Customer reviews for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware

Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware

Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware : Made in France by the inventors of tempered glass, this Duralex dinnerware is 2 1/2 times more resistant to shock and breakage than regular glass. Withstanding sudden thermal shock and temperature extremes from -4 to +266 F, this restaurant-quality glass dinnerware set is perfect for hot or cold entrees. Available in sets and quantities to accommodate guests, the entire glass dinnerware set is ideal for home dining, buffets and special occasion events. A blend of clarity, simplicity and durability, the clear tempered glass 11" dinner plate is ideal for serving casserole or an entree and vegetable. The 9 1/4" Duralex dinner plate serves a generous portion of chicken cordon bleu or sizzling Porterhouse steak right from the grill. Also perfect for salad or vegetable entrees or hearty serving of lasagna. The 7 1/2" Duralex salad/dessert plate is ideal to serve spinach feta salad and equally impressive serving quiche Lorraine. With the ability to serve cold or hot side dishes, entrees or desserts, Duralex dinnerware is perfect for presenting mille feuille pastry, a slice of orange cream chiffon cake or apple pie with hot cinnamon sauce. The 8" Duralex bowl is the perfect salad, pasta and soup bowl. With the roundness and sloping sides of a bowl, and flat base of a plate, this Duralex dinnerware serves Caesar chicken salad, grilled steak with fresh greens or crisp salmon salad. Clear glass accentuates fresh ingredients of homemade pasta salad, and has the heat-safe capability to serve steaming hot lobster bisque or pasta fagioli. Serve berries, fruits or vegetables in these Duralex bowls. Also known as a restaurant-style gumbo bowl for serving thick hearty stocks with shrimp or sausage, the flat bottom allows easy cutting, similar to a plate. Set of 18 includes six each: 9 1/4" Dinner Plate, 7 1/2" Salad/Dessert Plate and 8" Soup/Salad Bowl. Refrigerator-to-microwave Duralex dinnerware is produced according to stringent standards. Will not retain odors. Scratch- and stain-resistant. Nest to store. Eco-friendly Duralex dinnerware is ideal to heat food in the microwave and store food in the refrigerator or freezer. Clear thick glass is attractive on the table, coordinating with every table decor. Microwave-, freezer- and dishwasher-safe. Crafted in La Chapelle-Saint-Mesmin, France, Duralex Lys place setting acquired its name after the Lys River in France and Belgium, a favorite region for painters in the first half of the 20th century. Product Features Durable for everyday use, Duralex dinnerware is 2 1/2 times more resistant to shock and breakage than regular glass Withstand temperature extremes from -4 to +266 degrees F to serve hot or cold entrees Microwave-, freezer- and dishwasher-safe Made in France by the inventors of tempered glass, the bowls, dinner plates and dessert plates are durable to transport safely from refrigerator or microwave to the table Will not retain odors Scratch and stain-resistant Clear glass is attractive on the table, blending with any flatware or serveware Duralex International invented tempered glass in 1939. Manufacturers of drinking glasses and bowls, Duralex has been used throughout France for decades in bistros, inns, schools and households due to the extreme durability of the glass
Overall rating:
4.734 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 64 reviews
5 Stars
54
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
61 out of 64(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Review 1 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duralex is a favoite in my kitchen

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer avatar
64cooking
fromNebraska, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
Excellent dinnerware which does not chip or break easy. Has so many uses and so easy to wash or put in dishwasher. I use it for salads, pasta, desserts, soup and anything you want. Would make a great gift for shower or weddng.
My Favorite Brandduralex
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect 'go to' bowl

PostedMay 15, 2015
Customer avatar
WendyR
fromSan Diego, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Cat Cora
These work with everything from a chef salad to take out chinese.
My Favorite BrandDenby
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A wonderful size and shape

PostedMay 6, 2015
Customer avatar
Sooze1975
fromSan Francisco Bay Area, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
This is my second order of these wonderful bowls. They are just the right size and shape and are used almost every day. The quality is excellent. I highly recommend these bowls. They go through the dishwasher with no problems and do not break easily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love these bowls

PostedMarch 21, 2015
Customer avatar
bluemax
fromCalifornia, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
I have used this brand duralex French glass dishes since college.over 50 year's ago...recently i.am adding to my collection...these r good looking on any table..versitle...and until my plate order (see review) i believed unbreakable...and if course the oder i made as gift for bro...we're smashed to oblivion...
Other than that i have never broken a dish since i have owned them....
I love the bowl
Maxine
My Favorite Brand??
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous

PostedMarch 21, 2015
Customer avatar
MegChef
fromWestchester County, NY, USA
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Vegetarian
Dinnerware is lovely in its simplicity and functionality. It holds everything well; microwaves safely; durable. It was just what I was looking for at a great price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EVERYDAY WONDERFUL

PostedMarch 16, 2015
Customer avatar
CATZRYD1
fromQuartz Hill, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
THESE ARE THE BEST EVERYDAY DISHES I HAVE FOUND! SO DURABLE, EASY WASH DISHWASHER SAFE, MICROWAVE SAFE, CAN BE HEATED IN THE OVEN. WELL WORTH EVERY PENNY! I WILL CONTINUE TO PURCHASE MORE PIECES TO THIS SET. THANK YOU CHEF's FOR INTRODUCING ME TO DURALEX
My Favorite BrandPenzys
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Duralex Clear 8" Bowls

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Customer avatar
cotton46
fromBainbridge Island, WA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
These bowls are just what I've been looking for. The price is right and they are the perfect weight and size for soup, salad, pasta and even for serving. I plan to phase out my current linens and use lots of floral table clothes and colored napkins and the clear Duralex clear dinnerware products will be perfect for that transition.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Bowls

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Customer avatar
Ed67
fromLewisville, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
After many months of searching for clear glass salad bowls, a friend of mine directed me to your website... and voila', there they were!!! Thanks
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like the clean modern look and light weight

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Customer avatar
Pam111
fromTexas, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Vegetarian
We were looking for a dinner set that would go with everything and not be so large and heavy. This set is exactly what we wanted. Plus it fits easily in the dishwasher...another plus. Very happy with the dishes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Happy Happy

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Customer avatar
Gran43ny
fromTucson, AZ, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
I have searched for years to find a set of dishes where the plates were small. I need this size to maintain the portions that I need to eat. The bowls are such an interesting shape that they are good for all of the usual things plus, when I need to bread foods the bowl are perfect for holding the eggs and liquid, and another for the breading ingredient. Love these dishes.
My Favorite BrandKashi
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

dualex

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Customer avatar
gmc88
fromel paso,texas
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
excellent quality ,which is obvious, I WISH THIS COMPANY WOULD MAKE THESE DISHES IN A SQUARE DESIGN AND ALSO IN A LARGER SIZE AS WELL AS SQUARE BOWELS--THANK YOU
My Favorite Brandbreville
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great dinnerware, just what I was looking for!

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Customer avatar
cooking57
fromWinter Park, FL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware makes home dining an elegant pleasurable experience! Food looks great and tastes better on glass. Glass bowls and plates have clean lines and a smooth feel. I've used the bowls for salad and soup, cold foods stay cold and hot foods stay hot for quite awhile, the glass retains heat well.
I was looking to reinvent my home kitchen dining experience, and Duralex Dinnerware is perfect!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Salad Bowls

PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Customer avatar
Bettster
fromRancho Cordova, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I am so happy to have found these bowls. I was given a set many years ago and wanted to add to them. These are the most durable bowls I own. While they can be used in a variety of ways, I prefer to use them for soup and salad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a second review of this line

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Customer avatar
527stitches
fromOrcas Island, Washington, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Friend
I had ordered these dishes (the smaller dinner plate, dessert plate and soup bowl) earlier and liked them a lot. I'd initially wanted 8 each, not because of a common way of selling them but because it would work with my life style; you know, running the dishwasher every 10 days.
But they came in sets of 6. I reordered another half dozen of the dinner plates because I was using one or two more than came in the set of 6 and then realized I was doing the same thing with the soup bowls.
Now I have a dozen of each and I do like them; I can see any pattern of place mat under them, the sizes please me and they look elegant no matter how peasant the recipe on them..
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

glass dinnerware

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Normdog
fromLouisville, KY, USA
My Cooking Level:Beginner
These were the exact match of another set of six that I had purchased and have used for several years. Very pleased.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Duralex Lys Clear Salad/Soup Bowls

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromSan Francisco, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I do love these bowls,but I love Duralex in general. Only problem is that these clear glass bowls have lots of small bubbles or air holes in the glass and that makes me wonder if they are seconds. I am also concerned that the quality of these bowls could be compromised. I would recommend with reservations.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful dinnerware

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
dot2
fromSan Antonio, TX
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
Good looking and takes dishwasher washing beautifully.
My Favorite BrandCalphalon
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Been looking forever...

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
notteri
fromNew York, NY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Perfect bowls for entree salads. I've been looking for more of these for at least 17 years...oops... should have known to look on CHEFS!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer avatar
chgocdg
fromChicago, IL, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Vegetarian
Very useful for everyday and casual dining. Could be used to serve smaller side dishes at parties, dinners.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Duralex Lys Clear Dinnerware
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Practical and Versatile Dinnerware

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Johnmark174
fromBaltimore, MD, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Jacques Pepin
I was in the market for a bowl that could be used as a salad bowl. While I was looking for something a bit smaller, this product fits the bill perfectly. I like a relatively large salad once a day, and this product has served me well. It can also be used for soup. I like its quality and durability as well as its versatility. Thank you for the opportunity to comment.
My Favorite BrandAnything organic
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>