Customer reviews for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife

Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife

Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife : The Victorinox chef's knife is the essential cutlery that works morning to night. With a lightweight razor-sharp blade and nonslip handle, this knife minces, dices or chops vegetables or fruits, without hand fatigue. Slight curve of the blade edge allows precision slicing of meat, without tearing. This large kitchen knife is conically ground throughout the length and depth of the blade for razor-edge sharpness that performs with quickness and precision. With Rockwell hardness of 56, the blade is beautifully balanced and perfectly weighted for ease in handling. Precision-stamped from high-carbon stainless-steel, the Victorinox chef's knife undergoes a special ice-tempering process to create an edge that can be sharpened throughout the lifetime of the blade. Laser-tested for optimal cutting power and bolster-less, Victorinox knives enable cutting with the entire length of the blade. Ergonomic handle with textured surface ensures a comfortable, nonslip grip. Hand-finished by skilled craftsmen in Switzerland, this Victorinox knife works so efficiently, it is utilized by professional chefs in five-star restaurants. Lifetime manufacturer warranty. Dishwasher-safe. Victorinox knives have been expertly crafted in Switzerland since 1884. Lightweight to prevent hand fatigue and world renown for quality-edge retention of the blade, Victorinox knives are top rated by leading consumer magazines. Product Features Slices fast and quick, with a razor-sharp edge and patented nonslip grip to prevent hand fatigue Precision blade dices, minces, chops or slices vegetables and fruits effortlessly Efficiently slices meat, without tearing Blade with Rockwell hardness of 56 is beautifully balanced and perfectly weighted for ease in handling Blade is conically ground throughout the length and depth for razor-edge sharpness and retention, without resistance Special ice-tempering process creates an edge that can be resharpened throughout the lifetime of the blade Precision-stamped, high-carbon stainless-steel for enduring performance Laser-tested for optimal cutting power and bolster-less, allowing use of entire blade Ergonomic handle with textured surface provides a comfortable nonslip grip Swiss-manufactured with the same high-quality standards of the Original Swiss Army Knife Victorinox maintains standards of excellence in the manufacturing of cutlery, earning the highest respect from professional and home chefs for quality knives
Overall rating:
4.915 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 Stars
44
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
47 out of 47(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Review 1 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work horse of the kitchen

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Pennywise
fromMesa, AZ, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
This is the 4th knife I have bought. I gave the other 3 away as gifts and finally got to keep the last for myself. It is excellent and keeps a sharp edge the longest of any of my other knives. I highly recommend this 8" knife
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good basic knife

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Clydeite
fromArlington, TX
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
Wondeful to start a new set of knives for frequent usage. I really like Victorinox serrated paring knives also and think they are an excellent value--so does Cooks Illustrated!
My Favorite BrandVictorinox
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beginning of a collection

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Clydeite
fromArlington, TX
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
Bought this for my son and his wife who are lacking in a good knife for everyday use. It'll fill the bill for them in every day use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great knife value!

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer avatar
mommajan
fromCorvallis, OR
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
This is a very sharp knife, comfortable to work with, easy-care, and reasonably priced. It is also easy to keep sharp.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ergonomic handle

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer avatar
CityFarmGirl48
fromNorthwest FL
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I purchased this knife mainly because of the "joint friendly" handle. With moderate/severe osteoarthritis in my right thumb base and right wrist, a handle easy to grip and manage is important. This knife fit that bill for me. Handle is easy to grip and fits snugly in my palm. My grip feels secure on the handle. I would recommend this knife to others with similar arthritic problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A replacement chef knife

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Bestmom
fromWest chester, pa
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
Really did not think that this knife would be so great since it was half price of the one I was replacing but it is excellent
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new favorite chef's knife!

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer avatar
JohnD
fromSeattle,WA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I already had three quality chef's knives made by Zwilling J. A. Henckels and Sabatier in the block when I bought this knife. However, since I got the Swiss Classic knife, it's become my "go to" knife for practically all prep work. The blade is razor sharp and allows me to make paper thin slices of vegetables when I need to. The blade is also wider than a standard chef knife so I'm not banging the knuckles of my size 10 hands on the board when I'm slicing stuff! The handle is comfortable, non-slip and somewhat ergonomic but I prefer the ergonomic handle of my Zwilling J. A. Henckels as it fits my hand better. My ancient 40+ year old Sabatier carbon steel knife has been my fav for many years but I had to use a paring knife to peel and slice garlic before chopping with a chef's knife. With the Swiss Classic, I'm able to do the whole job on garlic with one knife. Unless you want to spend a LOT more money, you can't do any better than this chef's knife.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality, Affordable price

PostedJune 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Julie123456
fromStaatsburg, NY, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
Cook's Illustrated gave this knife a high rating for good reason. It does the trick as a go-to chef's knife & the price is wonderfully affordable.
My Favorite BrandAll Clad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great knife at a bargain price.

PostedJune 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Pedis
fromVirginia, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Ina Garten
This knife works beautifully, though its handle is lightweight plastic and it does not have the heft and beauty of a really fine knife. It is fine for my needs and I am happy!
My Favorite BrandLe Creuset
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a great knife

PostedJune 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fiddlestix
fromBeverly, MA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
This is one fantastic knife and especially at the price - it can't be beat! I am very happy that I purchased it. It's a great addition to my other favorite knives.
My Favorite BrandKitchenaide
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite knife!

PostedJune 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromMichigan
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Expert
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Comfort
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Julia Child
I've had the Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife for years, so when I saw it was on sale I snatched it up! I love this knife, as it sits well in my hand and is easy to use. It doesn't keep the edge as well as some of my more expensive knives, but that's easily fixed with a quick sharpen. For the price it's a great deal!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedJune 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Mel301
fromWest Virginia, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Martyr
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
I am very happy with this knife. I've always wanted a good chef's knife and this one does a great job. Thanks!
My Favorite BrandKitchenAid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new favorite knife

PostedJune 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Home2cook
fromCasa Grande, AZ, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Family
I am thrilled with this knife purchase. I like sharp knives and this one is razor sharp. I pick this knife for every cutting task and have retired several other knives. The shape and weight of this knife is perfect and I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharpest knife I've ever used

PostedJune 13, 2014
Customer avatar
dmr1
fromOklahoma City, OK, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Kitchen Mad Scientist
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Alton Brown
Well balanced, very sharp. I love chopping and dicing with this knife. The grip is comfortable.
My Favorite BrandKitchenaid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMay 26, 2014
Customer avatar
LynnR
fromcentral FL
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
I am glad i did not get the 10" this is plenty big. I hope it holds its edge as it is very sharp right now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So great we bought a second!

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
KarZ001
fromFlorence, CO
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
A few years ago we bought a set of Victorinox knives and were very pleased with them. But when there were two of us chopping in the kitchen we needed another chef's knife, so we decided to just buy a second "cheapy" to get us by. The Victorinox handles so much better because it is so well balanced, chops more smoothly longer because it holds the sharpness of its fine cutting edge longer before needing to be re-sharpened, and its Fibrox handle provides such a comfortable, firm grip that gives one greater confidence in using it, that we finally decided to just break down and buy another "real" chef's knife - another Victorinox. We love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent well balanced kitchen knife

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Kat33
fromLos Gatos, CA, USA
Gender:Female
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Cooking Enthusiast
I tend to cook meals that are:Quick and easy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Mom
This is not razor thin, but sturdy and sharp, perfect for an all use knife.
My Favorite Brandseveral
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Kitchen Tool

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Jackie1
fromBerwick, PA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Crowd Pleaser
I tend to cook meals that are:Hearty
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
We enjoy cooking for ourselves, family and friends which requires a lot of slicing, dicing, and chopping. We have found the Victorinox Chef's Knife to be up to the job. Easy to handle (comfortable) and holds a keen edge even after a lot of use.
My Favorite BrandKitchen Aide
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great knife.

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Jimmy56
fromDecatur, IL, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Intermediate
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Grandma
I do a lot of kitchen work and there is one thing that is very essential in the kitchen. A sharp knife. Very well balanced and has a good feel in your hand. The cost is about half of what it is for knives that claim to be the best. We have purchased this knife for other family members and they love it.
My Favorite BrandVictoronix
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Victorinox Swiss Classic Chef's Knife
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite knife

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromApache Junction, AZ, USA
Gender:Male
My Cooking Level:Advanced
When I'm in the Kitchen, I become: Self-proclaimed Gourmet
I tend to cook meals that are:Healthy
Cooking Idol/Inspiration:Emeril Lagasse
I have had many kitchen knives during my lifetime, different brands, at reasonable prices. They often needed to be sharpened .
The Victorinox knife was listed as an ideal kitchen tool in the COOKS magazine. It compared to others that sold for three times the price. It is super sharp and makes your preparations a real joy.
My Favorite BrandVictorinox
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>