Customer reviews for Cast Iron Tortilla Press

Cast Iron Tortilla Press

Cast Iron Tortilla Press : Enjoy traditional Mexican entrees at home using this 8-inch tortilla press. Evenly-weighted top and bottom cast-iron plates press tortillas to equal thickness from center to edges. Heavyweight tortilla maker eliminates air pockets, pressing masa evenly to easily make authentic homemade tortillas for tacos, empanadas, chalupas, tostadas and burritos. This cast-iron tortilla press makes 8-inch low-fat pita or flatbread. Pressing-plate lever allows easy lowering of top plate. Recipe included. Wipe clean. Product Features Authentic heavyweight press makes 8-inch tortillas, pita or flatbread Evenly-weighted plates press tortillas to equal thickness from center to edges Make traditional homemade tortillas for tacos, empanadas, chalupas, tostados and burritos Pressing-plate lever to easily lower top plate Includes recipe IMUSA is the #1 cookware brand in Latin America
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
23 out of 23(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Review 1 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good tortilla press

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromChicago
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Bobby Flay
Works very well with dough that's relatively moist. Produces uniform corn or flour tortillas that cook up nicely.
My Favorite BrandAll-Clad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flat Bread~Tortilla's A Bakers Dream

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Gelliescent
fromCalifornia, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Diva/King
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
An excellent item to help stay away from synthetic foods. Thanks for your quality items from Chef.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good job of flattening the dough

PostedMay 11, 2014
Customer avatar
PieDog
fromLittleton Co
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Vegetarian
I just wish it was bigger. I would be helpful if there was a 10 inch version of it. Otherwise it performs great.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the work for you!

PostedMay 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Crashkid2k
fromNorfolk, VA, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
A trip to Mexico inspired me to try making my own tortillas, and this was highly recommended by Cook's Illustrated.
It's a heavy beast, but that helps by reducing the amount of effort needed to press a tortilla. My tortillas aren't nearly as good as we had in Mexico, but that's certainly not this product's fault! It's simple, it works, and it's easy to store.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great kitchen tool

PostedMay 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Ada1
fromNew Orleans, LA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
This is an excellent item. Very heavy and will last a lifetime. I bought this because I recently had to begin a gluten free lifestyle. I thought I would only use it for tortillas, but it is so much more versatile and can be used to make pittas and flatbreads as well.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer avatar
carpediem
fromSan Antonio, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
Seems sturdy. Very easy to use. The handle is not attached so be careful when you open the box, handle can fall out. Minor, easy assembly required(just insert a pin type thingy to attach the handle).
The top plate stays upright when open, making it easy to position the masa ball one-handed
Homemade corn tortillas are sooo much better than those nasty store-bought ones!
It is heavy, as expected.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer avatar
TM123
fromOklahoma, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
So far, so good. Seems well made. Works well making round tortillas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!!

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Paula42
fromWisconsin, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Giada De Laurentis
I didn't buy one............I didn't buy two.........I bought
three Cast Iron Tortilla Presses! One as a gift, one for my home and one for our summer cottage.
The press is made from durable cast-iron, and is so
easy to use. If I had known that I could have been
making tortillas this delicious, I would have bought
a press years ago. Thank you for the quality and
excellent service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cast Iron Tortilla Press

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Cbrown
fromGrain Valley, MO, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
It was exactly what I was looking for and I love it! I especially loved the free shipping and free return if necessary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

TORTILLA PRESS

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer avatar
mccarter25
fromFort Worth, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Giada De Laurentis
Very well made. Nice and heavy - doesn't slip around while using. Very pleased with this purchase!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

been on want list

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
geri57
fromPearland, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Dad
Excellent product. Ive been looking for one for over 2 years. This is very good quality and condition. Works great!
My Favorite Brandis based on my needs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast!

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
soupdiver
fromMidwest
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
Used to make Roti. very fast compared to hand rolling. Texture is tougher with this press though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Sass1
fromWisconsin, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
I love it! So easy to use. Now, I can use masa harina and get the real taste of Mexican tortillas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cast iron tortilla press

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromPayson, AZ
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
This press is exactly what I was looking for!
My Favorite BrandI cook from scratch
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trotillas by a gringo

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
jamcooker
fromColorado, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Friend
I had always heard that tortillas "made at home" were so much better than the ones in the store. I bought the tortilla maker, went to the store and bought the right kind of flour. THEY ARE RIGHT!!!!! Easy to make, very economical, and even fun. Without the cast iron tortilla press it would have been a royal mess. With it, fun and easy.
My Favorite Brandanything local -especialluy the farmers market
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

8 in. Cast Iron Tortilla Press

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Customer avatar
RavingReviewer
fromLeominster, MA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Calamity
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
This tortilla press is heavy duty. It forms a nice even thickness tortilla. The larger 8 inch size allows for the perfect tortilla without having it squeeze out. Cast Iron is the only way to go. (Aluminum ones are just too lightweight for a good even thickness tortilla.) ChefsCatalog offered a comparable price and it was shipped and delivered according to my expectations. I recommend purchasing one.
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavy duty

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Texasflwr
fromHouston, TX, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
Very heavy, well made press. Can also use to press wonton skins and mini pie crust
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

for my kitchen

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
PieTownAprons
fromPioneertown, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Paula Deen
I recently purchased a couple of plastic storage containers, one for flour and one for brown sugar. They are working GREAT. I also just purchased a tortilla press. Loving it. It works so well.
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aid
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great press

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Lorahen
fromConnecticut, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
The tortilla press is just what I needed to make fresh corn tortillas. It is super heavy and is so easy to use. Love it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Cast Iron Tortilla Press
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cast Iron Tortilla Press

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Helene62
fromKalamazoo, MI, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
Simple design and ease of use describes my new cast iron tortilla press.......not to mention the deliciously authentic tortillas it makes! The best part is that it cleans up in a snap and stores flat. A bargain and a keeper!
My Favorite BrandCuisinart
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>