Customer reviews for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Built-In Grinder, BDC600XL

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CHEFS Catalog.

Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Built-In Grinder, BDC600XL

Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Built-In Grinder, BDC600XL : The Breville YouBrew sets the platinum standard for coffee maker automation, letting you select the beans, corresponding roast, precise strength and flavor, then grinds and brews automatically. Press the start button and the Breville digital coffee maker does the rest. Integrated burr grinder ensures maximum freshness from ground beans, and automatically activates the brewing process. With the exclusive Breville Brew IQ system, this coffee maker has Intelligent Dosing, grinding the precise amount of coffee beans according to brew size and strength you select. With five settings for strength, from mild to intense, and seven settings for flavor, this coffee maker adjusts steeping time to brew mild to bold, full-flavor coffee to please the most discriminating tastes of connoisseurs. This is the first drip coffee machine that is programmable to brew coffee into a single serving cup, the 12-cup thermal carafe, or a travel mug, with the clearance to accommodate tall insulated mugs for morning commutes. With this coffee maker, you can enjoy the same great coffee taste brewing a single cup, without sacrificing flavor. Large LCD screen on the user-friendly contoured panel displays "pre-heating" to indicate water heating and "brewing" for cycle in progress. Intelligent Pre-Heat function ensures water heats to the optimal temperature, extracting full coffee bean flavor, even when brewing smaller quantities. Brew pause activates automatically when you remove the carafe, without altering strength or flavor of coffee remaining to brew. Once the brew cycle is complete, ready signal sounds and "Empty Coffee Filter" flashes as a reminder to empty grounds, particularly useful when pre-programming for automatic start. LCD screen also indicates when water reservoir is empty and time to refill. Press the on button and the soft-opening, front-access basket swings out for easy filling to use pre-ground coffee. The best coffee requires enough time in hot water to brew full-bodied taste. This Breville digital coffee maker with thermal carafe brews coffee hot and the carafe keeps beverage hot for serving. Breville provides automation at a higher level, with LCD screen indicating when it is time to descale or clean the coffee chute. Easy-fill water reservoir features pop-up button and audible alert to prevent overfilling, and the LCD screen shows water level inside the reservoir. Includes gold-tone flat-base basket and burr cleaning brush. Removable drip tray accommodates direct brewing into travel mugs. Automatic shutoff. BPA-free parts. 1,100 watts. 1/2-lb. capacity bean hopper. Water reservoir holds 60-oz. Australian-based Breville sets the standard for advanced kitchen appliance performance and durability. Breville creates the new generation of heavy-duty, professional-grade countertop appliances for the home chef, with an eye for forward-thinking innovation, modern design and advanced technology. Product Features The premium coffee maker by Breville lets you select beans, roast, strength and flavor Press the start button and this advanced automated coffee maker does the rest Integrated burr grinder grinds whole beans prior to brewing, ensuring maximum freshness, flavor and aroma Breville Brew IQ system, features Intelligent Dosing, grinding the precise amount of coffee beans according to brew size and strength Intelligent Pre-Heat function ensures water heats to the optimal temperature, extracting full coffee bean flavor Five coffee strength settings, from mild to intense Seven flavor settings to customize taste, from mild to bold, automatically adjusting steeping time Programmable to brew coffee into a single serving cup, the 12-cup thermal carafe, or a travel mug Large LCD screen displays "pre-heating" to indicate water heating and "brewing" for cycle in progress Brew pause activates automatically when you remove the carafe LCD screen also shows water level inside reservoir, indicates when to descale or clean coffee chute Ready signal (with adjustable volume) alerts when brewing cycle is complete and LCD indicates "Empty Filter Basket" Programmable clock and auto start Press the on button and soft-opening, front-access basket swings out for easy filling to use pre-ground coffee Automatic shutoff Removable drip tray to brew directly into tall cups or travel mugs Gold-tone, flat-base basket filter Burr cleaning brush 12-cup double-wall, stainless-steel thermal carafe Easy, top-fill water reservoir with pop-up button and audible alert prevents overfilling BPA-free parts (in contact with water)
Overall rating:
3.6 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
4
13 out of 20(65%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Built-In Grinder, BDC600XL
Review 1 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Built-In Grinder, BDC600XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

"YouBrewed This?....Yes I Did!"

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Caddie
fromFort Worth, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
We read many reviews and even watched a few videos before buying the Breville YouBrew. The YouBrew is no doubt worth every penny. We purchased the stainless carafe and couldnt be happier. Needless to say unless you store your carafe in the refrigerator, it comes out plenty hot, not to mention very flavorful. YouBrew is far better than our old automatic mill and brew style coffee maker in craftsmanship, performance, and product quality...no comparison really. We first thought the bean hopper was a little small, but after using it, the size is perfect and allows for a fresher rotation of beans for the best brew every time. Imagine being able to adjust the strength and the amount of coffee you brew, from a cup size...to a travel size...to a full carafe. The money you save in drive through coffee purchases for the quality of coffee the YouBrew makes will absolutely spoil you--How can you beat that? Buy the YouBrew, pick an average quality bean, try it out, then go back and taste that overated cafe coffee you liked so much...again no comparison. The YouBrew makes even an average bean taste better.
Thank You Breville!
My Favorite BrandKitchenAid
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Built-In Grinder, BDC600XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker w/Built-in Grinder

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
AuntJay2
fromLansing, MI, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Dad
What an excellent coffee maker!!! It was worth the vast amount - this should last for years. I love getting up to coffee ready to drink. It took a few tries to perfect the brew to our high standards. Love it! Merry Christmas 2012!!!!
My Favorite Brandall quality brands
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Built-In Grinder, BDC600XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best yet!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
GoBlue
fromCleveland, OH, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
As a previous owner of KitchenAid and Krups coffee makers, The Breville YouBrew is far superior, because:
- it produces great flavor with flexibility to control strength and flavor (not just for show);
- thermal carafe is solid, offering drip-free pours while keeping brewed coffee hot for hours and is comparatively easy to clean;
- the steeping process yields great results, even with individual coffee/travel mug sizes;
- it features attractive, solid design coupled with intuitive controls for programming, set-up and clean-up;
- most of all, it consistently yields the best cup of coffee of any coffee maker we've ever owned.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Built-In Grinder, BDC600XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solidly made

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Pony
fromLakewood, WA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
This is a very attractive coffee maker. Having the grinder as part of the brew cycle is very nice and also saves space. It is wonderful to be able to select the coffee strength and also to turn off the audible timer. This is an excellent product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Built-In Grinder, BDC600XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best automatic coffee maker I've ever had...

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Customer avatar
TomK
fromMcGregor, TX
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
Had to carefully read & study directions, & then re-review procedures & steps... made several pots/cups of coffee before finally mastering what tasted best to me... seemed complicated & dificult to clean, but by the 3rd day I decided it is absolutely the best automatic coffee maker I've ever had! Really consistent! And very easy to keep clean! I like it! A bit pricey, but after using it one must admit it's worth the money!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Built-In Grinder, BDC600XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

finally a good coffee maker

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Vicki56
fromPortland, OR, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I bought this coffee maker as replacement for one that I bought about a year ago and I did not like it at all. the fact you do not have to measure the coffee and you can make as many cups as you want at a time, instead of having a full carafe sitting there, is a big plus for this machine. Using coffee beans instead of ground coffee, gives you a lot more flavor and sometimes you want only a cup, sometimes you want more, sometimes you want a stronger coffee, sometimes you want your coffee not so strong....this is the perfect machine for your taste.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Built-In Grinder, BDC600XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Product

PostedJune 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Whitey27
fromMiller Place, NY, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
For years I’ve been extremely selective of my culinary activities. My friends have called me a fanatic chef. I go to extremes get the tastes I want, like baking my own bread to make croutons.
Regardless, I can’t praise this product more; it brews excellent coffee by the cup or 12 cup carafe. A large cup of coffee takes around 4-5 minutes to brew, but it is worth the wait.
This is the second Breville product I’ve purchased, and the engineering on both are well thought out and executed. I’ve been in the technology field for 40 years, and it takes a lot to impress me, Breville has succeeded in doing so. The YouBrew is simple, easy to program and clean. The controls are well designed. The details are amazing, for example, when setting the time holding the forward or back buttons will cause the time to increment or decrement at a higher speed, but it will pause at 0, 15, 30 and 45, the common places for people to set automatic brew times.
I had to contact customer service, it was a pleasure.
My Favorite BrandBreville, All Clad, Sabatier
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Built-In Grinder, BDC600XL
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromNew England
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I bought this brewer through Chef's Catalog last July. The timer on it loses time and I need to set it a half hour or more ahead of time to start brewing at the time I want. I need to do this at least once a month. I contacted Breville and they said they'd replace it as it is a software issue however it would take SIX MONTHS to fix the software issue. It's now been over 6 months and nothing from Breville. I don't even want a replacement - the unit doesn't allow for really changing strength on the self grind setting so unless you like your coffe very strong on the weakest setting then you won't enjoy it. Also, the markings on the carafe and the top of the fill cap have rubbed off so it's difficult to align the carafe cover after cleaning it for reuse the next day. And it just bespeaks the shoddy workmanship of the product when the fill cap markings just rub off with very gentle usage. I would have expected Breville to have built a much better maker especially for the amount of money it costs but this unit is awful and I am going to go back to my old Cuisinart (for a lot less money) that lasted for years. Extremely disappointed in wasting almost $300 on this product.
+12points
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Built-In Grinder, BDC600XL
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor coffee engineering

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromPoquoson, VA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Used an 11 oz bag of coffee beans in three (3) pots.
The coffee basket is not large enough for the automatic grindings of a full carafe. Found out this issue on my first 12 cup carafe and confirmed it with an article in Cook's Illustrated magazine.
Coffee is bitter and everything must be pre-heated (to include the carafe or cup) before brewing.
Good idea but poorly executed.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Built-In Grinder, BDC600XL
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Short Lived

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer avatar
chicagojem
fromChicago, IL, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Professional Chef
When this coffee maker worked, I thought it was the best coffee maker ever. After several months of use the bean grider stopped working. After another month the water level gauge stopped working. Now, no matter what settings use, I can only brew a single cup of coffee.
The coffee pot keeps the coffee hot but it is a horrible design. It is almost impossible to get the last few cups out with/out making a complete mess.
Stay away from this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Built-In Grinder, BDC600XL
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not so "hot" coffee

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Diane57
fromWisconsin
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
My burr coffee grinder needed to be replaced, so I thought I would try a coffee maker with a grinder built right inside. Although the convenience of having the grinder built right into the coffee maker is a plus, I felt overall this product needs some fine tuning. First, they recommend rinsing the carafe with hot water before brewing your coffee, if you want "hot" coffee. This is not an alternative if using the pre-programing cycle. Initially you have semi-hot coffee, but the coffee does not stay hot for any extended amount of time. Next, after each brewing cycle you are supposed to empty the grounds from the basket, ( and a little flashing "empty basket" tells you so), but if you forget to replace the filter and you make another pot of coffee at any point after that, you have quite a mess!!! (The machine doesn't tell you that there is no filter in the basket) Also, because the carafe is stainless, and you cannot see the coffee in it, if you forget to empty any old coffee from the pot before brewing another, you also have a mess!!! Next, I found it hard to regulate the strength of the coffee, and the grounds made quite a mess in the basket, overflowing over the filter. Overall, this product needs some tweeking. I will be searching for another product.
My Favorite BrandAll-Clad,Le Crueset,Vita-mix,Cuisinart
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Built-In Grinder, BDC600XL
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

breville coffee maker BDC600XL

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer avatar
k9handler
fromphilippi, wv
My Cooking Level:Advanced
Had mine since July 2012 worked fine for a while, stopped brewing, doesn't even get hot. the thermal carafe keeps things fairly hot, but it is very hard to pour and clean. Definitely not worth the money. Going back to my old AMERICAN MADE press.
Kathy
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Built-In Grinder, BDC600XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Technical marvel and it makes great coffee

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Customer avatar
rick50
fromann arbor, mi
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
This customer did not provide a text review.
My Favorite BrandBreville
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Built-In Grinder, BDC600XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromSequim
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
Makes great whole bean coffee, grounds they should of kept seeping process in the preground coffee to make it as flavorable.
My Favorite BrandBrebille
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Built-In Grinder, BDC600XL
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

stopped working after three days

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Customer avatar
unhappypurchase
frompa
My Cooking Level:Advanced
sent to our son - he used it three times and now does not heat the water. for a premium priced item, extremely poor quality.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Built-In Grinder, BDC600XL
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Birth defect

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Echanson
fromNorth Carolina
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Despite much to admire about this product our initial exposure was a disappointment. Fresh out of the box and cleaned as recommended we made our first pot for us and our house guests at breakfast. Everyone raved. Accolades called for a second pot.
The grinder ground, the cycle shifted . . . and nothing else happened! The brew cycle failed to start and continued to fail no matter what we tried to do to get it to move hot water. Even when we used the pre-ground setting on our already ground beans it didn't heat.
We reverted to our previous coffeemaker and enjoyed the rest of breakfast.
I am sorry that this experience soured me on this product as I have been more than pleased with all other products by this maker that we use daily, but I do not tolerate failure in a product and was embarrassed by this experience. Would I try a replacement? Only if it were provided as a trial by the purveyor with payment to follow a successful trial run. Sorry to be a naysayer, but that's the way it rolls.
My Favorite BrandWüsthoff
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Built-In Grinder, BDC600XL
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

AN EXCELLENT COFFEE MAKER i LOVE MAKING ONE CUP

PostedMay 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Trice
fromNew York, NY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
The coffee stays hot for a good period of time. The ability to chose any size of serving and flavor intensity is a real plus. This is a great machine.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Built-In Grinder, BDC600XL
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

its a great coffee maker

PostedMay 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Jack652
fromWest Fargo, ND
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I rally like this device. The only thing is that it is bulkier than I thought.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Built-In Grinder, BDC600XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Grind & View I have ever owned.

PostedMay 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Patsy01
fromAlbrightsville, PA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
This is the best grind and brew that I have owned.
I have had three Capresso and one Melita Grind and Brew, none have made such a perfect cup of coffee.
We like strong coffee and with all the others I have had we had to grind twice to get the coffee flavor that we liked. With the Breville just set it and push start. Really great product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Breville YouBrew Coffee Maker with Built-In Grinder, BDC600XL
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Mercedes of grind and brew machines!

PostedApril 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Fred58
fromNew Hampshire, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
This is my fourth grind and brew machine. I have used 3 other brands over the years and have watched what used to be great products deteriorate over time in the interest of cutting costs. Everything about this machine reeks quality. The water fill door and the basket door open and close with a purr. You have plenty of choices of brew strengths and amounts. The display tells you everything you need to know. Although this machine is not intuitive, it is not difficult to operate.
I have read some reviews that indicate the coffee if not hot enough. I do not find this to be the case. The coffee comes out very hot and stays hot and tasty in the carafe for may hours. The one drawback I have found is that you can't get the last 1/2 cup of coffee out of the carafe without making a mess. I'll deal with it!
This is an attractive machine but it is taller than others and may not fit well under all cabinets. The grinder is loud but not as loud as some I have owned. Parts are not dishwsher safe which may be a problem for some but the rubber gaskets that prevent moisture from getting up into the grinder are worth the hand washing.
I got the machine on sale and truly feel it was well worth what I paid for it. Like it so much we bought another one for our summer home.
Haven't had it long enough to comment on product life.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.