Customer reviews for Breville Personal Pie Baker, BPI640XL

Breville Personal Pie Baker, BPI640XL

Breville Personal Pie Baker, BPI640XL : Bake delicious 4" Dia. fruit pies, savory quiche, meat or vegetable pies with the Breville Personal Pie Baker. Nonstick-coated, die-cast cooking plates distribute heat uniformly, ensuring middle of pies bake evenly, while allowing golden browning to crusts. The self-crimping edges and locking latch on this mini pie baker seal pies automatically, creating a decorative, fluted top crust on every pie. Quick desserts, meals and snacks are ready in 8-10 minutes with the electric Breville Personal Pie Baker. Using puff pastry or ready-made refrigerated crust, this mini pie baker lets you create a variety of individualized desserts or entrees. Handheld pastry cutter trims dough exactly to fit precisely inside molds, and pastry press allows gentle shaping of dough. With the smooth nonstick surface on the cooking plates, pies release effortlessly, keeping pie and crust perfectly intact. This pie baker ensures uniform size for gourmet presentation at tasting parties. Handles stay cool to the touch. Features power "on" and "ready" lights, convenient under-base cord wrap and nonskid feet. Store vertically or horizontally. Pastry cutter and press are top-rack dishwasher-safe. Wipe clean plates. 1,200 watts. Australian-based Breville sets the standard for advanced kitchen appliance performance and durability. Breville creates the new generation of heavy-duty, professional-grade countertop appliances for the home chef, with an eye for forward-thinking innovation, modern design and advanced technology. Product Features Bake 4 individual homemade pies in 10 minutes or less Perfect to create fruit pies, quiche, vegetable or meat pies Nonstick-coated, die-cast plates provide uniform distribution of heat to bake middle of pies evenly, allowing golden browning to crusts Self-crimping pie mold edges and locking latch seal pies Edges automatically create a decorative fluted top crust Pastry cutter trims dough to fit precisely into molds Pastry press allows gentle shaping of dough Nonstick surface releases pie smoothly and effortlessly, keeping pie and crust intact Creates 4" Dia. uniform pies for gourmet presentation at tasting parties Stay-cool handles Power "on" and "ready" lights Under-base cord wrap and nonskid feet Stores vertically or horizontally Breville sets the standard for advanced kitchen appliance performance and durability
Overall rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(7 reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 7 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
5 out of 7(71%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Breville Personal Pie Baker, BPI640XL
Review 1 for Breville Personal Pie Baker, BPI640XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Use It All the Time!

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromBeautiful Butternut Valley, NY
My Cooking Level:Expert
Received this as a gift about 2 years ago an absolutely LOVE it...make quiche for breakfast regularly and what a quick way to get individual dessert pies! It will become a favorite in your kitchen, too!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Breville Personal Pie Baker, BPI640XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pie Maker

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Ray09
fromWashington State USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
I made a sausage pie with pre-cooked sausage. It took a little practice to place the base dough in the pan. Result a perfectly baked pie.
Ray.
My Favorite BrandBreville
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Breville Personal Pie Baker, BPI640XL
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Was not what I expected from the description

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Jozoning
fromWhite Lake Township, MI, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Friend
I baked four pies, however it was not until I received the product and read the book that I realized that I could only use already cooked fruit and meat for the pies. In addition, once the item is heated up, it is very difficult to place the dough in the four holes, fill it, and place toping on it since it starts to cook and becomes extremely soft so that the top is hard to place directly on the pie. On the good side, if you are extremely quick with your hands, it did cook in the time of 10 minutes and it was golden brown and flaky.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Breville Personal Pie Baker, BPI640XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Breville is the best

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Marisingz
fromMaryland, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
This works great; you just have to experiment with ingredients and timing. One of my favorite crusts to use for savory pies is egg roll wrappers. :)
I wanted to kick myself when all the cheaper brands came out with mini pie makers....until I tried one. The pies wells are much smaller than the Breville, and it doesn't cook as evenly.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Breville Personal Pie Baker, BPI640XL
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pie Baker's Dream

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Customer avatar
JR51
fromSan Antonio, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Gordon Ramsay
This is a great item as you are able to create small individual pies, either for diner or dessert. Easy to operate and clean. With this item, you can create any type of pie using the ingredients you like and the size of the pie is perfect. Would recommend this item to anyone who enjoys pie.
My Favorite BrandCruisinart
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Breville Personal Pie Baker, BPI640XL
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Lot of work

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromNashville, TN, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I was excited to get this but after trying several pies, I have to admit there are things I don't like. 1) the top crust burns so you have to cut out circles of parchment to put on the edges - who has time for that? 2) 1/3 cup of filling isn't much compared to the amount of pie dough. 3) it is just too much work trying to make little pies using this baker. I think it would be easier to make hand pies or little pies in individual small pans baked in the oven. Seemed like a good idea at the time but for the price, not so much.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Breville Personal Pie Baker, BPI640XL
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Breville Pie Baker

PostedMay 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Emoo
fromCharlottesville, VA, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
The device was heavier than I anticipated it being. It takes six minutes to reach operating temperature (which the manual does not specify), and therefore pie or other dough can be placed in the device cold. It's actually intimidating to put dough in the machine when it's at operating temperature. Overall, it's marginally better than a toaster oven of the same size.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.