Customer reviews for Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Fry Pan

Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Fry Pan

Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Fry Pan : The durability of cast-iron and nonstick performance to retain and distribute heat and add the crisp-golden texture to foods. These Starfrit lightweight cast-iron fry pans are easy to handle with half the weight of traditional cast-iron pans, heat quickly and clean easily. Preferred by food connoisseurs for healthy cooking using little or no oil, the chemical-free, reinforced ceramic-coated surface is PFOA- and PTFE-free. These cast-iron fry pans are heat-responsive to brown meat, saute or stir fry vegetables, or deep fry potatoes, chicken or seafood. Oven-safe to add country-style flavor and golden browning to appetizers, breads, rolls or desserts. Riveted stainless-steel handle stays cool to the touch. Safe to use on gas, electric, ceramic, glass top and induction cooktops. Hand wash. 5-year manufacturer warranty. Product Features Cast-iron that is 50% lighter than traditional cast-iron, providing a healthy lightweight alternative to nonstick cooking Durability and superior heat conductivity to add the crisp-golden texture to foods Nonstick ceramic-coated surface is PFOA- and PTFE-free Heat responsive to brown meat, saute, stir fry or deep fry Riveted stainless-steel handle stays cool to the touch Oven-safe to add country style flavor to breads, rolls or desserts Oven-safe to 450 degrees F Low maintenance -- cleans with dish detergent
Overall rating:
4.876 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(105 reviews) 99
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 105 reviews
5 Stars
95
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
104 out of 105(99%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Fry Pan
Review 1 for Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pans!

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Hzwarrior
fromKY
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I brought the set of pans after much thought. And I am so glad I did! They are great! You don't need to turn the heat up past medium. The pans heat evenly and stays hots. The food comes out great just like a regular cast iron pan. And clean up is so easy. No sticking! Just use soapy water and a washcloth. And the weight is especially nice. I would highly recommend these pans!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is excellent!

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Customer avatar
tbone88
fromWisconsin, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I purchased these pans for myself and as a gift. They are fantastic and I will buy them again to give as gifts as the people I gave them to rave about them. Very durable. Just like using the old fashioned cast iron pans but much lighter. We all love them! I hope CHEFS makes more different sizes!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best pans I have ever used

PostedMay 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Richard70
fromRichard MD USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
These are the best pans I have ever used. They heat evenly on medium heat with no sticking and clean up is fast and easy. I have other pans that cost a lot more than these but I reach for these pans first. I wish I would of been able to purchase these pans years earlier.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the $$$

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Customer avatar
KitchenChemist
fromOak Creek, WI
In my search for PFOA/PTFE non-stick cookware, I tried another brand prior to this purchase. Within 4 months, the non-stick coating failed (bubbled & peeled) and I requested (and received) a replacement under the 2 year warranty. Since purchasing the Starfrit pans several months ago, they''ve performed flawlessly and are a pleasure to cook with. I purchased a set of these pans for my neighbor for her birthday. She too is please with the quality of these pans. And you cannot beat the price!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

healthy and easy to clean

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Customer avatar
cooking59
I purchased these pans as gifts for Christmas. I have a set and have been using them for 4 months and as of today have never been disappointed in what the manufacturer says they do. I keep my temperature below medium on all of the foods that I cook. So far I have been extremely satisfied with both the nutrition of the food and how easy the pans clean.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase!!! Best in years!!

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Customer avatar
newcook01
frommonterey, CA
I needed a good almost everyday use pan. This was it!! Easy cleaning, fast heating, use for searing, easy to wok, frying is better with the higher sides and less mess... you name it!!! Love this pan!!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome frying pans

PostedJune 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Lupin
fromIndian Island, ME
These frying pans are truly awesome. I love the way they cook but my most favorite is the easy clean up.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing pans

PostedMay 3, 2011
Customer avatar
agr1223
fromNokomis,Fl
I just received the 3 sizes of skillet pans and I have to say , these are absolutely the BEST pans I have ever used!! absolutely love them! Nothing sticks and everything cooks beautifully!
0points
7of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cast Iron Frying pan

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer avatar
t5265
fromLas Vegas, NV, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
A great addition to my cast iron equipment.
My Favorite BrandLodge
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kitchen Olympic Gold

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Cookingadventurer
fromPA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
I was drawn to these pans since I wanted the benefits of cast iron without the weight. I had considered purchasing the large pan with the helper handle and the smallest pan, but ended up getting the three pan set as it was like getting one pan free. Once I had the set, I was so pleased with the weight of them, that I knew that the lack of the helper handle probably wasn't going to be a problem. (If you have a significant tremor or lack normal arm strength, the helper handle is something that would be good for you though.) So far, I have used the pans to saute veggies and to fry steak (which I chose to do to test eveness of browning). The pans performed at least as well as my most expensive pans! They heated up quickly and provided even heat distribution, so the steaks were easily beautifully browned on the outside while still medium rare within. (I haven't used them in the oven yet, but see no reason for that not to go well.) Clean-up by hand was a breeze with the ceramic surface too. I store them stacked with a dish towel cushioning them to prevent the surfaces from getting scratched, and use non-metal utensils for cooking. No lid, but that is a minor issue given all of the benefits to these pans. This set would make a great gift for someone just setting up a household, but is also a wonderful addition for the seasoned cook .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fry Pans

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
LBP50
fromMer Rouge, LA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
A friend cooked me a burger in one of the Starfrit pans. I immediately ordered 3. They work as advertised and I love them. Great product & easy to clean.
My Favorite BrandNow it's Starfrit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

iron pan

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromFlorida, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
wonderful. light weight, all over heat with no HOT spots, a worthwhile purchase
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The #1 5-star kitchen appliance

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromVirginia
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
This is the BEST. I have had a number of more popular brand pans but never been satisfied as this one. Very easy to heat up and retain heat and cleaning is a blast. I now enjoy cooking more and learn new recipes which I had not done before. Very user friendly with athritic hands. Even my husband who "hates" washing enjoy it. His last comment was " you really made good with this purchase - excellent". Need a cover to maximize use. Thank you Chef for your great service. Highly recommend.
My Favorite BrandAll Clad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best egg skillet ever

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
GramT
fromEnglewood, OH, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
I love this light weight skillet; with the ceramic interior, it is the best egg skillet I have ever used. I can't wait to get the whole set.
My Favorite Brandwhat ever works
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

new favorite pan

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
RonM
fromMaynard, IA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
This may be the best fry pan I have ever owned. Fried eggs slide out with no sticking. Meat browns beautifully. Clean up is so easy. Just wipe it down, you don't even have to use dish soap every time. Just bought a larger one to use when cooking for two.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

versatile cooking

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
cookinggems
fromDurango, CO, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
Very good heat transfer as well as food release and ease of cleaning, use daily.
My Favorite BrandJA Henckels
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love cast iron.

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
LaserBeam
fromPittsburgh, PA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Beginner
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
I always had cast iron cookware until I became handicapped and couldn't lift the heavy pans. I tried aluminum and stainless steel but it was too light, I couldn't control it. Then came along Starfrit, a light cast iron I can lift and nonstick to boot. Just a ½ t of olive oil in a warm pan, smear it around with a stick of frozen butter and your eggs will just slide off onto your plate without the aid of a spatula!
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cast Iron Skillet

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Cassie1
fromLos Angeles, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
The downside in the past to cast iron has been the weight & the seasoning. This pan fixes both of those. So you get all the benefits of cast iron without the negatives.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good pan for the money

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Customer avatar
FarmWifeDAS
fromVan Buren, OH 45889, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
This pan has great features such as being fairly lightweight, easy to clean with the benefits of cast-iron. I use it to sear meat and then put it in the oven to finish off.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Starfrit Light Cast-Iron Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer avatar
epmama
fromFolsom, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
At 81 years old, I wanted Fry Pans that would cook evenly and be easy to clean. Thanks to these pans, I have achieved what I have wanted for over 50 years of cooking. Am so happy.
My Favorite BrandNo favorite
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>