Customer reviews for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Sol Thermolon Fry Pan

Zwilling J.A. Henckels Sol Thermolon Fry Pan

Zwilling J.A. Henckels Sol Thermolon Fry Pan : The environmentally-friendly ceramic nonstick surface on Zwilling Sol Thermolon fry pans is heatproof up to 500 F. PTFE- and PFOA-free, patented Thermolon ceramic technology is a breakthrough in nonstick cookware to prepare healthy entrees without using oil or butter. With the magnetic stainless-steel exterior and strong aluminum core, these energy-efficient nonstick fry pans conduct heat evenly from rim to rim for uniform cooking, without hot spots. The ideal heat-retentive pans for pan frying eggs or hash browns, sauteing vegetables or searing meat, poultry or seafood, ensuring easy release and cleanup. Compatible with gas, electric, ceramic and induction stove tops, these Zwilling Sol Thermolon fry pans feature ergonomic, riveted stainless-steel handles that stay cool to the touch. Zwilling Sol cookware is produced utilizing environmentally-friendly manufacturing without toxic emissions. The durable Thermolon surface is scratch- and abrasion-resistant. Hand washing recommended. Lifetime manufacturer warranty. The cookware that consistently receives highest ratings from CHEFS customers has been improved. CHEFS, in coordination with Zwilling J.A. Henckels, has designed an ergonomic handle for Sol Thermolon cookware that provides a more comfortable grip for easier lifting. In 1731, German knife maker Peter Henckels registered his Twin trademark, which helped his company flourish into one of the world's most exclusive, best-performing kitchen cutlery producers in the cooking industry. Today, the Zwilling JA Henckels brand incorporates the company's nearly 300 years of tradition and innovative success into the design of superior quality cookware for professional and home gourmets worldwide. Sol Thermolon Ceramic nonstick cookware is available exclusively from CHEFS. Product Features Patented Thermolon ceramic nonstick technology is durable to withstand oven temperatures up to 500 degrees F Eco-friendly ceramic nonstick surface is PTFE- and PFOA-free to cook healthy meals without using oil or butter Tri-ply construction with magnetic stainless-steel exterior and aluminum core heats evenly for uniform cooking The ideal high-heat combination to pan fry, saute or sear, providing easy release and cleanup Ergonomic, stay-cool stainless-steel handle riveted for durability Thermolon ceramic nonstick coating does not contain toxic substances Scratch- and abrasion-resistant for lifetime durability
Overall rating:
4.694 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(493 reviews) 470
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 493 reviews
5 Stars
429
4 Stars
27
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
6
1 Star
22
459 out of 493(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Sol Thermolon Fry Pan
Review 1 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Sol Thermolon Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Slipery when cooking

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
rocketman74
fromPennington, NJ 08534, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
The food just slid around in the pan. Wow it worked great. It cleanded up even better. I like the feel of the pan in your hand. The pan sat well on the stove, very stable.
+14points
30of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Sol Thermolon Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Astounding

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
McDave
fromDublin, CA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I had read the reviews, so I decided to go straight to the most daunting of non-stick challenges - cheese.
I ran two tests straight out of the box, after washing with Dawn soap and water.
1) Parmesan cheese (grated) on an inductive cook top. I let it go until it was browned. Oil separated from the whey and the circular result slid on a plate. After it cooled, it was a perfect Parmesan crisp.
Amazed, I cranked it up.
2) Mozzarella cheese (again, nothing but the cheese). Again let it brown. Slid out.
I have since made blackened salmon, fried rice, browning of tenderloin before throwing the whole pan in the 500 degree oven., All with incredible results.
Get the pan. Kicks the bum of my (all steel famous brand with 2-words, one begins with an A and the other is C), no question.
My Favorite BrandUsed to be All-Clad, not Zwilling
+40points
53of 66voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Sol Thermolon Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Purchase!

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Customer avatar
jkerc42895
fromAlexandria, VA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
My husband uses an induction burner for his cooking--all then other frying pans we bought for induction caused him some problem--sticking, uneven cooking, etc. This pan is the best! Bought 2 more!
My Favorite BrandKitchenAid
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Sol Thermolon Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Zwilling J.A. Sol Thermolon Frying Pans

PostedApril 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromRochester, NY
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I bought the 8" Thermolon pan after having a great experience with the 10" Thermolon. WOW! What a product. These pans are a CHEFS exclusive. It is good looking stainless base/handle with the Thermolon interior coating. The surface after about 30 uses is just like day 1 - absolutely nothing sticks to this pan. Over easy Eggs - no oil needed. Prettiest omelettes I've ever made. Just a quick loosen with a spatula and out they slide. Clean up is a breeze - sponge in soapy water - swish - clean. I have tried too many "non-sticks" that didn't work. These are off the chart good! I am taking extra care to keep the heat low even though they say they are safe up to 500 degrees. Only 1 con - no lid available - but I have other 8" and 10" skillets and the glass tops are a perfect fit.
My Favorite BrandZwilling
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Sol Thermolon Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

non stick , it's a fact!

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Anurse
fromHopewell, VA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
first of all, the packaging is top notch. The fry pay
arrived in perfect condition...
My last non-stick pan met the garbage truck!
My first test was frying bacon and it performed
in an excellent manner. Every strip of bacon was
easily flipped with not one sign of sticking to the pan!
I feel that this pan and I will get along fine!
My Favorite BrandSaladmaster
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Sol Thermolon Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great skillets

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Jen58
fromGillette, WY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
So far these pans are excellent. They cook very evenly and cleanup is a snap.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Sol Thermolon Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great non-stick pan

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer avatar
SanFeb10
fromFL
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
This pan cooks perfectly and is a breeze to clean (once cooled, of course).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Sol Thermolon Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding for "clean" fyring

PostedApril 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Early2rise
fromNH
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
For years we've used Teflon coated pans for frying our morning eggs and bacon. Our daughter warned us about the Teflon getting into our food and it was also coming off the metal pan. Ugh. When I saw this ceramic non-stick surface, WOW that's what we need and bought two...8" and 10" Best decision I've ever made...I'm finally able to flip the eggs without the spatula and nothing sticks! Wonderful purchase. Thanks to Zwilling.
My Favorite BrandAll
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Sol Thermolon Fry Pan
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disappointed

PostedApril 9, 2014
Customer avatar
SEAS49
fromKula, HI, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I bought an 8" and 10" after reading the reviews. The pans heat excellently and evenly. They hold the heat and work very good on our induction plate as well as our gas cook top. However, their non stick characteristic are very mediocre at best. if i had to do it again I would buy induction ready stainless and skip the non stick surface.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Sol Thermolon Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite fry pans

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Bunny12
fromJersey City, NJ, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Rocco DiSprito
These two pans have to be the best of the best to cook in. Nothing sticks in them especially any method of eggs that you may want to cook. Take my word for it, I have used many other pans in the last 50 years. These are the "Bomb" of any that I purchased in all of those years. You will love them.
My Favorite BrandEnjoy many different brands
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Sol Thermolon Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use Easy to clean

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Love2CookToo
fromSouthshore, MA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
My 8" nonstick pan started to stick. I was looking for a ceramic nonstick to replace it.. Both pans I got are great; very little oil is required to cook. I use the 8" for eggs and 10" for pot stickers. Both are fabulous!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Sol Thermolon Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Pan!!

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer avatar
CB83
fromCalifornia, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Rachel Ray
I am so glad I ordered this pan. It cooks everything evenly and washes up in no time. Great purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Sol Thermolon Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our New Frying Pans

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromNew York, NY, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
Very satisfied with our new fry pans. They cook food very evenly and with a little oil, nothing sticks to the pans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Sol Thermolon Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best cookware I have ever used.

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer avatar
wgehring
fromNaples, FL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Gordon Ramsay
I'm a home cook who has struggled to find a really good set of pans over the years. I have finally found the perfect set. Not only are these pans beautiful but they really live up to the hype. I will be adding to the set.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Sol Thermolon Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very, Very Pleased

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Ovelle
fromKuna, ID, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
I bought this pan for my husband who has been complaining about the traditional teflon pans - he hates the scratches and washing issues. I personally do not like the traditional non-stick pans for health reasons. This pan, however, has made us both happy!! Plus, CHEFS delivered it fast!
My Favorite BrandNA
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Sol Thermolon Fry Pan
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

These are not non stick pans

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Bernie2014
fromCanada
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Vegetarian
We purchased two of these pans two years ago. I can't remember what they were like out of the box but my wife tells me they have been awful since we got them. They are the stickiest pans we own and we have switched back to T-Fal. The items that stick the most are potatoes, veggie sausages, and other proteins. When we fry veggie sausage links in this pan, even with oil, the sausages get ripped apart when you move them because they are so stuck to the pan they won't come off. Hash brown potatoes fall apart because they stick to the pan and need to destroyed to be moved around the pan. We are not sure why these pans are so bad while others rate them so high but we are seeking to return them for a refund to buy something better. Maybe they work well out of the box but beware when they age a little.
My Favorite BrandHenkel
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Sol Thermolon Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome pan

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromLos Angeles
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
I love my new fry pan. It's special coating works like a charm. The only thing that's challenging is the weight of the pan, but I figure it wouldn't hurt to strengthen my arm!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Sol Thermolon Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous!!!!

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Peaches08
fromPA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I purchased the combo pack 8" &10" besides being a great deal, these pans are perfect for everything! They handle every cooking job with panache. They are the perfect pans!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Sol Thermolon Fry Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than expected!

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Boots2
fromBelle Vernon, PA 15012, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
As soon as the skillet arrived, I washed it & used it every day since. It is perfect for anything, from eggs over easy, fried potatoes, steaming vegetables, browning meats, everything cooked perfectly & clean up is fast & easy. Very happy with this product.
My Favorite Brandseveral
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Zwilling J.A. Henckels Sol Thermolon Fry Pan
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality item

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromSeattle, WA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
I was attracted by the promise of innovative non-stck surface from a well known company.
Although the non-stick feature works well, the pan bottom is badly crowned. Center is elevated 1/8" and even more when pan is heated. Very poor quality. I have returned item.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 24 next>>