Customer reviews for Wusthof Classic 5" Serrated Utility Knife, Scalloped

Wusthof Classic 5" Serrated Utility Knife, Scalloped

Wusthof Classic 5" Serrated Utility Knife, Scalloped : A thinner precision-scalloped blade edge for exceptional cutting, this revolutionary Wusthof Classic scalloped utility knife cuts drag by 50% to pierce quickly and slice accurately. Penetrates thick-skinned tomatoes with minimal pressure to create delicate slices for sandwiches, salads or garnishes. The long, scalloped edge on this utility knife is ultra sharp to leave soft interiors of fruits and vegetables impeccably intact. This precision-forged blade pierces the tough skin of onion, zucchini, cucumber or eggplant, and the dense rind of citrus with the thick spine adding strength to finish the cut.. With the precision point to start the cut, this utility knife splits open tough casing on sausage to slice cold cuts for platters and the wax wrap on gourmet cheese for quick, efficient restaurant-style presentation. This Wusthof Classic utility knife pierces the hard crust of bread, retaining the original height each slice and the loaf. Cut paper-thin vegetables or fruit slices, julienne, segment fruit or create hors d'oeuvres with the precision of one high-performance blade. This exclusive cutting edge never touches the cutting board; therefore, will never need sharpening. Signature to the Wusthof cutlery is the precision bolster, allowing the heft and balance to perform quick, even cuts. The triple-compression rivets attach the high-impact handle securely to the full tang for superior strength and maneuverability and feature an inner ring anode to safeguard from rust. Developed in partnership with CHEFS, this utility knife has the versatility to be the knife of choice. Precision-forged high-carbon stainless-steel. Hand wash. 5"L blade. Made in Germany. Lifetime manufacturer warranty. Since 1814, knives bearing the Wusthof name and the Trident logo have been crafted in the world's "Cutlery Capital" of Solingen, Germany. Today, in a state-of-the-art facility, that tradition of quality is ensured as old-world craftsmanship meets 21st century production methods. Product Features Mirror-polished scalloped edge is ground thinner, cutting down drag 50% for quick, efficient food preparation Pierces thick-skinned vegetables, fruits, or bread using minimal pressure, leaving the outside and fleshy interior intact With the curved angle and wider blade, this knife works like a santoku to expertly slice, dice, mince or chop Cut paper thin vegetable slices for salads, segment fruit, julienne or create decorative hors d'oeuvres Ergonomic, polypropylene handle fits either hand for firm control Triple-compression rivets with inner ring anode to safeguard from rust Handmade in Germany since 1814, Wusthof cutlery is prized by the world's top chef
Overall rating:
4.893 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 56 reviews
5 Stars
53
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
56 out of 56(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Wusthof Classic 5" Serrated Utility Knife, Scalloped
Review 1 for Wusthof Classic 5" Serrated Utility Knife, Scalloped
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Utility Knife in my drawer!

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Capt47
fromPismo Beach, CA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Bought one of these knives a few months back and my
wife & I liked it so much we bought 2 more to give as gifts to famiiy and friends. And what a deal for a Wusthof! You can't go wrong with this knife in your kitchen!
My Favorite BrandWusthof Cutlery
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wusthof Classic 5" Serrated Utility Knife, Scalloped
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes short work of veggies!

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Customer avatar
FrannyP
fromAlbuquerque, NM
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
This knife is really great. Makes a real difference in prepping my veggies. It's my new "go to" knife.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wusthof Classic 5" Serrated Utility Knife, Scalloped
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A quality product

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromAuburn, WA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
This knife is very well made. It has a good feel, and it is a great addition to my other Wusthof knives, all of which are still performing as new inspite of many years of service.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wusthof Classic 5" Serrated Utility Knife, Scalloped
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer avatar
HJSR
fromNorwich, NY
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
This knife quickly became a favorite in my kitchen. It's a good size and has many uses. But, it is necessary to be very careful when using it. It is very, very sharp. That means it slices things easily but watch your fingers.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wusthof Classic 5" Serrated Utility Knife, Scalloped
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice balance

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromBaldwin, MD
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
This knife has a nice balance in your hand and is the perfect size for all-round kitchen tasks. It is hard to wrong with a Wustof classic knife. I am very happy with my purchase and Chef's shipped promptly.
My Favorite BrandCuisinart, Allclad, Wustof, Caphalon
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wusthof Classic 5" Serrated Utility Knife, Scalloped
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Gift for Every Household

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Katedid
fromConcord, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I broke the tip off my utility knife, so decided to buy myself another for my birthday. This knife is the greatest knife I have ever bought and cuts everything its used for. This knife would be a great gift for anyone.
My Favorite BrandWusthof, Cuisinart and Kitchen Aid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wusthof Classic 5" Serrated Utility Knife, Scalloped
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best New Knife

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Customer avatar
RBBVPI
fromLynchburg, VA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
This knife is so good, I bought it for 4 people for gifts.
My Favorite BrandAll Clad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wusthof Classic 5" Serrated Utility Knife, Scalloped
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite go to knife

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer avatar
SweetieBabe2
fromTexas
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I love my new scalloped knife. It cut really thin slices.
My Favorite BrandWusthof Classic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wusthof Classic 5" Serrated Utility Knife, Scalloped
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A new item to my wife's cutlery collection.

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Customer avatar
wifepleaser
fromVenice, FL, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Beginner
Most of her collection consist of Wusthof or Henkel knives. So when she decided on the Wusthof Classic 5" serrated utility knife, she knew that she was getting a kitchen utensil that will be put to good use for a long time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wusthof Classic 5" Serrated Utility Knife, Scalloped
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic knife

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Susannah
fromPA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
This knife is beautifully weighted, feels great in the hand, razor sharp, and nice size for many functions. I'd highly recommend it!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wusthof Classic 5" Serrated Utility Knife, Scalloped
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

UTILITY KNIFE

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
DAMAN
fromLos Angeles, CA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
This Wusthof 5" utility knife is a good addition to my fairly extensive set of kitchen knives. The serrated edge makes it useful for bagels and tomatoes and other utilitarian purposes. It is very sharp - a good thing for a kitchen knife. I like it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wusthof Classic 5" Serrated Utility Knife, Scalloped
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best!

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
3xxxx
fromBarrington IL
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
Over my 76 years of using all kinds of knives I have never been as happy with any knife as I am with my new Wusthof Serrated Utility Knife. I also ordered a carving knife that has not arrived yet but I'm sure it will not disappoint.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wusthof Classic 5" Serrated Utility Knife, Scalloped
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Quality Product

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromPittsburgh, PA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
My wife loves her new knife. As soon as she removed it from the packaging she knew it was a quality product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wusthof Classic 5" Serrated Utility Knife, Scalloped
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect knife!

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Chefwhoknows
fromBoston, MA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
Sharp, well balanced knife that is great to use. Cuts an onion as thin as you like! Looking forward to using this knife for a long time. A kitchen must!
My Favorite BrandAll Clad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wusthof Classic 5" Serrated Utility Knife, Scalloped
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great veggie knife

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
ShifraG
fromDenver, CO, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Vegetarian
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
I was looking for a great knife to cut vegetables and this one is it. It works great on everything so far from hard and crunchy to tomatoes.
My Favorite BrandScanpan
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wusthof Classic 5" Serrated Utility Knife, Scalloped
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really sharp

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
engineer76
fromHuntsville, AL, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Microwave Magician
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Rachel Ray
This knife cuts limes as if they were peaches. I managed to cut my thumb very slightly by accidentally touching the blade while I was getting it out of the box. I would prefer a slightly thicker handle because I have size 11 hands but the handle is satisfactory as is.
I store it in one of two knife blocks I bought from Chefs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wusthof Classic 5" Serrated Utility Knife, Scalloped
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Treasure of a Knife

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Sweetgum
fromPittsburgh, PA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
This serated knife cuts into a tomato like butter, making beautiful thin slices with no effort or crushing. Also great for very thin onion slices and cucumbers. Love it. Will order more for gifts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wusthof Classic 5" Serrated Utility Knife, Scalloped
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Alsir
fromCleveland, OH, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Sharp and easy to use. My girls' favorite knife. It cuts everything
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wusthof Classic 5" Serrated Utility Knife, Scalloped
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of my favorite knives.

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Kitties2You
fromPalm Bay, FL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mario Batali
I'm a fan of Wursthof knives ever since I lived in Germany and discovered them in 1986. I don't use any other knife. This one is great for slicing vegetables, fruit and bread. The length is just right for medium size preperations.
My Favorite BrandWursthof
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wusthof Classic 5" Serrated Utility Knife, Scalloped
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromBrookfield, wisconsin
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Love it!!!!
My Favorite BrandFor knives wusthof for pans pots cuisinart
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>