Customer reviews for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware

Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware

Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware : Made in France by the inventors of tempered glass, this Duralex dinnerware is 2 1/2 times more resistant to shock and breakage than regular glass. Withstanding sudden thermal shock and temperature extremes from -4 to +266 F, this restaurant-quality glass dinnerware set is perfect for hot or cold entrees. Available in sets and quantities to accommodate guests, the entire glass dinnerware set is ideal for home dining, buffets and special occasion events. A blend of clarity, simplicity and durability, the clear tempered glass 11" dinner plate is ideal for serving casserole or an entree and vegetable. The 9 1/4" Duralex dinner plate serves a generous portion of chicken cordon bleu or sizzling Porterhouse steak right from the grill. Also perfect for salad or vegetable entrees or hearty serving of lasagna. The 7 1/2" Duralex salad/dessert plate is ideal to serve spinach feta salad and equally impressive serving quiche Lorraine. With the ability to serve cold or hot side dishes, entrees or desserts, Duralex dinnerware is perfect for presenting mille feuille pastry, a slice of orange cream chiffon cake or apple pie with hot cinnamon sauce. The 8" Duralex bowl is the perfect salad, pasta and soup bowl. With the roundness and sloping sides of a bowl, and flat base of a plate, this Duralex dinnerware serves Caesar chicken salad, grilled steak with fresh greens or crisp salmon salad. Clear glass accentuates fresh ingredients of homemade pasta salad, and has the heat-safe capability to serve steaming hot lobster bisque or pasta fagioli. Serve berries, fruits or vegetables in these Duralex bowls. Also known as a restaurant-style gumbo bowl for serving thick hearty stocks with shrimp or sausage, the flat bottom allows easy cutting, similar to a plate. Set of 18 includes six each: 9 1/4" dinner plate, 7 1/2" salad/dessert plate and 8" soup/salad bowl. Refrigerator-to-microwave Duralex dinnerware is produced according to stringent standards. Will not retain odors. Scratch- and stain-resistant. Nest to store. Eco-friendly Duralex dinnerware is ideal to heat food in the microwave and store food in the refrigerator or freezer. Clear thick glass is attractive on the table, coordinating with every table decor. Microwave-, freezer- and dishwasher-safe. Crafted in La Chapelle-Saint-Mesmin, France, Duralex Lys place setting acquired its name after the Lys River in France and Belgium, a favorite region for painters in the first half of the 20th century. Product Features Durable for everyday use, Duralex dinnerware is 2 1/2 times more resistant to shock and breakage than regular glass Withstand temperature extremes from -4 to +266 degrees F to serve hot or cold entrees Microwave-, freezer- and dishwasher-safe Made in France by the inventors of tempered glass, the bowls, dinner plates and dessert plates are durable to transport safely from refrigerator or microwave to the table Will not retain odors Scratch and stain-resistant Clear glass is attractive on the table, blending with any flatware or serveware Duralex International invented tempered glass in 1939. Manufacturers of drinking glasses and bowls, Duralex has been used throughout France for decades in bistros, inns, schools and households due to the extreme durability of the glass
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 51 reviews
5 Stars
41
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
48 out of 51(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Review 1 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Duralex Lys Clear Salad/Soup Bowls

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromSan Francisco, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I do love these bowls,but I love Duralex in general. Only problem is that these clear glass bowls have lots of small bubbles or air holes in the glass and that makes me wonder if they are seconds. I am also concerned that the quality of these bowls could be compromised. I would recommend with reservations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful dinnerware

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
dot2
fromSan Antonio, TX
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
Good looking and takes dishwasher washing beautifully.
My Favorite BrandCalphalon
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Been looking forever...

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
notteri
fromNew York, NY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Perfect bowls for entree salads. I've been looking for more of these for at least 17 years...oops... should have known to look on CHEFS!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer avatar
chgocdg
fromChicago, IL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Vegetarian
Very useful for everyday and casual dining. Could be used to serve smaller side dishes at parties, dinners.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Practical and Versatile Dinnerware

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Johnmark174
fromBaltimore, MD, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
I was in the market for a bowl that could be used as a salad bowl. While I was looking for something a bit smaller, this product fits the bill perfectly. I like a relatively large salad once a day, and this product has served me well. It can also be used for soup. I like its quality and durability as well as its versatility. Thank you for the opportunity to comment.
My Favorite BrandAnything organic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't live without them

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer avatar
scottish
fromNew York, NY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Vegetarian
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
Good thing these bowls are shock and breakage resistant. We use them constantly. They go from breakfast (cold or hot cereal) to lunch (summer salads) to dinner (vegetable soup or microwave-heated leftovers). Every house should have a set.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like Clear Glass Plates

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Cassie1
fromLos Angeles, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
I've always liked clear glass plates, and these French-made plates are exactly the right sizes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's Clear To See Why You Should Buy This Product

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer avatar
UncaJer1
fromLong Island, new York
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware has provided our family with a wonderful, moddrrn looking alternative to iron stone and other plastic tableware sets. The plates and bowls have a heavy feel to them that you would want in dinnerware although their transparency gives them a light look. The assortment of dishes in the set we bought is excellent although something that could be used for fruit or ice cream might have added to the set's completeness. Clean up is absolutely no problem - the set is dishwasher safe. In addition the set allows for the use of quick heating in the microwave. On many levels this set is a winner.
My Favorite BrandKerryGold butter and cheese
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

had some, bought more

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer avatar
islandrat
fromWashington State
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Friend
A few months ago I bought the same plates in a set with dessert plates and soup bowls. In day to day use I realized I'd like another two plates but they're sold in lots of 6. I thought about it and decided why not and ordered the second pack of 6.
Why these plates and not the larger 11 inch dinner plates? Because if I dish up a meal on an 11 inch plate I will load it with more food than I need but with the 9 1/4 inch plates I eat less and actually feel better.
I also like the feel of the dishes. They come out of the dishwasher minus spots without having to use the usual add ons in the dishwasher. One more thing; they are lighter than other glass dishes I've had in the same size. Win win.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointment

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Clipper
fromGaithersburg, MD
My Cooking Level:Advanced
All of the dishes I received had a fine spotty etched-like brown marks at the periphery of the base. A few also has flaws on the body of the bowl.
A friend of mine, for whom I ordered the bowls, decided not to get herself some after seeing the poor quality.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

service

PostedJune 18, 2014
Customer avatar
dhhk
fromMiami, FL, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
excelent quality products and nearly overnight shipping. Service is excellent!
My Favorite Brandwusthof
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

perfect salad bowl

PostedJune 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromLago Vista, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
These bowls are simple, shaped and sized exactly right for a salad lover's salad. They match my "good" china as well as my everyday china, since they are clear. We use them not only for salad, but for pasta as well. I liked them so much I ordered a second set.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer avatar
momsheep
fromLevittown NY
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Giada De Laurentis
Love these and theya re great for dessert.
Have already used them many times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clear glass bowls

PostedMay 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromMilwaukee, WI, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
My mom had some bowls like these many years ago for summertime salads. I have been trying to find them for years. They are exactly what I was hoping for. They make summer salads look especially beautiful.
My Favorite BrandCalpahlon
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

love these plates

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer avatar
voor4
fromMuscle Shoals, AL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Although there are some imperfections in the plates, they are so much better than open stock plates I've looked at in the stores. Have only used them a few weeks but love them. Don't have to worry about glaze wearing off the plates & they are lead free! That was the main reason for purchase.
My Favorite Brandcuisinart
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These are great for salads and desserts.

PostedApril 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Marker
fromDenver, CO, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Dad
The shipping and packing were excellent. The dishes complement my dinner ware, and being made in France they are very strong and durable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duraglass Tableware, clear.

PostedApril 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromCheboygan, MI 49721, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I love these dura-glass dishes. They are elegant looking, but perfect for every day use too. They stack neatly, and take up hardly any room in the cupboard. I plan to add to this set, so I have enough to use for company dinners.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great salad bowls

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Floss
fromPaso Robles
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
Love these for main dish salads. They look pretty on table, too. Good thing is that they complement any dishes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duralex is a favoite in my kitchen

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer avatar
64cooking
fromNebraska, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
Excellent dinnerware which does not chip or break easy. Has so many uses and so easy to wash or put in dishwasher. I use it for salads, pasta, desserts, soup and anything you want. Would make a great gift for shower or weddng.
My Favorite Brandduralex
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these bowls ...

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer avatar
KatWoman
fromOak Bluffs, MA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
We were looking for some low wide bowls to use for soups & salads. These are good quality and look great with our white dishes. We ended up buying a second set!
The only negative was the first set was poorly packed and one of the bowls was broken. They made me pack up the mess and return it! The replacement set and second set were both very well packed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>