Customer reviews for Silicone Bowl Cover Set, 5 piece

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CHEFS Catalog.

Silicone Bowl Cover Set, 5 piece

Silicone Bowl Cover Set, 5 piece : Self-sealing, reusable silicone bowl covers stretch to create a stable, flat and taut stackable surface. Fit 5" to 8" round, oval, square or rectangular containers, creating an airtight seal to preserve freshness of food. With stretchable sizes, these food covers are instant replacements for missing lids. Food will not stick to these smooth silicone bowl covers. Feature pull-down tabs for ease in use. Oven-safe to 480 F. Microwave- and top-rack dishwasher-safe. Includes three medium- and two large-size lids.
Overall rating:
2.273 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
4
1 Star
11
5 out of 22(23%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Silicone Bowl Cover Set, 5 piece
Review 1 for Silicone Bowl Cover Set, 5 piece
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

How can such a good idea be so bad?

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromWashington, ME, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I was really looking forward to using these. But, nothing I could do would make them stick to the bowl rim. I tried everything suggested by Customer Service, but they still slipped/popped off. I also tried them on metal, glass, ceramic, and pottery. Not one surface allowed them to stay on. Please don't waste your money.
My Favorite BrandCabot
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Silicone Bowl Cover Set, 5 piece
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

SILICONE BOWL COVER SET

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Customer avatar
TBONETAIL
fromChenango Forks, Chenango, NY 13746, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Rachel Ray
WHAT A GREAT IDEA / I HOPE SOMEONE COMES UP WITH THIS SAME TYPE OF IDEA THAT WORKS
PRODUCT IS HARD TO STRETCH AND FOOD FALLS ALL OVER WHILE TRYING TO STRETCH / ONCE ON, THE COVER SLIDES OFF / THIS PRODUCT SHOULD BE REMOVED FROM YOUR CATALOG
My Favorite BrandKITCHEN AIDE
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Silicone Bowl Cover Set, 5 piece
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer avatar
lorri
frombethel CT
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I was disappointed in this product and returned it>
The large cover did not fit a 10 inch bowl as stated! and the smaller ones popped off the bowls.
I thought it was a good idea when I saw it in the catalogue. This is the first time I have had to return a product to you.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Silicone Bowl Cover Set, 5 piece
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible!!!

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Hzwarrior
fromKY
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I made the mistake of not reading the other reviews. These covers are great for small bowls...but fitting a 10 inch bowl! NOPE!! I had trouble putting it over an 8 inch bowl. I ended up wrestling with it, half laying on top of the bowl trying to get the cover on. Then once it was on, it kept popping off. You need three people to help put it in all directions to put it on anything larger than the cover size before it is stretched out. Once you can get it on, I agree, it is nice. But it isn't worth the hassel or fight. As for square bowls, didn't even try!! Takes too much effort! Will use them on the bowls that aren't bigger than the 5 or 6 inches.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Silicone Bowl Cover Set, 5 piece
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

TERRIBLE WORST PRODUCT EVER FROM CHEFS

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Customer avatar
LEFTYG
fromFLORIDA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
THERE IS NOW WAY THESE COVERS STRETCH TO FIT LARGE BOWLS (UP TO TEN INCHES YOUR CAN NOT BE SERIOUS. wHEN STRETCHED THEY IMMEDIATLEY COME OFF THE BOWL, SO YOU START ALL OVER AGAIN AND FAIL ONCE MORE. i HAVE RETURNED THEM AND LOOK FOR A REFUND!!!!
My Favorite BrandBRAUN
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Silicone Bowl Cover Set, 5 piece
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedMay 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Robinm
fromPhilad
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
The small lids do not stretch to fit standard bowls and the large lids are too big.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Silicone Bowl Cover Set, 5 piece
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not a good value

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer avatar
blk56
fromNorth Riverside, IL
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
They're not easy to get on the bowl and if the bowl or the cover is at all wet the cover won't stay on at all. This makes it difficult to remove the cover and then put it back on.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Silicone Bowl Cover Set, 5 piece
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So glad I found these!

PostedMarch 9, 2012
Customer avatar
bittersweet9
fromCalifornia
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I am so happy to have found these silicone bowl covers. I hate storing food in plastic, and I don't like plastic wrap over the top of a glass bowl, either. These covers do it all----cover, seal and allow me to use my glass bowls. My only criticism is that I have some difficulty coordinating the stretching and the pulling over the rim to get them in place. I imagine I will get the hang of it soon. I hope to find some in larger and smaller sizes, as well. I highly recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Silicone Bowl Cover Set, 5 piece
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sorry, I don't recommend

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Customer avatar
brigholdguy
fromphila
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
These covers were unreasonably difficult to stretch over the tops of bowls. They have no stretchability for anything slightly larger, and don't fit snugly on things which are the same size. I had to return them.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Silicone Bowl Cover Set, 5 piece
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't seem to fit or stay on any size bowl.

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Customer avatar
ParkSlopeCook
fromBrooklyn, NY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
These tops seem to require exactly the right size bowl. I have not succeeded in fitting any of them on any bowl. I am very unhappy I spent money on them.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Silicone Bowl Cover Set, 5 piece
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Silicone Bowl Covers

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Vibber19
fromHoboken, NJ
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
This is a great product that fits a varity of bowls. Extremely useful and functional.
My Favorite BrandAnything fresh
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Silicone Bowl Cover Set, 5 piece
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible bowl covers

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
esuzanne
fromMN
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
I ordered these thinking they would be great. They are impossible to get onto the bowls! I get one side on, but it comes off when I try the other side. I tried and tried. They are unusable. Waste of money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Silicone Bowl Cover Set, 5 piece
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not as great as I thought it would be.

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Customer avatar
I5lise
fromSeattle, WA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
The idea of having lids that can fit multiple bowls is great but I could not get the lids to fit the larger sizes that it says they will fit. It was so difficult that you would spill whatever was in the bowl long before you got the lid on. I wish it would have worked better.
My Favorite BrandAll Clad
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Silicone Bowl Cover Set, 5 piece
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

OFFER BOTH SIZES INDIVIDUALLY not in 2 size sets

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Whizbang
fromMichigan, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
I wanted some small covers for ingredients for Mise en Place. Three (3) small are not enough for most recipes. I don't need the larger size so I won't be ordering a second set just to get the small size. I'll have to continue to use plastic wrap. Darn.
My Favorite BrandLe Creuset & All-Clad
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Silicone Bowl Cover Set, 5 piece
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not what they are "cracked" up to be.

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Punkin67
fromNC
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
The review of the product indicated they were easy to use and would fit all shapes of dishes. I tried puttin one of the larger ones on an 8"x6" glass baking pan and it would not go on. It could be because I have arthritis and cannot pull hard but a lot of people are in the same situation so they won't be able to use these either. It is really hard on the pros and cons because they really would be great if I could use them as they were designed to be used.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Silicone Bowl Cover Set, 5 piece
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Hard to use.

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Gizm0
fromMechanicsburg, PA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
CONS: Does not performe as disscribed. Will not strech as far as disscribed. Slips off too easily. Great idea that needs more work.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Silicone Bowl Cover Set, 5 piece
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stretchy lids

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Catpaw8
fromRolla, MO, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
In an attempt to replace lids for glass bowls, I fortunately came across your silicone lids that stretch. I really, really like them a lot.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Silicone Bowl Cover Set, 5 piece
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Secondary use for bowl covers

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer avatar
WestieMom
fromWoburn, MA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
I got the covers to keep from burning my fingers when I dye wool in mason jars in the microwave for rug hooking. They provide a secure grip and shield from the heat when moving the jars of boiling dye in and out for stirring. My fingers LOVE these things!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Silicone Bowl Cover Set, 5 piece
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must have!

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
MissJilly
fromCleveland, TN, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
The silicone lids are a must have for any kitchen. The pull tabs make it easy to pull to fit any size lids. They are easy to clean and store well. It takes the worry out of trying to find a lid. This will be a go to purchase for wedding, housewarming, and hostess gifts.
My Favorite BrandNot brand specific
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Silicone Bowl Cover Set, 5 piece
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Impossible to use

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Customer avatar
wineswiller
fromiowa
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
Like others have said, these covers sound great, but are almost impossible to use. They slip off the bowl easily and you slosh out contents trying to put them on. Takes 2 people to put one on a big bowl, since it takes one person to hold down the bowl, while the other person valiantly tries to stretch on the cover and get it to stay in place!
My Favorite BrandKaji knives
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>