Customer reviews for Cast Iron Tortilla Press

Cast Iron Tortilla Press

Cast Iron Tortilla Press : Enjoy traditional Mexican entrees at home using this 8-inch tortilla press. Evenly-weighted top and bottom cast-iron plates press tortillas to equal thickness from center to edges. Heavyweight tortilla maker eliminates air pockets, pressing masa evenly to easily make authentic homemade tortillas for tacos, empanadas, chalupas, tostadas and burritos. This cast-iron tortilla press makes 8-inch low-fat pita or flatbread. Pressing-plate lever allows easy lowering of top plate. Recipe included. Wipe clean. Product Features Authentic heavyweight press makes 8-inch tortillas, pita or flatbread Evenly-weighted plates press tortillas to equal thickness from center to edges Make traditional homemade tortillas for tacos, empanadas, chalupas, tostados and burritos Pressing-plate lever to easily lower top plate Includes recipe IMUSA is the #1 cookware brand in Latin America
Overall rating:
4.833 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
29 out of 30(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Review 1 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!!

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Paula42
fromWisconsin, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Giada De Laurentis
I didn't buy one............I didn't buy two.........I bought
three Cast Iron Tortilla Presses! One as a gift, one for my home and one for our summer cottage.
The press is made from durable cast-iron, and is so
easy to use. If I had known that I could have been
making tortillas this delicious, I would have bought
a press years ago. Thank you for the quality and
excellent service.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Damaged packing - possible return

PostedJune 10, 2015
Customer avatar
Foothillschef
fromGrass Valley, CA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Shipping carton - no problem. But, the manufacturers original packaging which was inside the carton was severely damaged. The recipe booklet was missing and the pin (which I understand was supposed to be taped inside the box) to attach the handle to the unit was also missing. Appeared to be a customer return that was never inspected before it was reshipped.
Looked up the recipe booklet on the web and decided I didn't need it. Crafted a replacement pin rather than go through the RMA process.
Other than that, product works fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A little disappointed with IMUSA

PostedJune 10, 2015
Customer avatar
bluemoon1
fromBoston, MA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
My disappointment is with IMUSA, not CHEFS Catalog.
I thought this press would get the tortilla's thinner. Ended up having to roll them out thinner. Save your money!
It is a heavy cast iron press, but it is packaged in a very thin cardboard box that was falling apart.
I still love CHEFS Catalog though!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Cast Iron Tortilla Press

PostedJune 1, 2015
Customer avatar
TNWALKER
fromNE Ohio
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
This is a good heavy ~ 8 lbs. cast iron tortilla press that should last a long time if properly used and maintained per instructions. Have used several times to make homemade corn tortilla's and chips. Used gentle pressure for the 1 1/4 oz balls and they flattened very easily. If I want them very thin, I follow-up with a little rolling pin action. This cast iron press is much easier/faster for me than using a rolling pin or a light duty aluminum press. They included an extra handle pivot pin in case a customer bends it due to being heavy handed. Let the weight of the cast iron do the work and use gentle even pressure on the handle. IMO, it is better to use only a rolling pin for flour tortillas due to the gluten in the wheat. Apparently IMUSA has outsourced some of this production line to China as noted on the bottom of the box. Was well built with a uniform finish and I did not see any manufacturing deficiencies/defects as sometimes seen on cast iron sand casting products.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cast Iron Tortilla Press

PostedDecember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Jack91
fromTallahassee, FL, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
My grandson, the chef, is delighted with the press.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cast Iron Tortilla Press

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Lillie23
fromChesapeake, VA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I purchased this for a gift. It looks like a good product but will have to let the receipent test it.
My Favorite BrandLe Creuset
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally Easy Tortillas :)

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
LDS831
fromOhio, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
This IMUSA tortilla press works wonderfully! I just finished making a huge batch of flour tortillas in about 30 minutes including making the dough. The whole process was so completely easy thanks to this tortilla press!
I cook from scratch as much as possible to control the quality of ingredients and love fresh-made tortillas, but have struggled with making them (especially flour) with all the rolling, resting (dough), more rolling, more resting (me), and still never getting them flat enough, this product is a must for anyone who wants fresh made tortillas in minutes (not hours).
I have seen some reviews (other sites) that said the tortillas weren't thin enough. I simply pressed the dough ball, gave it a turn, press again, another turn, pressed again, and then rolled it with my rolling pin (still leaving it between the ziploc sheets) to get it even thinner. (be sure to use a cut ziploc bag for pressing your dough ball, no sticking whatsoever). It only took about 1 minute to do the whole process for each tortilla (while 1 was cooking, I pressed & rolled another & it was ready by the time the 1st finished cooking). I made tortillas last weekend without a press (which prompted this purchase!) and it was so time-consuming that when I was done I didn't even want to look at a tortilla.
Another bonus is that I didn't use nearly as much flour since I didn't have to do all that rolling which made the tortillas cook and taste much better. This tortilla press is very well made and I know it's going to me one of my all-time favorite kitchen products that I can't do without.
I'm very satisfied with this purchase from Chef's through Shoprunner. Received my order in 2 days as promised. Thank you!
My Favorite BrandKitchenaid
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A new toy to use in my kitchen.

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Jo57
fromVine Grove, Ky
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
This tortilla press was just what I needed. I tried to make tortillas by hand and a rolling pin. They turned out in all shapes, none was completely round. That was when I saw this press and ordered. Good Quality means a lot.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good tortilla press

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromChicago
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
Works very well with dough that's relatively moist. Produces uniform corn or flour tortillas that cook up nicely.
My Favorite BrandAll-Clad
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flat Bread~Tortilla's A Bakers Dream

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Gelliescent
fromCalifornia, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
An excellent item to help stay away from synthetic foods. Thanks for your quality items from Chef.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good job of flattening the dough

PostedMay 11, 2014
Customer avatar
PieDog
fromLittleton Co
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Vegetarian
I just wish it was bigger. I would be helpful if there was a 10 inch version of it. Otherwise it performs great.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the work for you!

PostedMay 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Crashkid2k
fromNorfolk, VA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
A trip to Mexico inspired me to try making my own tortillas, and this was highly recommended by Cook's Illustrated.
It's a heavy beast, but that helps by reducing the amount of effort needed to press a tortilla. My tortillas aren't nearly as good as we had in Mexico, but that's certainly not this product's fault! It's simple, it works, and it's easy to store.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great kitchen tool

PostedMay 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Ada1
fromNew Orleans, LA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
This is an excellent item. Very heavy and will last a lifetime. I bought this because I recently had to begin a gluten free lifestyle. I thought I would only use it for tortillas, but it is so much more versatile and can be used to make pittas and flatbreads as well.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer avatar
carpediem
fromSan Antonio, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
Seems sturdy. Very easy to use. The handle is not attached so be careful when you open the box, handle can fall out. Minor, easy assembly required(just insert a pin type thingy to attach the handle).
The top plate stays upright when open, making it easy to position the masa ball one-handed
Homemade corn tortillas are sooo much better than those nasty store-bought ones!
It is heavy, as expected.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer avatar
TM123
fromOklahoma, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
So far, so good. Seems well made. Works well making round tortillas.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cast Iron Tortilla Press

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Cbrown
fromGrain Valley, MO, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
It was exactly what I was looking for and I love it! I especially loved the free shipping and free return if necessary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

TORTILLA PRESS

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer avatar
mccarter25
fromFort Worth, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Giada De Laurentis
Very well made. Nice and heavy - doesn't slip around while using. Very pleased with this purchase!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

been on want list

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
geri57
fromPearland, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Dad
Excellent product. Ive been looking for one for over 2 years. This is very good quality and condition. Works great!
My Favorite Brandis based on my needs
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast!

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
soupdiver
fromMidwest
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
Used to make Roti. very fast compared to hand rolling. Texture is tougher with this press though.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Sass1
fromWisconsin, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I love it! So easy to use. Now, I can use masa harina and get the real taste of Mexican tortillas.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>