Customer reviews for Natural Granite Mortar and Pestle Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CHEFS Catalog.

Natural Granite Mortar and Pestle Set

Natural Granite Mortar and Pestle Set : Larger size mortar and pestle set is still the best kitchen tool for grinding, blending spices and herbs, preparing guacamole, salsa, pesto or rubs. Hand ground to perfection, this granite mortar and pestle extracts maximum flavor from spices and herbs. Seasons with use, releasing intricate natural flavors for authentic ingredient taste when creating rubs, dips or sauces. Nonporous, matte texture surface provides the friction required for quick, efficient grinding. The weighty deep bowl of this mortar enhances stability to make grinding even easier. Pestle handle is smooth for comfortable positioning in the palm of the hand. Also ideal to grind nuts into a fine texture. Hand wash. 15-lb.
Overall rating:
4.808 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 Stars
41
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
46 out of 47(98%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Natural Granite Mortar and Pestle Set
Review 1 for Natural Granite Mortar and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the real deal!

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Kerasch
fromHouston, TX, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
The natural granite Mortar & Pestle is a heavy piece of granite that, once it is seasoned, is perfect for blending spices or any other ingredients that you want to extrude all of the flavors from. The weight helps hold the mortar in place while you grind away without worrying about it slipping on the counter. Love it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Natural Granite Mortar and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally Large enough for all use

PostedMay 11, 2012
Customer avatar
DrJim
fromGulfport Mississippi
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
This Mortar and Pestle is GREAT. When I travel to Mexico I always see them using large products like this. Then at home mine has been small and everything falls over the edge. NOW I can make and grind anything without it falling out on the counter. I recommend this product VERY much.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Natural Granite Mortar and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is heavy and best stone ever..

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Customer avatar
lilchef98
fromPrinceton Il
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
Its real easy to make homemade guacamole with pit.
My Favorite BrandVita-mix CIA blender
 
Products related to my review
 
Stoneware Tortilla Warmer, 8 inch
 
 
 
de Buyer V-Pro Mandoline
4.4 out of 5(26)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Natural Granite Mortar and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The large size is very practical.

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Kibrick
fromBronx, NY, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
The mortar proved easy to season though easier with the kosher salt than with the white rice which did not pulverize.
I particularly like the large capacity. I made guacamole and easily fit three avocados into its bowl.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Natural Granite Mortar and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Tony71
fromEast Aurora, NY 14052, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
It’s great for making an avocado dip. The weight of the mortar keeps it from moving while your mixing, Cleanup is a breeze and it looks cool.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Natural Granite Mortar and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Favorite for storage on the counter.

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Kitgo
fromBridgewater, NJ, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Martyr
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
It was a beautiful mortar but to heavy for a senior with no storage space on the counter. So sorry had to return it.
My Favorite BrandChefs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Natural Granite Mortar and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromSalt Lake City, UT, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Gordon Ramsay
I ordered the Natural Granite Mortar and Peslte set. The shipping was fast, and the product was just what I expected. A whole bowl of awesome.
My Favorite BrandI like it all!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Natural Granite Mortar and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Natural Granite Mortar and Pestle Set

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Mud4Ever
fromShohola, PA 18458, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Was very impressed with the size and weight. Quality is top notch, this item will be used in the kitchen for a long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Natural Granite Mortar and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A very nice tool

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Shubz
fromKnoxville, TN, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I was suprized at the size of the thing. I can't wait to use it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Natural Granite Mortar and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved it enough to buy another

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer avatar
IlikeChefs
fromPrescott, AZ, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I use mine and love it. Got one for each of two of my grown children. They love them too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Natural Granite Mortar and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It Love It Love It

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromColgate, Richfield, WI 53017, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
We purchased one as a gift, which they loved and one for ourselves. The recipe for Guacamole that comes with it is awesome! the presentation and dip were a big hit at our last party.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Natural Granite Mortar and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is something I have always wanted!

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Paula47
fromFresno, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
I love the Natural Granite set. It is very sturdy and has so many uses. This was delivered in perfect condition ready to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Natural Granite Mortar and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Set!!

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Linda59
fromSalem, Va
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
Love this set, Perfect size for what I need Going to purchase 2 more as christmas gifts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Natural Granite Mortar and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product.

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer avatar
AkTony
fromAnchorage, AK, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
My wife can't say enough good things about this mortar pestel set. It brings back memories of her childhood in Texas during the early 60's. I have found it to be very heavy and thusly did not move much during the breakin process. It now rests in a special place on the kitchen appliances shelf waiting for its next use.
My Favorite BrandLodge
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Natural Granite Mortar and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Large and Useful

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Haiku22
fromAustin, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
This Mortar & Pestle is wonderful. It surface is rough enough to do a quick and thorough job of ample amounts of foods and spices.
My Favorite BrandHENKELS
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Natural Granite Mortar and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth it's weight!!!

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Dodie66
fromTexas, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I have always wanted a mortar & pestle, but wasn't sure about how to choose one until our son told us to be sure that the inside surface of the mortar was not smooth. This was exactly what I wanted. I love it!!
My Favorite BrandWustof
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Natural Granite Mortar and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Set

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Nanato3
fromNorth Carolina, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
This is an awesome set and of the highest quality. I am buying my ingredients today! I was so impressed, I just ordered one for a gift!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Natural Granite Mortar and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Natural Granite Mortar & Pestle

PostedJune 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Dakini22
fromSanford, FL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I searched everywhere for a large Mortar & Pestle, and finally ran across this one and let me tell you it is awesome. The bowl is 8 1/2" across the inside is 7 1/4" across the height from counter to top of bowl is 4 1/4 ". It's large to mix great things together. It is heavy, which is good that while using it isn't going to move at all. Definitely a two hand hold, when ready to transfer your mixture. I would highly recommend this bowl if you are looking for "Large".
My Favorite BrandHome grown and Produce markets
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Natural Granite Mortar and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJune 19, 2012
Customer avatar
SalsaFriday
fromProvo, UT, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
We have salsa Fridays where I work where two of these mortar and pestle sets are used to make the salsa. They do such a great job that I had to buy me one for home use. I made some guacamole and salsa with mine at home and they both tasted great!! I can't wait to try some other recipes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Natural Granite Mortar and Pestle Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJune 14, 2012
Customer avatar
tomco550
fromRacine, WI, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
perfect for what i need,heavy enough won't move around like some i have tried.easy to season,big enough for any job.would rate this as a good multi-purpose unit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>