Customer reviews for Berard Olive Wood Twine Holder and Cutter

Berard Olive Wood Twine Holder and Cutter

Berard Olive Wood Twine Holder and Cutter : Using the traditional method of hand turning, this Berard olive wood twine holder features the smooth rounded design that blends contemporary style and utility for the kitchen. With the built-in twine cutter, it is easy to trim without scissors and quickly truss roasts, poultry, fish or game. The highest-quality French-linen trussing twine is included. Preferred by gourmet chefs, this twine is easy to thread, will not fray or leave particles on food. With the light and dark grain variations, this Mediterranean olive wood reflects the artistry of nature, creating an attractive display on a counter, island or shelf. Each kitchen twine holder is unique in wood grain pattern, no two are alike. This high-density wood with tight-grain structure is superior in durability and naturally resistant to scratches, moisture and bacteria due to the oil in the wood. Wipe clean holder. The designers of distinctive wood products for the kitchen and entertaining since 1892, Berard is located in the Royan mountains, bordering the northern edge of Provence, France. Product Features Rich, durable olive wood is skillfully created by artisans using the traditional hand-turning method Built-in cutter slits to cut twine without the use of scissors and let you truss roasts single-handedly High-quality French twine will not fray and is easy to thread The tight-grain structure and natural oil in the wood provides a hardwood composition that is naturally resistant to scratches, moisture and bacteria The beauty of Mediterranean olive wood reflects the artistry of nature to display on a kitchen counter, island or shelf Berard is the French designer of fine wood products since 1892
Overall rating:
3.963 / 5
4
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
22 out of 27(81%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Berard Olive Wood Twine Holder and Cutter
Review 1 for Berard Olive Wood Twine Holder and Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best Butchers Twine...EVER

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
sean53
fromSeattle, WA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
I have been using French Linen Butchers Twine for over twenty years, it has been difficult to find over the years so I was pleasantly surprised to find two versions at Chefs Catalog. This twine is oven proof, strong and thin enough to handle all your culinary requirements. The added bonus, it does not impart any flavors and is extremely easy to remove without taking half the roast with it.
My Favorite BrandMauviel
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Berard Olive Wood Twine Holder and Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great addition to my cooking

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Jerry648
fromNorth Haven, ME
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
The Berard Olive Wood Twine Holder and Cutter is just what the doctor ordered for those instances you will need to tie something for cooking. The twine is perfect.
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Berard Olive Wood Twine Holder and Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Berard olive wood twine holder and cutter

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Sue28
fromNew York, NY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
a beautiful and useful an addition to my kitchen utensils I'm very pleased.
My Favorite Brandall clad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Berard Olive Wood Twine Holder and Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromMarysville, Wa
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
Very pleased with the Berard Olive Wood Twine Holder and Cutter. Now we will be able to find the Twine when we need it for something in the kitchen.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Berard Olive Wood Twine Holder and Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks great, works great, came with twine!

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromCharleston, SC, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
It is really a simple thing but the appareance and feel is great. The cutter works well and compared to other's offerings this one came with a spool of twine.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Berard Olive Wood Twine Holder and Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beauty and Functionality

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
jbiker614
fromAlexandria, VA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I am thrilled with my new Berard Olive WoodTwine Holder & Cutter - the olive wood is not only beautiful, its purpose works like a champ. It's initial use was tying up a stuffed flank steak and the process went smoothly and without a hitch. The only issue, and this has nothing to do with the construction or function of this item is, between uses the twine is not protected from dust, so I recommend it be removed from the spindle and kept in a zip-lock bag - easy fix.
My Favorite BrandCuisinart and KitchenAid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Berard Olive Wood Twine Holder and Cutter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good looking, but not as described

PostedMay 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Marcy14
fromSandpoint, ID
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
I like the twine holder and the twine is great. I purchased this because the description said you could cut the twine with one hand while holding your meat etc with the other. I can barely cut the twine using both hands. Not sure if it is defective, or just my arthritic hands.
My Favorite BrandCuisinart
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Berard Olive Wood Twine Holder and Cutter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Twine Holder

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromLake Jackson, Texas
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
The photo of this is misleading. It is actually much smaller than it looks. It's only about 4 inches tall.
My Favorite Brand???
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Berard Olive Wood Twine Holder and Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All Tied Up

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Carole27
fromHouston
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
When I saw this twine holder/cutter I knew it would be perfect for my son-in-law. Although he is an attorney he is also an excellent chef. I have enjoyed many meals where he tied (yeah I know wrong wording) some meat or vegetable together. He has a lot of wood items in his kitchen but not this. I was quite pleased with the pricing and size of the holder. It isn't big and bulky and comes with a nice amount of twine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Berard Olive Wood Twine Holder and Cutter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Twine holder/cutter

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromSeattle, WA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
I love the olive wood but the weight of the cutter is not substantial enough to cut the twine with one hand. The base is much lighter & smaller than I expected.
It is pretty and is perched on my kitchen shelf for convenience and decor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Berard Olive Wood Twine Holder and Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Wagpi
fromValrico, Florida
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Giada De Laurentis
I love it. The twine is perfect for my roasts and chickens and the wood is beautiful and it matches the salt cellar also made by berard. They are a good match.
My Favorite BrandSwiss Diamond Cookware & Partanna Olive Oil
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Berard Olive Wood Twine Holder and Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great way to organize and looks good on counter

PostedMay 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromLas Vegas, NV, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
Very nice looking and extremely functional item in the kitchen. I don't always use twine but when I need it, this is a very handy product to have at your fingertips.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Berard Olive Wood Twine Holder and Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A LIFESAVER FOR THE KITCHEN COOK !!!!!!!!!!

PostedApril 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Suzzie
fromLas Vevas , Nv
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
I already had a twine holder, however, it did not have a cutter on it making it difficult and awkward at times to always have to reach for the sizzers to cut it when i was tying a roast, turkey or chicken together.
This is not only functional, the wood is beautiful to look at, and the size is perfect. It would make a great gift for a new cook or a seasoned one like myself. This belongs in every kitchen.
My Favorite BrandCuisinart, Chefs, KitchenAid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Berard Olive Wood Twine Holder and Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

twine non-whine

PostedApril 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Redcobra
fromBalt MD
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
Exactly what I was looking for.
When I got it the center post was loose, but a few drops of glue took care of it.
My Favorite BrandAllclad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Berard Olive Wood Twine Holder and Cutter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Twine Holder/cutter

PostedApril 9, 2013
Customer avatar
ovenqueen
fromupper Minnesota
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
Wonderful size for typical kitchen counters.
Easy ti use and quite sharp. Works well for fowl and certain cuts of beef.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Berard Olive Wood Twine Holder and Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's string!

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer avatar
poodlewalker
fromcentral Wisconsin
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
We purchased this string to close a stuffed tenderloin. It did what it was supposed to do, didn't char in the oven, and was easy for our guests to cut at the table.
My Favorite BrandFantasy Candies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Berard Olive Wood Twine Holder and Cutter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Twine holder that didnt make it

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromOceanside ca
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
The twine was nothing more then a cheap string that is less then a third the diameter of the butcher twine needed for trussing up poultry or a meat loin. Because of this, several extra raps must be made to insure that the job stays put.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Berard Olive Wood Twine Holder and Cutter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

would recommend.

PostedMay 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Nb5169
fromflorida
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
very accurate detail in the description. quality and value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Berard Olive Wood Twine Holder and Cutter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Handy in the kitchen

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Customer avatar
MangoStreetMomma
fromMoyie Springs, ID, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I like that I can have this sitting on the counter where it is both useful and has a nice appearance.. the built in cutter makes cutting a length of twine an easy one handed process. I like that, no more searching for my scissors and letting go of what I am working on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Berard Olive Wood Twine Holder and Cutter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Looks good and is handy.

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Customer avatar
BJean
fromAva, MO 65608, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
It arrived un-glued and had to be repaired. Used it already and like it. Looks good sitting on the counter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>