Customer reviews for Fagor Duo Stainless-Steel Pressure Cooker

Fagor Duo Stainless-Steel Pressure Cooker

Fagor Duo Stainless-Steel Pressure Cooker : Advanced, pressure-regulating system on this Fagor duo pressure cooker features triple-lock safety mechanisms, allowing safe and easy pressure cooking. "One touch" energy-efficient operation with lid that self-locks at the flip of a switch, and two pressure-release valves for ultimate safety. Lid will not open until all pressure is released. Pressure-level indicator with valve signals to gauge pressure, and increase or decrease burner heat. The Fagor 18/10 stainless-steel pressure cooker with aluminum-encapsulated base ensures even heat distribution, without hot spots. Multitasking stove top pressure cooker makes it easy to can vegetables, fruits, meats or sauces. Not limited to canning, this pressure cooker creates meals in 70% less time, maintaining the natural color, essential nutrients and flavor of foods for healthier dining. Vegetables are ready in two minutes, risotto in less than 7 minutes, soup, stew, chicken or beef in as few as 10 minutes. The triple-safety mechanism on this Fagor duo pressure cooker prevents pressure buildup, ensuring this cooker won't "blow its top" in the middle of cooking meals or canning. Spring-activated pressure mechanism features two settings: high at 15 psi for canning or cooking roasts, and low at 8 psi for delicate foods. Independent pressure indicator valves make it easy to monitor cooking progress. 18/10 magnetic stainless-steel exterior provides the convenience of using this pressure cooker on any cooktop, including induction. Includes stainless-steel pasta/steamer basket insert, instructions, recipe booklet and pressure cooking "how-to" DVD. Hand wash. 10-year manufacturer warranty. Product Features Cook food 70% faster with this advanced, energy-efficient duo pressure cooker One touch energy-efficient operation with lid that self-locks at the flip of a switch Safety-lock on handle and two independent over-pressure valves control pressure and prevent premature opening Two pressure settings, high (15 psi) for canning or cooking meat and low (8 psi) for delicate foods Pressure indicator with valve signals to gauge pressure, and determine when to increase or decrease burner heat 18/10 stainless-steel with aluminum-encapsulated base for even heat distribution, cooking consistency and energy efficiency Helper handle for easy transport Includes stainless-steel pasta/steamer basket insert, support trivet, instructions, recipe booklet and DVD: Pressure Cooking Is As Easy As 1-2-3 Vegetables are ready in 2 minutes, risotto in 7 minutes, soups, stew, chicken or beef in as few as 10 minutes Instruction booklet features cooking times, cooking conversion guides for traditional recipes, and high-altitude tips
Overall rating:
4.84 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
25 out of 25(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Fagor Duo Stainless-Steel Pressure Cooker
Review 1 for Fagor Duo Stainless-Steel Pressure Cooker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer avatar
ToddQ
fromPortland, OR, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I purchased this model after it was recommended in Cooks Illustrated. Good build quality especially the bottom thickness which is good for browning meats and deglazing without damaging the pan.
I would definitely buy this again.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fagor Duo Stainless-Steel Pressure Cooker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my pressure cooker!

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Sue12
fromIllinois
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
I have never used a pressure cooker before but saw a review of Fagor Duo describing it as something you won't regret investing in. No regrets! I have made a soup, chicken, vegetables and dessert with success. I look forward to many delicious healthy fast meals in my future.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fagor Duo Stainless-Steel Pressure Cooker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer avatar
MondoBach
fromLong Island, New York, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
Bought this on the recommendation of America's Test Kitchen and have found their review to be very accurate. This pressure cooker feels very safe and very sturdy. I did a chicken recipe from the book that came with it and it was wonderfully juicy and rich in just about 45 minutes. I'll be relying heavily on this piece of equipment in my kitchen.
My Favorite BrandCuisinart
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fagor Duo Stainless-Steel Pressure Cooker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm a convert!

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Customer avatar
VeganGoddess
fromChicago, IL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Vegetarian
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
Buying this pressure cooker was my first foray into pressure cooking, and I was a little uncertain. But I'm convinced now. I eat a plant-based diet, which includes a lot of beans, and I was tired of eating overly salty canned beans or cooking my own in hours on the stove (even after pre-soaking). This pressure cooker is easy to use and clean, and it cooks presoaked beans in under 15 minutes. It takes about 3-7 minutes to come up to pressure first. After that happens, you lower the heat and set a timer and then you can ignore it until the timer goes off. I watched the video that comes with it before trying to cook anything, and that was really helpful. If you've been waiting to make the jump into pressure cooking, don't hesitate to try this cooker -- it'll make a convert of you, too. (The 6-quart size is good for 2-4 people.)
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fagor Duo Stainless-Steel Pressure Cooker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow, This worked GREAT!

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Customer avatar
MrSohoStar
fromColorado Springs, CO, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
We've become so dependent on the microwave that I wasn't sure that we could ever do without it. Tonight we cooked a whole chicken and veggies in a total cooking time of 1 hr, which included prep. The meat was moist, the seasonings penetrated the chicken and for the combination of speed and great flavor. The microwave has been demoted to only warming mugs of coffee.
This is a tremendous value for the money. Thanks
My Favorite BrandCuisinart
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fagor Duo Stainless-Steel Pressure Cooker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromEvansville, Indiana
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Friend
I love the size and shape on this pressure (8 quart) cooker. I am a big fan of pressure cookers owning at least 6 in different sizes and shapes. I am replacing my favorite one with this, which happened to be the same size and shape. It is perfect for my chicken and dumplings and so many more things I make for Sunday dinners for the family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fagor Duo Stainless-Steel Pressure Cooker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Pelican
fromSanibel, FL
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
The cooker preformed as I hoped and was easy to clean after using. I plan to use it frequently. I seldom used my old cooker because it was more bother than it was worth. I use the pressure cooker with my Induction Cooktop for easy control of heat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fagor Duo Stainless-Steel Pressure Cooker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First time user

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer avatar
drmjherr
fromWaterford Township, MI, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Giada De Laurentis
It was easy to use. You get a great cookbook with it. We did our St Patrick's Day corned beef this year. YUMMY! I can't wait to try some other recipes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fagor Duo Stainless-Steel Pressure Cooker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE my Fagor Duo pressure cooker!

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Sockcranker
fromVancouver,WA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
After exhaustive research I purchased this pressure cooker from chefs and I am so happy with it!
I really tested it and made grains, beans and stews ,
Soups . Im so happy that I bought at a time when I recieved the cooks illustrated cookbook with it .
Their explanations and recipes are foolproof.
Do your household a favor and jump into pressure cooking today with this Fagor pressure cooker.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fagor Duo Stainless-Steel Pressure Cooker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
augusta
fromJersey City, NJ, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
I LOVE THE FAGOR PRESSURE COOKER. THE FOOD IS SO MUCH BETTER AND I USE IT EVERYDAY.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fagor Duo Stainless-Steel Pressure Cooker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fagor Duo SS Pressure Cooker

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Fubar1
fromOlympia, WA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I have used this 3 or 4 times since I rec'd it and have been very happy, so far, with the product.
My Favorite BrandAll Clad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fagor Duo Stainless-Steel Pressure Cooker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Time Saver

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
softballmamame
fromAlbuquerque, NM, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I love my new pressure cooker. What a time saver! I'm having fun again trying new recipes to use in the pressure cooker. It cooks so much food that we have left overs all week. Takes the worry out of will the dish be done. It is and is awesome. Very tasteful and nutritious. Takes more time to prep usually than it takes to cook.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fagor Duo Stainless-Steel Pressure Cooker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
KPRP
fromFayetteville, NC, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
Used this for the first time yesterday. Made pot roast with carrots and potatoes. It was wonderful! The book that comes with the cooker and the America's Test Kitchen cookbook differ quite a lot on how long to cook things. I'll work on it. Overall, I can't wait to try other dishes!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fagor Duo Stainless-Steel Pressure Cooker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fagor Duo Stainless-Steel Pressure Cooker

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromShreveport, LA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
While this is a Christmas gift and we have not had a chance to cook with it yet, I must say that I am very impressed with the quality of construction as well as the instructions, DVD and books sent with it. We look forward to puting all of the above to work soon.
My Favorite BrandAs of now Fagor!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fagor Duo Stainless-Steel Pressure Cooker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fagor Duo 6 qt pressure cooker

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
dworja
fromColorado Springs, CO
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
It worked splendidly. Get the 8 qt instead.
My Favorite BrandKitchenAid
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Fagor Duo Stainless-Steel Pressure Cooker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Replacement Pressure Cooker

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Customer avatar
AlwaysCooking1
fromConneaut Lake, Pennsylvania 16316, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
Very Happy with it. I have used pressure cookers for 50 years. Would buy again and will most likely be buying a larger one. The one I am reviewing is 6 quart, perfect for a family. I do so much cooking though, that I would like a second one, maybe 8 quart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Fagor Duo Stainless-Steel Pressure Cooker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great investment

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromSan Francisco
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Got my Fagor Duo 8 quart pressure washer just before Thanksgiving. I used it initially to make about 3 quarts of turkey stock for our feast and it came out wonderfully. Best it only took about 1 hour to do the whole thing. This is definitely a keeper for our kitchen and something we will use often. The quality of the Fagor Duo is first rate and the safety features set an industry standard.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Fagor Duo Stainless-Steel Pressure Cooker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pressure Cooker

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Sandra1
fromRedlands, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
The pressure cooker performs to expectations. The inclusion of a cook book for the pressure cooker was a surprise bonus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Fagor Duo Stainless-Steel Pressure Cooker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

new kitchen gadget

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Bev19
fromMO
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I really like this pressure cooker, it is the right size, easy to use, and safe. I cooked fresh green beans in it the first time, cooked them only 4 minutes and they tasted so good.
My Favorite Brandbreville
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Fagor Duo Stainless-Steel Pressure Cooker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast, Easy, and safe

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Customer avatar
edb3
fromWareham,MA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
I bought an Electric Pressure cooker and on the second use ruined it. The Fagor I bought to replace the Electric has better capacity, and is easier to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>