Customer reviews for OXO Potato Ricer

OXO Potato Ricer

OXO Potato Ricer : Heavy-duty potato ricer creates deliciously smooth, lump-free potatoes easier and more efficiently than a mixer or traditional masher. The result is a fluffier mashed potato texture that incorporates air and disperses cream or butter evenly, ensuring light and flavorful taste. Easy to use and clean, this food strainer will puree foods such as vegetables or fruits, and strain liquid through perforations to create creamy sauce, thicken soup or make jam. Press liquid from cooked greens or vegetables for healthy, preservative-free stock. Prepare foods for canning, easily separating skins and fibers from liquid. Effortlessly create gnocchi with this multi-use food strainer. Heat- and stain-resistant to process hot or acidic food. Soft-grip handles prevent strain. Stainless-steel. Dishwasher-safe. Product Features Multi-use ricer creates light and fluffy potatoes, purees and strains foods Creates Smooth lump-free potato texture easier than a mixer or traditional masher Allows even dispersion of cream or butter, ensuring flavorful taste Use as a food strainer to puree vegetables or fruits for sauce, as soup thickener or to make jam Prepare foods for canning, separating skins or fibers from liquid Presses liquid from cooked greens or vegetables for healthy, preservative-free stock Perforations easily create gnocchi Stainless-steel is heat- and stain-resistant to process hot or acidic foods Soft-grip handles prevent strain
Overall rating:
3.875 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
11 out of 16(69%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for OXO Potato Ricer
Review 1 for OXO Potato Ricer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Kitch Tool

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Sammy2
fromRochester, NY, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Curtis Stone
I am so happy that I finally found this item. I looked everywhere.I've seen them use this on the cooking shows and it really is a excellent kitchen tool.My mashed potatoes where like silk with out using the electric mixer.
My Favorite BrandCusinart
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for OXO Potato Ricer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Potato Ricer

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Sue39
fromMN
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I used it for my tomatoes I put in the freezer for soup and work excellent. I like the way of changing blades works. I am looking forward to doing my potatoes for my Lefse.
My Favorite BrandALL
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for OXO Potato Ricer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Wonderful Ricer

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Bobcooks
fromLake Oswego, OR, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I wanted to make gnocchi for the first time and every recipe suggested using a ricer for the potatoes. After searching the Internet and watching several YouTube demonstrations I settled on this model. I like the fact it gives you 3 finess choices without having to take it apart. It does take some effort but did a great job and it cleans up nicely although I struggled a bit putting it back together but chalk that up to unfamiliarity. Overall It is a great value. Now I have to find more uses as I found out we are not wild about gnocchi.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for OXO Potato Ricer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My wife wanted a ricer so I picked this one

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Customer avatar
ab98
fromCalifornia, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
My wife loves this ricer. Used it for meshed potatoes on thanksgiving and loved the ease of use and easy to clean. Very happy with purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for OXO Potato Ricer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super Mash

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Customer avatar
silvereagle
fromRaleigh, NC, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mario Batali
OXO's potato ricer does a good job. It's simple to use and easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for OXO Potato Ricer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Purchased for spaetzle as advertised

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer avatar
scsocop
fromFlorida, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I purchased it for a specifically to make spaetzle. When the dough was pressed through it just came out and clumped together, not separated. I did not use it for potatoes as I have a ricer now. The hopper is very small. The quality seems to be good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for OXO Potato Ricer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I was looking for!

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Lonelydadathome
fromWestern Iowa
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
I have been a fan of home-made noodles since I was a boy. My mother would make beef soup every Saturday for lunch, with home-made noodles. When I was old enough I got to make the noodles one small spoonful at a time.When I grew up I continued the tradition. I have looked for a long time for a better way to make the small noodles, and have finally found it. The middle size holes are ideal for making noodles just the right size. The unit is sturdy and very well built, and cleans easily. I wish I had found this years ago.
PS: Someday I may even rice potatoes with it!
My Favorite BrandLodge Logic
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for OXO Potato Ricer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

OXO Potato Ricer

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Kathleen4
fromBrookfield, CT, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Martyr
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
It was a Christmas gift, but when my husband saw it he felt that it was much too big and heavy for our son's sweetheart (a very new cook) to deal with. We're keeping the OXO ricer for ourselves and will find a more trimmed down ricer (we have one of those now) for her. OXO is usually an outstanding name with great products that we have enjoyed purchasing in the past.
My Favorite BrandOXO is one, usually
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for OXO Potato Ricer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Terrible - sent it back

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
patcfan
fromCharlottesville, VA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Could not get it to turn to small opening for potatoes.
Sending it back
My Favorite Brand?
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for OXO Potato Ricer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

OXO Potato Ricer - I love it.

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer avatar
grehyoundmom45
fromIllinois
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Curtis Stone
I know this product has been around for a long time. I finally decided to purchase it when I saw it in your catalog. It really is a handy thing to have. I couldn't believe how smooth the potatoes were (no lumps, which is how my husband likes them). I only wish it could do a larger amount of potatoes at a time. It's great for 3 or 4 people but not a big party.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for OXO Potato Ricer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

OXO ricer

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Rosewdbnb
fromHolley NY
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
broker the first time it was used
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for OXO Potato Ricer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

OK, but go for the SS version, worth the extra $$$

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
SCOTTSO52
fromNJ
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Worked great for potatoes, but not for San Marzano canned tomatos...
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for OXO Potato Ricer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I ALREADY BOUGHT ONE FOR MY SISTER.

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
KIDCORN
fromTHE WOODLANDS, TEXAS
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
BEST POTATO RICER I HAVE EVER USED, IT'S TOLERANCE IS PERFECT , NO POTATOES GOING AROUND THE PLUNGER TO WASTE, I HAVE TO MAKE A LIST FOR CHRISTMAS PRESENT, THIS ITEM WILL TAKE CARE OF ABOUT SIX OF THEM.
My Favorite BrandDEPENDS ON NEEDS.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for OXO Potato Ricer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

PostedApril 23, 2012
Customer avatar
shebazmommy
fromTraverse City, MI, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
The product works wonderfully and is easy to use. The potatoes are light and fluffy... we also have made egg salad!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for OXO Potato Ricer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Customer avatar
jeane103
fromphiladelphia, pa
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
With the holidays coming up...this will be so useful. I have had to peel and mash my potatoes for so many years :) thank you
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for OXO Potato Ricer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ricer

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Customer avatar
picolo3
fromus
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
i love my ricer it's sturdy and easy to use
My Favorite Brandoxo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.