Customer reviews for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle

CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle

CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle : With the encapsulated base, this stove top popcorn popper ensures even heating to create light and fluffy theater-style popcorn at home. Long, inner stirring paddle distributes oil with kernels inside this popcorn kettle to efficiently pop more using less oil and prepare healthier snacks. Retro-style popper with wide, tri-ply base eliminates hot or cold spots, ensuring kernels heat at a uniform temperature, preventing unpopped kernels from setting in oil. This popcorn kettle with turn crank operation allows seeds to expand naturally for deliciously-light and airy popcorn. Removable silicone cup lets you add butter, seasonings, nuts or caramel toppings while kernels are popping, without lifting the lid and interrupting heat. The direct-drive tumbling process lets you make cheese-flavored popcorn, sweet kettle corn, savory snacks and more. Also ideal to roast almonds, walnuts, pecans or hazelnuts. Flavors disperse evenly with every turn of the easy-grip handle. Tempered glass lid to view progress. Lid and stirring paddle remove to use pan as a 6-qt. saucepan. Thick 18/8 satin-finish stainless-steel walls with aluminum core. Magnetic stainless-steel base. Cast stainless-steel handle. Induction-capable. Pan is dishwasher-safe; hand wash lid with paddles. 6-qt. capacity. CHEFS signature collection of professional-grade kitchen tools, cookware, bakeware, dinnerware and more, is available only at CHEFS Catalog. You will love the selection -- meticulously crafted and tested to delight the most discerning cook, these tools deliver exceptional quality, performance and durability in the kitchen. Product Features Encapsulated base provides even heating to create light and fluffy theater-style popcorn at home This tri-ply base eliminates hot or cold spots, ensuring kernels heat at a uniform temperature, without settling unpopped in oil Long inner stirring paddle circulates oil with kernels, efficiently popping more using less oil for healthier snacks Heavy-duty turn crank operation allows seeds to expand naturally to create deliciously-light, airy popcorn Removable silicone cup lets you add butter, seasonings, nuts or caramel toppings without lifting the lid and interrupting heat Natural tumbling process lets you make sweet kettle corn, cheese-flavored popcorn or spicy snacks Also ideal to evenly roast nuts Tempered glass lid to view progress Lid and stirring paddle remove to use pan as a 6-qt. saucepan Thick 18/8 stainless-steel walls with aluminum core for long-life operation Easy-grip handle and turn crank
Overall rating:
4.69 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(297 reviews) 287
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 297 reviews
5 Stars
250
4 Stars
27
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
5
1 Star
10
277 out of 297(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Review 21 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMay 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Wingit
fromNorthern Maine
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Very heavy duty popcorn popper! I like that you can see how its doing thru the glass top. So far it has been excellent!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice pan but could be tweeked to be better

PostedMay 6, 2014
Customer avatar
hld68
fromReedsville, WV
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
This is a nice, heavy duty popcorn popper which was what I was looking for. The only thing I don't like about it is that the bottom paddle does not cover the entire bottom of the pan when stirring, therefore, all of the kernels end up around the edge of the pan which will burn if you don't shake them back into the middle. The reason I bought this pan was so I wouldn't have to shake it like I did my other regular pan. Turns out I still have to shake it and it's more awkward because there's only a handle on one side. The other thing I don't care for is that the lid collects condensation and when the popped corn touches it, it gets soggy. So, with a minor stirrer and lid redesign, this pan would be awesome!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tried the Rest THIS is the BEST!

PostedApril 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromLeavenworth, WA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Gordon Ramsay
Over the years, I've tried 6 electric, stovetop, and microwave poppers with varied success (all ended up in storage).
Now I use an induction hob and needed a magnetic steel pot to pop popcorn (pot, oil, popcorn takes 4 minutes to heat, and popping takes 2 minutes = 6 minutes total time!).
This pot is the bomb! I set timer 10 minutes (5 minute increments on hob timer) at 320 F, add 1 tsp. ghee and 1 ½ TB grape seed oil. After 2 minutes, when ghee has melted, I add ⅓ cup popcorn kernels, while stirring. Popcorn begins popping in 4 minutes. I get a fluffy batch in 2 more minutes. Immediately remove from heat, add ½ tsp Fiesta Lime (Mrs. Dash), stir and serve.
My Favorite BrandBreville
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality

PostedApril 25, 2014
Customer avatar
DrStickey
fromMaumee Ohio
My Cooking Level:Advanced
Very high quality ,heats evenly. the double blades pop all the kernels.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sorry, but it's not what I had hoped for.

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer avatar
oldelf
fromFarmington Hills, MI, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I was very anxious to receive my stovetop popper but when I did I was very disappointed. The lid does not fit snugly and when I made my first batch of popcorn it was hard to keep it still. I had to hold it down with an oven mitt while the corn popped. Ugh! I will return it and get a new one,just hope it's a better fit.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for Induction Cooktops

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer avatar
SRQPopper
fromSarasota, FL, USA
My Cooking Level:Expert
Having an induction cooktop makes getting usable cookware a bit of a pain since we need stainless exterior to work. This popper did the trick!
Have used it 3 times so far ad have had less than 10 total un-popped kernels when following the directions. The only draw back to this popper are the glass top (condenses steam into surface moisture on the inside quickly instead of letting it escape) and the "butter cup" which will not melt the butter but does a good job of allowing you to mix already melted butter in with your popped kernels after popping and prior to serving.
Overall pleased. I just had to adjust my expectations and I am now happy with it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Popper

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer avatar
vcarlew
fromNor Cal
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I am real happy with this corn popper. No more air popped popcorn where a large number of kernels get pushed into the bowl before popping. I have had almost no "duds: when using this pan. Use white popcorn and get the oil hot before adding the kernels. Delicious!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

glad I found this!!

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer avatar
El19
fromNew Jersey, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
trying to eat healthier this popcorn pot is terrific! easy to use, light, fast delicious popcorn the product is well made and definitely worth the money thank you!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best gadget for popping pocorn

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromRochester, NY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Vegetarian
This lives up to its great reviews. Evenly popped, light, fluffy popcorn every time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Popcorn Popper

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromBoston, MA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
When I decided to get a popcorn for some "old fashioned" popcorn I did some research and decided on this product. Each batch of popcorn has been fantastic and the popper is easy to clean.
I'm glad I decided on this popper and have not been the least bit disappointed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Popcorn, Popcorn

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer avatar
GNugget
fromLeesburg, FL, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Calamity
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
A very heavy duty pan with a specifically designed lid for making popcorn easy and perfectly. The pan is heavy duty and can be used for other purposes. I highly recommend and it turned out to be even better than I expected. Works on all cooking surfaces including induction.
My Favorite Brandall
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Popcorn popper

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromRidgecrest, CA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
Product gives even heat and popcorn comes out fluffy and light. Easy to use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best popper ever!

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Brunghere
fromVa
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
We love this popper, especially with white popcorn and coconut oil. Just like movie theater popcorn, and most every kernel pops. Delicious!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

an excellent popper, VERY poor support

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer avatar
rcg2t
fromVirginia, USA
My Cooking Level:Expert
We pop popcorn almost every night at our house, and we've been using the Cuisinart EasyPop for a few years. It makes good popcorn, but honestly, it's just been limping along for quite a while. My main dissatisfactions with it were that the plastic tabs that hold the bowl in place break almost immediately, so we've been using a rubber band to hold it in place for a while. Plus the plastic of the bowl has been cracking, and the teflon coating of the hot plate has started flaking, both of which are serious health concerns in my book.
So I was THRILLED to discover this CHEFS all stainless steel and glass lidded popper. We ordered it and I loved how heavy and sturdy it is. Popping the corn only takes a minimum of effort, requiring the user to turn the crank on top only for a couple of minutes once the corn has started to pop. It cleans up easily in the dishwasher.
the problem: I noticed when I unpacked it that the rim of the lid was bent though. It is such a sturdy stainless steel that I can't imagine the force that would have been necessary to bend it--must have happened during manufacturing. It doesn't affect the performance, and I have been using it anyway. However, at this price, I would prefer that it be in perfect condition. I have emailed this company twice and sent photos, explaining the problem. It has been several weeks and I have still not received a response. If someone would respond to me, I would be delighted to change my rating to 5 stars, since it really is an excellent product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic popper

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Klcon
fromCa
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I've never had better popcorn! It's fast, easy to use, easy to clean, and so much better than microwave popcorn. I use coconut oil and its fantastic!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stovetop Popcorn Kettle

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromRedmond, OR 97756, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
We were first excited about this popcorn kettle. It is well made for popcorn and other uses. Unfortunately, the pot, for us, was too heavy for ease of use, and even though it has a small vent hole, it seemed the trapped steam made the popcorn chewy. We were disappointed and returned it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Induction Ready Popcorn Kettle!

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Hayden
fromTennessee, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
This kettle fills the market void for the induction cooktop popcorn maker handsomely. High quality is very easy to see and feel. every kernel was popped to perfection and that's something that nothing before this could claim.
My Favorite BrandApple
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best popper!

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
rich121
fromWashington, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
Love it!
Cook with coconut oil and lightly salt with pink salt for a healthy treat!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stovepop Popcorn Kettle

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Customer avatar
bullriding
fromWoodland, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
We love our new Stovetop Popcorn Kettle. Wished I would have had years ago. We pop popcorn several times a week. I was getting tired of our other poppers wearing out. I don't think we will have that problem with this wonderful stainless steel kettle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
tiffer
fromMichigan, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
My family loves this popcorn popper. makes lots of popcorn.easy to clean and doubles as a sauce pan! great item.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>