Customer reviews for Taylor Weekend Warrior Wireless Remote Thermometer, 817

Taylor Weekend Warrior Wireless Remote Thermometer, 817

Taylor Weekend Warrior Wireless Remote Thermometer, 817 : This Taylor digital thermometer with wireless remote lets you monitor exact temperature of beef, poultry, pork, or any food without opening the oven door or checking the grill. Roasting, baking or grilling, this digital probe thermometer with remote pager transmits signals up to 200 feet away from the source. Pre-programmed with 9 food selections: beef, veal, chicken, pork, poultry, lamb, fish, ground beef and ground poultry. Five taste/doneness levels for beef: rare, medium rare, medium, medium well and well done according to internal cooking temperatures recommended by the USDA. Base states minimum USDA temperatures for beef, veal, lamb, ground beef, ground pork, poultry, ham, fish, egg dishes and casseroles. This food thermometer also lets you program cooking temperature/time. With the visual "green" in-operation light on pager, "red" done light and vibration alert, cooking is foolproof. Equipped with two different signal tones to identify specific alert (temperature or timer) and 2 distinctive pre-alert signals when food is nearing target temperature (20 degrees and 10 degrees within target). This food thermometer is the gourmet's tool for perfect roasts, steaks, casseroles and desserts. Temperature range: 32 to 450 F or 0 to 232 C. Ultra-thin probe tip pierces precisely, minimizing loss of juices, and extra-long 4-foot cord for cooking convenience. Blue backlit LCD screen is easy to read in the dark. Clock displays current time when base is not in use. This Taylor thermometer with pager counts up to 39 hours and 59 minutes and with the large backlit display, a visual check of the temperature and time is easy. The transmitter base with 8 1/2"L curved stainless-steel probe includes stand/belt clip and magnets for steadfast positioning. Remote pager includes magnets, clips onto pocket or belt, and has lanyard for easy transport. Transmitter base and remote feature auto shutoff, start/stop (on/off) switch, low battery and synchronization/operational indicator lights. Base and remote require 2 AAA batteries each, included. Wipe clean. Product Features Triple alert with light, sound and vibration when food is done Signals up to 200 feet away from cooking source 2 pre-alert signals (within 20 degrees and 10 degrees) to alert when food is nearing targeted temperature Remote features green (in operation) light, red alert indicator light, beep alert and vibration 9 pre-programmed food temperature selections: beef, veal, chicken, pork, poultry, lamb, fish, ground beef and ground poultry 5 taste/doneness settings: rare, medium rare, medium, medium well and well done Programmable manual function for temperature/time Large easy-press buttons: Meat, Taste, Hour, Minute, Timer/Thermometer and Start/Stop Temperature range: 32 to 450 degrees F (0 to 232 C) Base features large, easy-read backlit LCD screen Clock displays time, when base is not in use Counts up to 39 hours and 59 minutes Transmitter base and remote feature auto shutoff, start/stop (on/off) switch, low battery and synchronization/operation indicator lights Remote volume control Ultra-thin probe tip minimizes loss of juices Extra-long 4-foot cord Auto shutoff after 30 minutes Taylor has designed precision measurement instruments since 1851
Overall rating:
3.812 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
11 out of 16(69%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Taylor Weekend Warrior Wireless Remote Thermometer, 817
Review 1 for Taylor Weekend Warrior Wireless Remote Thermometer, 817
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Marks for the Thermometer

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Cookin67
fromGalena, IL
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
I am enjoying better cooking now that I have a thermometer that gives an accurate temperature of the item I am cooking. Because it its wireless I can step away from the oven or grill and still keep track as to how my cooking is going. A very good product and a good investment.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Taylor Weekend Warrior Wireless Remote Thermometer, 817
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A much needed product

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromTulsa
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
Some ovens have their own thermometer but with little or no alert. I'mnot aware of one for a grill. This works out great.
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Taylor Weekend Warrior Wireless Remote Thermometer, 817
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally! A great meat thermometer

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Customer avatar
ethel63
fromLas Vegas, NV, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
The weekend warrior is a real asset. It not only gives you guidelines for temps of different kinds of meat, but also alarms when within 10 degrees of being done. No longer have to keep opening the oven and checking the temp while the oven cools down. It is handy, easy to use, and just what I needed.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Taylor Weekend Warrior Wireless Remote Thermometer, 817
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Precision instrument

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Lambock
fromLong Island, New York, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
This thermometer takes the guessing out of roasting. It's temperature readings are precise, the numbers are easy to read and the alarms at varying points help the cook to bring a meal together with ease. Makes me wonder why I never bought one of these in the past!
My Favorite BrandOxo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Taylor Weekend Warrior Wireless Remote Thermometer, 817
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the remote grilling thermometer

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Tomg
fromRural, IL, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
This temperature probe allows me to check internal meat temperature without removing the grill lid. Temperature inside the grill stays constant for more even cooking. I can also leave the grill to prepare other foods without fear of over cooking.
My Favorite BrandChef's Catalog
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Taylor Weekend Warrior Wireless Remote Thermometer, 817
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Takes the wonder out of it

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
outdoornj
fromOrofino, ID 83544, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I really like this product because I can see exactly what temp my meal is at without opening the ovan. I can see how fast it is progressing and guage cooktime for the rest of the meal. I can't wait to use the remote part of the thermometer this summer when we entertain in the yard or even camping.
NJ
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Taylor Weekend Warrior Wireless Remote Thermometer, 817
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Design

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Broph25
fromMinnesota
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I do not like this thermometer.
My first complaint is that it cannot be positioned for easy visibility. It has a clip on the back but there is nothing near my stove area to which I can clip it on. It has magnets on the back and yet the unit slides when I try to attach it to a vertical surface. When I tried to lay it on a flat horizontal surface the back clip causes it to tip right or left making it difficult to view.
My second complaint is the position of the buttons. The on-off button is on the top. The select button is on the left side and it has an excessive number of buttons on the front.
My third complaint is the remote. I am a technical guy, yet I find the amount of effort to connect the remote to the main unit is excessive. Why should I spend 10 minutes each time I want to connect the remote.
My fourth complaint is the alarm settings. I'm only allowed to select one temperature(160 degrees) for the pork. I cannot select 158° or any other option.
I do not recommend this to anyone else.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Taylor Weekend Warrior Wireless Remote Thermometer, 817
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Linda47
fromCairo,IL
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
Great item and shipping was on time
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Taylor Weekend Warrior Wireless Remote Thermometer, 817
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

just ok

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
hogman
fromGeorgia, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
A little more complicated than necessary. Turns off by itself for no reason on a long cooking time. The best point is the low price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Taylor Weekend Warrior Wireless Remote Thermometer, 817
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not work

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
chicaloca
fromHouston, Texas
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Although I positioned the heat wand as instructed and selected the meat being cooked as well as the temperature or time, I could not get a good reading--the bell went off when the gadget decided the meat was cooked but the actual inside temperature (measured with another thermometer) was lower than the read-out temperature. And the meat more than once was uncooked for all practical purposes regardless of the thermometer reading.
My Favorite BrandLe Creuser
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Taylor Weekend Warrior Wireless Remote Thermometer, 817
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer avatar
SATCH
fromRushford, NY 14777, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
It didn't work unless you think a turkey that has been out of the frig for 15 minutes has an internal temperature of 258!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Taylor Weekend Warrior Wireless Remote Thermometer, 817
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Meat Saver

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer avatar
MrsK
fromCalifornia, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Giada De Laurentis
This is a great product. It is easy to use and very accurate. I used it so many times I ended up wearing out the wire that attached to the probe. Great price for a great product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Taylor Weekend Warrior Wireless Remote Thermometer, 817
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

FIRST TIME I USED A THERMOMETER

PostedApril 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Lisbeth
fromBoston, MA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I have always done my , roasbeefs on intuition and experience, but always worried!!
Finally I decided to buy Taylor digital thermometer. It was a little complicated to figure out, but once I got it right, it worked!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Taylor Weekend Warrior Wireless Remote Thermometer, 817
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works well.

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
bbprime
fromSomerville, MA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
The only issue I have with this product is that the fish preset if set to 145, and I tend to cook it to 137. I wish I could adjust the default for fish, instead of always setting up custom setting.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Taylor Weekend Warrior Wireless Remote Thermometer, 817
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

For the BBQ

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
cookingcrzy
fromCalifornia, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
First time using this type of thermometer, took a bit to figure it out but once my husband got the hang of it he couldn't be happier! Worked like a champ. Our prime rib turned out perfect.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Taylor Weekend Warrior Wireless Remote Thermometer, 817
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Taylor Weekend Warrior Wireless Remote Thermometer

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Wtdoor73
fromCalifornia
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
I received this item for Christmas last year and within two months it stopped working. The probe went bad and you cannot replace the probe. Taylor doesn't make a replacement part for the probe. The probe has a high temp plastic covering that isn't good for high temp like when barbecuing or high temp oven cooking.
My Favorite BrandAllclad
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.