Customer reviews for Emile Henry Flame Top Round Dutch Oven/Stew Pot, 4.2 quart

Emile Henry Flame Top Round Dutch Oven/Stew Pot, 4.2 quart

Emile Henry Flame Top Round Dutch Oven/Stew Pot, 4.2 quart : Exceptional for slow-cooking savory roasts, stews and casseroles, the Emile Henry Flame 4.2-Qt. Round Dutch Oven/Stewpot is the first ceramic cookware safe for oven, cooktop, microwave, grill and open flame to 750 F. Crafted in France from high-fired natural Burgundy clay, the natural nonstick cooking surface of the covered Dutch oven also simmers veggies, braises meats and bakes souffles and fruit cobblers with little effort and little or no added fats. Innovative proprietary Flame technology allows the hand-finished ceramic stew pot to cook on even barbeque grills and open flame. Five years of research and development created the PFOA- and PTFE-free Emile Henry Flame line that excels in uniform, natural cooking and keeps foods like clam chowder, pasta al dente and scrumptious desserts hot longer. Self-basting lid features a dimpled interior to ensure that juices are evenly distributed throughout cooking. Smoothly glazed ceramic Dutch oven will not chip, scratch or discolor and does not absorb stain, odors or flavors. The easy-to-handle stew pot is 30% lighter than similar cast-iron or enamel cookware and can go directly from freezer to a hot oven without countertop warm up. Each rich color makes the Emile Henry cookware a stylish serving dish for any occasion. The Emile Henry Dutch oven cleans up quickly by hand and is dishwasher-safe. Founded in 1850 by the Henry family in France's mineral-rich Burgundy clay region, today Emile Henry is the largest manufacturer of ceramic ovenware in France and has established a worldwide reputation for crafting the finest quality ceramic culinary products. Skilled artisans meticulously oversee the forming, casting, glazing and firing of each hand-finished Emile Henry piece. The proprietary Flame manufacturing process produces ovenware that is more resistant to thermal shock, mechanical shock or chipping and scratching than other ceramic products, including porcelain, stoneware and earthenware. Product Features Innovative Flame ceramic technology allows for high-heat cooking to 750 F Crafted of France's mineral-rich Burgundy clay with its superior heat retention properties Eco-responsible Emile Henry uses only natural products in their ceramic Each Emile Henry ovenware piece is hand-finished and signed by its individual craftsman Evenly distributing heat, the Dutch oven heats up faster and keeps foods hot longer than ordinary ceramic cookware The gentle, even heat distribution retains natural flavors of foods for superb-tasting dishes Self-basting lid features a dimpled interior to ensure even distribution of juices Smoothly glazed ceramic will not chip, scratch or discolor The ceramic does not absorb stains, odors and flavors Durable stew pot is 30% lighter than similar cast-iron or enamel pots Oven- and microwave-safe to 750 F and broiler-safe. Suited for all types of barbeque grills and open flame to 750 F Freezer-safe to -125 F and can go straight from freezer to hot cooking appliance Use with metal utensils, but nonmetal utensils recommended to better protect the cookware surface Food-safe glazes are free of lead and cadmium Footed base provides more even heat diffusion Large flame-resistant handles make for easy lifting and carrying Suited for gas, electric, ceramic, glass and halogen cooktops, and induction-capable with induction interface disc Dishwasher-safe; hand washing is recommended 10-year limited warranty This item is shipped directly from the manufacturer so it can only be delivered within the 48 contiguous states. Express shipping options, gift wrap services and gift messaging are not available for this item. Please allow 2-4 weeks for order processing and delivery.
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
9 out of 10(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Emile Henry Flame Top Round Dutch Oven/Stew Pot, 4.2 quart
Review 1 for Emile Henry Flame Top Round Dutch Oven/Stew Pot, 4.2 quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great results

PostedMarch 9, 2012
Customer avatar
gjsmich
fromMichigan
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
One of my favorite pots. Works well both on the stove top (even with an electric stove) and in the oven. Never have had a clean up problem. Doesn't weigh as much as Le Creuset dutch oven or cost as much.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Emile Henry Flame Top Round Dutch Oven/Stew Pot, 4.2 quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It is Fantastic

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Conni
fromMustang,Ok
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I love useing this pot!
Food cooks evenly.
It is very easy to clean.
It is not heavy.
I plan on getting several more Emile Henry items.
It is a pleasure to work with this pot.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Emile Henry Flame Top Round Dutch Oven/Stew Pot, 4.2 quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So glad I purchased this Dutch Oven

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer avatar
2birdlover3
fromSeattle, WA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
Purchased this pot in red and was impressed with it's performance. I primarily use for baking bread (yes with the lid on). I made beef stew in it. It performs really well on gas stovetop and, of course, in the oven.
Shipping was great, even though it was a drop ship from the vendor.
All in all, I am very pleased with the item's performance, as well as Chef's shipping.
My Favorite BrandLe Creuset, Emile Henry, All-Clad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Emile Henry Flame Top Round Dutch Oven/Stew Pot, 4.2 quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FABULOUS stew pot!!

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer avatar
cookinginnyc
fromNew York, NY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
This pot is now my favorite! I love the fact that it is so much lighter in weight than the other dutch ovens. Stews and meat braising on the lowest setting on top of the stove has been amazingly delicious. Clean-up has been effortless. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this pot to anyone looking for a dutch oven!
My Favorite BrandEmile Henry
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Emile Henry Flame Top Round Dutch Oven/Stew Pot, 4.2 quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful and beautifully priced!

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer avatar
docbaker
fromFlorida
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
I actually purchased 2 of these at the same time so that I could bake 2 loaves of bread simultaneously. I am truly in love. The breads' crust was delicious. the pots allowed even cooking, and the seal on the lids allowed enough steam for a perfect crust, and delicate crumb. I have had the pots less than a month , I have made 6 batches of bread and 2 stews.
Clean up is a breeze. I selected "Figue", it is a beautiful shade of purple,similar to the color of cabernet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Emile Henry Flame Top Round Dutch Oven/Stew Pot, 4.2 quart
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wondering if they are shipping seconds?

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
purpleskier
fromNew Jersey, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Giada De Laurentis
Glaze was not right, lid did not fit tightly, shape was off a little. This item gets drop shipped directly, I really feel as though they are shipping out seconds without Chefs knowledge. Will be returning the second one. When you pay that much for a pot you expect it perfect.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Emile Henry Flame Top Round Dutch Oven/Stew Pot, 4.2 quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!!

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
kc1114
fromBloomfield, NJ, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Gordon Ramsay
I cooked pulled pork in this pot for the 1st time and it was easy to use. It went from the oven to the fridge and back to the oven the next day. The clean up was as simple as puting it in the dishwasher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Emile Henry Flame Top Round Dutch Oven/Stew Pot, 4.2 quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent, Versatile Cookware

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Stagewoman
fromDes Moines, IA 50311, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I've had this excellent 4.2 qt. pot for only 2 weeks, but have used it to bake the famous no-knead, slow-rise bread, to bake a chicken, and to cook a huge batch of garden tomatoes for sauce. I'm gettng ready to make more bread and to cook the chicken carcass to make chicken noodle soup. This pot performed beautifully, both in the oven and on the gas stovetop. Nothing stuck, and it cleaned up perfectly in seconds. Best of all, both the chicken and the tomatoes were cooked at a very low heat so that I could go outdoors and attend to autumn garden work while the food cooked slowly and perfectly. The pot is porous, so liquids left in the pot will slowly seep through the bottom. It's best to cook, then store in another container.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Emile Henry Flame Top Round Dutch Oven/Stew Pot, 4.2 quart
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So many uses !

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Ruby7
fromSD, CA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
This pot is the perfect size to bake a loaf of no-knead bread, braise a small chicken or simmer a pot of split pea soup. It's a great addition to my well used line up of iron cast since it goes in the microwave too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Emile Henry Flame Top Round Dutch Oven/Stew Pot, 4.2 quart
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good product

PostedDecember 29, 2011
Customer avatar
vk67
fromga
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
i own a dutch oven by La cruset and this is not as good as that.foods tend to stick lot more in this dutch oven
My Favorite Brandall clad
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.