Customer reviews for Chicago Metallic Pot Pie Pan with Dough Cutter

Chicago Metallic Pot Pie Pan with Dough Cutter

Chicago Metallic Pot Pie Pan with Dough Cutter : Bake 5" Dia. pies with this fruit pie pan set. Fluted nonstick pan features removable bottoms to ensure smooth, flawless release for professional presentation. Entrees and desserts pop right out of the pan. Chicago Metallic's durable carbon-steel construction provides even heat distribution for uniform baking and browning. Dual-sided dough cutter trims dough to size and creates a star-pattern top crust. Baking delectable fruit pies, tarts, savory quiches or pot pies, this 4-cup pie pan lets you create a variety of individualized desserts or entrees using one pan. Rolled edge adds tensile strength and rigidity to prevent warping and provide easy transport. Dishwasher-safe. 25-year manufacturer warranty. Product Features Bake 4 individual fruit pies, tarts, quiches or pot pies in one pan Removable bottoms ensure smooth, flawless release Entrees and desserts pop out of the pan Durable carbon-steel construction ensures even heating and superior baking performance Nonstick surface for easy release and cleanup Dough cutter trims dough and creates a star-pattern top crust Chicago Metallic is the innovative designer of quality custom bakeware for commercial kitchens and home use since 1896
Overall rating:
4.73 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
37 out of 37(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Chicago Metallic Pot Pie Pan with Dough Cutter
Review 1 for Chicago Metallic Pot Pie Pan with Dough Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great pan

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromSanta Fe, NM
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
I made my first pot pies in this pan with Thanksgiving leftovers and a pre-made, roll out crust. Delicious! The crust browned perfectly and the pies came out like magic. I also used it to make low fat tostada shells by taking steamed corn tortillas that I brushed with oil and weighted in place with glass ramekins. Perfect.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Chicago Metallic Pot Pie Pan with Dough Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is great and fun to use.

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Jnana
fromChandler, AZ
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
Kids love to have their own pie. It was easy to make the pies with the cutting form, and the pies came out of the pans very easily. The only problem was that the directions said only to lay the top crust over the bottom. I put some egg white between the two crusts, but it is necessary to press them together firmly. Each pie was beautiful, other than some of the filling leaking. I love the pans and will use them over and over again. They were also very easy to wash. The size was perfect; I have seen other brands that were too big.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Chicago Metallic Pot Pie Pan with Dough Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Customer avatar
kenglade
fromRio Rancho, NM, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Wonderful concept. Since it just my wife and I we find baking a full pie or quiche is often wasteful. This makes it very manageable. Wish I had found it long ago. The trick is learning how to adjust a recipe to get the precise amount.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Chicago Metallic Pot Pie Pan with Dough Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this pan...

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Sabrina829
fromLivingston, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
Made sweet potato pies with this pan and they came out great. Crust and filling was evenly baked and each pie came out of the pan perfectly.. Would recommend this product....
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Chicago Metallic Pot Pie Pan with Dough Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Convenience and Great Presentation

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Customer avatar
TNGrandma
fromTennessee
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
Received this as a gift to make small cherry pies. (A generous row of cherry trees fills my freezer every year.) From the first try - fool proof. Really appreciated the cutter. This is a well thought out design. Even sticky bubble-ups clean up easily. Tried making chicken pot pie and was surprised that it worked quite nicely. While a bit small for an entree, served with a salad - a gourmet dinner on pennies.
This is one of the best new ideas in years! I'm ordering 2 more sets as a holiday gift to myself.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Chicago Metallic Pot Pie Pan with Dough Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pie tin

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Nortygirl
fromStockbridge MI
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
I made chicken pot pies in my new 4 X pies tin. It was so easy to work with, and the cutter made it even better. They baked so evenly and the bottoms were nice and browned also. The pies popped right out of the tin too. I did not use baking spray as suggested by the manufacturer either. I love it.
My Favorite BrandWusthof
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Chicago Metallic Pot Pie Pan with Dough Cutter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pan is great - dough cutter falls short

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer avatar
gnosgirl
fromAlbany, NY, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I love the pan. To lift the bottom and release the whole mini pie is a nice feature. The non stick is great and even with sticky filling spillovers, the pies release beautifully.
I read the reviews about the dough cutter being somewhat useless and I have to say I agree. it makes the dough just |this| much too short where you can not pin it under to seal. It would have been a fantastic production tool if it was the right size.
The other thing that bothered me was the packaging. There are recipes (designed to fit this pie mold) on the inside of the box. To access them you have to basically destroy the box. It was my intent to store the pan in the box (to keep the removable bottoms together with the pan and not swimming around in my cabinet) but that is not an option now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Chicago Metallic Pot Pie Pan with Dough Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

tiny pies

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromLewiston, NY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Martyr
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I am having a lot of fun with this. I am making all
kinds of pies for my son the bachelor teacher. He
thinks it is great to come home and pop a pie in the
oven after a long day at work.
My Favorite BrandWhatever works well for me
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Chicago Metallic Pot Pie Pan with Dough Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Nadene70
fromPortland, Oregon
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
It was excellent. Bought for my daughter and we made pot pies. Worked so good that I order myself one.
Very well made and pies slipped right out. Easy clean up
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Chicago Metallic Pot Pie Pan with Dough Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mini-Pot Pie Pan

PostedApril 21, 2014
Customer avatar
RVK1
fromRedlands California
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
Deliciously Fills a need in our Menu with simplicity. Highly recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Chicago Metallic Pot Pie Pan with Dough Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love It!

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Ldred
fromWashington State
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
It actually works!!.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Chicago Metallic Pot Pie Pan with Dough Cutter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

cute pies

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer avatar
judi22
fromWilkes-Barre, PA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
it provides a good portion for single pies, both sweet and savory. The proportions of the dough cutter could have been larger to accommodate the fold-over but it wasn't a deal-breaker. Having the removable bottoms is a great addition. I have used this product several times since purchasing it and find it a good addition to my kitchen. It allows me to make individual pies and freeze those that we don't eat on a given night. It is great for a family of two.
 
Products related to my review
Bench Scraper
4.8 out of 5(91)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Chicago Metallic Pot Pie Pan with Dough Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a "frequent pie-er"

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
mere49
fromIA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I tend to cook meals that are:Vegetarian
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
generous portion, easy removakl great cleanup cooks evenly, I love the dough cutter
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Chicago Metallic Pot Pie Pan with Dough Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

For my new hobby

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
LBnewcook
fromBlanchard, OK, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Rachel Ray
The pie pan is very well made and is just the item I needed to start baking my own pot pies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Chicago Metallic Pot Pie Pan with Dough Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pot Pie Pan with dough cutter

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer avatar
tony1
fromFort Worth, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Wolfgang Puck
These pans are the best to make mini fruit pies because they hold a lot of filling, easy to clean, and just lift the center plate to life the pie out of the pan without breaking it. I make a bunch of mini pies and put them in the freezer so when we feel like pie I don't have a lot left over. I will be making mini chicken pot pies. I bought 2 sets to make 8 pies at once. Work great!
My Favorite Brandwolfgang puck
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Chicago Metallic Pot Pie Pan with Dough Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Such fun!!

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
gingerk01
fromSt. Louis, MO, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Rachel Ray
This is a great product! I've used it for pies and quiches for the freezer and a lovely stew pot pie. The portions are good for one person for pot pies and quiches and two for pies I think. Having them in the freezer works great for when family and folks come over and you don't know how many or if one stops by and I want pie and tea. nothing sticks and crust comes out well. they bake evenly.
My Favorite Brandse crueset and caphalon
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Chicago Metallic Pot Pie Pan with Dough Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new kitchen favorite

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromWicksburg, Newton, AL 36352, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I bought a Chicago Metallic Pot Pie Pan,I loved it so much with in a month I bought a second one, Now I can cook more pies in less time. You don't have to worry if your crust is the right size, because with the Dough Cutter you can't go wrong with your cutting. You cut the bottom crust with one side & the top crust with a nice design on the other side. They release from the pan so easy & clean up is a breeze.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Chicago Metallic Pot Pie Pan with Dough Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromAlabama
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I am very please with my pot pie pan, I made pot pies and sweet potato pies, they look so elegant and came out of the pan so easy.
I will buy again.
My Favorite Brandchicago metallic
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Chicago Metallic Pot Pie Pan with Dough Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE THESE POT PIE PANS

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Nannette
fromVilla Hills, KY
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
So far, I've only cooked pumpkin pies, but they came out beautifully. So easy to use and clean. I'm going to make chicken pot pies next.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Chicago Metallic Pot Pie Pan with Dough Cutter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really Great Product

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
NVGuy
fromReno, NV, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
Bought this to make individual Pot Pies and it works GREAT!! Also, made some individual Apple Pies and they were the best too. I used frozen pie crust with no bad results, in fact, I would use frozen pie crust over the recipe that came along with the Pot Pie Pan. The dought cutter is a small blessing, saves a lot of "guess-tim-ates"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>