Customer reviews for Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone

Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone

Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone : This Emile Henry Flame Baking Stone superbly cooks brick-oven style pizza in home ovens and on outdoor grills. Innovative proprietary Flame technology heats evenly to bake brioche, baguette or French bread and provide the golden browning to cookies and baked goods that is only achievable with natural clay. Absorbs moisture from dough while distributing heat, ensuring even baking throughout and perfect-texture, from the center to the outer edge. The special micro-crazed glazing ensures easy cleanup, and unlike unglazed stone, this baking stone will not retain food, stains or odors. You can cut pizza, bread or baked goods right on the stone without damaging the surface. This 14"W x 18"L rectangular baking stone goes in conventional ovens, under the broiler or in convection ovens, up to 750 degrees F. Heats up in about 15 minutes compared to nearly an hour for other stones. Wide handles for easy transport. Naturally nonstick and dishwasher-safe. Made in France. Founded in 1850 by the Henry family in France's mineral-rich Burgundy Clay region, today Emile Henry is the largest manufacturer of ceramic ovenware in France. The Flame process is a proprietary manufacturing process that is more resistant to thermal shock, mechanical shock, chipping or crazing than other ceramic products, including porcelain, stoneware and earthenware. Product Features Innovative Flame ceramic technology allows for high-heat cooking up to 750 degrees F Rectangular baking stone works in a conventional oven and under the broiler Turns gas, charcoal, natural wood or electric barbecue grill into an outdoor oven Absorbs moisture from dough to ensure crispy, well-baked crusts Evenly distributes and retains heat Footed base allows more even heat diffusion 30% lighter than similar cast-iron pans Cutting directly on the stone does not damage the surface Wide handles for easy transport Naturally nonstick surface does not absorb stains or odors This easy-clean stone is also freezer- and dishwasher-safe Manufactured in France from mineral-rich Burgundy Clay and other natural products
Overall rating:
4.833 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
24 out of 24(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone
Review 1 for Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Emile Henry Rectagular Baking Stone

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer avatar
BJCW
fromLeland, NC, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Fabulous product....if you're looking for a wonderfully crispy pizza this is your Baking Stone. One of the best items I've purchased to bake pizza.
My Favorite BrandEmile Henry!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stays clean!

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Pezz
fromBirmingham, AL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
"Naturally nonstick surface does not absorb stains or odors" Unlike my previous pizza stone, this doesn't stain and cleanup is a breeze. It also heats up much faster and makes a really crisp crust. Now I can make custom order pizza at home that is better than I get out. Love it and use it often. Using a peele to remove the cooked pizza means I can make another pizza right away, so it's great for a crowd.
My Favorite BrandKyocera
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous!

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Spanky52
fromWaco, TX
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I just used my new Emile Henry baking stone for the first time. We made a scratch pizza dough using Alaska Amber as an ingredient and baked it on the stone. The crust browned very evently and turned out great. The stone was left in the oven to come up to temperature and to cool down with the oven. It looks like it has not even been used. Excellent!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice size

PostedApril 4, 2012
Customer avatar
weaverskier
fromLake George, NY
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
My old rectangular baking stone is very heavy, and difficult to remove from the oven.The surface makes it difficult to clean up spills, and stains easily.
This was my justification for trying the Emile Henry Baking Stone, and I am pleased on all levels. It is a generous size, and the handles and lighter weight make it easy to remove from the oven. It cleans up beautifully. My artisan bread bakes up perfectly.
I am so glad I made this purchase.
My Favorite BrandAll-Clad
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very cool baking stone

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Customer avatar
notachefatall
fromTucson, AZ
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
This attractive baking stone is really a great alternative to the traditional stone. It doesn't stain, you can cut on it, and it is attractive enough to serve on. Plus - it seems to act just like a normal stone. I've retired my old, stained pizza stone to the top shelf in my other oven as a "heat sink" and now have the Emile Henry in my baking oven.
My Favorite BrandViking, KitchenAid
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New challenge for grilled/baked meats/pizza

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromEnglewood, FL
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
I am really pleased with this purchase! I would definitely recommend!
My Favorite Brandi
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Baking Stone

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Nursemary
fromGrafton, WI, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Giada De Laurentis
I bought this to replace a large unfinished baking stone that I really liked but I dropped and broke. I like that this one is finished which allows for much easier cleaning. Although the handles are convenient for removing it from the oven I have found them more of a hindrance because I cannot put a large baking sheet or roasting rack on top of it. I either have to move the stone to a lower unused rack or remove it from the oven completely. And I always forget about it till I'm about to pop something into the already preheated hot oven. I'm sure with time I will get used to it. The stone itself works beautifully for crisp crust on breads and pizza.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer avatar
jtsiowa
fromIowa
My Cooking Level:Advanced
We love this baking stone! So easy to clean and I love the color red. Well worth the investment.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pizza with ease!!

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
dk47
fromOcean Park, WA 98640, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Friend
We've been working on getting our pizzas to turn out as they look in the pictures. This baking stone is the answer! Worked like a champ...no sticking with high heat and came out looking professional.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for pizza

PostedJune 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Sadietwo
fromColumbus, Ohio, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
Baking stone yields a great crisp crust plus other items that are baked. And the stone is easily washed thus no more smoke! How wonderful can a product get!
My Favorite BrandNone
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All the difference

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Boonsmom
fromLos Angeles, CA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Since we make mostly square pizzas (or other baked goods that need a stone), this was just what we needed. Love the finish and especially love the color. The embedded handles really make it convenient.
Arrived well packaged and in great condition.
My Favorite Branddepends on the day
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very useful for a variety of baking.

PostedMay 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Niki
fromRural Kansas
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
This one was a gift for my sister. I purchased my own about a year ago. Doesn't seem to absorb oils and fats like other baking stones and cleans up nicely.
My Favorite BrandBerndt
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It made a Big Improvement in our bread

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Fogo
fromChandler, AZ, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
Our bread was just not perfect until we purchased this baking stone but now our bread is cooking more evenly with a consistency and taste of a home bakery.
My Favorite BrandWesthof
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent results but hard to clean

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Customer avatar
familymeals
fromMichigan, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I love that this stone can handle higher temperatures than most products as I wanted one that I could pre-heat at a high oven temp 550+. I have used it in the oven and have had excellent results with my pizza crust quality without the excessive worry that it will break during use. Have not used it on the grill yet, but plan to when the weather warms up. Only downside is that when toppings get on the stone they burn and leave a black residue that is nearly impossible to remove. Some of it can be removed with barkeepers friend, scrub brush and major arm work, but not all of it. I know another reviewer said that the carbon buildup will make it non-stick and that you want that, but why have such a beautiful colored stone if you can't clean it to show it off again! Anyone have any tips or do I just need to accept that my beautiful figue stone will be permanently discolored with black char marks?
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Finish, Love the color

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer avatar
nzerr
fromSpringfield, MO, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Big large surface to bake, and grill on. I like it better than the round one because it holds more food. I love the color too
My Favorite BrandCalphalon, All Clad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I wanted!

PostedDecember 31, 2011
Customer avatar
DaisyDuster
fromNJ
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
This product lives up to its description and then some. I especially like that it's glazed - easy to clean and it doesn't retain any ghosts of meals past. Also, I like the color choices - very eye-appealing. Lastly, the surface area is substantial, so I can make a mighty meal! Gave one to my son (Mr. Pizza Maker) and he and his family enjoy the fact that, not only does the crust come out crunchy, but you can cut on the surface directly without damaging the finish. Nice....
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedNovember 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Kemp
fromMedford, OR
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I have used the Emile Baking Stone for pizza and the pizza has turned out just beautiful. The pizza was the best I have ever made. The Baking stone is so easy to clean. I just love it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super nice pizza stone

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Customer avatar
TrooperD
fromKC MO
This is a quality stone - I have used it once with nice results - cleans up really well.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FINALLY!!

PostedSeptember 9, 2011
Customer avatar
shappy
fromWyoming
I have been searching for the perfect stone and I think I found it. Love the fact that you can use it on several different cooking surfaces. Best of all is the handles. Makes lifting so much easier. I think I'm going to love this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Emile Henry Rectangular Baking Stone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Customer avatar
dolphin
fromOswego, NY
This has turned into a multipurpose item in our household. It allows us to have a good crispy crust, which stays warm longer without getting soggy or soft. It also adds mass to the oven so it takes less energy to heat and keeps warm longer. It also is great for making bread and cookies. The next thing I'm going to try is using it to dry herbs and tomaotes. The extra mass should help with even heating at low temperatures.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>