Customer reviews for Wusthof Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) Electric Sharpener, 2933

Wusthof Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) Electric Sharpener, 2933

Wusthof Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) Electric Sharpener, 2933 : Engineered for Wusthof PEtec (Precision Edge Technology) knives, this Wusthof PEtec electric sharpener performs beyond traditional models, with precision-edge angle guides to also sharpen most brands and types of knives. This electric knife sharpener will expertly sharpen fine-edge, serrated and Western-style knives. Stage 1: microscopic 100% diamond abrasives create the perfect definitive edge in preparation for expert honing. Stage 2: fine grit diamonds hone to a razor-sharp steeled edge for precise cutting control. Stage 3: proprietary ultra-fine, flexible stropping discs create a superior polished edge that stays sharp longer. This stage also sharpens serrated-edge knives. Built-in dresser maintains long-term consistent performance of stropping discs. Wipe clean. This Wusthof knife sharpener is the masterful result of the legendary expertise of Wusthof manufacturer of German precision-engineered knives, in partnership with Chef'sChoice, originator of professional knife sharpeners. Product Features Engineered for Wusthof PEtec knives, with precision-angle guides to sharpen steel or strop most knives: fine-edge, serrated and Western-style knives Stage 1 sharpening: microscopic 100% diamond abrasive wheels sharpen and precisely prepare edge for steeling Stage 2 steeling: fine-grit diamonds and precision angle guides create a razor-sharp edge Stage 3 strop-polishing: advanced, ultra-fine proprietary flexible stropping discs create a superior polished edge that stays sharp longer Stage 3 also sharpens serrated-edge knives Built-in dresser maintains long-term, consistent performance of stropping discs Diamond abrasive wheels hold their shape indefinitely and will not load up, so no messy oil or water is needed Nonslip rubber feet secure sharpener in use Sharpener has been developed by Wusthof, manufacturer of German, precision-engineered knives and Chef'sChoice, knife sharpener experts
Overall rating:
4.971 / 5
5
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
34 out of 34(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Wusthof Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) Electric Sharpener, 2933
Review 1 for Wusthof Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) Electric Sharpener, 2933
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wusthof Electric Sharpener

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Ruthie21
fromBoyertown, Pa
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
excellent product. We have all Wusthof knives so wanted the best sharpener for them.
My Favorite BrandWusthof
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wusthof Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) Electric Sharpener, 2933
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wusthof Knife sharpener

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromHilton Head, SC
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
The Wusthof PrecisionEdge electric knife sharpener is one of the best investments I have ever made for our kitchen. The device provides outstanding shapness to our Wusthof as well as other knives, making cutting and chopping so much quicker. The sharpener is easy to use and relatively quiet. I only wish I had bought it a decade ago.
My Favorite BrandWusthof
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wusthof Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) Electric Sharpener, 2933
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wish I Knew About This Years Ago!!!

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
1SharperChef
fromFarmington, CT, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
After trying to use the rod shaped sharpener for years and never feeling satisfied, I happened upon the Chef manual sharpener on a visit to Cape Cod. I bought it and was pleased, but had to resharpen each knife after each use. When the Chef catalog arrived, I was drawn to the electric 3 stage one and bought it online. I am THRILLED with it. My knives hold their sharpness after several uses and the cut is superior! I feel like it is a professional, rather than a home, sharpener. Thanks Chef!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wusthof Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) Electric Sharpener, 2933
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chefs

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Sissy58
fromTexas
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Budget
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
Great company to order from and all quality stuff. The sharpener works great and everything I have ever ordered from chefs is good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wusthof Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) Electric Sharpener, 2933
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wusthof knife sharpener

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromAthens, AL, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Budget
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I recently ordered and received A Wusthof knife sharpener, the product is superb as advertised in the catalog and the people you talk with at chef's is very friendly and (as we say down here in the south '' just like home folks" ) We are very pleased with this and other products we have ordered and the ease of ordering from your catalog.
My Favorite BrandWusthof
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wusthof Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) Electric Sharpener, 2933
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent sharpening technology

PostedMay 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromDe Pere, WI, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Since recieving our Wusthof Electric Sharpener, our knives are now cutting edge.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wusthof Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) Electric Sharpener, 2933
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding sharpener

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer avatar
edyte72
fromRichland, WA, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I am always doubtful about product promises, but the Wusthof sharpener delivers on the promises. Easy to use with little possibility of error. Knife edges restored to near new sharpness, if not as sharp. Not something to clutter the counter with. Store and use as necessary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wusthof Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) Electric Sharpener, 2933
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

extra sharp now.

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
000mike000
fromCleveland, OH, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ellie Krieger
Knives are sharp now . easy to use the blade guide takes the work out of this job. the medium and fine guide slots are all i needed tried coarse on knife i use in garden
put the thing in top shape for dirty veggie work.
My Favorite Brandkitchenaide
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wusthof Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) Electric Sharpener, 2933
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works like a dream

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
SierraBob
fromKernville, CA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
We have a good assortment of quality knives, which I sharpened manually for years. A couple of them had developed chips, and needed re-grinding. Before taking them to a shop, I acquired this sharpener, and all I can say is "wow." Took 15 or 20 pulls through the Step 1 wheel, but that took care of the chips. The new edge is terrific, no Step 2 resharpening has been required after a couple of weeks - just one Step 3 stropping for touch-up. Works on serrated, regular, Asian/santoku knives, pocket knives, pretty much everything but scissors. Highly recommended.
My Favorite BrandKitchenaid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wusthof Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) Electric Sharpener, 2933
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Had no idea

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromPlacitas, NM
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I thought using a steel would keep our knives sharp. As vegetarians, we use them all the time and take good care of them. However, our knives have been transformed by this sharpener in just a few minutes. I don't think they were this sharp when new. It's a classy little machine that I think we will only need to use every few months, but what a difference!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wusthof Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) Electric Sharpener, 2933
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My go to utencil

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Biggirl
fromRancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I'm very pleased with the performance of this knife sharpener, it really works! Thank you, for the top quality performance of this product!
My Favorite BrandWusthof
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wusthof Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) Electric Sharpener, 2933
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It!

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
JHedin
fromMaplewood, MN, USA
My Cooking Level:Beginner
My husband and I were so impressed by this sharpener that we bought one for our neighbor too!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wusthof Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) Electric Sharpener, 2933
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must for your kitchen

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
natpodu
fromChicago, IL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
I have a Wusthof diamond sharpener that I use, but my Mom couldn't get the angle right and just didn't feel comfortable using it to sharpen her Wusthof (and other) knives. So I got her this for Christmas. She loves it and I do too, it has put a new edge on all of our knives-some of which we were going to donate because we thought we would never get a working edge on them. One was even curved outwards due to repeated poor sharpening by the hand sharpener.
The Wusthof electric sharpener is really easy to use and once you get past step one (which you may need to do multiple times depending on how neglected your knives are) step two and three are very quick and leave your knives with an unbelievably sharp edge. Its like you have brand new knives. They you just need to touch up with stem 2 and 3 occasionally to keep them sharp. Also you can even sharpen your serrated blades too using the second and third steps, not sure how many other sharpeners can say that.
This is definitely something you should have if you own knives-no question, and what a great price. I trust Wusthof as a high quality brand and prefer their knives to any other brand, for this same reason I love this sharpener too! Go ahead and compare to the handheld one...wait there is no comparison!
My Favorite BrandWusthof
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wusthof Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) Electric Sharpener, 2933
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
LCIII
fromMoultrie, GA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Love this sharpener, our knives have not been this sharp since they were new.
My Favorite BrandWusthof
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wusthof Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) Electric Sharpener, 2933
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharp and Easy

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
gwdenn
fromAlbany, NY, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Calamity
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
Product does what it claims, sharpens knives quickly and easily. Although designed to work with Wusthof PEtec knives, it works fine with other knives as well.
My Favorite BrandTry not to play favorites, but go for quality.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wusthof Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) Electric Sharpener, 2933
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the money

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
HealthyKitchenQueen
fromPhiladelphia, PA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandpa
This sharpener exceeded my expectations for a small home knife sharpener. I used to take them to a professional shop and this provides the same level of sharpening. Saves money over time.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wusthof Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) Electric Sharpener, 2933
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Precision sharpening with no mess

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromKansas
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
When I received this sharpener and read the full directions I was concerned that all but two of our knives were not PEtec blades. So, all my knives had to be converted to the narrower angle. This turned out to be an easy task and quickly accomplished. All of our knives are now delightfully sharp. This system is so neat because there is no oily mess to clean up. I highly recommend this machine.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wusthof Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) Electric Sharpener, 2933
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wusthof PETech Electric Sharpener

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Yusuf69
fromBellevue, WA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
This is an excellent knife sharpener. I've tried all sorts of stones, croc stix, manual disc sharpeners, steels and electric stone wheel sharpeners. A steel will not put an edge on a knife, only maintain an edge. To put an edge on a treasured knife, most methods produce irregular results and an uneven edge. This sharpener has three stages. The first will put an edge on the blade, the second will refine the edge, and the third will maintain the edge by polishing it, not removing material. Once you've sharpened your knives, you can maintain a clean, ultra sharp edge using only the third stage. The third stage will also work on serrated knives. I have a bread knife that a friend used and somehow managed to bend one of the serrations. Perhaps not a major problem, but it bugged me. By running just the area where the bent serration was on the second stage, one side only, the problem was fixed. Then I finished the edge in stage three. It has put a great edge on all my knives, with the exception of my ceramic knife. I think I might ruin either the knife or the sharpener or both by trying to sharpen ceramic edge knives. These knives seem to keep an edge very well all by themselves. I've had one for years and it's still sharp, so I wouldn't recommend trying to sharpen ceramic knives. But for any alloy of steel, it works great.
My Favorite BrandWusthof, Kitchen Aid
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wusthof Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) Electric Sharpener, 2933
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honing honey

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Pugs61
fromAmarillo, TX, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Giada De Laurentis
Takes more swipes than expected. The outcome is well worth the time. The initial shaping of the primary bevel takes 5-10 minutes. But further honing only takes 30 seconds or so. I recommend purchasing this sharpener.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wusthof Precision Edge Technology (PEtec) Electric Sharpener, 2933
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome knife sharpner

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Customer avatar
shorttimer
fromOrange TX
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
this is an awesome sharpner But beware your knife will bevery sharp so be very careful lol
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>