Customer reviews for CHEFS Olive Wood Pepper Mill

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CHEFS Catalog.

CHEFS Olive Wood Pepper Mill

CHEFS Olive Wood Pepper Mill : For culinarians who demand the finest accessories, this richly-grained olive wood pepper mill is ultra-smooth to operate, adding precise amount of flavor. A dial at the bottom, with settings from 1 to 5, adjusts the ceramic grind to mill peppercorns from fine to coarse, releasing freshly-ground flavor. This olive wood pepper mill brings the beauty of Italian wood, and the contemporary design of the best-loved mills to the table. Distinctive in deep golds with brown and black grains characteristic only to olive wood, this pepper grinder is so uniquely original, no two are alike. Naturally dense in composition, olive wood is the woodworker's choice for handcrafting fine furniture, instruments and inlay work. This olive wood pepper mill reaffirms the durability and beauty of the wood, receiving well-deserved recognition in the kitchen and on today's table. Just as the gourmet chef serves entrees with meticulous attention to detail, this olive wood pepper mill seasons food with the finest of table accessories. Smooth curvature design fits perfectly in the hand for effortless dispensing. Noncorrosive, rustproof ceramic grind is also ideal to grind sea salt. Spice not included. Wipe clean. CHEFS signature collection of professional-grade kitchen tools, cookware, bakeware, dinnerware and more, is available only at CHEFS Catalog. You will love the selection -- meticulously crafted and tested to delight the most discerning cook, these tools deliver exceptional quality, performance and durability in the kitchen. Product Features Exceptionally crafted of hand-selected olive wood from Italy, this pepper mill is a strikingly-rich complement to the table Operates smoothly to add precise amount of flavor. Dial on bottom, with settings from 1 to 5, adjusts to mill peppercorns from fine to coarse grind The richness of Italian wood combines with contemporary style to bring the best-loved mill design to the table Deep golds with brown and black grains are characteristic only to olive wood, creating a mill so unique, no two are alike Naturally dense in composition, olive wood is the woodworker's choice for durability and beauty in furniture, now receiving well-deserved appreciation in the kitchen and on the table Noncorrosive, rustproof ceramic grind is also ideal to grind sea salt Smooth curvature design fits perfectly in the hand for effortless dispensing
Overall rating:
4.632 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
17 out of 19(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for CHEFS Olive Wood Pepper Mill
Review 1 for CHEFS Olive Wood Pepper Mill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer avatar
MKlimas
fromPittsburgh, PA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
Very high quality pepper grinder! I have it sitting out on my kitchen counter because it looks so nice! The wood is beautiful & feels solid, and the adjustment wheel at the bottom makes it very easy to have a nice, coarse grind, or very fine. I only wish there was a matching salt grinder to go with it!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for CHEFS Olive Wood Pepper Mill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My husband loves it

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Sherry6
fromTexas
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
Bought this Pepper mill as a Christmas gift for my husband the "chef" He has been wanting one for a while. The wood grains are beautiful. He loves it and I was a hero for finding it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for CHEFS Olive Wood Pepper Mill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great grinder

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Robert345
fromGeorgia, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
The old one was worn out so I purchased this one. Sharp, consistent size grind, easy to fill, and the wood accent is beautiful.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for CHEFS Olive Wood Pepper Mill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pepper Mill!

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Tabbitha
fromSnohomish WA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
Recently purchased this pepper mill and it's just what I wanted. Really puts out a good amount of grind with each twist and is easily adjusted. I like the natural wood finish as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for CHEFS Olive Wood Pepper Mill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

... a pepper grinder that's beautiful & functional

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Customer avatar
SwedeDC
fromArlington, VA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
At last, a pepper grinder made of olive wood, with a durable ceramic grinding mechanism! To adjust the grind to larger chunks of pepper, just loosen the top screw a little. There is no finish on the wood, but just use it and the oil from one's hands will put a sheen on the wood, or apply lemon oil to speed up the process.
The quality and price is right, and I fully recommend this product for use in the kitchen and the dining table.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for CHEFS Olive Wood Pepper Mill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

smooth and silky

PostedMay 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Gerry36
fromBedminster, PA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
The olive wood feels so smooth in my hands, and it grinds like a well-oiled machine. I am more than pleased with this purchase.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for CHEFS Olive Wood Pepper Mill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!!

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromPensacola, FL, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I had wanted a quality pepper mill for a long time and am so glad I found this one! Beautiful finish and the settings produce a good quantity of pepper wwith each grind!! Love it!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for CHEFS Olive Wood Pepper Mill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wood Pepper Mill

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromWisconsin, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
Great quality and works great! Really liked the price!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for CHEFS Olive Wood Pepper Mill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks great!

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Customer avatar
JDH56
fromDenver, CO, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
Love my new pepper mill. Before using it, I treated it with Boos Mystery Oil to protect the wood. The pepper mill works great and looks beautiful on the counter alongside my olive wood salt keeper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for CHEFS Olive Wood Pepper Mill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

peppermill

PostedJune 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromwinston salem nc
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Beginner
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
I just got my mill and it has the natural wood grain
look of olive wood. Now when I reach for the mill I
always admire the natural look. The mill seems to be well built and grinds the pepper in any size needed. The mill appears to be well made and if it lasts as long as it looks , I know that I will be very happy.
My Favorite Brandcusinat
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for CHEFS Olive Wood Pepper Mill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great new instrument in my kitchen

PostedApril 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Texas65
fromKyle, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Love It ! I feel like a real chef now.
Texas65
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for CHEFS Olive Wood Pepper Mill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pepper Mill!

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer avatar
GeorgeV
fromWashington, DC
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
I have another very nice pepper mill that I keep by my stove to use while cooking. Since I really like the flavor of fresh ground pepper, I would move it to the dinner table to use during meals. I would need to wipe off any grease splatters or fingerprints before doing so. I wanted another pepper mill of similar quality that I can keep on the table all the time, clean and ready to for use. This olive wood pepper mill was just the ticket! It's beautiful and very solildly built. It is just the right size for your hands, and the grinding action is precise and reliable (no stray big chunks of peppercorns from loose action like some that I have used). The adjustment mechanism to change the size of the grind works beautifully. If there is any negative, it would be only that there is no finish on the wood. The olive wood is beautiful and smooth enough without a finish, but it would be even more so if it had a thin coating of varnish or polish. I plan to coat mine with some mineral oil to give it a little shine and protect the wood from moisture, but I don't really think it is necessary. You won't be disappointed with the quality or the beauty of this product!
My Favorite BrandKitchenaid
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for CHEFS Olive Wood Pepper Mill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Attractive and Functional

PostedApril 23, 2013
Customer avatar
PotluckStar
fromNew Hampshire
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
I have been looking for reasonably priced pepper mills for years, and these fit the bill. (I ordered two.) The olive wood is distinctive, allowing me to easily identify which type of pepper each contains (I use 5 different peppers in my cooking), and attractive, and the mechanism easily adjusted. Both function well, producing a good amount of ground product with each twist of the top. Recommended.
My Favorite BrandAll-Clad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for CHEFS Olive Wood Pepper Mill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Jackie279999999
fromOhio
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
When I received this I was disappointed. I don't believe it was olive wood. There was no grain in the base and it had the appearance of balsa wood. I've purchase the olive wood salt keeper which is fantastic but this isn't even on the same planet as that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for CHEFS Olive Wood Pepper Mill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pepper Mill

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Customer avatar
mdfew
fromLockport, NY 14094, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
Beutiful! Works great! Looks fantastic on the counter top.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for CHEFS Olive Wood Pepper Mill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally...

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Gayge
fromCape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I've been searching for the perfect pepper mill for years and I believe I've finally found it! My new olive wood pepper mill grinds perfectly and evenly every time, and the wood will just get more character with age and wear.
My Favorite BrandChef's Choice
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for CHEFS Olive Wood Pepper Mill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Christmas gifts for my family

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Bill325
fromLititz, PA 17543, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Giada De Laurentis
Last year I gave the olive wood salt keepers (purchased from CHEFS), and these pepper/salt mills will make very nice companion gifts.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for CHEFS Olive Wood Pepper Mill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer avatar
sarasmile
fromSeattle, WA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Friend
Love how it works, how it looks...my friends always compliment me on it. This is a perfect stocking stuffer!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for CHEFS Olive Wood Pepper Mill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Worked great for one day!

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Customer avatar
rwholly
fromPayson, AZ 85541, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
Filled it with peppercorns and it made great big flakes the first day and then after that it's decided to make little small pieces so I don't know what happened.
My Favorite BrandKeurig
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.