Customer reviews for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware

Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware

Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware : Made in France by the inventors of tempered glass, this Duralex dinnerware is 2 1/2 times more resistant to shock and breakage than regular glass. Withstanding sudden thermal shock and temperature extremes from -4 to +266 F, this restaurant-quality glass dinnerware set is perfect for hot or cold entrees. Available in sets and quantities to accommodate guests, the entire glass dinnerware set is ideal for home dining, buffets and special occasion events. A blend of clarity, simplicity and durability, the clear tempered glass 11" dinner plate is ideal for serving casserole or an entree and vegetable. The 9 1/4" Duralex dinner plate serves a generous portion of chicken cordon bleu or sizzling Porterhouse steak right from the grill. Also perfect for salad or vegetable entrees or hearty serving of lasagna. The 7 1/2" Duralex salad/dessert plate is ideal to serve spinach feta salad and equally impressive serving quiche Lorraine. With the ability to serve cold or hot side dishes, entrees or desserts, Duralex dinnerware is perfect for presenting mille feuille pastry, a slice of orange cream chiffon cake or apple pie with hot cinnamon sauce. The 8" Duralex bowl is the perfect salad, pasta and soup bowl. With the roundness and sloping sides of a bowl, and flat base of a plate, this Duralex dinnerware serves Caesar chicken salad, grilled steak with fresh greens or crisp salmon salad. Clear glass accentuates fresh ingredients of homemade pasta salad, and has the heat-safe capability to serve steaming hot lobster bisque or pasta fagioli. Serve berries, fruits or vegetables in these Duralex bowls. Also known as a restaurant-style gumbo bowl for serving thick hearty stocks with shrimp or sausage, the flat bottom allows easy cutting, similar to a plate. Set of 18 includes six each: 9 1/4" dinner plate, 7 1/2" salad/dessert plate and 8" soup/salad bowl. Refrigerator-to-microwave Duralex dinnerware is produced according to stringent standards. Will not retain odors. Scratch- and stain-resistant. Nest to store. Eco-friendly Duralex dinnerware is ideal to heat food in the microwave and store food in the refrigerator or freezer. Clear thick glass is attractive on the table, coordinating with every table decor. Microwave-, freezer- and dishwasher-safe. Crafted in La Chapelle-Saint-Mesmin, France, Duralex Lys place setting acquired its name after the Lys River in France and Belgium, a favorite region for painters in the first half of the 20th century. Product Features Durable for everyday use, Duralex dinnerware is 2 1/2 times more resistant to shock and breakage than regular glass Withstand temperature extremes from -4 to +266 degrees F to serve hot or cold entrees Microwave-, freezer- and dishwasher-safe Made in France by the inventors of tempered glass, the bowls, dinner plates and dessert plates are durable to transport safely from refrigerator or microwave to the table Will not retain odors Scratch and stain-resistant Clear glass is attractive on the table, blending with any flatware or serveware Duralex International invented tempered glass in 1939. Manufacturers of drinking glasses and bowls, Duralex has been used throughout France for decades in bistros, inns, schools and households due to the extreme durability of the glass
Overall rating:
4.735 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
33 out of 34(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Review 1 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great salad bowls

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Floss
fromPaso Robles
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
Love these for main dish salads. They look pretty on table, too. Good thing is that they complement any dishes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duralex is a favoite in my kitchen

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer avatar
64cooking
fromNebraska, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
Excellent dinnerware which does not chip or break easy. Has so many uses and so easy to wash or put in dishwasher. I use it for salads, pasta, desserts, soup and anything you want. Would make a great gift for shower or weddng.
My Favorite Brandduralex
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these bowls ...

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer avatar
KatWoman
fromOak Bluffs, MA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
We were looking for some low wide bowls to use for soups & salads. These are good quality and look great with our white dishes. We ended up buying a second set!
The only negative was the first set was poorly packed and one of the bowls was broken. They made me pack up the mess and return it! The replacement set and second set were both very well packed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

They last forever! Thank you for selling Duralex

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Patrice12
fromChesterton, IN, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I have used this dish for every day in every way because they last forever.
I put salads in them, stew, casseroles, soup, entrees, and a dessert and ice cream.
They are convenient because you can reheat your leftover you stored the day before. They are so lovely in clear glass, it makes cooking and food presentation look special.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bought 2nd Set Duralex Clear Dinnerware

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
yellarosetx
fromAustin, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I love the durability of this product as well as the appearance of this dinnerware as it makes a beautiful presentation for salads, main dishes, etc.
My Favorite BrandSeasoned Lodge Cookware
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
SelfMadeChef52
fromAurora, CO, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
I have wanted clear plates for 20 years, but I could never found a completely clear set. These plates are wonderfully clear. I dropped a bowl 3 days a go and cringed as it pounced across my kitchen floor. IT DID NOT BREAK. I am so proud to say I held out for the perfect set of clear plates. I could not be more pleased!
My Favorite BrandZepter International
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect choice for my daily meals

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromDublin, OH, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
Great for small sandwiches and salads, making fruit plates, and they're durable enough to serve meals to my grandson. These dessert plates are perfect and I look forward to using them for desserts and appetizers next. Clean up is super easy too.
My Favorite BrandChefs brand and Kitchenaid are my top, but I have several.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lovely all purpose bowls

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Jeen
fromSt. James, NY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Daniel Boulud
These glass bowls are attractive and versatile and sturdy. I use them for soup, salad, pasta and stew. They look perfect with any table setting.
My Favorite Brandall clad
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
yellarosetx
fromAustin, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
My new dinnerware makes a great presentation for the food I prepare daily for my family. I love the durability of this product.
In fact, I have put in another order for this product. Of all the dinnerware we have had, in 40 years,this product is the best.
My Favorite BrandCuisinart
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An unexpected plus

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Lady12
fromLakewood, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
The Duralex dinnerware is perfectly sized so that there's no temptation to over-eat because of an over-filled large plate or bowl. And what's even better is the fact that this dinnerware easily fits in with my crystal and other dinnerware that I have, so it is an unexpected plus!
My Favorite Brand*no real favorite
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I've been looking for!

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Sooze22
fromNovato, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
These glass bowls match a set I got years ago and which over the years have gradually (I still have one or two) broken. They are the perfect large shallow shape and are very sturdy and dishwasher safe. So glad to finally find them again. Perfect for pasta, soup, salad and more.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice dinner set

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
kissis744
fromNew York, NY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Martyr
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Rachel Ray
i love it is a nice dinner set elegant for a romantic dinner
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful!

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Melena42
fromWalnut Creek, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I am so glad I order this set. Practical + Beauty! I can set a nice table for my grandchildren with no worries , but I can mix them with my china also...very nice...
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for stews and stir-fry too.

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Julski
fromWinston-Salem, NC, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I've had a set of these bowls for about 20 years, and in that time only broke or lost ONE. Am supplementing them with another set because they're great for all sorts of meals, especially in front of the teevee.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Can't see them in the cabnet, they're clear

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Crackedbaken
fromReno, NV, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Great set. Bought them for portion control, but now it would be nice if the dinner plate was just a little bigger.I do love the set however.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clear bowls that are big enough for daily use!

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Customer avatar
gritandglamour
fromUnited States
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Dad
It took me forever to find these bowls to match some clear dishes I already had. Needed a bowl that could handle oatmeal (and its expansion), plus salads, soups...everything. Finally found these and ordered two sets. They are fabulous for the oatmeal, fruit, whatever. And they are so elegant and minimal on the table. Come out of the dishwasher looking great, and they are super sturdy. So happy with them!
My Favorite BrandAll Clad, OXO
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Large salad bowls

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Evelyn49
fromTexas, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
I have been looking for these large bowls for a year or more. Could not find them anywhere. Did not think to look at Chefs and when I did there they were. Love them
My Favorite Brandanything very low carb
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent dishes for salad or dessert

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Julie13
fromSurprise, AZ, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
I recently bought 2 sets of these to use for salad/dessert for large dinner parties. They are very versatile. I especially appreciate their durability and good looks. I would definitely recommend them for everyday use or for company.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Gumbo

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Customer avatar
greatgranny22
fromSoutheast Louisiana
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
These bowls are very good quality heavy glass. They were purchased to use especially for gumbo but because they are so nice I can see using them daily. They are perfect for grits, salad, soup, hot cereals, etc. I love the shape and size of these bowls. Glad I bought them; they are just what I was looking for.
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Choice

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Jennie
fromAustin, Texas
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
So far I like these dishes very much. I have not had alot of time to try them out just yet so I am holding back on my final opinion of this product. The price, service and timeliness of the delivery were all excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>