Customer reviews for KitchenAid 13-cup Food Processor, KFP1333

KitchenAid 13-cup Food Processor, KFP1333

KitchenAid 13-cup Food Processor, KFP1333 : The food processor ahead of its time with the ease of adjusting slicing thickness on the base exterior, without removing the bowl or changing the blade. Adjust to 1 to 6 levels of thickness with the easy-access lever control for the slicing blade. This KitchenAid food processor speeds food prep with the convenience of 2 work bowls, 13-cup and 4-cup, to perform multiple prep tasks. Five attachments and specially-engineered speeds of low, high and pulse create a cutting and kneading system with unprecedented precision. This advanced food processor produces exact results, processing small to large quantities. Low speed quickly penetrates thick-skinned produce, leaving delicate interiors perfectly intact for restaurant-style presentation. High speed slices and shreds, saving hours of manual prep time. With the pulse function, this food processor makes it easy to control texture of puree, sauce, salsa or salad dressing and create the ideal consistency. The Ultra Wide Mouth Feed Tube on the 13-cup food processor adjusts to 3 widths, to easily add whole plump tomatoes, potatoes or cucumbers or slender vegetables such as carrots or chile peppers. Preparing vegetables, fruits or berries, this food processor ensures uniform thickness with the flexibility of the exterior slicing adjustment. Quickly slice or chop fruit or berries, leaving hands stain-free. With the smoothness of touchpad control, this KitchenAid food processor kneads dough at the press of a button. Includes 2 multipurpose blades, externally adjustable-slicing disc (thin to thick), reversible (2mm and 4mm) shredding disc, dough blade and blade storage case. BPA-free bowls and lids. Removable parts are dishwasher-safe. Since the first stand mixer was introduced in the early 1900s, the KitchenAid brand has been acclaimed internationally for performance. Inventors of efficient kitchen appliances, KitchenAid products are the result of extensive testing and research. Upholding their long-standing tradition for excellence, these technologically-advanced appliances are sophisticated in design for the home chef Product Features The processor ahead of its time, with the ease of adjusting thickness of slices on the base exterior Adjust to 1 to 6 levels of thickness, without removing the bowl or changing the slicing blade Five attachments and 2 work bowls, 13-cup and 4-cup, to perform multiple tasks and speed prep work Three speeds and multipurpose blades to chop, mince, blend, mix, slice, puree, emulsify or knead dough Low speed quickly penetrates thick-skinned produce, leaving interiors intact High speed slices or shreds Pulse function to control texture of puree, sauce, salsa or salad dressing Seamless touchpad wipes clean Ultra Wide Feed Tube adjusts 3 ways to accommodate whole produce or slender vegetables or fruit Includes 2 multipurpose blades,externally adjustable-slicing disc (thin to thick), reversible (2mm and 4mm) shredding disc, dough blade and blade storage case BPA-free bowls and lids KitchenAid is acclaimed internationally for high performance appliances
Overall rating:
4.592 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(120 reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 120 reviews
5 Stars
97
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
5
108 out of 120(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for KitchenAid 13-cup Food Processor, KFP1333
Review 1 for KitchenAid 13-cup Food Processor, KFP1333
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My old one puts this to shame

PostedMay 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Darkshin
fromSiloam Springs, AR
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
Got this as a wedding present. Got it to replace an older 12-cup Kitchenaid. Looks nice, but it doesn’t match up to the looks. I tossed in some pistachios for a crust; much to my surprise, it couldn’t do the job. A whole pistachio even got caught under the blade. I threw the pistachios in the old one I hadn’t gotten rid of yet, and it did the job in a couple seconds. I returned it and put the old one back on the counter. Newer is definitely not better, I’ll wait for the next design.
My Favorite BrandMicroplane
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KitchenAid 13-cup Food Processor, KFP1333
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Instantly broken, food gets caught in lid, too big

PostedJanuary 1, 2012
Customer avatar
cbev
fromVancouver, WA, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
The first time I used the adjustable thickness slicer blade it broke. The plastic just shattered. I attempted to use the shredder and the lid just bounced around, not allowing downward force to push the food into the blade. Trying to shred chunks of Parmesan cheese, nothing thinner than 1/4 inch would engage- which is a lot of cheese at $20/lb. The slab of cheese just fell over horizontal, shot under the lid and became lodged in the top of the cover. NOT GOOD.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KitchenAid 13-cup Food Processor, KFP1333
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

i ordered a red kitchen aid food processor, gift

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
maine1774
fromUnion, ME, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
i ordered a red kitchen aid food processor, gift wrapped and got a gray one, not gift wrapped
-15points
2of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KitchenAid 13-cup Food Processor, KFP1333
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

horrible product and will return it ASAP

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Customer avatar
irate
fromcalifornia
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
Difficult to use and does not work to shred or slice or mix. when shredding, large chunks fall into the bowl and all the produt piles up in one place. Just really aweful. going back to Cuisenart.
-3points
12of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KitchenAid 13-cup Food Processor, KFP1333
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I wanted to love this

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Customer avatar
cheryl719
fromAmes, IA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I was all set to love this big beautiful food processor, just as I love all of my other Kitchen Aid products, but it is on its way back to Chef's Catalog (thank you Chef's -- for making this a painless process). After 15 years or more with my 9-cup Kitchen Aid food processor, which was still handling anything I threw into it, I decided to gift it to a friend who had NO food processor and treat myself to this new beauty that I'd heard so much about.
In all fairness, perhaps those who use their food processor primarily to slice and/or shred will find this to be a dream machine. It was a nightmare for me....who uses mine to make pasta, pizza dough, pie crust, and the like. I attempted to make my Thanksgiving pie crusts by placing the flour and salt in the bowl, then adding my chilled shortening pieces, pulsing to cut it in. This was hopeless. Neither blade could do the job and no amount of pulsing could do what my old one would have done in a matter of seconds.
Also, the instruction book says you shouldn't process any dough with more than 3 cups of flour (so what's the use of the other 10 cups of space???) It is definitely a bigger model -- but with much much less capacity and ability than it's 9-cup ancestor that I miss already.
I am contemplating the 12-cup version which according to Kitchen Aid still operates and performs much like the 9-cup model. (and yes -- I called and spoke with Kitchen Aid 3 times -- they tell me it sounds as though I'm doing things right -- and that it's performing as designed) I hope they go back to the drawing board -- it is a great package that just wasn't ready to deliver.
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid (except this model)
+19points
25of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KitchenAid 13-cup Food Processor, KFP1333
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

A disappointment

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Beck57
fromIowa
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I was very excited about getting this new food processor last December (Christmas present from my husband) because of the adjustable slicing blade. I had been using an older model 12 cup Kitchenaid that worked great but I thought the new features on this model would be convenient. Unfortunately it just does not do some of the simple tasks that I expect. The slicing and shredding blades work great, but a food processor should do more. The problems seem to be with the chopping blade functions. There just does not seem to be enough power to push the blade through a bunch of basil and parsley leaves for pesto. I have tried this a couple of times and had to transfer the whole batch to a container and use my hand blender to finish the task, which it did admirably. Similarly I can't make pizza dough in this machine, which I could easily do in my older model, and I no longer get good results cutting butter into flour for pie crust dough, which I could do pretty well with the older model. This machine is just too big and expensive an appliance to use only for slicing, shredding and mixing already soft or liquid ingredients.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KitchenAid 13-cup Food Processor, KFP1333
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

poor successor to the previous model

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Customer avatar
TroubleConsultant
fromMilwaukee, WI, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I bought this food processor because I had difficulty finding the previous model, the KFP750/760, which reviewed well on Americas Test Kitchen. I've subsequently bought a 750 as I found the last one on closeout at Frys.
Compared to the 750, this model is much lighter, wnich makes it easier to move around, but also doesn't give it the heft to be stable. I suspect this is because of a less beefy motor, as when "pulse" is used, it takes up to 5 seconds to get up to speed. The old model has no such slow pulse issue. This lack of a near instant pulse is a deal-breaker for me.
The buttons on this model are very hard to push, which made it hard for my wife to use. Additionally, the wide mouth pusher has lots of nooks and crannies, making it hard to clean.
The adjustable slicing blade is nice, but doesn't overcome all the cons.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KitchenAid 13-cup Food Processor, KFP1333
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too LARGE and DIFFICULT to use.

PostedNovember 10, 2011
Customer avatar
jetx
fromFlorida, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
Sorry to say I will be returning this model. I waited all my life to have a processor chop instead of processing to bits.
The processor is too big for any countertop and my biggest concern is that, I could not take the lid off and on without someone helping me.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KitchenAid 13-cup Food Processor, KFP1333
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice machine, BUT

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
2cook
fromRonkonkoma, NY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Powerful motor but there are some issues.
First the two bowls must be used together the small bowl sits in the larger bowl and there for both bowls need to be washed. Second it is heavy and just just fits under a cabinet. Third it does not include all the blades/parts so the set is not exactly complete. Price is a little high for something that is not complete and really needs to be hand washed every time you use it.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KitchenAid 13-cup Food Processor, KFP1333
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

picture is deceiving....it's HUGE

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Customer avatar
cooknknitter
fromMassachusetts
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
This food processor is HUGE and not something I can keep on my counter for frequent use as I had hoped. It does everything I had hoped for in a food processor. No recipe book and only 4 online ones is a dissapointment also.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KitchenAid 13-cup Food Processor, KFP1333
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Trail
fromW Wyoming, Wickenburg,, AZ 83590, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
The slicing attachment of my new KitchenAid processor is excellent and the multi-sized feed tube is really effective for slicing different sized foods uniformly.
The rotary blades of the smaller work bowl are disappointing. The blade does not scoop up food from the bottom properly to give an even chop. Food of all sorts ends up on the rim of the smaller work bowl and ultimately in the full sized bowl.
I have an older model KichenAid in another location.
When I used the slicer I thought I would replace it with the newer model, but after experiencing the problems with the small work bowl and blade I've changed my mind.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KitchenAid 13-cup Food Processor, KFP1333
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Gramma46
fromAlford, MA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
When my old food processor died (25yrs old) I decided to purchase a Kitchenaid Food Processor after all I had been using their mixers for more than 45 yrs..I am however, slightly disappointed because the control buttons are very HARD to push on/off...This could be a REAL challenge in the coming months..The different size bowls are a great feature but the blades slip on hard and the discs seems a little flimsy...Nothing like my previous food processor I'm hoping things will get better as I get use to the workings of this one..
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KitchenAid 13-cup Food Processor, KFP1333
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good and bad features

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromNewark, NJ
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
This processor, although it can do more, is harder to use than my old (smaller) Cuisnart. The cover is hard to remove and replace. Before installing the shredding and slicing discs one must install TWO adapters. Food got caught in the groove around the perimeter of the cover, and I had to use a brush to remove it.
I used the old processor constantly. Using this one is a bit of a production, and I am afraid I may end up doing more by hand than I used to.
I don't know what purpose the small work bowl serves.
Still, the possibility of adjusting the thickness of slices is a great advantage, which I appreciated very much when I made a potato gratin yesterday, and I am sure that there will be times when I'll be grateful for the large size of the work bowl.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KitchenAid 13-cup Food Processor, KFP1333
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happy to have it

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Suetoo
fromUpstate NY
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
Wanted one for 40 yrs. I exchanged for white, and rec'd it promptly. It doesn't handle dough as well as expected, but the auto off stops the machine from thunking, and restarts readily after I redistribute the dough. I wish the storage case had a locking lid. I'm very satisfied, and glad I chose Kitchenaid.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KitchenAid 13-cup Food Processor, KFP1333
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well built product.

PostedMay 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Cowman
fromHillsboro VA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I really like this processor. The adjustable slicing blade is a real work saver, and time saver because you don't have to change blades.
I just wish that the user's manual was a little more extensive on the uses of the processor.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KitchenAid 13-cup Food Processor, KFP1333
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does the Job.

PostedFebruary 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Ahusband
fromLancaster, PA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I have used the machine several times and have been well satisfied with the results.
My main reasin for choosing the Kitchen Aid over the Cuisinart is the variable slicing ability, and that feature works well.
It's relatively quiet, and easy to operate.
The one downside I have found is that there are a lot of areas where food gets caught, and are difficult to clean.
They claim it to be dishwasher safe, but like other clear plastic items the dishwasher detergents will cause it to fog and check, so I wash it by hand using a mild soap to preserve the clarity and shine.
My Favorite BrandI have found that buying by brand can be disappointing.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KitchenAid 13-cup Food Processor, KFP1333
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best I've Used...

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Customer avatar
pamj55
fromClinton, TN, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
After my Cuisinart died three years ago, I decided that I didn't really need a food processor any longer. The children were gone and my cooking chores were much lighter. But my forced retirement got me back into the kitchen again, the grandchildren are visiting often, and I needed a food processor again, so I started doing research. The KitchenAid stand mixer I bought has been an excellent performer, and the reviews on the 13-cup Food Processor were great, so I ordered one. I have to say it's been one of the best kitchen purchases I've made in a long time.
The only drawback I have found is that it's difficult to get the blade to release when you're finished using it. But I'll happily take difficult over the impossible I had in the past with getting Cuisinart's blade to come loose at all! I can definitely recommend the KitchenAid KFP1333 for any hard-working home chef. Absolutely worth the counter and shelf space it requires, quiet and powerful.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for KitchenAid 13-cup Food Processor, KFP1333
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the capacity and slicing thickness feature!

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
cricketts
fromYoungstown, Ohio
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I've been using a mini food processor for years, and otherwise have always chopped, sliced, julienned, etc by hand. As a result, reaching for the food processor will take some getting used to, but I do look forward to using it during the harvest, for processing large amounts of fresh fruits and vegetables at a time. I also look forward to using it for making pie crust, sauces and purees....The first thing I used it for was augratin potatoes-the thickness feature was great at getting the correct consistent thickness! Plus, I was able to process all my potatoes without emptying out the bowl-the capacity is wonderful!
My Favorite BrandKitchenAid
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for KitchenAid 13-cup Food Processor, KFP1333
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREAT PRODUCT!

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Pitakid
fromPhoenix, AZ
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I have used my new food processor alot since I've had it, and am very happy with it. My old food processor was an 11 year old Kitchenaid, which I have now replaced by this one.
I did alot of research on both the kitchenaid and the cuisinart, and the kitchenaid is a better design- The cuisinart model (new latest greatest) has a springloaded interior to the lid, which food or liquid could get trapped under, one review I read said the lid got moldy... yuk! This is the biggest reason I stayed away from the Cuisinart.
This Kitchenaid model's lid was just a simple design, similar to the old kitchenaid models, but with a thin sealing 0-ring around the lid. This processor shreds quickly and efficiently, the motor is powerful. Both regular small and large blades do a good job as well. The Kitchenaid is not as heavy as the Cuisinart, which is good since the cuisinart is as heavy as a small child. However, when the kitchenaid has a heavy load, it is not weighted to offset, and it dances on the counter- that's not a big deal to me.
The reason I rate the Kitchenaid with a 4 instead of a 5, is because there could be some improvements. The old model Kitchenaids had a lip in the lid (when using the small bowl) to stop most types of food from dirtying the large bowl-- this is a very important convenience. This same lip is not on the new model, and I must rinse off the large bowl every time I use the small bowl-- that's stupid-- they must've had a design engineer strait out of school on this part-- or an engineer that doesn't actually use the processor on a regular basis- stupidity.
I purchased the "black" color, which looks great on the counter-- which is where I leave it, since I use it all the time. I researched the colors.... The "silver" color is paint on gray plastic, which I assume will scratch and look terrible after a short time. The black is the actual plastic without paint, as is the red and white-- which will wear better. I kept my last model for 11 years, it still runs, although the blades and parts are getting worn and less efficient. Hoping for another 11 years with this new model.
There are plenty of parts with this new model. The convenience of being able to choose different size chutes -- large for a cucumber, small for a skinny carrot is very nice, but does add additional washing. When you take apart the pusher to wash, it becomes 3 separate pieces.
Overall, I am very pleased with this machine.
My Favorite BrandKitchenaid
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for KitchenAid 13-cup Food Processor, KFP1333
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The capacity and size are practical.

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromTorrance, CA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I had a smaller KitchenAid food processor for many years. When I saw this 13-cup one, I bought it for its larger capacity. This is the first time I have a work bowl cover with a 3-in-1 feed tube, so I had to get used to working with it. I have learned to remove the two smaller food pushers before I laid the cover upside down after removing it from the bowl, so the two food pushers don't fall out of the large feed tube.
This new product works well overall. However, I feel there are two features that need improving.
The first feature is that the food pieces are lodged in the groove between the large feed tube and inside cover. When the cover is removed from the bowl, food pieces fall right out from the groove. I have to quickly turn the cover upside to minimize the food pieces from falling out onto the counter or floor.
The second one is about the enclosed locking mechanism across half of the bowl cover's center. When steam or moisture gets into this enclosed center, it takes a long time to dry out because not enough air can get in there to air it out quickly.
This one being KitchenAid's new food processor product, I hope on their next model they will make improvements on the two features I have addressed above.
My Favorite Brandwhatever the best one is.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>