Customer reviews for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe

Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe

Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe : Hot coffee at the strength you like best. This Cuisinart Extreme Brew 12-cup coffee maker with glass carafe features exclusive technology to brew coffee up to 25% faster than traditional machines. With Brew Strength Control in two settings to customize taste, and 1-4 cup setting to accommodate fewer servings, this coffee maker ensures fresh aromatic flavor with every brewing cycle. Blue backlit LCD with digital clock allows easy 24-hour programming and viewing. Brew Pause lets you pour a cup of coffee while coffee is brewing. This Extreme Brew coffee maker also includes 60-second reset button to "remember" settings and restart brewing where it left off. Side window to display water level and audible alert when brewing cycle is complete. Temperature control settings for the heating plate of high, medium or low ensure coffee is served at the ideal temperature. Equipped with one-touch self-cleaning, this coffee maker signals with indicator light when the coffee maker needs cleaning. The glass carafe offers a drip-free pour spout and ergonomic handle with knuckle guard for easy serving. Gold-tone coffee filter for pure coffee flavor and charcoal water filter to remove impurities. Wipe clean. Carafe and removable parts are dishwasher-safe. 3-year manufacturer warranty. 1,425 watts. Inspired by French kitchens, Cuisinart has been designing innovative cookware and appliances for more than 30 years. Culinary experts in the food preparation industry, and the recipient of numerous design awards, Cuisinart is endorsed by gourmet connoisseurs such as James Beard, Jacques Pepin and Hubert Keller. Product Features Advanced technology to brew coffee up to 25% faster than traditional coffee machines Fully automatic with convenient 24-hour programmability Brew strength control with two settings to enjoy regular strength or bold flavor coffee Brew Pause to pour a cup of coffee while coffee is brewing 60-second reset "remembers"settings and where it left off brewing Adjustable 1-4 cup settings to maximize flavor for smaller batches Temperature control settings for heating plate ensure optimal serving temperature Brushed stainless-steel control panel with classic styling to brew at the push of a button Audible alert signals when brewing is complete Blue backlit LCD w/digital clock Water reservoir lifts for easy filling and features side window to display water level Cone-style gold-tone coffee filter for full-bodied flavor Charcoal filtration system to remove impurities One-touch, self-cleaning button with indicator light Adjustable auto shutoff (0-4 hours) 12-cup (60-oz.) glass carafe with drip-free pour spout, ergonomic handle and knuckle guard for comfortable serving
Overall rating:
4.55 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
19 out of 20(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
Review 1 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Coffee maker

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Customer avatar
barbiebabe59
fromNew Mexico
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Love, love my new coffee maker. It's great! It looks good and makes a great cup of coffee. I would definitely recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderfull coffee

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
spinner
fromBlue Hill, ME, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mario Batali
The Quisinart coffee maker was a joy to set up and program. The first try did it and and we were served smooth full bodied coffee.
My Favorite Brandnone- I select what i believe to be best regardless of brand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great features

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Customer avatar
patches64
fromVermont
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I have used this brand of coffee maker for a number of years and like the way they perform. This one is a little faster in making coffee and has an added feature for bold coffee which I like. I would recommend this product to anyone looking for a durable, long lasting coffee pot.
My Favorite Brandcuisinart
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you are a coffee maniac... THIS IS IT!

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Shasty
fromMinnesota
My Cooking Level:Expert
This coffee maker has it all; from small brew cycles to large, normal to bold, from warmer adjustments to auto shut off timer options. On top of all these great features it brews a great tasting cup of coffee and you can pour it without the pot dripping!! sound to good to be true? It's not! Best of all it is simple to use, it even tells you when the coffee is done brewing and tells you when the warmer truns off. Incredible. I will take two!
PS. if you are worried about finger prints on the chrome? Don't, because it doesnt leave any!!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purchase

PostedOctober 17, 2011
Customer avatar
jrm0915
fromSumter, SC
There are so many coffee makers out there. I have been looking for many months for a quality brewer, and actually saw this in a store while I had been researching the Cuisinart 12 cup. I had bought one before several years ago. They have made some very good improvements in the easability of use, and overall quality of the machine is great. Only had it for about 3 weeks, but it seems like the way the brew cup handles the grounds, you can actually save on the amount of grounds needed to get a strong cup, even though there are settings for strength. Extraction of the oils is very exceptional!! Hope it lasts many years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

As advertised

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
BarryT
fromNew York, NY, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Martyr
We wanted a BPA free coffee maker that kept coffee hot for hours. Our last coffee maker was expensive, Capresso, and made a mean cup of joe but without a warming plate, the coffee temp would fall precipitously within an hour and it was not BPA free.
Off the bat the Cuisinart coffee tastes a bit thin and not as rich, but I think once we play around with the grinds and ratio, it'll be all good. Overall a solid machine, relatively intuitive and easy to use. Keeps coffee HOT and is BPA free, you can't beat that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
sPyma
fromMassachusetts
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
I have used the coffee maker five times and all appears to be in order as well as brewing very good coffee. I gave it a good rating only because of the limited use thus far.
I have high expectations as this replaces a Braun coffee maker that I have used for over 25 years. Yes - that's correct. But one cannot purchase this brand any longer in the US.
I have other Cuisinart products that have worked out very well. This unit blends in well with other stainless steel appliances and I anticipate I will be happy with it. I would highly recommend the product.
sPy
My Favorite Branddepends on the product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Replacement

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
JavaLover33
fromTwisp, WA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
This coffeemaker was purchased to replace an older Cuisinart which was still working, but not brewing good, bold coffee. We have used this new version for 2 weeks and enjoy the newer features developed for this model, especially the BOLD brew setting. We are back to enjoying our morning cup of coffee.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good coffee, pretty on counter

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
rainbow
fromMontana
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Purchased this coffee maker because our old cuisinart glass carafe broke and cuisinart no longer makes replacements for that model. The extreme brew is easy to operate, makes coffee quickly, and the coffee is very good. We especially like being able to choose a bold brew, as well as determining the temp of the hot plate (low, med, hi). The med temperature works well for us, but we would use hi if we planned to put the coffee in a thermos to take on a trip. As is common with cuisinart coffee makers, the carafe is comfortable to use and does not drip when pouring. It would be nice if the clock was lighted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the Brew

PostedJune 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Cafenut
fromTucson, AZ, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
I never realized a good coffee pot like this could make coffee taste so much better. The pot is easy to program and I love the added feature of regular/bold brews. Easy to clean and the glass carafe is so easy to pour and handle. I also like the added features of choosing the hot plate temp (low/med/high) and the timer for how long it stays on. The ability to choose 1-4 cup brew or larger amounts is a plus too. Reasonably priced for all the extras it has.
My Favorite BrandWhatever makes my job in the kitchen easier
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good coffee

PostedJune 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Maude4
fromSan Antonio, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
This coffee pot is easy to use and brews a good cup of Joe. What else can you ask for. Also has several technological conveniences.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally ... no spills when pouring first cup!

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer avatar
rolltide1
fromClay, AL
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I love this coffee maker - very easy setup, very easy to use, brews fairly quickly, lots of options for how long to keep the burner hot, how strong to make your coffee, how hot to make your coffee and the best news of all ... no SPILLS when pouring the first cup! I would definitely recommend as a gift for yourself or someone else.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cuisinart coffee maker

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Twila
fromSmethport,pa
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Giada De Laurentis
We previously owned two cuisinart coffee makers which we used until there was no life left in them. Due to some economic troubles, we then purchased a Mr. Coffee unit that was seriously not up to the standards we were used to from your coffee makers. We needed a new one approximately a month ago, and decided to return to cuisinart for the looks, price, and especially the quality of this coffee maker. We would not hesitate to purchase this item again, and would definitely recommend this to our friends.
My Favorite BrandCuisinart
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good replacement

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer avatar
OldBiddy
fromEastern Panhandle, WV
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
Replaces a previous Cuisinart coffee pot. Performs as advertised. Impatient husband especially likes to speed of brewing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cuisinart extreme brew

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromSouthington, CT
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Rachel Ray
Absolutely love this coffee maker. If you love hot coffee that is not weak, this is the coffee maker for you. The only thing I would change would be to make the time display backlit and larger.
My Favorite BrandKitchenaid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great Coffee, cheesy carafe

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Bobcat
fromGrand Island, NY, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
After having a Mr. Coffee that could not pour a cup without spilling all over I decided to spend a lot and get a "quality coffee pot". Well it does pour without spilling but the black plastic top is really difficult to remove for filling and cleaning. Doesn't anyone in the company actually try their merchandise before selling it. For $100 I was expecting a little more.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good brewer, quick and sleek.

PostedMay 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Chatta
fromChattanooga
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Would definitely buy this one again. It doesn't have TOO many bells 'n whistles, just the ones I actually use. It does not consume too much real estate on the counter top,which is important to me. Only complaint is that it is not made in the USA.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Coffeemaker

PostedApril 23, 2012
Customer avatar
YogurtLover
fromTop of Texas
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Easy to Use and the Coffee Tastes Great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Customer avatar
niblet
fromNorth Kingstown, RI, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
Really hot which I like. Water level is easi=y.
My Favorite Brandcuisentar, kitchenaid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Cuisinart 12-Cup Extreme Brew Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK but some issues

PostedSeptember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
annabeldog
fromWest Virginia
The top of the machine is slanted toward the front, but in the photos appeared flat. This makes the entire coffee machine look a bit off balance, and that is not a great design. It does make coffee fairly quickly and thus far the taste and quality are fine. For an expensive machine, it would have been better if the photo showed the slant, so that aspect could have been taken into consideration. And, a retractable cord should be standard, but is not! Also, be prepared to operate the plate at the higher temperature to keep coffee hot (there is an option).
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.