Customer reviews for Taylor Dual Temperature Infrared and Thermocouple Thermometer

Taylor Dual Temperature Infrared and Thermocouple Thermometer

Taylor Dual Temperature Infrared and Thermocouple Thermometer : With precision accuracy within 1 F, extensive temperature range and reading updates every second, this Taylor thermocouple and infrared thermometer is the chef's advanced gauge to monitor cooking. This dual temp thermometer is scientifically engineered using thermocouple technology to precisely gauge the internal temperature using the 4"L stainless steel fold-out probe. With a thermocouple temperature range of -67 to +626 F and hold function to display digital reading up to 4 minutes, this thermometer provides measurement uses beyond the kitchen or grill. Infrared lens with white light illumination zone gauges the surface temperature without contact. This infrared laser function can also be adjusted to display the minimum or maximum temperature, ideal when grilling meat to precise doneness levels. Hold function displays the last reading up to 15 seconds, and lock mode for continuous reading display. Infrared temperature range from -67 to +482 F, spot to distance ratio of 3 to 1 and adjustable emissivity. This dual function infrared & thermocouple thermometer is equipped with a built-in safety feature to indicate critical temperature zones. The Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points (HACCP) check system with green and red LED indicator lights indicates hot or cold temperature danger zone alerts. Splash-proof with Ingress Protector factor of 65 (IP65). F/C selectable. Automatic shutoff to preserve battery life. Compact size fits in a pocket. Stainless-steel probe. Vinyl case with belt loop. Requires 2 AAA batteries, included.NSF approved Product Features Measure internal and surface temperatures with precision accuracy Thermocouple with -/+1 accuracy and 1-second response time 4"L stainless steel fold-out probe to measure internal temperature Temperature range: -67 to +626 degrees F or -55 to +330 C Infrared laser technology for non-contact surface temperature White light target illumination zone and digital display Recessed optics maximize reading efficiency Infrared temperature range: -67 to +482 F or -55 to +250 C Infrared accuracy: -/+1 Emissivity = 0.1~1 Step .01 Distance to Spot Ratio (Field Of View): 3 to 1 Thermocouple and infrared resolution: 0.5 F/0.2 C Minimum, maximum, lock and hold reading functions F/C selectable Hazard Analysis and Critical Check Points system (HACCP) to protect against dust and liquids with green and red temperature danger zone light alerts Splash-proof with Ingress Protection factor of 65 (IP65) Auto shutoff to preserve battery life Compact size fits in a pocket Includes vinyl case with belt loop strap NSF-approved Taylor has designed precision measurement instruments since 1851
Overall rating:
3.917 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
19 out of 24(79%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Taylor Dual Temperature Infrared and Thermocouple Thermometer
Review 1 for Taylor Dual Temperature Infrared and Thermocouple Thermometer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fast, accurate thermometer

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Okdoc
fromRural okla
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Nice gadget. I like the ability to position the probe where I want it. The lighted display is nice. I'll make it a gift for my grilling buddies
My Favorite BrandLe Creuset
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Taylor Dual Temperature Infrared and Thermocouple Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great find

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Jimcooks
fromAkron, OH, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
Very easy to use instant read thermometer!
My Favorite BrandScanPan
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Taylor Dual Temperature Infrared and Thermocouple Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Taylor Instant Read Thermometer

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Mike718
fromPark City, UT, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I have only used it a few times, but it worked well and appeared to be accurate, judging by the look of the meat. I am not certain how I would use the infrared function, but it is cool.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Taylor Dual Temperature Infrared and Thermocouple Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Customer avatar
gyro
fromJupiter .Florida
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
this is the fastest thermometer I have ever used,it makes cooking steak to perfection easy and the no contact feature is great for really thin meats like veal
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Taylor Dual Temperature Infrared and Thermocouple Thermometer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Product!

PostedAugust 5, 2011
Customer avatar
GeorgeV
fromWashington, DC
I ordered this product mostly for checking the temperature of cooked meat. The infrared surface thermometer was more of a curiosity. I don't really see how useful it will be. The thermometer probe, however, is very useful and very accurate (as I've compared its readings to other thermometers). It's worth buying just for that, even if you have no interest in surface temperatures.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Taylor Dual Temperature Infrared and Thermocouple Thermometer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedOctober 2, 2015
Customer avatar
newtooth
fromMinnesota
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
This pen style thermometer and temperature scanner is so much easier to use and so much more useable than any of the other thermometers I have ever used. No need to have a cable hanging out of the oven. The response times are very fast for my purposes and the scan feature allows checking pan temps before use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Taylor Dual Temperature Infrared and Thermocouple Thermometer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like this themometer

PostedSeptember 1, 2015
Customer avatar
CalD
fromCalifornia
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Friend
A couple of things that I didn't like was that there isn't any instructions included in the package. With the thermometer shipped with centigrade readings lock in, I had to find their wed- site to get instructions so that I could change the scale to Fahrenheit. And the other things is the way that the readings are displayed. If you are stabbing the probe in at 90 degrees, then the reading are right side up. But if you are testing a thinner cut of meat and using the probe in a more horizontal positions, then the reading are all upside down.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Taylor Dual Temperature Infrared and Thermocouple Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Taylor Thermocouple Thermometer

PostedAugust 31, 2015
Customer avatar
MissouriKID
fromStockton, MO.
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
It does an Excellent job...It should last a long time...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Taylor Dual Temperature Infrared and Thermocouple Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pleasure Cooking

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Customer avatar
Grace3
fromLiberty, MO
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Calamity
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
This thermometer is the best for stove top cooking especially for meats. What a joy.
My Favorite BrandCusinart
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Taylor Dual Temperature Infrared and Thermocouple Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Customer avatar
march33
fromSan Antonio, TX USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
The Taylor dual thermometer is an excellent product at a reasonable price.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Taylor Dual Temperature Infrared and Thermocouple Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent instant read thermometer

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Customer avatar
rseib
fromWoodstock, GA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
I was frustrated by "instant read" thermometers that took several seconds, and up to a minute, to register accurately. Frustrating! This great little tool gives stable readings quickly and accurately, allowing me to check various locations in the meat I'm preparing. Takes away the guesswork. I highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Taylor Dual Temperature Infrared and Thermocouple Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must have kitchen tool

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
dpaulding
fromMalden on Hudson, NY
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Professional Chef
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Dad
This is the third infrared thermometer & probe we've tried. This one is above & beyond what we expected. It's versatile, easy to use & come with a case protector. You cannot go wrong with this purchase!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Taylor Dual Temperature Infrared and Thermocouple Thermometer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not accurate

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Ramartino
fromVirginia
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Giada De Laurentis
After ruining the 3rd roast that cost in access of $40 I am convinced it is notaccurate on the probe mode. In each case it registered 130 deg. when the roast was pulled from the oven. When cut it was more than more than well done. Scan mode works responsibility well. It is not worth the price
My Favorite BrandNone
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Taylor Dual Temperature Infrared and Thermocouple Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Probe So Far

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
CookingBear
fromSammamish, WA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
I've owned a number of temperature probes, trying to find the fastest one.
The probe on this unit is the fastest I've found so far, and the infrared is instantaneous.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Taylor Dual Temperature Infrared and Thermocouple Thermometer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

BB Que hand tool

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Customer avatar
nsurg
fromNew Orleans
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
Need a fast cooking thermomater, this is the one. Works fast so you don't cook your hand over the grill. Very accurate and has small tip so you can test a steak, or ribs etc.
My Favorite BrandKitchenaid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Taylor Dual Temperature Infrared and Thermocouple Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

temp check

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Customer avatar
janie1845
fromPort St. Lucie, FL, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I bought this one so that I could check food at our school. I have enjoyed making sure that all food is safe. I would recommend it for anyone who wants to check the temp of food.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Taylor Dual Temperature Infrared and Thermocouple Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works like a charm

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Louise54
fromBluffton, SC, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
I really wanted this thermometer for the infrared feature - I use it to measure the temp of melt and pour soap when I do layers. Too hot can cause breakthrough. This thermometer is great - it tells me when my soap is ready to pour without inserting into the soap so avoids messy cleanup.
And it works great for food as well - the probe is easy to use in steaks, chicken, etc.
My Favorite BrandCuisinart
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Taylor Dual Temperature Infrared and Thermocouple Thermometer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Faulty reading

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Gabe
fromHartford, CT
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
first time use of the probe indicated boiling water temperature at 270°F, and ice water at 14°F. Sent it back for exchange. Waiting how the replacement works. If replacement is also faulty, I will ask for my money back. Easy free return shipping is good. Hope replacement works.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Taylor Dual Temperature Infrared and Thermocouple Thermometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
applehorse
fromArizona, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
love it. Coo!
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Taylor Dual Temperature Infrared and Thermocouple Thermometer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very compact

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Pinkisperfect
fromWashington, USA
My Cooking Level:Expert
Fit in drawer well. I have not used it with the probe but the surface temperature seems to work well.
They need to redesign the screw hole cover on the battery door, though. The plug falls out easily and is very annoying to keep track of.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>