Customer reviews for CHEFS Round Pizza Stone, 16.5 inch

CHEFS Round Pizza Stone, 16.5 inch

CHEFS Round Pizza Stone, 16.5 inch : Easy-clean smooth ceramic pizza stone with the heat-retentive qualities of stoneware creates the delicious, golden-crisp texture of traditional brick-oven style baking. The thick composition of this round baking stone retains and distributes heat evenly to ensure thick and thin crusts bake to perfection. Durable thick ceramic is preferred for baking due to the high-resistance to thermal shock. With the smooth surface and superior heat conductivity, this baking stone is also ideal to bake calzones, breads, rolls or pastries. Nonabsorbent, stick-resistant pizza stone seasons naturally over time, creating a cooking surface that releases food easily. Durable and generously sized to bake large family-size pizza on a grill or in the oven and keep food warm for serving. Oven- and microwave-safe. Heat-safe to 450 F. CHEFS signature collection of professional-quality cookware, kitchen tools, bakeware, dinnerware and more is meticulously crafted and tested to delight the most discerning cook. CHEFS commitment to innovative, functional design is the key to delivering products of exceptional quality, performance and durability for home and professional kitchens. Product Features Easy-clean ceramic ensures uniform baking and crispier pizza crust Smooth ceramic has the heat-retentive qualities of stoneware to create brick-oven style pizza at home Heat-safe to 450 F Distributes heat evenly for consistent browning Heat rises uniformly to bake calzones, breads, rolls or pastries Large size to bake or grill family-size pizza and keep food warm for serving Nonabsorbent and naturally stick-resistant Seasons with use to create an easy-release cooking surface
Overall rating:
4.587 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(63 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 63 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
61 out of 63(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for CHEFS Round Pizza Stone, 16.5 inch
Review 1 for CHEFS Round Pizza Stone, 16.5 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good Quality

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Loretta2187
fromBristol, TN, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I had another stone from a well known bath and bed store and it cracked down the middle for no reason. I received this one and it was well packed and larger than my old one. Have only used it 2 times but has worked great. Crisp delicious pizza both times.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for CHEFS Round Pizza Stone, 16.5 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great size

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Customer avatar
guy46
fromNewport, OR, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Calamity
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
I have been looking for a larger pizza stone for a while. I like the larger pizzas and this works great. You don't have to be so accurate when sliding the pizza on.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for CHEFS Round Pizza Stone, 16.5 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much needed for great Pizza

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Noodles168
fromPennsylvania, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
The half inch thick stone is a must for those of us who like to create pizza at home. First of all, heating the stone / oven at the highest temp for at least an hour before inserting your pizza, is absolutely necessary to get that great crust in the shortest bake time (6-8 min).There is no maintenence other then brushing off the left over corn meal after cool down. One tip when you are finished with the baking leave your over door partially open after shutting down the heat. This will minimize burning the left over corn meal on the stone.This stone will deliver if you follow these practices.
Noodles
My Favorite BrandKirkland
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for CHEFS Round Pizza Stone, 16.5 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes a really great crispy crust

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer avatar
EileenD
fromFlorida
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
Nice and large for the larger pizzas. Keeps the pizza warm while eating. Easy cleanup. Heavy. Measure your oven before ordering; true to size.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for CHEFS Round Pizza Stone, 16.5 inch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

as advertised

PostedApril 27, 2012
Customer avatar
bobsr
fromMN
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I used my za stone as instructed and it made a perfect pizza. Clean up was a breeze. Make sure and measure your oven interior as it is a snug fit and I have a large oven.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for CHEFS Round Pizza Stone, 16.5 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

'Store-Bought' is Not Pizza!

PostedApril 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Jobeans
fromEnid, OK, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Calamity
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
A very good Stone. Large size prevents ooze-over.A plus for me.
My Favorite BrandHunt's tomato stuff
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for CHEFS Round Pizza Stone, 16.5 inch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Measure your oven first

PostedApril 9, 2014
Customer avatar
MrsBinPhoenix
fromPhoenix
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
My son took one of my pizza stones, so I purchased this one to replace it. I liked the fact that it was a large size, but it did not occur to me that it would be too large for my wall oven, which was not deep enough to accommodate the stone. Make sure you measure your oven first. It should fit fine in most free standing stoves, but may not fit most wall ovens. I ended up trading my son for my original pizza stone, and this one fit his free standing oven fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for CHEFS Round Pizza Stone, 16.5 inch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

CHEFS Round Pizza Stone, 16.5 inch

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer avatar
rich868
frommn
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
This stone worked well, took 2 times to get the hang of it. Package says works in stove and the grill, Can't wait to try it on the grill
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for CHEFS Round Pizza Stone, 16.5 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Crispy reheated pizza crust.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer avatar
TrImit
fromPalos Heights, IL, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Microwave Magician
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
I have used this stone for about 3 weeks and I am pleased so far. I use it mostly for reheating left overs such as thick crust pizza. It's also good for heating up dinner rolls. Be sure to measure your oven since this is a large stone. I t was actually too big for my oven by over an inch. Instead of returning it, I used a diamond circular saw blade to trim the stone to fit. Hopefully, its longevity was not diminished!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for CHEFS Round Pizza Stone, 16.5 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

CHEFS Round Pizza Stone, 16.5 inch

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Andrea60
fromKingwood, West Virginia
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
bigger than i expected and withstands 400 degree temperatures. love it
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for CHEFS Round Pizza Stone, 16.5 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pizza Stone

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer avatar
memyself2
fromMichigan, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
This is a great item. I have used it primarily to bake bread, but it works equally well as a "real" pizza stone. Be sure to measure your oven dimensions before ordering!
My Favorite BrandStaub & Cuisinart
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for CHEFS Round Pizza Stone, 16.5 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pizza Stone!

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Kellowat
fromAlabama
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
I got this pizza stone as a gift for my boyfriend. I needed a pizza stone that was at least 16", a size that is apparently hard to come by when shopping for a pizza stone. The stone itself is not overwhelmingly heavy. We have used it 4 times so far at various temperatures from 375-425 F (the listed upper limit being 450 F) with no cracking whatsoever. I do recommend cleaning the stone after each use.. my boyfriend left some pizza bits on there and cooked on it again and I'm not so sure that the bits will ever completely come off (which really isn't that big of a deal). To clean it we use a soaking wet cotton rag to saturate the cooked-on bits, and then a plastic scraper to get the bits off of it. We use a plastic pizza wheel to cut the pizzas on the stone and both the pizza wheel and the stone have held up just fine. I'm very pleased with this purchase and would buy it again.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for CHEFS Round Pizza Stone, 16.5 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pizza changing equipment

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Picky01
fromAustin, TX, USA
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Vegetarian
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
We've been using pizza stones for 20 years and wouldn't make a pizza without one. A pre-heated stone accelerates the heat that is transmitted to the crust, making for a crispier crust without burning the top. Sprinkle a little cornmeal on stone prior to use to prevent sticking to stone.
This stone is as large as you can get into a standard oven and allows the making of pretty good sized pizzas. Excellent product.
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for CHEFS Round Pizza Stone, 16.5 inch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

a new favorite for my pizza appetite

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Kuegel48
fromOwensboro, KY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mario Batali
I have searched high and low in stores and catalogs for a 16" pizza stone. This 16.5" stone made a great crust. I like to purchase a fresh-made pizza from a certain "bake it fresh" type of chain pizza store in my town. This stone made the crust really crisp and we loved it even more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for CHEFS Round Pizza Stone, 16.5 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Item

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
jetb
fromct
My Cooking Level:Advanced
Made pizza and the crust came out perfect.
Going to use it to bake bread too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for CHEFS Round Pizza Stone, 16.5 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chef's pizza stone

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Rogbar
fromIowa Falls, IA 50126, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Friend
We have used our pizza stone twice since purchasing it and are very pleased with it. Quality seems to be very good and has been easy to clean after using it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for CHEFS Round Pizza Stone, 16.5 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pizza Stone

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Volunteers
fromTennessee, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
This product is as advertised. Performs well. I am pretty sure you will be happy with this product. Uniform browning on bottom of pizza bottom. Make sure you measure your oven size for this 16.5 inch stone is very large.
 
Products related to my review
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for CHEFS Round Pizza Stone, 16.5 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

CHEFS Round Pizza Stone

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Doctop
fromNew Mexico, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I bought this pizza stone 2 weeks ago and have baked3 pizzas, several loaves of bread. It has worked better than I thought it would. Love this Pizza Stone. Would recommend it to everyone that bakes bread or Pizza. Wonderful
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for CHEFS Round Pizza Stone, 16.5 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
DstGrl
fromTerlingua, TX 79852, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
I am delighted with the stone. It was well packaged and arrived in tact. I've used it once so far and the pizza was nice and crisp-just what i was hoping for.
My Favorite BrandKitchenaid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for CHEFS Round Pizza Stone, 16.5 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally!!

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Julie13
fromSurprise, AZ, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
A pizza stone that's the right size for the right price. Excellent value for use with a family size pizza.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>