Customer reviews for Sassafras Superstone Covered Baker

Sassafras Superstone Covered Baker

Sassafras Superstone Covered Baker : Turn out crispy crust bread loaves with incredible ease. The Superstone Covered Baker works like a brick-lined oven, evenly distributing heat and absorbing moisture to produce baked goods with superior golden crusts and a light crumb. The all-natural stoneware baker is also ideal for clay pot cooking and baking fork-tender roasts, fish and chicken. Unglazed baker is safe for conventional, convection or microwave oven to 500 F. Leaving no greasy or sticky residue, the Superstone covered baker cleans up quickly by hand. Product Features Covered baker works like a brick-lined oven creating superior crispy crusts All-natural clay construction evenly distributes heat and absorbs moisture Domed lid features an easy-grip handle Safe for use in conventional, convection and microwave ovens to 500 F Hand wash
Overall rating:
4.286 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(7 reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 7 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
6 out of 7(86%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Sassafras Superstone Covered Baker
Review 1 for Sassafras Superstone Covered Baker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brick oven style bread at home

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Iceman1955
fromAlaska
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Friend
Wished I would have purchased this long ago!
Makes wonderful no knead bread every time.
Great for French loafs also. Perfect crust!
My Favorite BrandViking / Wolf / Subzero
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sassafras Superstone Covered Baker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finially got the results I wanted

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Ceniza
fromSouth Carolina
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I was expecting some trial and error first time using this baker and was pleasantly surprised to bake a perfect Italian semolina bread the first time out. I put the baker in a cold oven then preheated to 450. I put my dough on parchment paper and when the oven was up to temp I made a sling out of the parchment and lifted the bread into the baker and covered. I cook it the desired amount of time and took the cover off for the last 10 minutes of baking. I lifted it out of the oven in the sling and left the baker in the oven to cool down. I didn't season the baker because I only wanted to use it for bread and the parchment paper keeps it clean. When I used a pizza stone and slid the bread from the peel to the stone I sometimes got some odd shaped bread. This in my experience was the easiest and the best loaf of bread I have ever made.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sassafras Superstone Covered Baker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked as advertised

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Laurie1011
fromLaguna Niguel, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Friend
This product produced a wonderful crispy on the outside and soft on the inside whole wheat Italian bread. The only caution is that having the second rising in a baker that has not been warmed first slows the rising. I will pre-warm the baker next time before adding the bread.
My Favorite BrandAll Clad
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sassafras Superstone Covered Baker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Heavenly Bread

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
KGB82
fromTorrance, CA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
This is a great item if you want fresh bread with a nice hearty crust and a soft interior, bread that looks so amazing you can't wait to tear into the loaf, which is exactly what my kids do. The handle is very handy when removing the hot lid. I know the baker will only get better with time and use, as it gets more seasoned. I just wish that there were more recipes included, and that the recipes were designed to make one loaf of bread, instead of instructing us to use half the dough and then giving no direction for how long the remaining dough can be stored, or how long the baker has to cool before adding the remaining dough. That's my only reason for 4 stars instead of 5. I like it so well that I recently bought the covered dome baker and can't wait to try it. I must also say that I have contacted the company a couple times via e-mail (general questions) and really appreciate their prompt and helpful responses.
My Favorite BrandCuisinart
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sassafras Superstone Covered Baker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this baker!

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Bellamom
fromAlbany, GA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
We received this baker about 2 weeks ago and I baked 2 loaves of whole wheat/oatmeal bread in it. I made sure I greased both the bottom and all 4 sides of the cover with Crisco and sprinkled corn meal in the bottom. The bread came out perfect - no problem releasing from the pan. I soaked the cover in water for 10 minutes like I do with my other clay pot, but next time I will brush the top of the bread with cold water as suggested in the directions. I baked the bread at 400 degrees for 35 minutes, then removed the top and baked for an other 10 minutes. The handle on the cover is large which makes it easy to remove. The bread came out with great crust, yet moist and great color. Make sure you let both the top and bottom cool before you clean it with a brush and hot water. This baker is definitely a great buy..
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sassafras Superstone Covered Baker
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

superstone covered baker

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Condar
fromUnited States
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
jury still out......baked a couple of loaves...did what instructions said...seasoned it then when ready to bake sprinkle bottom with cornmeal...bread looked good but stuck to loaf pan....pretty much mangled the loaf getting out of the pan.....im still working on it so i won't have a real good review until then. once i figured it out my one star hopefully will go to a five star and my recommendation will by yes......
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sassafras Superstone Covered Baker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Customer avatar
tracer
fromLodi, CA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
This is actually my third stone to purchase. The bread baked in this stoneware is perfect. The crumb is soft and springy, and the crust is crisp. I have two of the loaf shape, and one bell. I like the loaf shape better for toast and sandwich bread. The bell makes a very nice artistic shaped loaf. With two of the loaf shape, I can put both in the oven at the same time. I can also fit the bell and one loaf, so it works out perfect for me. My only negative comment is that the lids don't fit the bottoms tightly, but since it seems to have no effect on the bread, it is a minor complaint.
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.