Customer reviews for KitchenAid Architect Series 9-speed Digital Hand Mixer, KHM920BD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CHEFS Catalog.

KitchenAid Architect Series 9-speed Digital Hand Mixer, KHM920BD

KitchenAid Architect Series 9-speed Digital Hand Mixer, KHM920BD : Powerful yet lightweight, the KitchenAid Architect Series 9-Speed Digital Hand Mixer customizes blending to produce gourmet consistency from fluffy whipped meringues to heavy cookie dough. The handheld mixer Clean Touch control pad lets you increase or decrease mixing speed with fingertip control, including 4 slow stir speeds to 2 high whip speeds. An electronic mixing sensor automatically adjusts speeds to the resistance of the load, blending dense, heavy batters smoothly and efficiently. With 9 speeds and a comfort-style handle, the KitchenAid hand mixer gives you precise control without slowing when mixing stiff batters like banana bread or pound cake. Soft Start technology prevents spatters and protected air vents avoid clogging from batter and other mixtures. The LED screen allows for easy viewing of mixing speeds. Stainless-steel Turbo Beater attachments, with no center point, thoroughly mix ingredients with less batter buildup. Locking swivel cord allows for convenient right- or left-handed use at any angle. Heel rest helps steady the handheld mixer when not in use. Oversized beater ejection button makes disassembly easy. Includes liquid blender rod, dough hooks and professional whisk. Dishwasher-safe accessories. Since the introduction of its legendary stand mixer in 1919 and its first dishwasher in 1949, KitchenAid continues to build on its legacy of creating a complete line of products designed for home cooks. KitchenAid now offers virtually every essential for the well-equipped kitchen. Product Features KitchenAid handheld mixer with powerful, lightweight motor ensures easy operation Clean Touch control pad increases or decreases mixing speed at the touch of a button 9 mixing speeds includes 4 slow stir speeds to 2 high whip speeds Electronic mixing sensor self-adjusts for batter thickness to prevent slowing or stalling Soft Start electronic control helps prevent spattering Electronic digital LED control shows mixing speed at a glance Protected air vents avoid clogging from batter and other mixtures Lockable swivel cord offers convenient right- or left-handed mixing at any angle Beater ejector button ensures simple disassembly Comfort-styled handle helps with precise control Non-tip heel rest steadies 9-speed hand mixer when not in use Stainless-steel accessories are dishwasher-safe 1-year warranty Includes 2 stainless-steel professional Turbo Beater attachments 2 stainless-steel dough hooks 1 stainless-steel liquid blender rod attachment 1 stainless-steel professional whisk Canvas accessory bag English/French instruction manual with 12 recipes for sauces, desserts and side dishes
Overall rating:
4.846 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
24 out of 26(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for KitchenAid Architect Series 9-speed Digital Hand Mixer, KHM920BD
Review 1 for KitchenAid Architect Series 9-speed Digital Hand Mixer, KHM920BD
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mixer, strong motor

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Customer avatar
CountryBoy
fromDenton, MD
My Cooking Level:Advanced
This mixer comes with a complete complement of accessories. But most of all the motor and control is able to provide a constant speed regardless of ease or difficulty of mix. And it's quiet. It's a joy to use. Only thing, the selectable cord position is very difficult to snap in to position and unsnap from a position. It takes some real strength to lock it into position! No matter, it works fine whether locked or not. Note this is not locking the cord onto the mixer (it's permanently attached), just locking it in a particular position.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KitchenAid Architect Series 9-speed Digital Hand Mixer, KHM920BD
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fashionable, light weight and easy to handle.

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromBurnet, TX
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
This is a very stylish mix master. Easy to use with the digital display. The thin wire beaters move easily through even the thickist batters. Powerful enough for every batch I've needed to mix.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KitchenAid Architect Series 9-speed Digital Hand Mixer, KHM920BD
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One Great American Made Mixer !!!

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Irishman
fromRoyal Oak, MI, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
In all my years of cooking and baking, never has a KitchenAide product let me down. This digital hand mixer is no exception. Besides the fact that it is a beautifully designed small appliance, it also is very hardworking. I have really put this mixer through it's paces. I love to bake so let's just say that without a very hardworking mixer my baking skills would not turn out so well. I have owned this mixer now for about four years, and I'm sure I have used it at least a couple hundred times, and it still runs and looks as good as the day I bought it. I only replaced my last hand mixer that was also a KitchenAide mixer that I owned since the mid-seventeens . It was still running I just wanted a more modern looking one then my last one. I'm sure this mixer will work as long as the one I re-placed.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KitchenAid Architect Series 9-speed Digital Hand Mixer, KHM920BD
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Customer avatar
farmer97
fromminn
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
this mixer is the best i have ever had. the quality is second to none. very quiet, and the speed selection is just what i needed.. no ingredients all over the the cabinets and counter. very lightweight, but powerfull
My Favorite Brandwhatever works best
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KitchenAid Architect Series 9-speed Digital Hand Mixer, KHM920BD
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromca.
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Martyr
I'm very pleased with my Kitchen Aid 9-speed mixer. It performs beautifully at all speeds and is comfortable to operate.
The chrome finish is very smart.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KitchenAid Architect Series 9-speed Digital Hand Mixer, KHM920BD
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A good hand

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromHenderson, NC, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
This was a replacement for an older hand mixer and does a great job. The many different speeds make it easy fo accomodate just about every mixing task that I have used it on.
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KitchenAid Architect Series 9-speed Digital Hand Mixer, KHM920BD
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my Kitchen Aid Appliances

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Kath7106
fromRome, Georgia
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I replaced an old kitchen aid hand mixer. It had to be at least 20 years old. Just burned out. So the natural choice was another top of the line Kitchen Aid Hand Mixer. I also own the Professional 600 Kitchen Aid stand mixer. Very happy with that purchase as well(2010) I am always excited to receive the new Chef's catalog. Always so many nice, different, useful items.
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid also very fond of Cuisinart Appliance
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KitchenAid Architect Series 9-speed Digital Hand Mixer, KHM920BD
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What A Fantastic Mixer

PostedApril 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromMilton, FL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
It works great, whips cream so much faster I have to make sure I don't make butter!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KitchenAid Architect Series 9-speed Digital Hand Mixer, KHM920BD
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Replace her Oster for Christmas

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromMarietta, PA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
My wife loves it....the beaters stay in when wiping potatoes....She also loves the fact that it has digital speeds... What a deal ..... It saved our Christmas..
My Favorite BrandIt was Oster...... Now .. Kitchenaid
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KitchenAid Architect Series 9-speed Digital Hand Mixer, KHM920BD
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great hand mixer

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Steph1
fromSpringdale AR
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
This is a very strong mixer - I haven't tried it on anything that it couldn't handle! I bought one for myself and also one for my daughter! KitchenAid lasts forever!
My Favorite BrandKitchenAid
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KitchenAid Architect Series 9-speed Digital Hand Mixer, KHM920BD
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great MIxer

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromBrooklyn, NY, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Professional Chef
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I purchased this hand mixer as a replacement for another KitchenAid mixer (11 years old) and my wife LOVES it. Easy to operate and very powerful. Well don!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KitchenAid Architect Series 9-speed Digital Hand Mixer, KHM920BD
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile mixer

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Customer avatar
PinStitch
fromMassachusetts
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
This mixer has 4 attachments including the beaters. The 9 speeds with slow starting speeds is a plus. Any mixer will handle pancake or cake batter but this one will handle chocolate chip cookie dough. It can substitute for a stand mixer in some cases which makes it ideal for a cook on a budget or a second home.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KitchenAid Architect Series 9-speed Digital Hand Mixer, KHM920BD
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful product

PostedDecember 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Skate
fromFlorida, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I was delighted the order came with several mixing tools for various cooking needs. It works very well, and is as advertised. I would recommend this product for anyone wanting a complete hand mixer.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KitchenAid Architect Series 9-speed Digital Hand Mixer, KHM920BD
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Low power

PostedOctober 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Linden
fromMinnesota
This is the third hand mixer I've purchased trying to replace an old Kitchenaid 7-speed that finally died. I returned a Cuisinart because it shook too much when turned on. I returned a Breville because the beaters had rough metal rivets on them that ruined my stainless steel bowls. I would return this one, too, except I've given up. This unit has only about 60% as much power as my old hand mixer, even on high speed. The old mixer has a 1 amp motor. The motor in this one is only .6 amp. There is a noticeable difference. I would not recommend this unit to anyone.
+13points
21of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KitchenAid Architect Series 9-speed Digital Hand Mixer, KHM920BD
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

so for so good !

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Gracy
fromca.
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Microwave Magician
Godd for for smaller projects, and it has the power even though it has a inverter to D. C. volts . Can smell the brushes from the commutator.
My Favorite Brandkitchenaid
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KitchenAid Architect Series 9-speed Digital Hand Mixer, KHM920BD
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Replacement for 30 yr old hand mixer

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromLake Jackson, TX
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
This new Kitchen Aid Hand Mixer is replacing one I have had for over thirty years...it was harvest gold. I trust my new one will last for the next 30 years
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KitchenAid Architect Series 9-speed Digital Hand Mixer, KHM920BD
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our favorite hand mixer

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Customer avatar
The8tremom
fromTexas, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
The only reason for the purchase of this new one was that our old one matched our daughter's new kitchen, so we bought this to match our kitchen appliances. The 15-year-old KitchenAid we gave away still works beautifully. We expect this model to do just as well.
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for KitchenAid Architect Series 9-speed Digital Hand Mixer, KHM920BD
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A new updated favorite KitchenAid tool

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Butterhorn
fromWichita, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
I replaced my old KitchenAid Hand Mixer with this wonderful high speed Digital lightweight hand mixer, its a gourmet cook's delight.
My Favorite BrandKitchenaid, Small and Large Appliances
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for KitchenAid Architect Series 9-speed Digital Hand Mixer, KHM920BD
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ample power & whisper quiet

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
DaMiMom
fromMichigan, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
My other hand mixer died after 17 years so I shopped around. Bought the lesser expensive, more basic model of the same brand - big mistake. Needless to say I took it to my cottage for occasional use. This blender does it all. It's beautiful for starters, but also has the brawn you'll need for heavy jobs as well as delicate whipping. Good purchase, but make sure to get THIS model with all the goodies - most BANG! for the buck.
Happy mixing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for KitchenAid Architect Series 9-speed Digital Hand Mixer, KHM920BD
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy and powerful

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
horseshoedancing
fromRepublic, WA 99166, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Calamity
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
I used this mixer for a nut bread and it worked great from the start to the end when I put the better in the pan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>