Customer reviews for Kuhn Rikon Large Spill STOP Silcone Lid, 12 inch

Kuhn Rikon Large Spill STOP Silcone Lid, 12 inch

Kuhn Rikon Large Spill STOP Silcone Lid, 12 inch : Invented by experts in the cooking industry, this Kuhn Rikon high-grade silicone lid reinvents the way chefs boil food. Cooking pasta, potatoes, rice or vegetables, this heat-safe lid features unique center "flower petals" that lift to vent water and stop boilovers. Chefs use this amazing silicone lid to reduce stock, boil chicken or vegetables, without continuously monitoring the pot. Excellent as a splatter guard over a saucepan, skillet or in a microwave. Flexible shield is gentle on cookware, will not scratch rims or surfaces. When boiling stops, center petals collapse, sealing the lid flat, efficiently creating a vacuum to retain flavor and nutrients, and keep food warm for serving. This silicone lid is a cooking "must-have" to stop spills and keep the stove top or countertop clean. Confidently saute or deglaze using this splatter guard. Heat-resistant to 400 F. Microwave- and dishwasher-safe. Fits 6" to 10" Dia. pot or skillet. Superior in design, this silicone lid is the result of outstanding engineering by Kuhn Rikon, leaders of innovative, functional kitchen tools and appliances for more than 70 years. Product Features Potatoes, pasta, rice or vegetables will not boil over using this silicone lid Center "flower petals" lift to vent water and stop boilovers Ideal to reduce stock, boil chicken or vegetables Use as a splatter guard over saucepan, skillet or in a microwave When boiling is done, petals collapse, creating a tight-sealing lid on pan rim to retain ingredient flavors and nutrients Keeps food warm for serving Flexible silicone protects pan rim or surfaces from scratches Prevents spillovers to keep stove top or countertop clean Heat-resistant to 400 F Fits 6" to 10" Dia. pot or skillet. Kuhn Rikon is well-known for developing tools and appliances that are superb in functionality, dependability and design, and is one of the most respected kitchen/restaurant manufacturers in Europe
Overall rating:
4.892 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
36 out of 37(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Kuhn Rikon Large Spill STOP Silcone Lid, 12 inch
Review 1 for Kuhn Rikon Large Spill STOP Silcone Lid, 12 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

PostedApril 18, 2013
Customer avatar
deembook
fromSoutheast Tennessee, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
I was so pleased when I received my purchase of this. I have these lids in 2 sizes and have given as a gift also. In haste to get dinner done I have been known to turn the burner too high when boiling potatoes, etc. I think you'll be happy with them.
My Favorite BrandKITCHENAID
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kuhn Rikon Large Spill STOP Silcone Lid, 12 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FINALLY!

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer avatar
NJfarmgirl57
fromStuart, FL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
Why did I hate my smooth top range? BOILED OVER MESSES! I always seem to be looking the other way as my (you name it) comes to a boil... BUT NO MORE! Thank-you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kuhn Rikon Large Spill STOP Silcone Lid, 12 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what we were looking for

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Coinace
fromAlbion, NY 14411, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Dad
Works as advertized !!! We highly recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kuhn Rikon Large Spill STOP Silcone Lid, 12 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the trick!

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Lou50
fromNew York, NY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
Does exactly what I needed! Easy to use, clean, and offered more versatility than I expected. Works as a splatter screen in the microwave. Fits a variety of pot sizes.
My Favorite BrandToo many to list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kuhn Rikon Large Spill STOP Silcone Lid, 12 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer avatar
suzmshep
fromWilliston, VT, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Finally, I don't have to watch the rice pot while I am cooking the main course. Better yet, I don't have to clean up a messy stove after the rice pot has boiled over. This thing is amazing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kuhn Rikon Large Spill STOP Silcone Lid, 12 inch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does what it says!

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Customer avatar
tryanother12
fromChicago, IL
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
My boyfriend would always boil over on my stainless stove and I would always have to clean it up and I would get upset - so when he saw this - we had to get it. No more boil overs! Love it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kuhn Rikon Large Spill STOP Silcone Lid, 12 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Customer avatar
Sassyairedale123
fromWoodland Park, CO 80863, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Martyr
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
Works perfectly as advertized and keeps my stove top clean.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kuhn Rikon Large Spill STOP Silcone Lid, 12 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The BEST kitchen item I've bought in a decade!!

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Customer avatar
mcl3086
fromSalt Lake City, UT, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
Do not wait, hesitate, ho or hum...BUY this item!!
For years, my wife (and sometimes I) would lose focus and have stuff boil over, making a huge mess to clean up. This thing works just as advertised...it allows you a bit of leniency when cooking and multi-tasking in the kitchen.
I like that they're made with high quality silicone, they're easy to clean, and fit a large variance of pots. I have both sizes, use them daily, and have NO complaints. I know they're a bit pricey, but for the stress relief in the kitchen...they're worth every penny!
My Favorite BrandKuhn Rikon
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kuhn Rikon Large Spill STOP Silcone Lid, 12 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more scrubbing off boilovers

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Diane78
fromBartlesville, OK, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
Works as described. Wish I had tried this product sooner. Will be giving these as gifts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kuhn Rikon Large Spill STOP Silcone Lid, 12 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps my stove clean!!!

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Coolmeemaw
fromHighland, CA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I was always boiling things over and making a mess of my stove. Not now! I LOVE this. I probably will never use a real lid again. Well worth the money. I bought both sizes and am very glad that I did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kuhn Rikon Large Spill STOP Silcone Lid, 12 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This thing is a miracle!!

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Kitty65
fromGrass Valley, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Giada De Laurentis
I put this on my pot of potatoes, turned the stove on high, and promptly went outside and forgot about it for about 20 minutes. When I remembered, I went inside and discovered my potatoes rapidly boiling away without a single drop of spillage or splash.
I would recommend this to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kuhn Rikon Large Spill STOP Silcone Lid, 12 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Customer avatar
SPierce
frommassachusetts
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I love mine, no burnt on water on the glass top stove. Makes a good cover too. Be carful removing them from a hot pot...use a pot holder.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kuhn Rikon Large Spill STOP Silcone Lid, 12 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer avatar
TXcooker2
fromTxamature2
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Calamity
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Hot diggity dog! NO more boil overs!! Love, love, love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kuhn Rikon Large Spill STOP Silcone Lid, 12 inch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Clean Stove

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer avatar
JSquirrel
fromSeattle, WA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
Relief when making rice, noodles, soups or anything that can boil over onto your stove. No more tearing your stove apart to clean every time you cook something that boils over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kuhn Rikon Large Spill STOP Silcone Lid, 12 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Kitchen Tool

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromRochester, NY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I ordered both sizes of this spill stop silicone cover based on review I had seen. Since we love pasta and I use a large pasta pot, when cooking it always boils over. Therefore, this kitchen cover appealed to me. Well, it works exactly like it is marketed. No boil over from my pasta pot. No boil over when cooking potatoes for a dinner party we were having. I love and adore this product and am so happy I ordered both sizes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kuhn Rikon Large Spill STOP Silcone Lid, 12 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Zike
fromEndwll, NY
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Rachel Ray
The spill stop lid works great. I had purchased the 10" previously, but needed he 12" for the larger pots. It works great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kuhn Rikon Large Spill STOP Silcone Lid, 12 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent boil control

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
denizen
fromFort Collins, CO, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
Eye-catching colors make this easy to grab, easy to use. Using this product allows me to use smaller sized pots for pasta or potatoes because there is no boil-over. Easy clean-up, too.
My Favorite BrandKitchenaid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kuhn Rikon Large Spill STOP Silcone Lid, 12 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really Works!

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
CLDC
fromTexas
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Vegetarian
I own a Kuhn Rikon Spill Stop and love it so much that I bought two more for Christmas presents.
With the Kuhn Rikon you no longer have to worry about boil overs when cooking.this is especially useful when cooking pasta and rice. Also you can boil pasta in a smaller pot, I rarely use my big pasta pot since getting my Rikon. Water evaporation is no longer an issue when using this device, there is some slight evaporation but I have never had to add additional water while cooking. When cleaning up I take the Rikon apart and hand wash the flap and place the main component in the dishwasher. This is a great product, I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kuhn Rikon Large Spill STOP Silcone Lid, 12 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally no messy stove to clean

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Marmmeg
fromMinnesota, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I was skeptical - it is pricey - but it was Christmas so I went ahead and got myself a present. I must say one time and I am a believer! The Spill STOP did just that - stopped the potatoes from making a huge mess on the stove. We all stood and watched the foam come up in the middle of the lid but it stayed there. I can now set a timer and not have to watch a pot boil!!
Great and it fits several sizes. Would definitely recommend to any and all.
My Favorite Brandgodiva
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kuhn Rikon Large Spill STOP Silcone Lid, 12 inch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

lids are great

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Barb1964
fromBlairsville Pa
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Calamity
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
the lids are great for people who forget to watch pots on the stove and always have boil overs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>