Customer reviews for Lettuce and Fruit Knife Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CHEFS Catalog.

Lettuce and Fruit Knife Set

Lettuce and Fruit Knife Set : The stay-sharp serrated blades on this lettuce & fruit knife set prevent the unappealing discoloration of edges and ensure smooth release. Unlike metal knives that oxidize or "burn" leaves of lettuce, cabbage or spinach and alter the color of fruit, these wide polycarbonate blades retain the natural colors and crispness for best presentation. Wide blades allow easy scooping from cutting board to bowl, plate or platter. The combination serrated and fluted edge on the fruit knife penetrates thick skins for effortless slicing. With the pronged tip, this knife also quickly steams and cores fruit. Also ideal for slicing cake, brownies or pies and preserving the finish on nonstick or ceramic bakeware. Rustproof, stainproof and moisture-resistant, these low-maintenance blades are impervious to acidic foods, oils and salt. Easy-grip ergonomic nonslip handles. Dishwasher-safe. Product Features Stay-sharp polycarbonate blades preserve the natural colors and crispness of fruit Prevent the oxidizing or "burning" of leafy vegetables and fruit Wide blades to easily scoop from cutting board Combination serrated/fluted edge on the fruit knife penetrates thick skins and the pronged tip stems and cores Rustproof, stainproof and moisture-resistant Low maintenance blade impervious to acids, oils or salt Also ideal to slice desserts and preserve the finish on nonstick or ceramic bakeware Easy-grip nonslip ergonomic handle
Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 12(75%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Lettuce and Fruit Knife Set
Review 1 for Lettuce and Fruit Knife Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has other great features

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Gator15
fromGainesville, FL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I bought the knives for lettuce and fruits. The lettuce knife is great. So far no brown on the lettuce and I cut it three days ago. Both knives are perfect for chopping nuts. I've chopped walnuts and pecans and they came out just the way I wanted them. A special added bonus!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lettuce and Fruit Knife Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Lettuce and Fruit Knife Set

PostedMay 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Darcyyc
fromTomball, TX
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I found the knives to be dull. I already had a lettuce knife and after using it for over a year it was still sharper than these. All was not lost though as I sharpened them with a ceramic sharpener.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lettuce and Fruit Knife Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMay 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Oreods
fromOhio
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I love this product. Does exactly what it says it will do. Great product and price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lettuce and Fruit Knife Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very sharp knives for plastic

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Lobsterbabe539
fromMan.,NJ
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
Never had a fruit knife before, but love the way it cuts strawberries without squishing them. Both knives are very sharp so you have to be careful. Very nice grip on the handle and does a great job cutting lettuce.
My Favorite BrandOXO
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lettuce and Fruit Knife Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FINALLY !

PostedDecember 29, 2011
Customer avatar
HOPEVERYDAY
fromIL
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
Been looking for a GREAT cutting knife for lettuce,
Thank you FINALLY found it. Also great price and fast delivery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lettuce and Fruit Knife Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Newest Gadget

PostedAugust 5, 2011
Customer avatar
tree
fromSD
I bought never having seen nor used knives like this. I am very pleased with the performance of each knife.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lettuce and Fruit Knife Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It'll Do

PostedJuly 28, 2011
Customer avatar
GlutenFreeCook
fromForest Lake Minnesota
I purchased this mainly to be able to cut Romaine and Iceberg letuce so it won't turn brown by th next day. I eat a lot of salads and often make enough at one time for two days. It worked great on the Romaine and kept the edges from turning brown. I also tried the fruit knife on peaches and it sliced them without turning them brown too. The only drawback of it is that the knives are so light they don't give you much leverage when cutting so you need more of your own arm power to cut through the foods.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lettuce and Fruit Knife Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Idea

PostedJuly 4, 2011
Customer avatar
samsock
fromPA
This solves a problem that has been around for a long time - great idea and works great too! Would recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lettuce and Fruit Knife Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Better than Metal

PostedJune 28, 2011
Customer avatar
annie51
fromKansas
Blade is a bit flimsy for chopping lettuce. BUT, it does eliminate the discoloration from metal knife chopping and that was my intent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lettuce and Fruit Knife Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Unusual Knives

PostedJune 22, 2011
Customer avatar
ceandf
frommineral wells, texas
These two plastic knives were purchased to cut fruit and lettuce as stated in the catalog. They did not work as well as I would have liked them to. The lettuce knife was suppose to not make your lettuce brown after cutting. The lettuce still browns but just on the edges not as much as with a metal knife. The fruit knife is more difficult to use than a metal knife.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lettuce and Fruit Knife Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not what I expected

PostedApril 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Anita435
fromNew York City
was disappointed cutting cabbage and lettuce--not sharp enough to make a clean cut., but cutting fruit was ok. Not a complete loss, It is great for slicing cake. The price is right
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Lettuce and Fruit Knife Set
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 of 1 recommend this product