Customer reviews for John Boos Mystery Oil

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CHEFS Catalog.

John Boos Mystery Oil

John Boos Mystery Oil : From the creators of the finest butcher blocks in the world, this NSF-certified John Boos Mystery Oil replenishes the moisture lost from repeat washings and use. This food-grade mineral oil penetrates deeply into the grain of the wood, creating a smooth protective finish. Prevent butcher blocks, cutting boards and wooden utensils from drying, bleaching or cracking. Mystery Oil conditions and maintains the quality of all types of wood food-preparation surfaces. Proprietary blend of mineral oil, orange-scented linseed oil and tung oil is nongreasy, easy to apply, and superior in absorbency. NSF-certified.* 16-oz. Made in the USA. Product Features NSF-certified food-grade oil locks in moisture to preserve wood cutting boards, blocks and utensils Penetrates deeply to replenish the moisture lost from repeat use and washings Prevent wood from drying, bleaching or cracking Nongreasy and easy to apply to create a smooth protective finish Superior absorbency with the proprietary blend of mineral oil, orange-scented linseed oil and tung oil Recommended for all types of wood food-prep surfaces John Boos & Company has offered the finest butcher blocks, kitchen workstations and carts since 1887. The oldest manufacturer of premium quality kitchen equipment in America, Boos has proudly built products for the best kitchens, including the White House *The National Sanitation Foundation is an independent, not-for-profit organization that employs stringent sanitation standards in evaluating food equipment for commercial use.
Overall rating:
4.833 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
41 out of 42(98%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for John Boos Mystery Oil
Review 1 for John Boos Mystery Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Mholden
fromKansas City, MO
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Best ... stuff....ever! Completely restored some wood utensils I thought were past saving.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for John Boos Mystery Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Holstein65
fromAuburn, MI 48611, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I care for my maple Boos Block cutting board with the Boos Mystery Oil. I've had the board for two years and conditioning it with the Mystery Oil helps keep the board in great shape for the nearly every day use it receives. Great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for John Boos Mystery Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So easy to use.

PostedMay 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Jadelover1
fromMaryland, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I have wood bowls and cutting boards and this oil is perfect to keep them looking new.
My Favorite Brandwood
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for John Boos Mystery Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works better than plain mineral oil.

PostedApril 3, 2012
Customer avatar
JT5412
fromNorth Carolina, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I have to admit, when I got my food grade Boos countertop for my work island, I figured why pay so much money for mineral oil to use on it. I bought plain mineral oil and have used it multiple times. Then I read that this product is more than just plain mineral oil and I bought it and yes, I do see a difference. It works. The countertop has a richer color and feel to it. I also used Boos Block Cream. I would highly recommend both products.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for John Boos Mystery Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product does what it says it will.

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Jan19
fromLorain, OH
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Had some real old wood handle knives passed down from the family and a butcher block given to me by a very dear woman whose brother made it for her. All were dry and look very worn. Applied the oil and it brought them back to the rich warm look that I am sure they were like when new. Am so glad it did and I know that now I can use them again and they won't crack from washing them. This product also goes a long way as I did all of them and hardly used any at all.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for John Boos Mystery Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super product!

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Customer avatar
LadyBear49
fromFloral City, FL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
My cutting boards have never looked so good! Just one treatment with the oil as instructed and my cutting boards are looking better than new!
My Favorite Brandcuisinart
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for John Boos Mystery Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must have

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromAsheville, NC, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
This is a must have if you use wood products in food preparation. Obviously, use it on cutting boards, but also use it on wooden utentsils, wooden cheese boards, and wooden salad bowls.
My Favorite BrandKing Arthur
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for John Boos Mystery Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does a great job!

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Boilermaker
fromIowa City, Iowa
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ellie Krieger
This applies easily, protects and enhances the wood, and cleans up quickly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for John Boos Mystery Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mystery oil

PostedMay 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Mamalin
fromCrockett, TX
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Love this stuff, just sorry I waited so long to try it
My Favorite BrandAll clad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for John Boos Mystery Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Oiling a chopping block

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Customer avatar
MollyGo
fromHuntley, IL
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I was using the rubbing oil that came with my new chopping block and knew it would run out soon. Purchased the John Boos Mystery Oil and what a HUGE difference it made almost immediately as I continued to rub oil into the block each day for two weeks. The block is simply beautiful now.
My Favorite BrandWhole Food Stores
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for John Boos Mystery Oil
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good product

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Customer avatar
sunhi
fromWashington, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
works as advertised. restores and protects wood for longer life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for John Boos Mystery Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer avatar
rob48
fromfl
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
great product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for John Boos Mystery Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much Better Than Mineral Oil

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer avatar
jayhawkchef47
fromLawrence, KS, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
I had previously used NSF-certified mineral oil on my Catskill Butcher Block Cutting Board, but was not happy with the results. The John Boos Mystery Oil is a much better product as it is easier to use, does not have a "greasy" feel when applying, and seems to soak into the natural wood better. After one treatment, the natural beauty of the cutting board are looking brand new again.
My Favorite BrandAll-Clad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for John Boos Mystery Oil
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Results so far

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Swaz
fromWales, NY
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I just started using John Boos Mystery Oil on some cutting boards and wooden utensils I made and on some wooden utensils I have been using for years without treatment. It highlighted the grain on the new boards beautifully and restored the beauty of the older utensils. I look forward to seeing how it will maintain that beauty with more use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for John Boos Mystery Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

John Boos Mystery Oil

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Sammie13
fromKansas, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
Absolutelly wonderful!! It made my butcher block holder of knives look brand new. Easy to use, took about one half hour to dry completely. Will use it on all my other wood surfaced utensils.
My Favorite BrandKitchenaid and Cusinart
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for John Boos Mystery Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mystery oil on 50 year old cutting board

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Fagan
fromPENN by way of NY
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
My maple cutting board is over 50 years old.
It was once installed on top of a dishwasher.
I took it off and installed it on a cabinet next to the stove.
I never did an thinh to it, except sanding once in a while, and cleaning it with bleach and soap and water, and anything else I happened to have in my hand.. The oil changed the color to a rich golden.
I AM Happy with it.
Fagan
My Favorite BrandOf What???
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for John Boos Mystery Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

John Boos Mystery Oil

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Deedle
fromRhinelander, WI 54501, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
The best product for keeping your countertops, cutting boards in great condition.
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for John Boos Mystery Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

John Boos Mystery Oil

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
itallianrose
fromAlabama
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
My daughter is the cook in the family and I gave her this to help with her butcher block chopping board or what ever other wood cooking tools she has and she loves it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for John Boos Mystery Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a new farvorite for my butcher block

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
gordo48
fromSeneca Falls, NY, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I recently purchased boos mystery oil for my butcher block ,its used easily, and easy to clean up. I would recommend this product to anyone, and will reorder when needed.
My Favorite Brandchefs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for John Boos Mystery Oil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great wood grain enhancer for your cutting board.

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Danalee
fromOcala,Fl.
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
John Boos Mystery Oil works great to enhance color and grain on cutting board and adds a protective barrier against fluids from penerating into the board's inter portions .
My Favorite BrandBoos
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>