Customer reviews for Ceramic Kitchen Knife

Ceramic Kitchen Knife

Ceramic Kitchen Knife : This ceramic knife performs with the precision of high-carbon stainless-steel, but retains the smooth nonstick cutting edge longer. Lightweight, typically half the weight of steel knives, ceramic knives greatly minimize hand fatigue. Maintain a smooth, defined sharp-cutting edge longer, without sharpening. Long-life ceramic 6 1/2" santoku blade chops, minces, dices and cubes precisely with quick uniform strokes. Releases food instantly for gourmet prep. Pointed tip to easily pierce and core fruits or vegetables. Unlike metal knives, ceramic knives retain the natural color and crispness of food without leaving a discolored edge. Low-maintenance ceramic blades are nonreactive to foods and impervious to acids, oils and salt. Rustproof, stain-proof and moisture-resistant. The ergonomic handle fits the natural curvature of the hand for expert handling and control. Hand wash. Product Features Sharp, long-lasting edge and the ultra-smooth release of a ceramic blade Lightweight, typically half the weight of steel knives to minimize hand fatigue Santoku is the kitchen necessity to chop, mince, cube and dice Ceramic retains a smooth-defined cutting edge longer, without sharpening Chemically inert, this low maintenance blade will not absorb acids, oils or salts Unlike metal knives, ceramic blades retain the natural color and crispness of food, without leaving a discolored edge Rustproof, stain-proof and moisture-resistant Ergonomic handle for a steady, controlled grip
Overall rating:
4.524 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
19 out of 21(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Ceramic Kitchen Knife
Review 1 for Ceramic Kitchen Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These knives can cut it

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
cjb33
fromKansas
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
These knives are awesome---they do exactly what they are supposed to do (unusual for most of my purchases these days)---CUT! They cut easily, quickly, cleanly....I am truly in love with them and will be purchasing sets for gifts for family members as their birthdays roll around.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ceramic Kitchen Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent knives

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer avatar
LA02
fromLouisana
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Rachel Ray
The knives work as well or better than advertised. Cuts, slices, dices vegetables, cheese, meat with no effort.. Great product
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ceramic Kitchen Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ceramic knife small one for paring

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Bittle
fromDaytona beach, fl, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Great! Easy to handle and very sharp. I will order the larger sizes. Thanks.
My Favorite BrandHenkle
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ceramic Kitchen Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Knife!

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer avatar
donnaflash
fromConnecticut, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I've been wanting to try out ceramic blade knives. This is my first purchase and I will definetly be back for more. Comfortable handle and super performance. Glides through food without sticking.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ceramic Kitchen Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Knives

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Evelyn4
fromNew Milford, CT, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Rachel Ray
My children have all grown up and are on their own. How I wish I knew about the wonderful knives available at CHEFS when they were growing up. I now have only the best knives in my utility drawer and I know they will last my life time. To date I have purchased 12 knives. Some, including this one, are gifts for very special friends. Thank you for your wonderful products.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ceramic Kitchen Knife
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good knives - but can be fragile

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Customer avatar
SuM0
fromAtlanta, GA, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I bought 3 of these knives, and they are all working great. However, one of them got a chip in it without much force just cutting some onions on a silicone cutting board. I assume this must have had some manufacturing defect because the other 2 are working great and are actually older. (Of course, being ceramic, I know not to cut anything hard such as bone, etc)
In terms of performance, they slice through anything, I can get very fine slices with this that only my Shun can match. We'll have to see how the blade manages after a few months/years of usage. From onions and other vegetables to chicken and lamb.
I only hand wash these as with other expensive knives, though I don't think ceramic knives need to be dried as immediately as steel - but I do anyway.
Will update if anything happens to the other 2. In the mean time, I will be requesting a replacement.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ceramic Kitchen Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharp

PostedJanuary 30, 2015
Customer avatar
robyne17
fromSmithfield, VA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ellie Krieger
I love this knife.Just the right size to chop and slice anything in the kitchen.Makes preparing meals go faster and easier.Does not take a lot of pressure to cut with is.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ceramic Kitchen Knife
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very sharp ceramic blade

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Customer avatar
Gary007
fromMinneapolis, MN, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Dad
It is well made and cuts fine especially on meat. For dicing purpose it feels a little light, so some force is actually needed to keep it balanced during cutting.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ceramic Kitchen Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Knife in My Kitchen

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Customer avatar
logicalperson
fromArizona
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
I was very surprised the first time I used this time. I expected it to be sharp, but it just seemed to melt through the potatoes I was cubing. I reminded myself to keep my fingers away! Ha..no, instead I also bought a finger guard from Chef's. Both are great products.
My Favorite BrandChef's, LeCreuset, KitchenAid, All-Clad, Pyrex
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ceramic Kitchen Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Customer avatar
Ketzel
fromNew England
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
I have wanted to try a ceramic knife for some time, but it wasn't until the prices came down that I was willing to pay for something that seemed somewhat limited in its use. If you need a relatively inexpensive , very lightweight knife that slices soft and softish food like a dream, this one is a good value. Cons are it has a white blade which may stain if not washed immediately, it is as brittle as all ceramic knives are and must be handled carefully so as not to break or chip and is best stored in a block. Re-sharpening it may also be difficult as finding people who know how to sharpen a ceramic knife correctly is not so easy, imo. One nice thing about this knife is the blunted point. This protects somewhat from the breakage that occurs when people try to use the tip of the knife to cut down into something a bit too hard for the knife to handle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ceramic Kitchen Knife
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointing

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Customer avatar
LolaLo
fromMidwest
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
Purchased for Christmas and opened this morning, this knife is a huge disappointment. Although it is a good size and has a nice grip, new out of the package it has trouble cutting through a soft peeled apple; I wouldn't even try a Granny Smith. My well worn Farberware does a far better job. Was this a customer return? At any rate, it has no place in my kitchen. I will return it ASAP.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ceramic Kitchen Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Recently acquired this excellent kitchen tool

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromPortland, OR, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I have enjoyed trying this knife out on a variety of fruits veggies, and meats. Although it excells at cutting each thing I've tried it out on, my personal favorite is in slicing raw meat into very thin batons for stir-fryed dishes. I have never had a non-ceramic knife that showed such versatility. I just love it, it's definitely a keeper! (Now I'm saving for the next blade length up!)
My Favorite BrandKyocera
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ceramic Kitchen Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ceramic Knife is a performance pro

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
SCinSC
fromSC
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
This knife weighs almost nothing, but cuts as cleanly and easily as a much heavier steel blade. Thinly slices meat that isn't partially frozen. Easy on arthritic hands. A pleasure to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ceramic Kitchen Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ceramic kitchen knives

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Customer avatar
peggy58
fromTully, NY 13159, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
I love that they are so easy to hold and handle.
My Favorite Brandkitchen aid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ceramic Kitchen Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ceramic knives

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Ging1
fromAZ
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Giada De Laurentis
I bought the Kyocera Revolution Chef's Knife for my husband and i tried using it once to see how it worked because he raved about it so much and i was hooked. It's got to be the best kind of knives out there. We won't buy another kind after using these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ceramic Kitchen Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Favorite Knives

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromSagamore Hills, OH
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
Excellent product, we recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ceramic Kitchen Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ceramic knives

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
mycattiger
fromLoris, SC 29569, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
excellent, my second set, one for home, second for the RV
My Favorite Brandany sea food
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ceramic Kitchen Knife
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very good buy

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
kutie
fromU.P., MI
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I needed a new paring knife and this is the all around knife I wanted. It cuts soft tomatoes just as well as peeling apples.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ceramic Kitchen Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply the best

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Pielady73
fromEaton, OH 45320, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
These are the best knives I have ever owned! They stay sharp and cut threw just about anything.
My Favorite BrandDon't have one
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ceramic Kitchen Knife
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disapointment

PostedMay 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Keno818
fromHuntingtown, MD 20639, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Rachel Ray
Have used a ceramic knive for the last 4 years and it is my favorite knive. When I tried my new one it would not cut tomatoes. Not sharp enough to cut thru skin. I never had a problem with my old one when cutting tomatoes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>