IT IS ALSO A GOOD PAN TO SEAR A ROAST IN.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Stir Fry Pan, 12 inch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just what we wanted

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer avatar
cookscooks
fromVermont, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
This wok is made well, it is not overly heavy, heats evenly, and is especially good on an induction cooktop due to the woks flattened base. It's very easy to clean. We're very pleased with it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Stir Fry Pan, 12 inch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent for stir fry or to sautee vegetables

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Peter70
fromJohnstown NY
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Easier to handle than conventional cast iron. Excellent heat dispersion.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.