Customer reviews for Le Creuset Signature Collection Round French Oven, 5-1/2 quart

Le Creuset Signature Collection Round French Oven, 5-1/2 quart

Le Creuset Signature Collection Round French Oven, 5-1/2 quart : This Le Creuset 5 1/2-qt. round French oven is ideal to braise chicken with vegetables, roast tenderloin or retain the rich flavors of pasta sauce. Preferred by chefs for the cooking versatility, superior heat retention and excellent browning of foods, Le Creuset enameled cast-iron cookware ensures all ingredients cook at an even temperature. With the high-quality porcelain-enamel coating, this round French dutch oven is impermeable to odors and stains for lifetime use. The Le Creuset Signature collection combines traditional superior craftsmanship with ergonomic and functional innovations. Modernized lid is more stable and tight-fitting, ensuring better performance sealing in moisture and flavors. The handles on this round French oven are 45% larger, providing a roomier grip to lift with oven mitts. Improved ergonomic knob is heat-resistant to 500 F. This Signature collection features the most durable and resistant interior formulation offered by Le Creuset, smooth and easy to clean, roasting a chicken in the oven or simmering Italian sauce on the stove top. Food or liquid will not react with the enameled finish. With the tight-fitting lid, moisture is sealed inside for best absorption of seasonings and flavor. This 5 1/2-qt. French dutch oven goes from fridge or freezer to the oven or stove top, then conveniently to the table for beautiful presentation. Oven-, broiler-, freezer- and dishwasher-safe. Made in France. Lifetime manufacturer warranty. Le Creuset is consistently chosen by leading chefs, restaurateurs and home connoisseurs for its cooking advantages, performance and style. Bright color choices are the legendary style at Le Creuset to enliven your world of serving and entertaining. The best gourmet meals deserve the cooking finesse of Le Creuset. Product Features Le Creuset Signature Collection of enameled cast-iron cookware is molded and crafted by hand, combining traditional unmatched craftsmanship with a reinvented, improved design Perfect to roast chicken tenderloin of beef or simmer pasta sauce Modernized lid is more stable and tight-fitting, ensuring greater retention of moisture and flavors, while self-basting foods Newly-formulated enamel interior is more durable, stain- and odor-resistant and easier to clean Handles are 45% larger, providing a roomier grip, even with oven mitts, ensuring safe transport from oven to table Improved ergonomic phenolic knob is heat-resistant to 500 F The iron is melted at an extremely high temperature in a cauldron (called a "creuset" in French) then poured into a sand mold. Under the hands of skilled craftsmen, each surface is smoothed in preparation for uniform porcelain enameling Le Creuset cast-iron provides unparalleled heat retention Smooth porcelain-enameled interior and exterior is nonreactive to food or liquid Bold and dynamic colors match Le Creuset enameled cookware, bakeware, dinnerware and accessories Versatile for stove top, oven or broiler For nearly a century, Le Creuset has been the preferred cookware choice of distinguished chefs around the world
Overall rating:
4.714 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
14 out of 14(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Le Creuset Signature Collection Round French Oven, 5-1/2 quart
Review 1 for Le Creuset Signature Collection Round French Oven, 5-1/2 quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedApril 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromUtah, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Vegetarian
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
I really love my new Dutch oven. I bought it primarily to make bread in a few times a week. I keep the bread in the pan until it is all eaten. This pan looks great on the counter. I don't mind having it on display all of the time. It washes nicely, and is ready to put back in a 450 degree F oven for the next loaf. The knob holds up with the high heat and I don't use any oil to season the pan. The bread cooks evenly and doesn't stick at all. I will use this pan for other things. I waited a long time for this pan. Now, I want more sizes!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Le Creuset Signature Collection Round French Oven, 5-1/2 quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect winter comfort food!

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Sherbay
fromSanta Monica, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I love my new Dutch Oven. I made the best beef stew ever the other night. So easy to brown the meat in the same pan, then add the veggies...love it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Le Creuset Signature Collection Round French Oven, 5-1/2 quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wanted for a long time :)

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Elpeters
fromDurham, CT, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Budget
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
This French enameled cast iron is fantastic! It heats so evenly, try baking bread at 450 degrees, round loaves come out like artisan quality! (you do need to upgrade to a stainless steel knob for the very hot oven temperatures) Very happy with our purchase.
My Favorite BrandLe Creuset
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Le Creuset Signature Collection Round French Oven, 5-1/2 quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromPortland OR
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
Fabulous pot, gorgeous color, excellent quality.
I love it!
My Favorite BrandLe Creuset
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Le Creuset Signature Collection Round French Oven, 5-1/2 quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Use it all the time

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Dorothy201
fromMI
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
This dutch oven is the one pot you need in your kitchen! I use mine all the time. Perfect for stews, soups, deep frying, making lots of cocoa or cider in the winter, bakes great no knead bread (switch out the plastic knob for stainless though) and many other things. It heats evenly and browns meats perfectly. Just remember to slowly heat the pan on a medium-low heat to prevent burning or discoloring the pan. Cleans up well too. I love to use it for slow cooking in the oven or on the stove top. I don't use my crock pot anymore because this is much easier. You can brown the meat and then use the same pan for slow cooking. Prepare the meal in the morning and put the pot in a low oven all day and you are ready to eat at dinner time. Caste iron is really the way to go, I never use any other kind of cookware anymore. Can't say enough great things. Just buy it!! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Le Creuset Signature Collection Round French Oven, 5-1/2 quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My "go to" pot

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Customer avatar
MCTen82
fromBridgewater, NJ
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I can't say enough good things about this product. I use it for everything I need a larger pot for. Soups, roasts, pasta and even heating apple cider. It cooks evenly, cleans quickly, the quality is top notch and the colors are vibrant.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Le Creuset Signature Collection Round French Oven, 5-1/2 quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every single penny!!

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
iwojima52
fromNorfolk VA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I love cooking in cast iron and I own a ton of it. These pans are fantastic to make stews, soups or whatever you want and they make it nice and easy to do. I dont own the whole set yet but I am getting there. Easy clean up and storage. I cant think of a single con other than I dont have enough money to buy them all at once.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Le Creuset Signature Collection Round French Oven, 5-1/2 quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new best dutch oven

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
beachlover1
fromSeattle, WA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I have had two dutch ovens previously. The cast iron /ceramic pot I had bought at Costco did not hold up very well. I love the color of my new Le Creuset pan. I have only used it once so far, but the size is perfect, it cooked evenly , and cleaned up easily. Love it!
My Favorite Branddont really have one
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Le Creuset Signature Collection Round French Oven, 5-1/2 quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

must have

PostedMay 15, 2014
Customer avatar
pollywog
fromupstate New York
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandpa
Everyone should have one of these. Great for all kinds of cooking
My Favorite BrandLeCreuset
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Le Creuset Signature Collection Round French Oven, 5-1/2 quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Long time favorite

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromJacksonville, FL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I having been cooking with Le Creuset for 40 years (still using my originals) and it remains my favorite by far Had to replace my large French Oven due to a fire. Love the new color.
My Favorite BrandLe Creuset
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Le Creuset Signature Collection Round French Oven, 5-1/2 quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A wonderful addition to my cookware

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromPinckney, MI
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
I received this for Christmas and have already used it to try a couple new soup recipes. I love the color, it cleans up easily, and cooks much better than my stainless soup pot I've been using for years. I love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Le Creuset Signature Collection Round French Oven, 5-1/2 quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another addition to my cookware

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Customer avatar
frogger
fromLake Murray, South Carolina, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
A must have for cooking when a slow cooker or crockpot just won't do. Gives you more control in your cooking.
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Le Creuset Signature Collection Round French Oven, 5-1/2 quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top of the line

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Denis
fromUpper Saint Clair, Pa.
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Don't waste your money on any other brand. Made to last, marvelous to cook with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Le Creuset Signature Collection Round French Oven, 5-1/2 quart
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Color has changed

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Marti04
fromColorado Springs, CO, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
These "cherry" pans now have a very strong orange color to them -- major conflict with my "rose" kitchen. The previous color was red and gray. Don't like the new color at all!
-7points
2of 11voted this as helpful.