Customer reviews for Kuhn Rikon Sidewind Auto Safety Lidlifter, 27012

Kuhn Rikon Sidewind Auto Safety Lidlifter, 27012

Kuhn Rikon Sidewind Auto Safety Lidlifter, 27012 : No stress. No strain. The Kuhn Rikon sidewind safety can opener automatically attaches to can, safely cutting rim, without leaving jagged edges. With Swiss engineered patented lid gripper, this manual safety can opener grips lid like an automatic can opener and releases lid at the push of a button. Hands never touch lid. Opener never comes in contact with contents. Ergonomic, oversized side-turn knob, extra-sharp stainless-steel cutting teeth and lid catcher ensure effortless removal. This smooth-edge can opener ensures mess-free operation. Dishwasher-safe. Superior in design, this manual safety can opener is the result of outstanding engineering by Kuhn Rikon, leaders of innovative, functional kitchen tools and appliances for more than 85 years. Product Features Swiss-engineered can opener self-attaches to can and lifts lid Sharp stainless-steel cutting teeth cut rim, without leaving jagged edges Grips lid like an automatic can opener and releases with push-button convenience Sanitary, safe operation -- opener never comes in contact with contents and hands never touch lid Ergonomic oversized side-turn knob ensures effortless lid removal Kuhn Rikon is well-known for developing tools and appliances that are superb in functionality, dependability and design, and is one of the most respected kitchen/restaurant manufacturers in Europe
Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
8 out of 9(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Kuhn Rikon Sidewind Auto Safety Lidlifter, 27012
Review 1 for Kuhn Rikon Sidewind Auto Safety Lidlifter, 27012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Easy Hand Can Opener

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
murphy0071
fromOceano, CA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
Easy to use and very effective in removing lids to cans.
My Favorite BrandCuisinart
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kuhn Rikon Sidewind Auto Safety Lidlifter, 27012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
jolette
fromIndiana, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
great hand operated opener big knob to grip to smooth turning easy release cleaning just throw it in dish washer
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kuhn Rikon Sidewind Auto Safety Lidlifter, 27012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Can Opener Ever!

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
DeniseH
fromInverness, FL
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
Received my can opener last week and love it. It is such a joy not to have to fight with the lids. Once I figured out how to use it, I can't wait to do it again.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kuhn Rikon Sidewind Auto Safety Lidlifter, 27012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much easier for me to use

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Customer avatar
AgedP
fromMinnesota, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
This is exactly what I hoped for -- I have arthritis and the oversize knob is easy on my hand. I especially appreciate the fact that I don't have to squeeze two handles together in order to grip the can.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kuhn Rikon Sidewind Auto Safety Lidlifter, 27012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Different - But in a Good Way

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer avatar
spiky
fromHummelstown, PA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I used my can opener for the first time last night. I never thought I'd have to read directions to open a can but it was well worth it! You never touch the can lid, there are no sharp edges to contend with and much easier to clean. The mini pliers are a great little gadget enabling me to remove the lid without touching it. What a wonderful invention - so glad I bought it!! Ther is also less strain on the wrist - great!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kuhn Rikon Sidewind Auto Safety Lidlifter, 27012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Jimmy34
fromRochester, NY
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Works as advertised, easy to turn and leaves a nice smooth edge
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kuhn Rikon Sidewind Auto Safety Lidlifter, 27012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect can opener

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromgeorgia
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I would recommend this to anyone who has arthritis and has difficulty opening cans with standard format can openers. A little bit of a learning curve with first use, but once you get the hang it works beautifully
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kuhn Rikon Sidewind Auto Safety Lidlifter, 27012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

defective -- unable to remain engaged on lid rim

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Customer avatar
RadSteve
fromCentral Sierra Nevada Mountains, CA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
No instructions whatsoever with this little monster. Simply could not get it to lock onto the can rim....after a little more internet research, found a couple utube vids demonstrating how it's used, more for the older models that seemed more intuitive to me, but surprising you'd need or want a video to work a manual can opener (or as in this case a manual lid non-lifter., Turns out position and intent were correct, but the devfice was failing to remain in a locked engaged position when the over-sized knob was turned....I can see how it's supposed to work, and even tried a different can ( was totally unable to open Trader Joe's beans AT ALL, but also inept with canned tuna.. IT has to go back,sadly; Always embarrassed to return something, but not so much in this case. I think any of the older models would haver been better for me. Lesson learned.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kuhn Rikon Sidewind Auto Safety Lidlifter, 27012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice and easy

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
loomweaver11
fromClarks Summit, PA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
After the first couple of cans so I got the hang of how it works, it was easy to use. Makes a nice clean cut. No sharp edges or lid to contend with. It takes much less effort than my old opener. I am looking forward to it lasting a long time
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.