Customer reviews for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle

CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle

CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle : With the encapsulated base, this stove top popcorn popper ensures even heating to create light and fluffy theater-style popcorn at home. Long, inner stirring paddle distributes oil with kernels inside this popcorn kettle to efficiently pop more using less oil and prepare healthier snacks. Retro-style popper with wide, tri-ply base eliminates hot or cold spots, ensuring kernels heat at a uniform temperature, preventing unpopped kernels from setting in oil. This popcorn kettle with turn crank operation allows seeds to expand naturally for deliciously-light and airy popcorn. Removable silicone cup lets you add butter, seasonings, nuts or caramel toppings while kernels are popping, without lifting the lid and interrupting heat. The direct-drive tumbling process lets you make cheese-flavored popcorn, sweet kettle corn, savory snacks and more. Also ideal to roast almonds, walnuts, pecans or hazelnuts. Flavors disperse evenly with every turn of the easy-grip handle. Tempered glass lid to view progress. Lid and stirring paddle remove to use pan as a 6-qt. saucepan. Thick 18/8 satin-finish stainless-steel walls with aluminum core. Magnetic stainless-steel base. Cast stainless-steel handle. Induction-capable. Dishwasher-safe. 6-qt. capacity. CHEFS signature collection of professional-grade kitchen tools, cookware, bakeware, dinnerware and more, is available only at CHEFS Catalog. You will love the selection -- meticulously crafted and tested to delight the most discerning cook, these tools deliver exceptional quality, performance and durability in the kitchen. Product Features Encapsulated base provides even heating to create light and fluffy theater-style popcorn at home This tri-ply base eliminates hot or cold spots, ensuring kernels heat at a uniform temperature, without settling unpopped in oil Long inner stirring paddle circulates oil with kernels, efficiently popping more using less oil for healthier snacks Heavy-duty turn crank operation allows seeds to expand naturally to create deliciously-light, airy popcorn Removable silicone cup lets you add butter, seasonings, nuts or caramel toppings without lifting the lid and interrupting heat Natural tumbling process lets you make sweet kettle corn, cheese-flavored popcorn or spicy snacks Also ideal to evenly roast nuts Tempered glass lid to view progress Lid and stirring paddle remove to use pan as a 6-qt. saucepan Thick 18/8 stainless-steel walls with aluminum core for long-life operation Easy-grip handle and turn crank
Overall rating:
4.68 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(278 reviews) 268
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 278 reviews
5 Stars
234
4 Stars
24
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
5
1 Star
10
259 out of 278(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Review 21 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
tiffer
fromMichigan, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
My family loves this popcorn popper. makes lots of popcorn.easy to clean and doubles as a sauce pan! great item.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
pinaymainer
fromME
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I used to buy microwavable popcorn, but decided to eat healthy so I got this item. It worked pretty good. I love the instruction booklet that came with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Corn Popper I have Used

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Billfergy
fromSedona, AZ, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I have been popping corn for over 50 years, having been through the "over the open fire with a screen type popper, the aluminum sauce pan, the skillet, Jiffy Pop, hot air, electric counter-top, microwave bags, commercial theater style, and even the Whirlly-Pop. But, none did any better than the Chefs Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle.
This is a very solid, sturdy popper. The bottom scraping blades move along even the very tiny gourmet style (original type) of popping corn, yet doesn't bog down with the larger "mushroom" types of corn. The secondary blades help keep popped kernals from settling back into the cooking oil and getting soggy.
I particularly like the tempered glass lid that allows one to view how the popping process is proceeding.
The over all popper is easily cleaned. I would only make one change, if asked, and that would be to eliminate the silicone butter cup in the lid. I did not find it useful, and it did add a small extra step in cleaning the popper.
My Favorite BrandBreville
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stovetop Popcorn Kettle

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromColorado
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I love popcorn and this kettle!! It is easy to pop the corn and it is an easy cleanup.
My Favorite BrandChef
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best popcorm ever

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Kitchenoutlaw
fromAnn Arbor, MI, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
I have owned other stove top poppers but this oen is so far superior it is as if I had never owned one previously. The weight and feel and heat transference make it exceptional. You get so much more popcorn out of each serving it is amazing. I could not be happier with this purchase and I think you will be as well. I cannot wait to try the roasted nuts.
My Favorite Brandcalphalon
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Invention!

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromWillis, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
I'm impressed and sold on this product. Works wonderfully. Best popcorn I've ever made!
My Favorite BrandScanpan
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

versaitility

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromChampaign, IL, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
i'm impressed and enjoy and snack!
My Favorite Brandn/a
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So happy I spent the $$$

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
EBM1973
fromRio Rancho, NM, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
My "Detonator" popcorn popper finally died after many years of much use. I ordinarily make a batch of popcorn at least three times a week. After much research and finding poor quality Detonator-like products, I discovered this PERFECT product, and it should last me forever! It's easy to use, easy to clean and the popcorn is wonderfully yummy. My friends always said I made the best popcorn, but now I really do make the best (& with less oil) It's expensive, but you get what you pay for ... so, pay for it and enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect popcorn every time

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Cosmolina
fromSound Beach, NY
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
This is a quality product. Well made, easy to use, reasonably priced, and delivers consistently amazing popcorn! I chose this stovetop unit over an electric popper as we have propane and even if the electric goes out, we can always count on having a delicious snack.
Popping requires a dedicated 15-min of time, but it's worth every second. Very little oil is required, but additional oil or butter may be added at the end. It has been fun to experiment with different varieties of popcorn and seasonings. We have been eating popcorn every night!
This would make an excellent and unique housewarming gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost Perfect

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromAlbuquerque, NM, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
This is a great popcorn kettle. I gave it to myself as a gift when my orthodontic braces were removed,
It has a fantastic weight, perfect size and a very sturdy, well-made lid. BUT there is one big flaw: a pan this heavy should have a help handle. It is difficult to juggle one big, hot pan, full of popcorn with just one hand. I do it, but a big mess is unavoidable.
My Favorite BrandPyrex
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Popcorn Popper...

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
kafka45
fromNebraska, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
Look.. this is MUCH better than the Lindy's stainless steel popper, because the LID on this popper is MUCH safer. Use coconut oil... don't get the pan too HOT... and this thing will make terrific popcorn.
The lid is a little awkward to clean, but such is life.
Oh, and don't forget the FLAVACAL popcorn seasoning..... great additive.
Yes its all fattening....... so what, You want to live
forever??
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

What am I doing wrong!!??

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
hinde
fromKansas, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
Why haven't more reviewers complained about the massive amount of moisture that accumulates under the lid and makes the popcorn chewy and moist?! There aren't enough vents in the top to allow steam to escape, so water accumulates under the lid, and it ends up dripping onto the kernels after they have popped. I can't use any more than 1/4 cup of kernels at a time, because of the size of the pot, and I end up throwing away a good bit of the finished product, because any of the corn that made contact with the lid is soggy. I always end up making a second batch, because the pot is on the small side, and the moisture under the lid is already dripping, so I have to throw away even more from the second batch. Can any of you five-star reviewers please give me suggestions on how to fix this problem?
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW!!!BEST POPCORN POPPER I EVER SAW!

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
mary3
fromOsteen, FL 32764, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
This popcorn popper is amazing!!!No burning, pops fast, all kernels popped and it makes a huge amount of popcorn at one time. The entire construction is amazingly high quality. I once owned another stovetop popper that had a stirrer. It was nearly as expensive and was junk! I now can make popcorn on my smooth top range!!!!I love it!!!!
My Favorite BrandCuisinart
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Favorite Popcorn Maker

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
candicats
fromSalem, OR, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Rachel Ray
Really makes great popcorn so easy to use. Love it.
My Favorite BrandKitchenaid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great popcorn popper!

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Dianne10
fromOcala, Florida
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
I had a pot built with same design that was given to me as a gift. I always loved the way it popped the popcorn. However, the quality of the pot was very poor. It was thin aluminum and warped. THIS popcorn kettle is AWESOME QUALITY. I love it. Nice heavy duty stainless and quality construction. I hunted for a new kettle like this and finally found it! Thank You.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top Popper

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer avatar
hizzoner
fromOhio, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Best popcorn popper ever. Every kernel gets popped, but none get scorched. Easy to use. Easy to add melted butter. Excellent "stock pot type" pot for alternative uses. Downside: Our consumption of buttered popcorn has gone WAY UP!! (Is that a downside?)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good popper

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer avatar
chas717
fromohio
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
It made good popcorn with all the kernels popped and no burning. It also can be used as a large sauce pan which makes it doubly useful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Manual Popcorm Maker

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromIllinois, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
This tool is great - pops very light popcorn with excellent taste using only three tablespoons of oil. Quick - easy clean up - healthy snack. Yields almost every kernel. Much better taste without calories you get with bag popcorn. Price was only 40% more than very cheap and lighter aluminum versions. This will hold up. Have used it every day since it arrived.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeded expectations

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer avatar
BWalk
fromLouisiana
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
This popper really surprised me with the quality. It's not flimsy in any way and it conducts heat very well. I am a happy customer and that says a lot because I tend to be very picky.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for CHEFS Stainless-Steel Stovetop Popcorn Kettle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best popcorn popper

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer avatar
retirementrocks
fromNorth Carolina, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
This kettle is the best thing I have ever used for popcorn. It is easy, quick, and versatile. It is so nice to finally make popcorn consistently with NO burnt or un-popped kernels! I like that I can quickly make a batch for my husband with his preferred flavor added (butter, of course!), then quickly make my own batch (right now hot sauce drizzled in is my favorite). This has become my "go to" gift for weddings, etc!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>