Customer reviews for Cuisinart Combo Steam and Convection Oven, CSO-300

Cuisinart Combo Steam and Convection Oven, CSO-300

Cuisinart Combo Steam and Convection Oven, CSO-300 : A full convection oven, plus steam and multiple cooking options make the Cuisinart Combo Steam and Convection Oven an all-around compact countertop appliance. Easy to operate, the Cuisinart toaster oven lets you steam cook endless foods up to 40% faster than traditional ovens. The combo toaster oven also convection bakes, proofs bread, toasts and keeps foods warm too. Choose from 9 single and combination functions including steam bake and steam broil, which require no oil for healthier recipes. Designed to steam or poach any type of vegetable, fish, poultry or rice, the Cuisinart toaster oven's super steam creates fluffy rice in 25 minutes without monitoring. Or use steam in combination with both broil or bake functions to create golden crisp and juicy roasts and meats. Simply turn a single dial for LCD display cooking function and to change preset temperatures and cooking times. The .6 cubic feet interior accommodates a whole 4 1/2 lb. chicken or 12" pizza. The steam and convection oven special settings allow you to proof breads, rolls, even homemade pretzels and donuts more quickly and with bakery-quality results. Steam Advantage delivers 120 minutes of steady, uninterrupted steam with foods retaining more moisture and their natural juices and reheating without drying out. Combo toaster oven includes 47-oz. removable water reservoir, oven rack, broil rack, baking pan, crumb tray, drip tray and instruction/recipe book. The steam function will steam clean the interior and all removable parts are dishwasher-safe. The Cuisinart name is synonymous with leading-edge kitchenware for both professional and home chefs. Julia Child and James Beard were among the first renowned chefs to applaud the Cuisinart revolutionary food processor introduced to America in 1973. Today Cuisinart offers an impressive line of countertop and hand-held appliances, cookware, bakeware and specialty products. Product Features Steam Advantage cooks up to 40% quicker than conventional ovens Spacious .6 cubic feet interior accommodates a whole 4 1/2 lb. chicken or 12" pizza Delivers 120 minutes of steady, uninterrupted steam Steams or poaches any type of vegetable, fish, poultry or rice Offers all standard functions of a traditional countertop toaster oven Specialized bread proofing technology efficiently proofs and bakes bakery-quality bread Convection bakes, proofs bread, toasts and keeps foods warm 9 single and combination functions including steam bake and steam broil Steam cooking requires no oil for deliciously healthier recipes Super steam creates fluffy rice in 25 minutes without a need to monitor Steam combo with both broil or bake functions creates crisp and juicy roasts and meats Toast settings offer 7 shades for preferred doneness Steam cooking increases moisture retention and reheats foods without drying out LCD display shows cooking functions, time, temperature, toast shade, active heating elements and add water alert 47-oz. removable water reservoir Convenient oven light and start/stop buttons Compact, durable and easy to operate Steam cleans interior with steam function Includes oven rack, baking pan, broil rack, crumb tray, and drip tray All removable parts are dishwasher-safe; hand washing is recommended Limited 3-year warranty Includes Instruction manual with a variety of recipes Oven rack Baking pan Broil rack Crumb tray Drip tray
Overall rating:
4.273 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
10 out of 11(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Cuisinart Combo Steam and Convection Oven, CSO-300
Review 1 for Cuisinart Combo Steam and Convection Oven, CSO-300
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Lacks information

PostedMay 20, 2014
Customer avatar
BearLady
fromGranbury Texas
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
I am not using it much because the information that came with it about use and recipes are not sufficient to use without much trial and error.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cuisinart Combo Steam and Convection Oven, CSO-300
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic kitchen addition

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Linnik
fromFergus Falls, MN 56537, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
We are empty nesters now so this was the perfect product for us. We seldom use our stove anymore. It's been great for casseroles, pizzas, vegetables and all types of toasting and broiling. (No more need for our toaster!). The quality was better than we expected.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cuisinart Combo Steam and Convection Oven, CSO-300
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Upgrade from toaster oven.

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
twinsoh
fromColumbus, OH, USA
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
Purchased this as an upgrade to our current toaster oven. Was intrigued by the steam aspect. Most of our cooking these days is for just 2 of us so was interested in something that would duplicate our convection oven for smaller meals. It's so inefficient to preheat an oven to a high temperature to cook a couple of items for 10 minutes!
The program button is a little complicated at first so will take some time getting used to it. It seems to heat very quickly and evenly - much faster cooking time than our convection oven so will need to recalculate cooking times.
The included baking pans, etc. are very flimsy and warp with the heat so I've purchased heavy duty pans that will fit. My biggest complaint is that the handle came dented. Didn't realize it until we used it a couple of times and then located it in its permanent place. The dent (in stainless) is very noticeable.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cuisinart Combo Steam and Convection Oven, CSO-300
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Upgraded Replacement For My Old Toaster Oven

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer avatar
HomeChef77
fromSouthern California
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
Was hesitant to spend the money on this oven but I am absolutely glad that I did. Steamed vegetables turned out great. Also, re-heated some homemade tamales and the masa did not turn rubbery as it does when you reheat in the microwave.
Toast function is not great but then again that is not why I purchased the product.
Well worth the investment.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cuisinart Combo Steam and Convection Oven, CSO-300
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really handy for a single guy

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Ronzo102
fromHelena, MT, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
this is a great toaster oven for a single guy. it takes a little longer to cook stuff but overall it does a fine job. I wouldn't try to bake bread in it but it cooked a small pizza well and hard boiled eggs perfectly. I am concerned that the directions say to use tap water for steam. i will use distilled water always to hopefully extend the life of the steamer.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cuisinart Combo Steam and Convection Oven, CSO-300
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My New Favorite Kitchen Item

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
JeepsRule96
fromIdaho, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Friend
My husband and I saw a review for this in Consumer Reports and were intrigued by the idea of a steam oven. It is awesome! We have cooked several things in it already including fish, bread, pasta, and used it to reheat items as well, all with great success. We were pleasantly surprised when we used it to reheat a pasta dish utilizing the steam functionality, and it turned out perfectly and in less the time it would have taken in the microwave. I would highly recommend this to anyone.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cuisinart Combo Steam and Convection Oven, CSO-300
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

New kitchen tool

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromFL
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Leftover Lover
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
Pleased with uses to this point. Not many recipes avaliable. Need more specific instructions.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cuisinart Combo Steam and Convection Oven, CSO-300
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

21st Century Kitchen

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromWinona, MN, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
I can't believe everyone doesn't have a steam and convection oven. This oven is so light and compact I can put it in a cupboard when I am not using it. It definitely feels advanced, like in the future everyone will have one. Why wouldn't you have a steam option on an oven? So many items can benefit from not drying out in a conventional oven. I am surprised by how much room there is to put standard sized baking items. This has revolutionized my kitchen!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cuisinart Combo Steam and Convection Oven, CSO-300
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Important to my kitchen

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Luna33
fromNorthfield, Ohio
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
My Cuisinart Combo Steamer and Convection Oven, CSO-300 makes cooking a menu of several items possible. The oven is VERY easy to use and most importantly, to clean. I love the options of steam/dry heat. Preparing a 4- course dinner was made much easier with the additional of options that my oven added to my kitchen. Would recommend this item to my friends. Especially those with limited space in their kitchen.
My Favorite BrandQuisinart
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Cuisinart Combo Steam and Convection Oven, CSO-300
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very impressed

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
jac2740
fromLas Vegas, NV, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Our new CSO-300 is really working out great for us, cooked fish last night using oven and steam, very quick and fish was tender and flakey. Steamer is great for veggies, sometimes we use steam and oven for a crunchy taste. Very happy with purchase.
+14points
16of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Cuisinart Combo Steam and Convection Oven, CSO-300
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Customer avatar
DUBYA8
fromNorth Carolina, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Oven frying chicken, shrimp, and fish. I have used it with steam and without steam. Works great eather way.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.