Customer reviews for California Kitchen Chef's Press

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CHEFS Catalog.

California Kitchen Chef's Press

California Kitchen Chef's Press : The heavyweight construction of these grill presses allows meat to cook up to 30% faster. Stainless-steel meat presses apply consistent pressure to retain juicy interior flavor, while vents release steam and surface moisture to prevent overcooking. Stack and interlock to create an extended press and accommodate larger cuts of meat. Grilling, sauteing, steaming, roasting or marinating, these grill presses are ideal for steaks, poultry, hamburgers or fish fillets. Pan sear chicken breasts or halibut, saute and caramelize onions, roast vegetables or press marinating meats and infuse seasonings faster. Perfect to toast panini sandwiches, searing the top and toasting the outside of bread, while heating ingredients inside. Accommodate the thickness of ciabatta rolls or baguette breads. These stainless-steel meat presses were invented by a professional chef, enabling the restaurant chef and home gourmet to cook more efficiently, and accurately gauge the cooking time of multiple steaks, hamburgers, poultry or fish. These stacking cooking presses are more effective than spatulas that apply inconsistent pressure, squeeze out too much juice, that can overcook foods. Lets you decide the number of grill presses and even distribution of pressure according to food size, thickness and density. Press out grease from meats and serve healthier entrees. Also ideal to flatten bacon while cooking, and prevent uncooked edges. Stainless-steel. Freezer-, oven-, broiler- and dishwasher-safe. Product Features Heavyweight construction allows meat to cook up to 30% faster Applies consistent pressure to retain juicy interior flavor, while vents release steam and surface moisture to prevent overcooking Presses stack and interlock to create an extended press and accommodate larger cuts of meat Ideal for grilling steaks, poultry, hamburgers or fish fillets Pan sear chicken breasts or halibut, saute and caramelize onions, roast vegetables or press marinating meats and infuse seasonings Toast panini sandwiches, searing the top and toasting the outside of bread, while heating ingredients inside Accommodate thick ciabatta rolls or baguette breads Stackable to use multiple presses according to food size, thickness and density Press out grease from meats and serve healthier entrees Flatten bacon and prevent uncooked edges Superior conduction of heat promotes faster cooking times Invented by a professional chef, these presses are more effective than spatulas for applying consistent pressure and accurately grilling multiple foods
Overall rating:
4.783 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
23 out of 23(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for California Kitchen Chef's Press
Review 1 for California Kitchen Chef's Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Customer avatar
calamus
fromOmaha, NE, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
This is the second set of these presses I have purchased. When you heat them up they cut down on the cooking time for burgers, steaks, grilled cheese, etc. An added plus is they also cut down on splatter on indoor grills which cuts down on cleanup.
The weight is just right for one or you can stack them if more weight is needed. And the best thing is they are stainless steel and dishwasher safet.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for California Kitchen Chef's Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great presses!

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Cinda43
fromDallas, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I purchased these presses as gifts for my son and son-in-law, and they both loved them! In addition to use on the outdoor grill, they'll be used as bacon presses and for making panini sandwiches. Great product!
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for California Kitchen Chef's Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like it very much

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Mango11
fromCape Cod, MA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
So far I have used this press for grilled cheese sandwiches. Before, I used a smooth rock from the beach but this does stay on better!
I am very pleased with it, like the size and shape.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for California Kitchen Chef's Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Dood
fromLake Placid, FL
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
If you like to use an in house grill, you will love these. They would also work great outside on the grill, but I bought them for grilling inside.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for California Kitchen Chef's Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJune 1, 2012
Customer avatar
61Popover
fromMeriden, Ct, U
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I have wanted purchase a weighted press to flatten the bacon that I precook and then freese to use for Sunday morning breakfasts. This precook routine has saved me a lot of time in preparing our after church meal. By buying a 3 piece press set, I now have more control with the cooking time because I now have 3 sections going at once instead of 1 large area. Haven't tried it on our grill but I soon will.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for California Kitchen Chef's Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value with Multiple Uses

PostedMay 4, 2012
Customer avatar
atticmom
fromSt Cloud, Florida
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
Love these because of their size and the ability to stack them if you need a little extra weight on the item you are cooking. Great for burgers, pork chops, steaks, grilled cheese sandwiches, bacon and so much more. Can be used, side by side, end to end or stacked--what a choice!!!!!.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for California Kitchen Chef's Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Presses

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Customer avatar
MrB822
fromOverland Park, KS
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Wasn't sure at first. I bought three. After one use, ordered three more. All six used at one time fills out the griddle perfectly. No more curly bacon. Burgers are better and works well for fish. Easy to move around. Easy to wash in dishwasher. Never rust because they are stainless. In storage, they stack and take up very little room. And, you look like a "pro" when you use them! It's a winner in my book.
My Favorite BrandNot one in particular
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for California Kitchen Chef's Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My first "presses"...

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
karensbest
fromThompson Falls, MT 59873, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
I really love this purchase. First of all, there are three of them..this makes so much sense for using more than one at the same time. Second, I love it that they are stainless steel! Easy to clean and good to cook with. Third, the stack for easy storage. Just love these presses - am now sold on them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for California Kitchen Chef's Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Item for Kitchen or Grill

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Customer avatar
JR51
fromSan Antonio, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Gordon Ramsay
Love the Chef's Press! Great for burgers, chicken or any type of meat or vegetables that need to stay flat while cooking/grilling. Being light weight, the food items are not pressed down so hard that they overcook. Very easy to clean and store. Also works well on the smoking platform.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for California Kitchen Chef's Press
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to use and clean.

PostedJune 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Finaphear
fromLos Angeles, CA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
These work very well for grilled sandwiches. My only wish is that they were a little heavier. I find I need all three stacked for each sandwich. I just purchased a second set. They are well made and easy to wash up.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for California Kitchen Chef's Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chef's Press

PostedJune 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Garden1413
fromRome, NY
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
EXACTLY what I wanted. A previous purchase was MUCH to heavy. These are just the right weight although I would recommend selling them in a set of 4 rather than 3. The instructions indicate that these are diswasher safe - - I found that they rusted when put through the dishwasher.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for California Kitchen Chef's Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMay 2, 2013
Customer avatar
jgl971
fromBoone, NC, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
Better than the normally larger presses and being able to stack for extra weight is a plus
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for California Kitchen Chef's Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Weights

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer avatar
zeee
fromNew York
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
These work very well on the grill and are great for Bacon.
My Favorite BrandCooks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for California Kitchen Chef's Press
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just as I had hoped

PostedApril 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromRohnert Park, CA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
I've been toying with the idea of buying the California Kitchen Hamburger Press set for about a year. I finally bit the bullet and ordered it.
I've only used them once, but happily the worked just as I hoped. Used them on bacon, not burgers, and they were just perfect.
They come packed in a very convenient little box which I use to store them in.
I'm sure I will find many uses for them other then hamburgers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for California Kitchen Chef's Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Bacon Presses

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer avatar
BlueCat
fromNorth Augusta, South Carolina
My Cooking Level:Advanced
Love these presses because of their size and versatility. They are very useful for a variety of needs besides frying bacon. They work great for hamburger or other meat patties and sandwiches. They can be used in different pans because of their smaller size and if needed for more weight--stacked. They store easily because they stack on top of each other requiring little space. Because they are stainless steel, they require no pampering for cleaning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for California Kitchen Chef's Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the job

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Ghostxx
fromMatthews, NC, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
These presses do exactly what they are supposed to do.
Durable, space saving, efficient.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for California Kitchen Chef's Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

california kitchen chef's press

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Customer avatar
bounty
fromBrooklyn, NY, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
i buy a set of the california kitchen chef press and they work great on my burgers which came out perfect,all my guess love them so much that they all going to order one .And i will continue to show them off on all my grilling dates big up to chef catalog.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for California Kitchen Chef's Press
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great grill marks

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Customer avatar
FoodieNY
fromCairo, NY
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
Just enough weight for slider's and once it warms up, makes a nice pressure to squeeze just enough juice out of the burger and still maintains a great profile.
I would recommend this item for those that like medium to well done burgers. For rare, this item would be too much. I did enjoy this press and the grill marks are superb!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for California Kitchen Chef's Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJune 1, 2012
Customer avatar
sharlea1
fromOverland Park, KS, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
These are so handy to use. I grill a lot & they keep preasure on the meat for better cooking. I'v recommended them to several friends.
My Favorite Brandmy 10/30 sharpner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for California Kitchen Chef's Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow! Why disd I wait so long....

PostedMay 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Gourmond92627
fromCosta Mesa, CA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I used the grill press for the first time grilling a few boneless pork chops. The glaze and char marks were distinctive, chops didn't warp and they seemed to cook sooner than I am usual use to . I was skeptical at first since these stainless steel grill presses weighed only 3 ounces each but was amazed by their performance,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>